Bike Tour Reviews 1231 to 1260 of 2828

 

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by York C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great trip. Boat and river cruise portion of the trip was more than expected. Service and the crew on the boat were excellent, including the food.
    Quality of bicycles was excellent. They were mechanically perfect. The only down side of the entire trip were the nightly route planning meetings and the quality of the maps and route guides. It was obvious that the tour leader giving the route agenda had never ridden the bike paths. Her English was not very good which made it even more difficult to understand the route(s). We had to fend for ourselves (asking people on the street for directions) numerous times because the routes were just not made clear. Also, the route was not what was not the same as what was spelled out on the website.
    Overall, we were very satisfied with the trip.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
    by Patricia M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was magical from start to finish, the personalized service for our group of 22 was amazing , we loved it!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Lyn H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the itinerary and biking routes!
    Barge suggestions:
    Dinner seat assignments-- still place with others of the same language, but not necessarily from the same country.
    The upper outdoor covered lounge allowed smoking which meant the entire area could be filled with smoke! This type of trip is for active, healthy lifestyle people...smoking should be confined to a small area in front of the pilot house (or not at all).

    Boat: Normandie

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patricia K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everyday was fabulous. So difficult to pick any one memorable part when you experience Venice, Grana Padana tour and tasting, the oldest clock in the world, a lotus flower lake and charming friendly people and staff.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Joseph S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip was beyond the expectations of everyone on the trip. The guides were great as was the boat and food. It can't get better than this!!!

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Charlott H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Bike and Barge in Belgium and Holland was a whole week of memories and is at the top of my favorite trips! You are surrounded daily by beautiful landscapes and architecture unique to the Netherlands. The bikes are perfect for extended times of riding and you are on bike paths close to canals for most of the trip. This is an active vacation which I prefer but is never too difficult. Everything is done for you so there was never any worries and I was relaxed all week. Meeting people from around the world is amazing. I had the fortunate experience of meeting a special couple from Australia and that was a bonus! I hope to do this trip again in the near future.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Around Paris
    by Jenny D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I just got back from the trip and had a wonderful time! The Boat, Bikes, and Food where the best that could be provided and the scenery was amazing! I found the description to be exactly as the trip experience. I felt like I was fully prepared for everything and cannot wait to do it again next year.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Marianne R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable part: the intense beauty of the Bavarian countryside.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast (no longer available)
    by Rudy R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most of the boat staff were great, personable and added to the quality of the trip. The food was DELICIOUS! The boat captain was generally ok but he had moments when he his language was offensive. There was a bit of conflict between our biking guide(s). I enjoyed our time on the boat. The biking was mixed. Some routes were in beautiful settings but along narrow and sometimes sidewalks shared by oncoming people walking, laying or oncoming bikes. I much more preferred the open roads, come cars but more enjoyable. Overall, I enjoyed the trip but the itinerary could use some tweaking.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Marie B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall this was a great experience. The boat was clean and the staff friendly. The itinerary and scenery was beautiful. The only negative was that the website had several inaccuracies. For example, the mileage each day was much longer than published. Also, the number of meals provided was less than published.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jim W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great experience, although a very large group to be riding together. The food was good but not great. Made some friends and really enjoyed the trip.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
    by Ian & Janis M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Jantien was amazing! She was always available, ready to help in anyway, answer questions, run a tidy and very clean ship... in short, do anything to make our stay pleasant and stress free. It was obvious she was genuinely concerned for the happiness of her, as she called us, "Dear Guests". We looked forward every day to her well thought out and wonderfully prepared evening meals. The staff were all highly focused on the same things, a testament to Jantien's leadership. We have no hesitation in recommending Jantien and the Merlijn.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Joanne F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We truly enjoyed this trip, with beautiful flowers in every town and swans everywhere. One night, we had a bevy of swans peaking in at us as we ate dinner!. The bikes are great, with comfortable seats and smooth gearing. The dinners were always a delicious surprise. Sanders and Els were wonderful hosts, and our guide, Seitze, was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the Mosel area, including Roman aqueducts, medieval castles, World War II sites, and, of course, the history of the EU. Nancy was my favorite big city but we also had a night time walking tour of a little town overlooking the Mosel, called Liverdun...where delicious Madelines come from! Very cute town. We went in early September and the cabins were a bit warm even at night. You can open windows, but it could be uncomfortable in the summer. Biking was mostly flat so not difficult but I definitely got some exercise. Another favorite: stopping for coffee and pastry each morning!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast (no longer available)
    by Laurie F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery along the Dalmatian Coast was spectacular. A young Croatian guide (Ben) was hired to replace the usual Dutch guide (Bernard) who had broken his hip seven weeks before in a bike accident. Ben was kind, knowledgeable and fun. Bernard and his girlfriend were along on the tour as we only had six members in our group and a cabin was available. Apparently Bernard has some "financial interest" in the boat as well as being the usual tour guide. Bernard seemed to have something to prove from the first day. He had a problem letting go of control and letting Ben do the job he was hired for. When Bernard was along on the days' excursions he was overbearing and sometimes suggested unsafe maneuvers on the bike. I overheard him say American women were wimps. His girlfriend suggested that it was not just American women but men as well who might not be comfortable with a particularly dangerous turn off a road and onto a bath along the sea. By the end of the week he had mellowed somewhat. I suspect mostly due to his American girlfriend.

    The captain was loud, drank too much and changed the itinerary to suit his needs. Yes, some of it was weather related. But, we were told the first day by other staff that the captain had a woman at every stop and expect our schedule to reflect it.

    The food was awesome!! The gals doing the cooking, Ivana and Antonia were fun, very smart about Croatian history and funny. Without the Croatian staff the trip would have been a bust.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Bryan F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    What I enjoyed most about my Boat & Bike trip were the rides through the countryside in the early mornings when it was quiet, and the only sound was the hum of my bicycle. Secondly, were the times we moved the boat during breakfast. I found myself staring out the window at life and business along the canals. Lastly, the new friends we made, from Britain, Australia, and Canada!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Rita J. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable part: The incredible scenery and the knowledge of our guide.

    Boat: Iris

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Maureen B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was my third bike and barge with Tripsite, but it was not my favorite. The boat, crew and food were terrific. The route however was flat as advertised, but the night stops were not fun or interesting. Zelo had only a cemetery and an Irish pub. If I was asked by a friend which bike and barge to take for possibly a once in a lifetime trip, I would recommend Bruges to Amsterdam and the Mosul River trip first. We had a wonderful time and everyone on the boat and the guests were first rate. I would take another trip on The Ave Maria, but would want a more interesting route.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Rick C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The country side, the guide was very personable and knowable of the routes, sites with a very positive and safety conscious attitude. More time in some of the major centres (Gent, Antwerp) I would recommend that travelers arrive at least one day preferable two in advance of the bike & barge departure and stay at least 2 days afterwards to enjoy the cities of Bruges and Amsterdam. The availability of e-bikes was essential so that those less experienced in pedalling the distances could enjoy the biking part of the trip.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Kurt A. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Zwaantje and crew are top notch, and present a great value. Some of the routes in northern France had a little too much traffic. Riding in Belgium and Netherlands seems nicer. Once is enough for this tour.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
    by Heather L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Jantien & Henz were supreme hosts and their barge Merlijn delightful. As for tips just sit back, relax & enjoy the marvelous holiday that they provide.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michael P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I really enjoyed the variety of the tour, including bike rides through pastoral countryside and alongside canals, and walking tours through fascinating historical cities and towns. The food and drink were highlights, both on and off the boat, and I really enjoyed traveling with a great group of fellow travelers. The crew and guide were fantastic! The Tripsite guidebook included suggestions for tipping the crew and guide. Our group felt that the suggested tip amounts were not adequate, so we tipped a lot more than what was suggested.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Jim M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable parts was the Saar River part of the ride, biking above the River with our guide and riding thru the vineyards. The little towns and the Roman History. Had no idea about the Roman history in this region before this trip. The Levees on the river. Just the general beauty of the area. The grapes growing on the sides of the mountains. Both our barge crew and all the people on the trip. FUN! FUN! FUN!

    Boat: Iris

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast (no longer available)
    by Onja B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Croatia is gorgeous and the food was great. The cook, ivanna, and the guide, ben, were amazing with understanding the participants skill level and dietary needs. The cycling was not as described or the descriptions could have been better. One full day we were on a pedestrian path with many people to dodge- not fun and not real cycling. Molat was the best route!
    The captain was difficult, drunkenly, egotistical, chauvinist and making lewd comments whenever addressing women.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Leo R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The total crew got involved in the trip and were always available to assist us with any problems or questions. It helped to break the ice with other bikers and soon we were one cohesive and fun group.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Patricia B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable are the meals. The daily ports and after dinner walks. 1 issue - directions to the barge were horrible.

    Boat: Iris

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Jeffrey D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable part? There were so many, but Chantilly Castle and the Montmontre area of Paris that we had a tour of immediately come to mind. Make sure that you can ride a bike and can manage at least 30 miles on a route with the same level of climbing, otherwise use an e-bike to help you along. Bring 2 pairs of street shoes, as some days they might get wet. Remember that there will be an opportunity to leave a tip at the end, and it should be about 5-6% of the booked price. Drink wine and beer, talk to people, don't be shy about anything and remember to have fun.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Wendy & Robert K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It is very hard to say what was the best, as everything was so great, beautiful, and interesting. The staff and bike guide went above our expectations, we would recommend this trip to all.

    Boat: Iris

  • Around Paris
    by Laura W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    So many memorable parts it's hard to pick just one. On this trip, I'll say the warmth of the chef and captain, the meals were outstanding, and I loved meeting and cycling with people from all over!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Richard R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip but the weather was a bit average - no rain but lots of cloud and a bit cool.
    The food was great as were the crew, the bikes, the other passengers and the boat. We thought Wouter (the guide) needs to "loosen up" a bit and learn more of the history etc. of the region. We also found the first couple of days on the bikes a bit boring, too much forest and not enough villages etc.
    All in all very good!!

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The whole trip exceeded our expectations but the barge Iris and the crew were outstanding.

    Boat: Iris

PWPC