Bike Tour Reviews 1921 to 1950 of 3106

 

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Susan D. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Wachau Valley was our favorite!
    Our only complaint is that the toilet in our room was backing up sewer gas. Would have really welcomed a bathroom fan to duck it away or an improved sewer trap to prevent this.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Deborah O. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge, service, guide, food, comfort, weather and on and on...all great.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Joyce K. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the trip but the self-guided instructions could have been better. We relied on Google maps more than we should have had to; would have been quite lost without it.
    We were a very small group and we all got along very well and became friends throughout the week.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Merzig to Cochem
    by Tom R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great trip that the group from Spokane (Tom & Mary Kay R. Mike and Mary M., Jan and Mark B., John and Helen W. -UK) recommends to anyone interested in seeing a beautiful part of Germany. It was not just the scenery that was great, but also how the Merlijn ""crew"" always made you feel at home and took care of any problems. Special thanks to Jantien, Henk and Jacques!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Auxerre to Paris and Paris to Auxerre
    by Bruce C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge was great, crew was excellent, could use more air conditioning, bikes need new pedals with more grip, very slippery especially when wet, boat could review policy of not letting riders use their own pedals.

    Countries: France

  • Tripsite Traveler: Fulton Armstrong
    by Cheryl 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fulton, are you riding the bike from destination to destination and the boat you are staying on is following Along on a canal? Just trying to get an idea of how this works. Going with someone who doesn't ride a bike.

    Countries: Netherlands

    • Tripsite Traveler: Fulton Armstrong
      by Fulton A. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Hi, Cheryl.
      Yes, that's the basic approach: Bikers leave the boat and go "inland" to enjoy the countryside and towns while the boat follows the canals to the destination for that night. But non-riders (of whom there have been four or five on each of the trips I've made) also have a great time. Cruising the canals gives them great vistas, fresh air, and quiet time to read or nap or chat or write postcards for their bike-bound companions!
      On many routes, captains and guides also find a half-way point along the route where riders come near the canal -- and end their rides for the day or people can join them.
      I love this model of touring for a bunch of reasons. You get to see truly stunning things from your bike or your easy chair on the boat. You unpack/pack only once. Your bed is just a couple minutes' walk from the center of these cool river towns. And you never see the same thing twice!
      --Fulton

      Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Roger H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There were many memorable parts of this trip. The vineyard/bike trails around Melk were very nice.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rollie B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The people I was on the trip with we all had a just terrific time. A truly wonderful trip with a great staff great a wonderful trip.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Harry L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was very nice. Everything was nice. If I can figure a route will do it again next year!

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Christine W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery on the self guided from Bolzano to Mantua.
    The expert guide (Hein ), the food and the staff on the boat.
    They all went out of their way to make it a very pleasant experience.
    We could not have asked for a better crew.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Cheryl W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Mostly we enjoyed the country side. We did not have the greatest weather but we made the most of it.

  • Extremadura: Spanish Land of Conquistadors
    by Tom W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We would be happy to take longer detours to avoid main roads.

    Countries: Spain

  • Bolzano to Venice
    by Jake M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the wine tasting along the way!

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rebecca V. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking thru Wachau valley. Our guide, Hugo, was not real informative. We had to drag info from him. He was better later in the week when we kept asking. Wine tasting was fun. Loved quaint villages.

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Gerald R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A great trip. The area was great loved the villages we rode through.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Nancy M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was memorable from the wonderful cabin to the great gourmet food to the wonderful leader Hein and fabulous staff. The route is scenic and we made stops at interesting places like the Rides Museum, Grano Padana, and the non-bird sanctuary! Loved it and have highly recommended it to friends.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everyone was amazing: Welcoming; friendly; accommodating; delicious food and informative.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mele M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I organized a trip with 20 friends and family to take the boat and bike trip up the Danube. I was a bit concerned because my co-travelers varied in age and fitness. I was delighted to find that with the option of the electric bikes and choices of long or short bike paths, everyone was accommodated. The entire group had a magical time. They loved the boat, the staff, the food, and particularly enjoyed the feeling of accomplishment after cycling through gorgeous towns and scenery.
    I have organized many group trips in the past, and this one allowed me to enjoy myself more fully because I knew that the crew was taking care of my friends and family's needs, and I didn't have to be dealing with questions or problems. Because we had such a large group, we could all break up into smaller groups and enjoy the sights, knowing that we would all converge later on the boat and share our stories from the day.
    Even though we already had a large group, we all made new friends Read more… on the boat.
    I take an international adventure trip every year, and I would put this one among the top of my list!

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Peg H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Klaus, Jantien and Henk!!!! This is a fantastic bike and barge trip. The rooms were the best we have ever had (this is my 3rd bike and barge trip). Very spacious bathroom and lots of storage in the room. Klaus, our guide, was the main reason I loved this trip. He didn't just cycle along the river trail. He took us through villages, back alleys, cobblestone streets, pastures, and hillsides. We never knew what adventure the day would bring. LOVED IT!! We learned about the history, geography and economics of the area. Jantien, our angel of the Merlijn, made every day fun and prepared wonderful meals. Henk capably mastered all the locks and made us laugh frequently! The level of cycling is very easy and can be accomplished by anyone. Miles and miles of vineyards, castles and churches. DON'T MISS THIS ONE!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Robert E. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable was the friendliness, patience and helpfullness of the staff!

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gordon M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The e-bike option really made the trip for me. It allowed me to bicycle each day, get plenty of excercise, and not overdo it. As a result, I was able to enjoy the sites and experience much more.

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Spencer H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge crew were exceptional. The cook treated each guest as a friend. Accommodated our request for a birthday cake. He even baked it on his own time. The scenery was exactly as anticipated.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Shannon P. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The incredible countryside through which we traveled both by boat and on bike as well as the wonderfully hard-working, pleasant and attentive staff who made my trip so memorable. Lastly, the food was fantastic!

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Richard A. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My companion and I broke from the main group and visited a small vineyard and were given a complete tour including a tasting by the owner

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Tripsite Traveler: Golden City of Prague
    by Jan VandenHengel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Nice write up, brother. Give my best to Fengler!

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • South Holland Tour
    by Helen M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful and the barge was lovely. The most memorable part of the trip was the people - the Dutch are friendly and helpful, and the Angela Esmee crew was exceptional!

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Southern Burgundy
    by Ray G. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hotel and food were superb. The bike routes were wonderfully scenic, quiet roads, lovely towns. The directions were mostly good and the GPS didn't work for us. I would highly recommend the trip.

    Countries: France

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Henry S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide, Arie, was terrific! The chef, Chris (I think), was fantastic! The whole bike/barge week was a 5 out of 5 experience

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Carolyn Gammel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was FANTASTIC! As first time bike travellers, we elected to book the guided tour and it exceeded our expectations. Lukas and Honza were knowledgeable guides who attended to our every need. Cycling through the Czech and German Countryside was breathtaking and we learned so much about the history of the countries/regions. Cycling was broken up with other activities - hikes, boat rides, sight seeing excursions/activities. Our hotels and meals were spectacular -( we stayed one night in an 18th Century Chateau), the wine and beer - second to none, and the laughter and companionship was memorable. Would HIGHLY recommend this tour and this tour company.

PWPC