Bike Tour Reviews 1951 to 1980 of 2988

 

  • David K. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The food was excellent. We also enjoyed the guided tours in the evenings.

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Pat L. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was Day 6 Rossatz - Pochlarn was the most scenic part of the trail. Magical small villages - wish the whole route could have been like this. Most of the trail was uneventful, some of the trail was in poor shape and rough riding.
    Unfortunately, there was a language barrier between the Americans and the tour guide, so instructions were not always clear, and we needed to fend for ourselves most of the time. Certain sections of map were confusing and trail was not well marked. We made it though, and enjoyed the adventure!
    Beautiful cities and villages to visit - wish we would have had more time to explore! All in all very good trail ride and good trip!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Mark G. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Overall a great trip and experience. The Mosel exceeded my expectations.
    Collaborative and friendly staff; very good chef, very good captain and crew. Host was efficient but not overly friendly. Bike tour guide was ok but not very organized.

  • DeeDee & Steve C. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We've already recommended this trip and Tripsite when friends and family ask us about our experience.
    We'd also like to complement Bird Service--the Polish bike tour affliate who organized the trip. Bird Service did a great job arranging all transportation, hotels & dinners.

  • Judith A. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I feel our guide could have been a little more organised with our daily route but I also have to remember that the biking from Berlin to Malchin is a route that has not been done very often.
    I am unable to pick one outstanding moment. Just being able to bike in eastern Germany & Poland was so outstanding & while biking to think of all the history of the area. It is also wonderful to think that efforts are being made to make a vast ecological area over the next few years in some of the region along canals where we were biking.

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Gloria S. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Accommodations were too small. The rest of the journey made up for lack of space. No room to put our belongings.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, France

    • Jehiel 3 years ago     Staff

      Hello Gloria,
      Sorry to hear the Elodie was too small in your opinion. France is known for it's narrow canals so as a result the ships have to be smaller in order to navigate the waterways. We provide information including dimensions and note "... storage space is limited in the cabins". You can find more information on the Elodie Boat Page.

      Countries: Belgium, France

  • Jack G. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Very satisfied with Route, only comment the finish was not as clear a couple times to find the Hotel location.

    The guide needed to be more clear on the final route to hotels .

    Countries: Austria, Germany

    • Jehiel 3 years ago     Staff

      Thanks for the feedback, Jack. We are working with our local partner to make the routes more clear. Glad you had a great trip!

      Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Norma P. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The routing was great, food excellent, barge lovely and the staff was outstanding: Nico, Eric, Jan, Martin, - would love to have them lead my next bike and barge trip. Yay for the Elodie, my favorite barge. Thanks Nico for all the help; The crew made this trip one of a kind. I'll be back.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Heidi L. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The route (along the Danube) was excellent - all paved, mostly with a view of the river and away from traffic. Markings were great and easy to follow.

    We were provided with a lot of information (maps, routes, suggestions), but they were in separate books and materials. It would be helpful if they could be integrated more, or if we could have received more of the information ahead of time. It took us a couple of days to sort through the various pieces.

    The best hotel was in St. Agatha. The best meals were at our hotel in Melk. Grein was a very cool town, with lots of art and theater. It was also very picturesque as we approached. The most beautiful site was the Abbey in Melk; the most meaningful was the Mauthausen Memorial. The biggest surprise was the swimming pool at our hotel in Krems. We loved the Wachau Valley, where we had vouchers for a bottle of wine and a tasting of liqueur. We also loved having the bikes available to explore Vienna, on the last day of our Read more… magical week.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

    • Jehiel 3 years ago     Staff

      Heidi,
      Thank you for sharing this feedback with us! We are working hard with our local partners to provide you with detailed and thorough information before your trip.
      Thanks again for your feedback!

      Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Eldon W. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    LIa is the best guide we've ever worked with - well informed, good managing people, qualified in every way; and went well beyond what she had to do in her position. All the riding - even in the rain and varied road surfaces - was extremely pleasant.

    Because Lia is an exceptional guide; on this trip one guide for up to 30 cyclists worked well. In most cases, however, I think having only one guide for this large a group - especially a group with many novice riders - is bad practice. Also, a water bottle cage and a cyclometer on the bike would have been nice.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

    • Jehiel 3 years ago     Staff

      Hello Eldon,
      We are glad that you had a great time and think highly of Lia! We do agree that a second guide, especially for larger groups would be preferable, however, because of the nature of the tour and the fact that many people do opt for the self-guided option, having two guide for all tours isn't always possible.

      Water bottles can be easily stowed in your handle bar bag or panniers. Cyclometers aren't provided on this tour but you are always welcome to bring your own.

      Thanks again for your feedback!

      Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Cely de Souza Freitas 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Fiz esse passeio de bike, sozinha, de 08/08/2016 a 15/08/2016, com uma pequena alteraçõ pois terminou em Galway. Foi INCRÍVEL, uma experiência MARAVILHOSA, a empresa prestou um serviço PERFEITO, PRECISO E IMPECÁVEL. Minhas surpresa e satisfação motivaram iniciar preparação para mais uma aventura, desta vez, na Alemanha, que já conheço, mas, desta vez, farei de bicicleta. Muito obrigada por tudo e até breve.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Robyn G. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Booking the trip was easy. My husband and I had a wonderful time biking around Holland and exploring beautiful countryside and the historical towns. We strongly recommend the trip.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Maggie C. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful standard of accommodation - meals quality and cabin comfort were excellent. Cheese tasting on board every evening was an unexpected bonus. The bikes are operated by a pedal break which was a new experience for our group of 7 but we adapted over the course of the trip. The cycle routes were excellent, not too strenuous and were long enough so that you really felt that you had a good day's exercise and yet there was just enough time to stop off in some of the lovely towns and villages for museum and cafe visits.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Sandra M. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great trip. The Romantica is a newer ship and therefore the rooms were a little bigger and the bathrooms comfortable. The two guides, Marko and Ivana, were excellent. The bike riding was good, although not many miles, maybe 90 over 6 days. One thing that was also different is all 32 guests rode together with the two guides. This had it's benefits, but for avid bikers like us, we spend a lot of time waiting. The food on the boat was outstanding, including many local dishes made with fresh ingredients.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Mike W. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was well run and organized. The bikes were in excellent condition and easy to ride. The selected routes were easy to follow and offered many sights and excursions. Would highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Glen W. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Boat and crew were first class as was the bicycles. Lots of fun and enjoyed the evening company. Beautiful scenery and city visits. Most memorable was the 50 km day trip my 86 year old father-in-law did with 7 other family members.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Jeff S. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge trip aboard the Magnifique was amazing. Could not have asked for a better trip! Can't wait to go on another bike and barge trip.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium

  • Rosemary 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I arrived in Garden City, Long Island with two friends after driving from Ontario. My friend's cousin took us on the train with rented bicycles to Pen. Station and total strangers helped me up the escalators with my bike. Then met up with the "Ride". It started raining half way through and was pouring before the finish. We opted not to follow the crowds down to Battery Park to endure the end of the ride festival in the teaming rain.
    We were dripping and freezing when we entered the metro and bought a tea from the Coffee Shop there. The cashier said it was "on the house" for us(two older woman in our group of four). She said she had seen us going out early that morning and was pleased that we had endured the weather to finish. We had to ride through the busy streets no longer
    closed to traffic, dodging buses and taxis to get back to Pen. Station, but what fun we had riding past Radio City Music Hall and singing, "the sidewalks of New Read more… York", and riding past the Cherry Blossoms in Central Park during "the ride".
    What an experience.

    Countries:

  • Ann R. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The owners of the barge are on board and are involved in daily running of the ship. They made me feel like a guest in their home!

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Jeff K. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The boat staff was great. Food, service and cleanliness was excellent.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Sinéad D. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was my 4th cycling holiday but this year the quality of bikes was poor, only had 7 gears, had 21 gears every other year and did not like the back pedal brake.

    Most memorable part was Stein am Rhein, and also liked the fact we could stop cycling and jump into the lake whenever we wanted.

  • Shirley P. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Hotels varied. My daughter stayed at Hotel Krenn-- not great. Food in Rhein am Stein not good. Hotel St Leonard and Hotel Cholsteroff had the best food. The rides were fantastic, would say the last day was a bit boring and less scenic (especially the second half). Would have been nice to include the Rhine falls. Would love to do it again as there were many sights we didn't get to see! Loved the trip and have highly recommended it back home.

  • Robin V. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic dinners & wonderful guide, captain, staff!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Bob O. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Truly a wonderful experience. I was the tour organizer for a group of 12 tandem cyclists. Hennie and her staff at TripSite and the Captain and crew of the Quo Vadis were truly above and beyond expectations. This was a life bucket trip for all involved and all were very satisfied with the entire experience!

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Julie M. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was an awesome experience! Loved everything!

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Mary Higgins 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip looks awesome. Loved the blog and the accompanying pictures - not just the scenery, but the FOOD as well.

    Countries:

PWPC