Bike Tour Reviews 1561 to 1590 of 3106

 

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Gwen H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed the trip immensely. Scenery was fantastic. Ship and staff were excellent. Food was accommodating for vegetarians, non fish eaters and was plentiful. Would like to see an additional excursion included with the tour. Beer tasting night and castle tour were excellent.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Andy R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike journeys were terrific taking us through beautiful towns and scenery! The last day's trip to Melk was spectacular BUT it was recommended that we take the ferry across too early on the ride. This sadly led to a long and unnecessarily arduous climb to Melk that could have been avoided by staying on the other side of the river and crossing at Melk. That said, we very much enjoyed the trip!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Ann karen watson 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a fabulous trip. Truly amazing. The food was the best surprise of the week!! It was delicious!!! Our tour guide Tamara was excellent, she made every day very very interesting. She went above and beyond. Can't wait to do another trip with Tamara!!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A group of 8 friends from Western Canada recently completed the Metz to Cochem tour on the Iris and all of us have nothing but good things to say about the experience. The barge Iris was everything we expected and more. Immaculately clean, well equipped, comfortable rooms and beds, small but efficient bathrooms, great lounge and dining areas, outside sitting area, etc., etc. The crew was outstanding in every way from Chef Bas to guide Wouter, to crewman AJ and so on. The crew added so much to the overall experience and always with humour, local knowledge and great attention to detail. The daily rides were a feature that we looked forward to each morning and the scenery was wonderful each day. And to top it all off, the weather for the most part cooperated for the whole trip. I can't recommend the barge, the crew and the trip highly enough and as a group, we are already talking about our next barge/bike tour

    Boat: Iris

  • Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour
    by Julie M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Cycling to Delft. The town was beautiful!

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Carmel M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every aspect of the trip made for a memorable experience. Having done both the hotel to hotel and the guided section gave us a truly great opportunity to see a part of Italy that is so varied in both history, culture, food and landscape.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Burgundy - Paris to Auxerre
    by Lee N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Tripsite folks were always right there for me whenever I asked a question. Our guide, Albert, was a tremendous guide and was always there to help with any language barrier. I have certainly recommended Tripsite to others that I have been telling about my trip and they can't believe that I got such a great value for the money I spent. Thank you All!

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dale B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: The ride from Vac to Esztergom! Beautiful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Larisa L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Biking along the forested area near Minau, biking through cobblestoned streets, and seeing a wide variety of things in such a short distance (orchards, cathedrals, castles, swans, mountains, etc).

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Mik L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Amsterdam and a week of perfect weather

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara E. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first time to cycle by the Danube and it far exceeded my expectations. The whole experience was awesome. I loved to be able to exercise while enjoying the pretty scenery and exploring villages and meeting people from other countries. Such a wealth of history and culture!! Truly amazing!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Robert M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our bike guide was terrible. He was lost several times each day and didn't the happenings of each town so we all missed the running of the bulls and he shouted & criticized all riders.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
    by Raylee F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We absolutely loved our Romantic Road cycle. Cycling in Germany is very scenic. People we met were friendly & helpful. Beer was great bread and pastries delicious. The route was well marked. We had a really wonderful holiday.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Byron E. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I will definitely do another bike and barge, it was terrific. My only complaint would be that the food provided for the vegetarians was not well thought out. It wouldn't take much to make this a fabulous plant-based experience. The staff tried as best they could...but it was lacking. But, overall, the trip was fabulous.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Carolyn H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a a great time . The only feedback I would give is that most of the passengers were German and there was very little information given in English.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Linda T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed our experience on the Primadonna! Food was delicious and staff were very attentive. Biking the countryside was a definite highlight! Our most spectacular and memorable part of the trip would be cruising into Budapest at night! It was breath taking!!
    We really had a great time and look forward to doing another bike trip soon.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Kevin Armstrong 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have done this trip from Amsterdam to Bruges as well. I found this version to not be as enjoyable. The reason was there was not as much on the route to see and take in. I think that there are some differences do to which barge you are on which may restrict the routes. Bruges is amazing as was Amsterdam but in between nothing exciting. The barge was amazing (Sailing Home) with a wonderful chef. I love this style of touring and have done 8 of them and will do more!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • St. Moritz to Innsbruck
    by Ron Zauski 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow....this is my fourth trip with Tripsite, this was the BEST natural scenery yet. The views of the mountains and countryside was breathe taking on every day. The hotels were very clean and well maintained; most hotels exceeded my expectations including the free breakfasts. Day #2 was the toughest day especially because the ascent was mostly on an unpaved surface, but the views on day #2 were the best. Switzerland and Austria are impeccably maintained countries; everyone was friendly and welcoming. With the main map in German, I appreciated the additional pamphlets in English in our packet.

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Rachel J 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    An Amazing Adventure! I enjoyed every minute of this trip. The staff was courteous and accommodating, the food was delicious and the biking and sites were extraordinary. I'll recommend this to all my friends and family.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Jim S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We traveled aboard the Theodor Korner, a classic river boat with loads of character and an extremely helpful and courteous staff. We enjoyed sharing the experience with fellow travelers we met on board. Dinners were great as were evenings spent on the deck relaxing with a drink and discussing the day's ride and excursions with our new friends. There is no better way to see and experience places - villages, cities, and rural countryside - than by bike and a boat and bike trip can't be beat for convenience and comfort. We also liked that this tour lasted for two weeks, allowing us to feel truly connected to the places we were visiting.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Alex B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing scenery, fantastic hosts, first class accommodations - a winner all around! Highly recommended, and would take another trip on the Merlijn in a heartbeat.

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Robert K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: The small number of passengers and the bonding and friendships which grew. Also, the lovely relaxed biking through the countryside, villages and towns with the guide providing more than adequate explanations when required. Everything worked like clock work and was well organized.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium

  • Cycling in the Baltics - Tallinn to Vilnius
    by Delfina S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    [itinerario especial] Muy bien organizado el viaje,excelentes los guías muy profesionales y con mucha suerte ya que Romas mi guía hablaba perfecto español,muy cultural ,la llegada a los hoteles en minutos teníamos nuestras habitaciones,chofer muy atento y colaborador,la comida aceptable y paisajes increíbles..bicicletas buenas y atención durante todo el recorrido asistiéndonos con agua en todo momento, buenos compañeros de viaje y divertidos muy buena experiencia ,aunque ya es el tercer viaje que hago con Tripsite.

  • Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
    by Diane H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a fantastic way to experience several new cultures, communities and cities all while loving the interactive journey! We loved the challenge of finding our way and the delightful anticipation of our next destination and accommodation - which always truly splendid! Without speaking the language, ( German or French ) we met several wonderful nature loving and kind ppl who helped us when we seemed to veer off the route. We always got to the next destination and spent time exploring area and local cuisine. The best part of my experience was the sense of overwhelming ahh and appreciation I experienced when I had my 'around the corner 'experiences' - meaning that I suddenly came upon a fantastic site that I did not anticipate in magnitude or beauty and there I was, right there with it! Beautiful.
    Thank you sincerely for the amazing trip! We loved every moment and strongly recommended to to all the soul inspired adventurers out there!! Xo

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Prague to Passau
    by Duncan B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic countryside, towns and beers!!

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Jenny S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highlights: Our daily biking trips, having a varied ride each day with different kms, visits and scenery, plus even a hike to a castle as well. My only suggestion is to keep this spontaneity as each day is an adventure with the known luxury of the barge awaiting us at the end of each ride.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Best of Northern Zealand
    by James L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was excellent. The 4th leg from Helsinger to Hillerod was a very demanding trail, off beaten paths, steep hills, and the markings and mileages in the booklet directions were not accurate. Several of the bikers we talked with had the same problem. We biked as a group of 7, with 5 of us being on our third Tripsite European bike trip. If not for this leg, the rating would have been higher.
    Also, at the assignment of equipment, there was a lack of organization, no checklists as to who requested what equipment, and at the end, there was also no checking.

    Countries: Denmark, Sweden

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Gina F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? That is so hard to answer because there were so many of them. I do plan to enter your contest very soon. As for tips or suggestions for others...By all means considered a Tripsite bike trip for your next vacation. It has so much to offer. And don't let your fear of being able to complete the daily bike rides stop you. We had in our group of 21: an 80-year-old, a person with a "boot" on his foot due to an injury, a person with a sore back, and several people who don't bike regularly. All of them were able to not only complete our daily rides, they did so with no struggles and enjoyed themselves. E-bikes can be used by those who have trouble with longer or more challenging rides. There is something about riding in a group that bonds cyclists together. You go slow enough to have conversations and see all the details you could miss when going by bus or car, yet fast enough to cover miles of interesting terrain.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Judee W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding the Danube was the most memorable part. This trip was trying to do too many things for too many diverse folks at one time. A bike trip and a boat trip are different experiences. For biking, I think a smaller boat with more cycling is important. The staff worked hard with several languages, those who wanted to sun, those who wanted to tour cities, and those of us who wanted to bike: tough job. They did a great job, but for bikers, I think another option should be recommended. There was a great deal of confusion because of the diversity of activities. The cyclists actually lost a full day of cycling due to conflicts/changes/who knows? Descriptions of the next day's activities were very confusing, because they were trying to give instructions for a variety of different folks. We were always wondering, confused about our ride instructions for the next day. Thank goodness for the bike guides who tried their best to keep us informed!

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC