Bike Tour Reviews — 2851 to 2880 of 3112

 


Amy Rowland
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Patria Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

My mom and two sisters and I did this trip last month to celebrate my mom turning 75 this summer. We had a blast! The boat was comfortable and food was delicious, including lots of healthy salads and fruit. The crew was top-notch; keeping things running smoothly and on-time. The riding was wonderful every day, even with a few rainy days. The routes were fun, and full of countless "photo-ops" with picturesque villages, castles, churches and vineyards. We rarely had to climb any hills or interact with cars, so the riding really was suitable for beginners or seniors. We werewith the smaller "English-speaking" group, so had our orientation to the next day's route the evening before. Somehow, despite the four of us thinking we were paying close attention, we always managed to forget something about the route instructions, but part of the fun challenge was finding our way back to the route when we took a wrong turn or crossed the wrong bridge. By the last few Read More

Rachel Rulmyr
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My husband and I(in our 60"s) were on the Sailing Home a month ago with 6 friends from Bruges to Amsterdam. We had the most wonderful time. Everything about this trip exceeded my expectations. The boat, our accommodations, the food, the crew were all excellent and I can't say enough about our guide Hugo. He was amazing and really made our trip memorable. He was funny and very knowledgeable about everything we saw so we got info about the countries and the politics. I highly recommended this fun trip for all ages and biking abilities.

Loretta and Lynn bendz
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

We had an amazing experience with Sanders and Els in April 2015 and I can't wait to do it again! The food and bicycles and itinery were all excellent! We had great weather although the northsea beaches were a little windy. I liked being able to pack my lunch so that we had more time exploring delightful Netherlands! Thank you for this fantastic opportunity. Feel free to share our experience with anyone interested in bike barge tour in the future. Thanks again! Loretta Bendz

Beth Perry
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

To say the Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus bike and boat tour was most excellent would be a gross understatement of fact! The Harmonia ship was a dream boat - roomy cabins with large baths, a chef that really should get a Michelin star or two and staff that were friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We biked up long mountainous terrain and were rewarded with views that were breath taking (we were also rewarded with a nice long downhill ride). After our rides, we would tuck into a cove and swim in the beautiful, blue, clear, Adriatic Sea. It just doesn't get better than this! Bonus - a day trip to Mostar to see the famous bridge. The eight days were over in a heartbeat - I will certainly take another trip like this though how it can be topped is beyond my comprehension. Tripsite has many options so I feel confident that I will find another biking trip that will be equally enjoyable.

Mayita
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fiep Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

I traveled aboard the Fiep from Amsterdam to Bruges* in July of 2013, and it was a wonderful way to see this part of the world. (*It looks like the itinerary has changed slightly, but on our trip the boat stopped in Ghent and we had to take a train back and forth to Bruges, which was a disappointment I didn't discover until after booking.) I traveled solo but was matched with a wonderful roommate. The accommodations were fine - I believe they've added air conditioning now, which will be a great improvement! - and the crew and chef were terrific. Our tour guide was adequate, and we all agreed that with a large group of 26 she probably should have had some assistance with wrangling everyone, but there were only minor glitches and no disasters. :-) I can happily recommend both the Fiep and TripSite if you're looking for a unique travel experience!

Donna Buck
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence - old version
Italy

Tripsite personnel...Just wanted say that "the girls" had a "blast" on this trip. This was the first one for 2 of the riders and the second one for another rider. Venice was great fun and the water taxi at night was beautiful. Taking the ferries and riding along the water was wonderful. Even the rain a few days did not dampen our spirits. Every little town along the way was a gift to us as we peddled through or visited the sites in the evening. The hill up to the tuscan views was a leg burner and had to be walked but well worth the effort as we rode down into Florence. Thanks from all of us for coordinating a bucket list item for Deb and a great memory for all!

Lisa Smoak
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We just returned from our bike trip; Amsterdam to Bruges aboard "Sailing Home" (June 13- 20). This is our third Bike-n-Barge tour and we will do it again. I thoroughly enjoy being able to exercise everyday and have someone make me dinner in the evening. We also prefer the smaller barges.
Bill and Lisa Smoak - Melbourne, Florida

Bill and Candy Flink
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We just returned from our trip aboard the Sailing Home going from Bruges to Amsterdam. The trip was outstanding! Our guide, Hugo, was fantastic. He took time to explain a lot about the country, its people, and culture. We appreciated the walks he took us on in the evenings into town to learn more and explore. The boat was exceptional. the cabins were very comfortable and we enjoyed every delicious meal. The crew was always helpful, positive, and welcoming. We would go on another trip like this next week if we could. We will be back again as soon as we can. Thanks for preparing such an enjoyable cycling experience. Bill and Candy Flink Sacramento, California

Cornelius Mast
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The Mast Family
Bike tour Bruges to Amsterdam,
June 14-20, 2015

We really enjoyed the trip. The scenery was beautiful and we got a good overview of the coasts, farm land, waterways, historical sites and the cities. The hotels were very nice, comfortable, varied and had good restaurants in the hotels. The breakfast buffets were great. We particularly enjoyed the smaller hotels. Luggage transfer worked well.
The routes were easy to follow for the most part once we got “tuned into” finding the route signs. With the maps we were also able to alter the route to see some other sites we were interested in.
A couple of things would have made the trip easier:
Equipment:
More specific information about the bikes, which differ from those we normally ride, before the trip started would have helped us to get a good start the first day.
An extra tube for the tires would have helped since some tires required multiple patches.
Read More

Brian
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

As Jana said, Riccardo from Verde-Natura was the first bike guide we've had and he made things so much easier and enjoyable. He was constantly checking on all the riders and never seemed to mind going back downhill to check on slower riders. Everyone on the Deriya Deniz went to great pains to make sure each of us had what was needed - even supplying food for our picnic lunches. The last evening, we all got a wonderful surprise that was so much fun...but I'll not divulge their secret! The crew really was remarkable. For instance, we had an early morning flight from Naples to Palermo on the last morning of the trip. In order to get to the airport at the proper time, we had to wake at 4:30 am. Every single crew member plus Riccardo got up to see us off at 5:00 am making sure once again, we had what we needed or desired. I cannot imagine a better experience in this singularly beautiful location and highly recommend this trip!

Jana
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

Incredible! This was our sixth bike trip and our first guided bike and boat trip, and it wins the prize. Our Italian guide, Riccardo, was informative, kind, patient and always looking out for our safety, (He also knew the best places for gelato, gratina, pizza and of course, beautiful off the beaten path trails, parks and picnic spots.). The boat was gorgeous (immaculately clean) and our cabin much roomier than I anticipated. The captain was awesome (the epitome of the leader of the vessel, but also with a sense of humor); first mate truly did everything from helping unload bikes to driving us on the dinghy to shore; the chef prepared marvelous dinners, and Olga did everything else to ensure a great trip. Then, there is the biking! Wow! I have never had such exhilarating rides as on the Amalfi Coast. Words and photos simply cannot convey the majesty and overwhelming beauty. The other islands visited were also lovely. And, even though the water was cold, swimming off the boat Read More

Harvey & Sharon Rishe
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Although we are seasoned travelers and fairly fit cyclists, we were new to bike & boat touring, and as a result we probably drove TripSite's Carla crazy! But her patience never faltered; she was generous and gracious with answers to our interminable questions and we arrived in Passau well informed and ready to have a great time.

Our expectations were met and exceeded. Not only had Carla prepared us well, but Rad & Reisen proved to be a world class organization. The accommodations were lovely, the gourmet meals splendid, the route information excellent, the professionalism and friendliness of the crew impeccable, and the camaraderie among fellow travelers delightful. Not to mention the gorgeous Danube scenery, the interesting villages, and beautiful Vienna!

We were so happy with TripSite and Rad & Reisen that we are already researching our next bike and boat trip with them! Thank you for a lifetime of wonderful memories.

Harvey & Sharon Rishe
Salt Lake City, Utah

Beth
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

Took the Jelmar out of Amsterdam and spent 4 days cruising and biking with our guide Fred. Our captain was sure of himself (reference the other comment above) but that is what I look for in a boat captain. Captains must know what they are doing when they traverse the locks, etc. The other folks on the trip were super chilled out and positive throughout. We lucked out and had perfect weather and biking conditions. Highly recommended and the tulips were at their peak!!!!

Lindsay (from Canada)
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Deriya Deniz Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea
Italy

My dad and I did this trip together in May 2014 - we both love cycling and being outdoors! The views were breathtaking.. breakfasts on board were superb with tons of espresso. The extra uphill biking in Ischia with the guide - totally worth the views at the end! Plus we got to relax at the top with an ice cold bottle of peroni. Boat is the best way to travel, by far, but bring some earplug in case it's noisy at night!! Every night I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow, from long days of biking and exploring. The crew on board was helpful and courteous - our guide was amazing and very knowledgeable (a Quebec native who now resides in Italy). We used TripAdvisor for tips on a good hotel to stay at to fly in & out of Naples (Napoli). It was an amazing experience, and I fell in love with the culture of Italy. I loved the country so much, we extended our trip and went to Rome and Florence on our own after the bike tour was done! I can't wait to do another bike tour.

Martha
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour
Netherlands

My husband and I had a wonderful trip. Doing loop rides from one location, instead of moving from one city to another each day, was perfect. It allowed us to become familiar with the area (so many restaurants to try!) and to modify the routes if we desired (for example, one day we cycled to the train station and took a train to Leiden instead of doing a long ride). The folks at TripSite are not kidding when they claim that the Netherlands is a bike friendly place. Certainly the nicest and safest cycling we have experienced! It is hard to say which route was my favorite but Widje AA has a taste of everything - dunes, blub fields, canals, windmills, and charming villages.

Nancy Van Sas
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon from Netherlands. Five of the 10 days were spent on La Belle Fleur with Sander and Els. I cannot say enough positive things about this bike and barge. I have been planning this trip for 8 years, so there were very high expectations that had to be met, which they successfully accomplished. The barge was very cozy with wonderful food served daily, including traditional dutch cuisine. The bikes (Gazelle) were great in traditional dutch style. Our guide was knowledgeable and kept us on pace of a very full 5 day schedule. I highly recommend this trip if you are looking for an adventure and to experience the country in true Dutch style. I know I will be back to explore more of this beautiful country, hopefully aboard the La Belle Fleur for another adventure.

Dennis Milling
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Remagen - Rhine Valley
Germany

September 2014...Arrived Frankfurt from Australia and caught train to Remagen. The walk from the station to the hotel took all of 30 seconds....the delightful receptionist had us booked into our room within a few minutes. Rooms were 10/10. Meals throughout our 7 day stay were all satisfying and scrumptious. Rental cycles albeit a bit on the heavy side were most reliable and well geared..and we should know as we rode up most of the cycle paths which the provided cycle maps suggested we ride down. One of the highlights was the Remagen Wine Queen celebrations held over the weekend in the Alstdt...plenty of wine beer food singing and dancing. Our weeks stay was so enjoyable we are going back in 2015.

Dennis Milling
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

Walked onto the Allure at Koblenz in Sept 2014 and immediately knew that the week ahead would be enjoyable. Skipper Martin's smiling face was ever present and the crew were simply obliging. Our cycle guide was a scream...we lost her regularly as we stopped off for the occasional German ale. It was with heavy heart that I left the Allure in Merzig 7 days later.

Frank McDowell
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  San Snova Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

My wife and I did the So Dalmatia tour aboard the San Snova in Sept '14. Beautiful country, excellent crew and guides and great group of bikers. It was a wonderful experience with good value.

Dixie Criddle
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Holland in a Nutshell - a Tulip Tour
Netherlands

This was our first self-guided bike tour and we absolutely loved it. We found the accommodation very satisfactory. We chose to pay extra for our evening meals, which was very convenient after a hard day of cycling. We did find some routes difficult to follow and often became lost, but this was just part of the fun! We would like to suggest a few ideas to make the map reading a little easier. Perhaps a key could be included in the map notes plus more landmarks and an overall map of Holland would be beneficial. We found the Dutch people went out of their way to assist us and the scenery was lovely. We also think Hilversum was too big. Thank you for a great tour!

K. Augustyn
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

I will say that this Danube barge/bike trip was probably one of the best vacations I have ever taken. My friends who took the trip with me feel the same way and we are considering doing another one next year. We will definitely consider the barge/bike cruises that you have to offer. Again, thank you very much!

Peg Hanson
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

I had a wonderful experience with Sander, Els, and Arie (sp). The food was amazing, the bikes were comfortable and efficient..enjoyed the walking tours and all the history information. Would recommend to anyone that wants a comfortable easy tour.

Linda and Marcel
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Albanian Highlights
Albania

We absolutely LOVED the Albanian Highlights Tour. It was everything the description promised and much more. I would rate it A+++ (and higher) for the quality of the guiding, equipment, meals accommodation, snacks, and cultural experience. Junid and Armand were so organized and treated us like treasured family guests. No corners were cut, right until every last one of us was dropped off at our individual destination on the final day. Definitely value for money. I will admit that the terrain and elevation (up and down) was challenging for both of us, but we felt a great sense of accomplishment that we were able to rise (literally) to the demands. The description of 'moderate to difficult' is accurate. The van was always there if we needed it, and thankfully we didn't. But back-up for a flat tire or other unexpected problem was not far behind. In my opinion, cycling (or riding in the van) with 'Cycle Albania' is really the only way to experience Albania to the fullest.

Lorraine
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Anna Maria IV Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
France

We did this trip in Sept. 2014. Great biking, but barge has seen better days.

Laurie Hurowitz
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  L’Estello Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

We have just returned from this bike and barge, our 2nd trip arranged by Tripsite. We were on the E'Stello (sister ship of the Soleo), and went from Aigue Mort to Avignon. We had a wonderful time! The trip was as described in terms of mileage, terrain, and sights along the way. The barge crew were all excellent, as was our guide. We were a group of 20, including Americans, Canadians, and Brits. I highly recommend this tour.

Joe Rine
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Patria Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

Wow, just finished the Koblenz to Saarburg on the Patria. The Patria and crew was great; meals were very good and plenty of food. Drinks were reasonable on board. Room was small, but enough storage and bunk was comfortable. Biking was very good, despite the three rainy days. Most important this is a cozy atmosphere where you can hang out at the Lounge at night, have a few drinks and socialize. We asked for a guitar and Gottfried, the tour guide found us one. Much to the enjoyment and maybe consternation...we did a sing along a couple nights. already planning next years trip!

Neil and Reute
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

This was our first biking trip so I can't make comprisons. All I can say is "absolutely fantastic". The detail and accuracy of the maps and directions is impressive. The scenery magnificent. The hotels and restaurants well chosen. There were a few hills on the way but the itinerary allows plenty of time to get from place to place. Having a couple of nights in each hotel is a benifit. Definitely recommended.

Margaret Collins
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The four country tour on the My Story was an amazing adventure. From the time we boarded the boat til the last evening it was very well organized. The staff were friendly and fun and helpful. The bikes were comfortable and the staff made sure they fit each person. The bike rides each day were well planned with lots of information on the wonderful stops along the way. The meals were amazing with lots of choices.

Thank you so much to trip site and the staff on the My Story for making our holiday a very memorable one. We enjoyed out trip so much we are looking forward to doing another one in the near future.

Jim and Dianne
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Discover the Dordogne-old version
France

Chateau and countryside were beautiful. All accommodation and meals were very nice. We loved the Bergerac wines and came to like the regional specialty of goose foie gras.

Ruyter Aquino
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Heel of Italy
Italy

Gostaria de salientar o quanto foi positivo nosso passeio, desde a bike, hospedagem, transporte de bagagem e roteiro. A Tripsite e a Girolibero estão de parabéns pela parceria. Ano que vem acredito ter mais viagem pela Tripsite. Obrigado