Bike Tour Reviews 2011 to 2040 of 2828

 

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by S. Kraushaar 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Second time on the Merjlin. We would definitely book a third. Bike/Barge trips are so much fun!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by D. Hunts 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by D. Keener 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved the entire trip. The bikes trips were great - always lots to see with just the right amount of time in the saddle. My sister (who is not used to much cycling) loved her electric bike.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by L. Bockelmann 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The entire bike-barge trip on the Ave Maria far exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by J. Proller 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I would have appreciated written directions each day of the turns so that we could do a self guided trip. Also, it would help to have a staff as a sweeper to make sure the group urging in the correct direction .

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by T. Hottentot 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a wonderful trip. The hostess is exceptional, the food fabulous, the guide very good and all the passengers were nice to be with.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by S. Breaugh 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall I really enjoyed our trip. However, our guide Piet left a lot to be desired. He got us from the boat and back each day but that was about it. We had very few stops during the day for water breaks or photos. He did not provide any "tour guide" type of information like history or pointing anything out of interest, or even a clear idea of the details of the following day. While we got to all the towns on the itinerary, everything was pretty much closed after dinner so we couldn't do any sightseeing in towns on our own. The guide on our sister ship "Liza Marleen" did much more with her group.

    On the plus side, the barge Sailing Home was excellent and the crew was great - very friendly and helpful. Our chef Markus was amazing.

    I had an electric bike and I loved it. It made the trip much easier and enjoyable. Highly recommend it for inexperienced bikers.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by J. Shah 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best time we ever had. It was like coming back to home after the day cycling. Staff was very friendly and felt at home. Food was good. Look forward to come again in future for sure. The E-bikes were too good and very good for us who are not regular cyclist.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by B. Dewey-Kirschman 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The tour was wonderful! We had clear weather the entire week and a great group of people to ride with. The "Sailing Home" really was comfort plus, with an attentive and helpful staff.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by P. Cass 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything exceeded our expectations. Crew made us feel like family, food was excellent and tour was perfect including the weather and the tulips.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Authentic Holland
    by Kris 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was such an amazing trip on the Gandalf with Captain Hans and Fred the guide. The description does not do this trip justice. You go through such varied terrain like forests, along the water and the towns were sooo charming! I've been to Holland many times and yet I saw such a beautiful side of Holland that blew me away!

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tripsite Traveler: Elizabeth Correll
    by Laura Kuhlman 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Sounds like you really enjoyed the trip. I know your feeling about biking and traveling. I think it is the only way to travel. I leave on August 12 with four friends to Bolzano, Italy and venture to Venice. Cannot wait.

    Thank you for the post!

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by L. Bendz 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was my second bike and barge trip on the La Belle Fleur for the tulip tour and it was fantastic. We had an excellent guide, Koehn, who selected lovely routes thru rural settings and we saw amazing fields in bloom, the national park leading to the North Sea and the Amsterdam Forest on return. The barge sparkled and Sanders and Els were very warm and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable. The new bikes had very comfortable seats and were lighter & BETTER for riding the 13 to 23 miles/ day distances. Unfortunately we hit a week of rainy inclement weather so we wore every warm layer we had plus scarves and rain gear. Our fellow travelers from Canada and Brazil were very good sports. I can't wait to try the France river trip on the Mosel River next time!! Thank you for making this trip of memories possible!!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by K. Vandermeer 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was awesome... Even tho it rained EVERYDAY...had a great time. The guide was great and he was able to adjust route to accommodate group. The scenery was incredible and enjoyed every day . The bikes were perfect with 8 gears to meet the needs of trip...

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by S. Eitnier 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great trip.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by P. Shackleton 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Absolutely fabulous people(both tour guide & barge owners), amazing routes and clean accommodating facilities. The food was plentiful and some of it quite good. Some meals were a bit thin and breakfast & lunch too much the same stuff. However, for the cost of this trip it was very satisfactory; I have recommended the Fleur d Bell and thank all organizers for a smooth and memorable trip!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tripsite Traveler: Elizabeth Correll
    by Sandi Wilson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I enjoyed your pictures and commentary ~ allowing me a bit of insight on your trips!

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by L. Vandermeer 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat crew were both very nice, friendly and helpful. The bike guide was wonderful - such a great guy, wonderful sense of humour, very kind and considerate. He was also very knowledgeable about the places we went. The bikes were excellent. The routes we took were wonderful - made very good use of the great Dutch biking infrastructure, and we went through a very interesting mix of countryside, villages, pretty urban neighbourhoods, etc.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Super Tulip Tour
    by J. Coffin 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff,food and barge were exceptional. Just a wonderful experience. I would definitely recommend the tour.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by L. Chandler 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I loved this trip. The Merlijn was well-above my expectations. Very clean and well setup. Everything on the boat was perfect. Now if only we had had better weather. :)

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • North Holland Tour
    by L. Scrutton 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I would have liked was some variety in the lunch fruit. Apples every day but one ...... got a bit boring. I would also have liked to have a condiment (mustard or mayonnaise) to add to the meat/cheese sandwiches as they were a bit dry. All in all, a great trip! Too bad the weather wasn't a bit better, but nothing could be done about that.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by M. Dries 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Although we had a week of rain and cool temperatures, the attitude and spirit of all on the boat was upbeat and lively. We biked in all kinds of conditions and still had a great time. Our guide was informative and accommodating. The scenery was beautiful from one location to the other and the food on the barge was top notch and delicious. I thoroughly enjoy the whole trip from start to finish.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Alentejo Vineyards
    by J. Sheldrick 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The accommodation was excellent! (although we weren't very please with the location of our room in Evora at the Pousada Convento dos Loios as we were right next to the eating area which was occupied by diners from 7 am for breakfast and up to 10 pm for dinner)

    However, there are two things something that could easily have made the trip more enjoyable: putting kick stands on the bikes and improving the maps and written directions.
    It was incredibly annoying not to be able to stand the bikes up as we stopped frequently for pictures and most of the time, there wasn't anything to lean the bikes against. Having to lay them down on the ground sometimes resulted in the rear pannier getting knocked off centre which then meant readjusting it.

    Even though a gps was provided and was invaluable, we found the maps to be very poor most of the time, one time even the local tourist office couldn't help us! It would be very helpful if simple written directions were included on how to best leave the hotel and / or town to start the day's journey.

    We were impressed with the care and attention given to the safety aspect with the tools and equipment provided including a phone. We very much appreciated being picked up by Francisco at the train station in Pinhal Novo and also by Sofia who drove us from Evora to our hotel in Sintra. Thanks again!

    Countries: Portugal

  • The Receptive (and Responsible) Traveler
    by Terri 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I would love to be a receptive traveler! I think what you are doing is wonderful!

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by E. Heide 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We would have like more written details of the areas we were seeing. We also would have liked a stronger wifi connection. Food and service was excellent.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by E. Correll 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Bicycling Passau to Vienna with the MS Normandie was a great experience. The bicycle route was mostly flat and in top condition. The views along the way were scenic and enjoyable. The small villages were charming and the larger cities were very beautiful. Our accommodations and meals on the boat were wonderful. One of my favorite experiences of the week was the optional trip to the opera house in Vienna. I am especially glad I didn't miss it. This was my third Tripsite tour and overall this adventure was everything and more that I had hoped for. I would highly recommend it to anyone that loves cycling. I think it is suitable for all skill levels. I will say that on this tour the guides daily instructions were minimal. His input was very basic and quite a disappointment compared to past guides. No photo slide show with instructions such as, "when you see this landmark or sign be sure to turn here." The guide books with maps that were provided were of great assistance, however, and we were able to compensate for the most part by carefully following these written instructions. There was also a small tourist guide book in each room from which you could read about points of interest in each city and village along the way. As I said, overall this was a fantastic week and my friend and I loved every minute!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by L. Epstein 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    More hot breakfast food. The route was semi-urban and suburban and that could have been made clearer beforehand. I liked doing one or more interesting stops each day. Keukenhof day was terrific, including cycling by tulip and hyacinth fields.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by J. Stowell 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was an amazing trip. The scenery and flowers were absolutely stunning, the group was great, and we had wonderful food, thanks to our chef, Sander. Nico, our guide was fantastic. He is fun and knowledgable and took great care of us. I would love to take another of his tours! I loved the biking. It was pretty chilly and sometimes very windy, but always doable. The bike roads and scenery make the Netherlands a perfect place to bike.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by J. Geall 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a super time. My only suggestion is have a snack for post bike ride and pre dinner. We arrived starving so that would be great. Otherwise this was just an amazing way to see Europe.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by T. & C. Tucker 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a total of six people who we traveled with. All had a positive option of he barge and the bikes. The owners, Hank and his wife gone over the top to make sure everyone had a good time and responded to any issues or problems. Our bike tour guide was outstanding and explained many of the sites. Great value.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC