Bike Tour Reviews 2821 to 2850 of 2914

 

  • Mary Rohde 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Spectacular! Matt of Adventurebug was our guide and an outstanding leader! He took such awesome care of us, the bikes and all the details involved in a cycling trip. The hotels were charming, he made sure we tried all sorts of local produce, wines and cheeses. He was ready with dinner suggestions, took us to a flamingo show , olive oil factory and was a wealth of information on history, local customs and traditions. I highly recommend this trip.

    Countries: Spain

  • J. Brown 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I thoroughly enjoyed my barge and bike trip from Mantova to Venice in July of 2012. I would not change anything about my experience.

    The barge was very comfortable, and Juliano's food was excellent! The roads and paths we cycled on often allowed us to ride and chat alongside one another, which I liked because I was travelling by myself. The cycling was easy, but there were a few instances where we faced strong headwinds. The villages we travelled through were small in the beginning, but got larger as we approached the coast and Venice.

    The entire group interacted as they wished on board the barge and while cycling. The guests and the staff were friendly and fun. I would not hesitate to recommend this trip.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Cheri Emahiser 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our bike/barge tour to Bruge and Amsterdam in May was fantastic! Our tour leader, Tom, the boat captain, crew and accommodations aboard the Magnifique were terrific. We had a wonderful time with our fellow passengers from Norway, New Zealand, Germany, the East Coast and Switzerland. They were all such fun!

    We've traveled extensively and this trip turned out to be one of the best ever. The weather was wonderful and warm, which made for excellent bike riding and cruising on the boat in the evening. Going from Bruge to Amsterdam requires more cruising and less bike riding, we were told, but we loved every minute of our evenings on the top deck sailing through the locks.

    I hope we can book another trip with your company in the future; though this trip was so perfect, I worry that the next one wouldn't meet our expectations.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Kate 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I enjoyed this trip the first week of September 2011. The weather was hot but it was great to cool off swimming on the beach every day and jumping off the boat. There were gorgeous views of the coast from our bikes and the ride up to Ravello was worth it. We had a great guide and the crew on the boat was fun and very helpful - the evening meals cooked by the chef on board were very good and included lots of fresh fish. Sailing between the islands was definitely a highlight.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Jana & Brian 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a fantastic time this past June (2012). The routes were level and beautiful. The hotel and restaurant were outstanding. We hope to do this trip again. Many thanks to Hennie and her terrific staff for making our 4th vacation with Pack and Pedal another incredible event.

    Countries: France

  • Dave & Genny Vaughan 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We could not believe how well organized the tour was. We found the riding very relaxing with beautiful scenery. The attention to detail by Mart and Miss Ellie was second to none. Thank you for your dedicaton to our great holiday

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Jill Crair 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Here it is almost 3 months following our trip and I'm just getting around to writing how wonderful everything was. It exceeded our expectations (which were high to begin with). To refresh your memory,we were the Nisky Riders.Our focus of the trip were the flower fields in the Netherlands and they were spectacular. We were on the Zwaan's maiden voyage for 2012 and loved the entire experience of being on the barge. The crew were very endearing, food was delicious (Dorus, the cook, had us hooked on the first dinner). We were accommodated beautifully. I have a gluten allergy and they took great care of me.

     A group of friends is currently on the Brugge to Amsterdam ride and LOVING it.

     We are exploring your site for our 2013 ride,  we would like to plan something for late spring or early summer. So I will be in touch in the near future.

    It all started with you and our experience with you sealed the deal. You added a personal quality that is much Read more… appreciated.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Alexander Benediktsson 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Thank you for the great trip! I've already booked another from your company for next year. All of my friend here in Iceland have asked me about your company and I know that some of them have already booked trips for next year.

    Countries: Italy

  • Bill Fleshman 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The accommodations and the dinners provided in the package were excellent. I can speak for all 9 of us that we would certainly use your company again and would recommend it to anyone in search of such a vacation. 

     

    Thanks for you excellent and prompt service. 

    Countries: France

  • Sheila Pope 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic Super Tulip Tour in mid April of 2012. The staff of the very comfortable Zwaan were all professional, yet entertaining and informative. We learned a lot about Holland that week, and saw its beautiful countryside at a leisurely pace on the excellent bicycles provided. I would definitely recommend this trip and company to anyone considering a bike and barge tour.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Janet 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I did this tour in April 2012. It was the first time we had cycled in the Netherlands, and the tulips were in full bloom. The accommodations were excellent, the terrain was pretty flat, and the bike roads were amazing. The signage was excellent and we sometimes varied our path from the directions to add to the adventure. It was a most memorable trip. We would do it again at the drop of a hat.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Turnbull's Canada 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    What a fun time! We took this trip June 17, 2012. Beautiful scenery, nice weather (hot) and the biking was very easy. The food was great (food specific to each region visited). It was fun to meet the Europeans on the boat. Service on the boat was great. 8 speed bikes were adequate for this trip, no need for the upgrade. Tripsite staff were great to deal with. Would like to have had more time in the beautiful city of Vienna. The opera was an awesome experience! Also did the night tour of Budapest and the city tour of Bratislava - both were a good way to see the highlights. Thank you.

  • craig machado & dick hasbany 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Dick and I had a marvelous trip on June 16-23 with the Zwaan. The crew was outstanding. We had a unique opportunity to see the lovely country of Holland (and a bit of Belgium) through professional eyes. Piet, Bas, Ilya and Moraije were the best. We are looking forward to another trip with you soon! Thanks again for preparing such wonderful experiences.

    July 2, 2012

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Christiane Dufour 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our experience on board the Magnifique from Amsterdam to Bruges was all that was promised and more. The ship is beautiful, well managed, clean and comfortable. The bicycles were of German design, 7 speed, sturdy , comfortable and well maintained. Yan, our guide, was so competent and knowledgeable that we chose to follow the group rather than hit off on our own. Everything went smoothly every step of the way thanks to the work of the entire staff. More sun would have made it absolutely perfect, but they had no control over that, or I'm sure they would have provided it for us! We’re hooked and we'll try other tours with you for sure!

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Doug Lay 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I took this Tuscany III tour in June 2012. It was a trip I will fondly remember forever!

    Tripsite and the local Italian tour organizer, Girolibero, provided excellent support from booking, to the tour itself. I was fully informed with information about the routes, hotel accommodations, what will be provided, and what I need to bring. There were no surprises!!

    I always felt safe and comfortable every day of riding. We were taken along the backroads of Tuscany, away from heavily travelled areas. The beauty of the rural scenery, and charm of the medieval villages and towns, were exactly what I had hoped for.

    The hotels were first rate - clean, comfortable and most providing a/c and free WiFi. The breakfasts provided a wide selection of food, something for everyone's taste.

    There were two things that would have made this tour even more enjoyable for me. One, is the bicycle seat. It was a wide, soft, gel seat. Contrary to what would be expected, it gave me Read more… saddle sores. I wish I had taken from hard, leather saddle from my own bike.

    The second disappointment was that the group of thirteen never rode together. Being on my own, I sought the company of others because I didn't want to cycle alone. This was never a problem, but nonetheless, I was expecting there to be group riding. Perhaps that would be addressed with a guided tour.

    All in all, I was very happy with the tour and the wonderful introduction to Italy and the beautiful region of Tuscany!

    Thank you Tripsite and Girolibero for a fabulous experience!!

    Doug

    Countries: Italy

  • Carol Vanevenhoven 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Magneburg-Berlin was a truly great bike and boat trip. Kudos to Jantin whose meals were varied, delicious and presented so well. Cabin was roomy and comfortable and service was outstanding. I would like to travel on the Merlijn again in the future and would gladly recommend it.

    Carol Vanevenhoven

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Paul Vanevenhoven 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Magdeburg to Berlin aboard the Merlijn was outstanding. Jantin's meals were "to die for," accomodations comfortable and service superior. Only concern, at times, even with small group, bikers got too spread out making it difficult for those in rear to catch up. Would highly recommend!

    Paul Vanevenhoven

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Chantal Pollock 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    To the staff of Pack & Pedal Europe Inc,

    This e-mail is in reference of our booked Bike and Boat trip on the MS Patria from Saarburg to Koblenz on the Mosel River in Germany for the week of May 5, 2012. Overall, our experience was excellent.

    The staff was very professional, courteous and useful. Also, most of the staff dealing directly with the guests had a reasonable knowledge of English. The boat, the public rooms and the cabins were all in good shape and clean, The guide was very knowledgeable about the Mosel region, very accessible and useful. The bikes were in very good working order. The food was delicious, fresh, varied, on time and most of the time it was 5 to 4 courses for suppers. The Mosel River is very scenic with Roman ruins, medieval castles, many pretty little villages with fun and interesting market squares and many vineyards on slopped hills. There were many opportunities to taste Mosel Riesling wines from the various little villages. Read more… From now on, we will stock our personal bar at home with wines from the Mosel region.

    As a handicapped person with limited mobility, the overall experience was excellent. The staff was always available to offer their assistance as necessary. They soon understood that I required limited assistance. The captain and his wife both invited me to sit with them on the sun deck in the navigation room when the boat was travelling which was both interesting and very pleasant. It was a good thing that my cabin was on the main deck. Although doable, my cabin was at the far end of the hallway and sometimes a bit of a challenge because of the distance. However, I think it was the only accessible room on the boat. My cabin was roomier which was convenient to store the wheelchair out of the way when not in use. The bathroom was small but accessible with a stool in the shower. The lift chair to descend to the lower level to the dining area worked most of the time and temperamental for the last few days. When the chair lift was temperamental, the staff did their best to fix it or to bring the food of our party to the upper deck. The lift chair was bulky and an older model. A few grab bars on the boat such as in the public washrooms and in the cabin shower would of been useful. When boarding or exiting the boat to dry dock, the plank to walk on had rope hand rails which made it a bit tricky because it wasn't solid as opposed to solid hand rails.

    Again, I will reiterate that we had an excellent experience and would highly recommend it to our friends. Our bike and boat trip was a rich experience of history, geography, economy and culture about the Mosel region.

    Very sincerely,

    Chantal

    Ontario Canada

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Sam Brewster 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Affordable and well-managed at both ends, A+ stateside, B for Europe. Don'ts: clip-in pedals, tandem rentals, and Ryan Air. Do bring your own bottle and cage. Above all, to see Portugal up close by bike (and foot) was an exceptional treat.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Ron Zauski 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    First of all the scenery was breathtaking. We loved the fresh air, mountains, and lovely Swiss towns and villages. Bern was outstanding. The bell ringing cows, einstein’s home, the blue waters of the Aare and the lakes were outstanding.

    We flew to Zurich, trained to Meiringen, got our bikes smoothly, and we were off. The weather was perfect and the “standard” bikes were high quality.

    We chose the “standard” hotels and each one you chose was outstanding. The luggage was always at the next hotel before we arrived. Breakfast at each hotel was diverse and tasty.

    You could improve upon the instructions. The book we received from Swiss trails was very good for high level view of the trip. Your additional paper copies were slightly helpful. It would be great if you could provide a few hints via map or written description of some confusion spots along the way. We found ourselves lost every day, but we were able to Read more… recover due to the nicely posted trail markers found throughout Switzerland.

    When we completed the trip, we concluded that we could have done the trip without luggage. Perhaps provide a trip discount for those requiring no luggage transfer.

    Countries: Switzerland

  • Stanley Pearson 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our group of 12 took this tour several years ago. We had extra days in Brussels (well worth it) and in Brugges (three days will give you a day to visit the seacost resorts (just 10 miles away. This trip is entirely in the Flenish (Northern) part of Belgium. Pack and Pedal took care of us in a first class manner..

    Countries: Belgium

  • Stanley Pearson 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our group of 11 cyclists took this tour in May 2009. We have taken some 8 European tours, and somehow this was the most memorable. It has s great combination of scdenery and historic sites. Our weather was perfect. Flying in and out of Berlin is handy. Hennie has cycled this route herself, so she knows it well! Pack and Pedal's service is, as usual, excellent.

    Stan Pearson.

    Countries: Germany

  • Stanley Pearson 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our group of 12 took this tour in 2010. We combined it to go from Orleans to Angers.

    The routes are pleasant and the hisoric sites are aewsome. As usual, Pack and Pedal took care of us in a very first class way.

    Stan Pearson

    Countries: France

  • Stan Pearson 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our group loved the Venice-Florence trip. Extra days at venice beforehand and Florence afterwards is very worthwhile. And having reservations made for us was very handy. The ride downhill from Fisole into Florence is one of the most spctacular 7 miles in Europe! As usual, Pack and Pedal really took care of us.

    Stan

    Countries: Italy

  • William Adams 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip. Great weather, great guide, nice boat. Great group of people, both other bikers and staff. Took some great pictures.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Joyce Baiardi 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was definitely a MODERATE trip. Biking was tough.The boat was nice, the food was fair at best, the wine on board ship was very expensive for a local bottle ($30). Croatia is beautiful, pictures of it don't do it justice. The seawater is gorgeous,clear, blue. The people are very friendly and speak excellent english. Overall this is the only way to vacation.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Barbara Reed 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    A glorious week of biking, eating, and comrade ride. All details were perfect. Just booked my third trip with your company!

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Gary Macfarlane 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great!!!!! Fantastic bike ride.

    Countries: Italy

  • Hans and Lynn de Jongh 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our group of 10 Canadian friends took this tour July 9-16 and we were met with a better-than-expected trip! Super staff, outstanding food and great accommodations aboard the Ave Maria keeps us talking about this amazing time we had. We'd highly recommend this tour - it was flat and very doable by any age! Tripsite is the best and we are planning our next excursion for 2013.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Jennifer Simon 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip we did was a self-guided tour of West Flanders & Brugge, and I can honestly say it was the best trip of my life! I can't recommend travel through Tripsite.com enough. Using them, we experienced the highest level of professionalism & security, in addition to a fantastic cycling adventure. We're definitely planning on another self-guided tour, the only problem we're having is agreeing on which one to take first! Thank you, Carla, Hennie & everyone at tripsite for giving us an experience we will never forget!

    Countries: Belgium

PWPC