Bike Tour Reviews 1951 to 1980 of 3157

 

  • Tripsite Traveler: Pedals, Petals, and Pastimes with Peg Cass
    by Denise early 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great post about a great trip

    Countries:

  • Andalusia - Seville to Granada
    by Bob S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The written notes for the trail description were poorly written and not accurate. Our guide made up for this with proper verbal description for each segment.
    The hotels were all superb with the the one exception ( Hotel Torre Palma) where the breakfast was lacking, just some pastries, bread, coffee and juice and no fruit, cheese, meat or yogurt.
    Overall the trip was excellent and we surely enjoyed our extra knowledgeable guide Jeff.

    Countries: Spain

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Elisabeth P. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was since every bit of it was exceptional: the scenery, the friendly staff, the other guests, the food, all were above expectations. Add to that the fact that we had perfect early Fall weather, sunny but not too hot, we felt like we had spent a week in heaven.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • The Receptive (and Responsible) Traveler
    by MaryAnn Ley 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved reading your perspective and it's very inspiring. I too, vow to be a receptive traveler. One of my favorite things to do is travel and meet people and participate in the local culture. We have been on 2 bike trips and have fallen in love with this type of vacationing. Planning our next trip- Croatia!

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Jim M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our 2nd trip this year. We signed up for a 3rd already. Barge and bike is wonderful.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Paul A. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I speak as one who has done three previous bike/barge tours via Tripsite. It was marvelous, "gezellig," being the Dutch term. Capt. Rendert Jan and his excellent crew went out of their way to please the passengers, including providing a guitar for my wife to practice with. The scenery along the Mosel is like a fairy tale. The bikes ran perfectly. The food was plentiful and excellent. Considering that it was late October, even the weather cooperated--except for the first day when our small and perhaps unwise contingent got drenched. We had a bonus because it was the last trip of the season so we stayed on past Koblenz for two nights and left the Quo Vadis in Arnhem where we overnighted in a hotel in order to catch the crack high speed train to the Frankfurt airport. Said crack high speed train broke down in Cologne and we barely made our flight.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Around Paris
    by Janet Ashley 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We took this trip from Compiegne to Moret-sur-Loing in September. It was just perfect in every way. There were eight in our group and Marco made us feel like family. The bike ride along the Seine was just beautiful with views one would never see from a car. There is so much activity along the river and in the evening we were guided around the towns where the barge was moored for the night. The bike ride through Paris was personally terrifying for me, but was also a thrill. I would probably do it again. Our guide Yought was full of stories and also very supportive. I could not have done it without him. WE all appreciated Kim who prepared wonderful meals with great variety and was always there to welcome us back at the end of the day. This was the perfect bike/barge trip. We are now thinking about taking a trip in Holland with the Clair de Lune.

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gordon M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The e-bike option really made the trip for me. It allowed me to bicycle each day, get plenty of exercise, and not overdo it. As a result, I was able to enjoy the sites and experience much more.

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Martha B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Outstanding guide, great staff on boat, wonderful food. The beautiful scenery from Bolzano to Mantova was probably the most memorable. Really happy we took the additional 3 days before boarding the barge.

    Countries: Italy

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Pat R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Would have liked more time biking. 2 days had less than 10 miles. We were in the guided group and were told the group would decide how much to bike on those days-we were never asked as a group-the guide decided himself we would do the shorter distance. Barge "purser"-a woman-not very friendly or helpful or available. Trip booked as a Bordeaux start and end, but the location of start and end of trip changed and we had to pay extra to get ourselves to Cadillac and back to Bordeaux from Libourne. The boat company should have provided that transfer free of charge. The 2 wine tasting charges should have been included in the trip charge. The boat charged 20 euros for a bottle of wine in the wine country of Bordeaux and we were not allowed to bring on any wine from the outside. You could buy a nice bottle of wine for less than $10.00 in town. Disappointed that we had twin beds-expected a double in the suite room.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Heel of Italy
    by Jacqueline A. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenic Coastal ride. The most memorable part was visiting and staying overnight in unique and incredible towns and sites.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Anne H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would absolutely recommend this trip. We felt we were very lucky to have Hein as our guide. His insight was wonderful.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Marianne L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery on this trip,while biking, was not memorable or especially unusual which was to be expected given the flatland of our itinerary. I was hoping it would be more dramatic but not surprised that it wasn't. Still I loved being there and next time will consider a more challenging terrain which ought to improve the views. ( ps lunch stop venues need more thought- in general unattractive.)
    Memorable: the towns of Mantova and Ferrara were lovely and I enjoyed having time to spend in them , instead of merely riding through. The food was glorious and I felt the staff went the extra mile for us with a few perks and personal attention if needed. Clearly they like their jobs and it showed.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Rod C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The amazing all inclusive 3-4 course dinners at the end of the day were great. The castles were great to see.

    Countries: France

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patricia E. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire staff was impeccable. They aimed to please and all had wonderful personalities. My only regret was wifi being shut down at 11pm. This was the best time for me to talk to loved ones. Other than that, it was great. Feedback from my group was positive.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Grace F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall, the trip was good. There was, however, a disconnect among what our trip itinerary described and what the guide and the captain thought in terms of mileages and what entrance fees were included. The guide used the corner system. That means that the entire group has to ride together and do the same mileages each day. The trip description notes that each participant will receive maps and be able to ride on their own. We did not receive maps and therefore it made it impossible to ride on our own.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Kevin M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Route was easy. We especially liked the fact that the boat stayed overnight where each day's ride ended. Our guide was a replacement so we don't think he was familiar enough with the route to give us the best guidance.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Bolzano to Venice
    by Lauren M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    No, I wouldn't recommend this trip. The hotels were not in the best areas of the city (even with paying extra for the nicer hotels) and there was much more biking on busy streets with cars than expected.

    Countries: Italy

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Lynn L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed the off-road trails and quiet back roads near Aigues Mortes.

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Susan D. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Wachau Valley was our favorite!
    Our only complaint is that the toilet in our room was backing up sewer gas. Would have really welcomed a bathroom fan to duck it away or an improved sewer trap to prevent this.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
      by Jehiel 3 years ago         Staff

      Hi Susan,
      Thanks for sharing this feedback. Sometimes these things are hard to correct because of the construction of the ship. However, we are working with our local partner to make improvements to this boat for next season based on your feedback.
      Thanks again!

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Deborah O. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge, service, guide, food, comfort, weather and on and on...all great.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Joyce K. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the trip but the self-guided instructions could have been better. We relied on Google maps more than we should have had to; would have been quite lost without it.
    We were a very small group and we all got along very well and became friends throughout the week.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Merzig to Cochem
    by Tom R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great trip that the group from Spokane (Tom & Mary Kay R. Mike and Mary M., Jan and Mark B., John and Helen W. -UK) recommends to anyone interested in seeing a beautiful part of Germany. It was not just the scenery that was great, but also how the Merlijn ""crew"" always made you feel at home and took care of any problems. Special thanks to Jantien, Henk and Jacques!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Auxerre to Paris and Paris to Auxerre
    by Bruce C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge was great, crew was excellent, could use more air conditioning, bikes need new pedals with more grip, very slippery especially when wet, boat could review policy of not letting riders use their own pedals.

    Countries: France

  • Tripsite Traveler: Fulton Armstrong
    by Cheryl 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fulton, are you riding the bike from destination to destination and the boat you are staying on is following Along on a canal? Just trying to get an idea of how this works. Going with someone who doesn't ride a bike.

    Countries: Netherlands

    • Tripsite Traveler: Fulton Armstrong
      by Fulton A. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Hi, Cheryl.
      Yes, that's the basic approach: Bikers leave the boat and go "inland" to enjoy the countryside and towns while the boat follows the canals to the destination for that night. But non-riders (of whom there have been four or five on each of the trips I've made) also have a great time. Cruising the canals gives them great vistas, fresh air, and quiet time to read or nap or chat or write postcards for their bike-bound companions!
      On many routes, captains and guides also find a half-way point along the route where riders come near the canal -- and end their rides for the day or people can join them.
      I love this model of touring for a bunch of reasons. You get to see truly stunning things from your bike or your easy chair on the boat. You unpack/pack only once. Your bed is just a couple minutes' walk from the center of these cool river towns. And you never see the same thing twice!
      --Fulton

      Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Roger H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There were many memorable parts of this trip. The vineyard/bike trails around Melk were very nice.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rollie B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The people I was on the trip with we all had a just terrific time. A truly wonderful trip with a great staff great a wonderful trip.

PWPC