Bike Tour Reviews 1381 to 1410 of 2914

 

  • Linda T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed our experience on the Primadonna! Food was delicious and staff were very attentive. Biking the countryside was a definite highlight! Our most spectacular and memorable part of the trip would be cruising into Budapest at night! It was breath taking!!
    We really had a great time and look forward to doing another bike trip soon.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Kevin Armstrong 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I have done this trip from Amsterdam to Bruges as well. I found this version to not be as enjoyable. The reason was there was not as much on the route to see and take in. I think that there are some differences do to which barge you are on which may restrict the routes. Bruges is amazing as was Amsterdam but in between nothing exciting. The barge was amazing (Sailing Home) with a wonderful chef. I love this style of touring and have done 8 of them and will do more!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Ron Zauski 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wow....this is my fourth trip with Tripsite, this was the BEST natural scenery yet. The views of the mountains and countryside was breathe taking on every day. The hotels were very clean and well maintained; most hotels exceeded my expectations including the free breakfasts. Day #2 was the toughest day especially because the ascent was mostly on an unpaved surface, but the views on day #2 were the best. Switzerland and Austria are impeccably maintained countries; everyone was friendly and welcoming. With the main map in German, I appreciated the additional pamphlets in English in our packet.

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • Rachel J 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    An Amazing Adventure! I enjoyed every minute of this trip. The staff was courteous and accommodating, the food was delicious and the biking and sites were extraordinary. I'll recommend this to all my friends and family.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Jim S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We traveled aboard the Theodor Korner, a classic river boat with loads of character and an extremely helpful and courteous staff. We enjoyed sharing the experience with fellow travelers we met on board. Dinners were great as were evenings spent on the deck relaxing with a drink and discussing the day's ride and excursions with our new friends. There is no better way to see and experience places - villages, cities, and rural countryside - than by bike and a boat and bike trip can't be beat for convenience and comfort. We also liked that this tour lasted for two weeks, allowing us to feel truly connected to the places we were visiting.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Alex B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing scenery, fantastic hosts, first class accommodations - a winner all around! Highly recommended, and would take another trip on the Merlijn in a heartbeat.

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Robert K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: The small number of passengers and the bonding and friendships which grew. Also, the lovely relaxed biking through the countryside, villages and towns with the guide providing more than adequate explanations when required. Everything worked like clock work and was well organized.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium

  • Delfina S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    [itinerario especial] Muy bien organizado el viaje,excelentes los guías muy profesionales y con mucha suerte ya que Romas mi guía hablaba perfecto español,muy cultural ,la llegada a los hoteles en minutos teníamos nuestras habitaciones,chofer muy atento y colaborador,la comida aceptable y paisajes increíbles..bicicletas buenas y atención durante todo el recorrido asistiéndonos con agua en todo momento, buenos compañeros de viaje y divertidos muy buena experiencia ,aunque ya es el tercer viaje que hago con Tripsite.

  • Diane H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was a fantastic way to experience several new cultures, communities and cities all while loving the interactive journey! We loved the challenge of finding our way and the delightful anticipation of our next destination and accommodation - which always truly splendid! Without speaking the language, ( German or French ) we met several wonderful nature loving and kind ppl who helped us when we seemed to veer off the route. We always got to the next destination and spent time exploring area and local cuisine. The best part of my experience was the sense of overwhelming ahh and appreciation I experienced when I had my 'around the corner 'experiences' - meaning that I suddenly came upon a fantastic site that I did not anticipate in magnitude or beauty and there I was, right there with it! Beautiful.
    Thank you sincerely for the amazing trip! We loved every moment and strongly recommended to to all the soul inspired adventurers out there!! Xo

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Duncan B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic countryside, towns and beers!!

  • Jenny S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Highlights: Our daily biking trips, having a varied ride each day with different kms, visits and scenery, plus even a hike to a castle as well. My only suggestion is to keep this spontaneity as each day is an adventure with the known luxury of the barge awaiting us at the end of each ride.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • James L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was excellent. The 4th leg from Helsinger to Hillerod was a very demanding trail, off beaten paths, steep hills, and the markings and mileages in the booklet directions were not accurate. Several of the bikers we talked with had the same problem. We biked as a group of 7, with 5 of us being on our third Tripsite European bike trip. If not for this leg, the rating would have been higher.
    Also, at the assignment of equipment, there was a lack of organization, no checklists as to who requested what equipment, and at the end, there was also no checking.

    Countries: Denmark, Sweden

  • Gina F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? That is so hard to answer because there were so many of them. I do plan to enter your contest very soon. As for tips or suggestions for others...By all means considered a Tripsite bike trip for your next vacation. It has so much to offer. And don't let your fear of being able to complete the daily bike rides stop you. We had in our group of 21: an 80-year-old, a person with a "boot" on his foot due to an injury, a person with a sore back, and several people who don't bike regularly. All of them were able to not only complete our daily rides, they did so with no struggles and enjoyed themselves. E-bikes can be used by those who have trouble with longer or more challenging rides. There is something about riding in a group that bonds cyclists together. You go slow enough to have conversations and see all the details you could miss when going by bus or car, yet fast enough to cover miles of interesting terrain.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Judee W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Riding the Danube was the most memorable part. This trip was trying to do too many things for too many diverse folks at one time. A bike trip and a boat trip are different experiences. For biking, I think a smaller boat with more cycling is important. The staff worked hard with several languages, those who wanted to sun, those who wanted to tour cities, and those of us who wanted to bike: tough job. They did a great job, but for bikers, I think another option should be recommended. There was a great deal of confusion because of the diversity of activities. The cyclists actually lost a full day of cycling due to conflicts/changes/who knows? Descriptions of the next day's activities were very confusing, because they were trying to give instructions for a variety of different folks. We were always wondering, confused about our ride instructions for the next day. Thank goodness for the bike guides who tried their best to keep us informed!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Barbara H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous bike/barge adventure in Germany/Austria! We'll be back! The cycling was on beautiful paths along the Danube. The food and service onboard were extraordinary.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Paul R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: Discovering new and very interesting places with good friends.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Darryl White 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and two other couples did this trip in August 2017. The crew was great the boat is very well appointed, the rooms are small but function well. The evening meals were great, breakfast was limited most days to bread cheese and cereal.
    Now the bad part:
    The crew turns off the air conditioning at 10:30 at night and does not come back on until the morning. So one would wake up in the middle of the night sweating and not be able to go back to sleep, The bedding, our clothes and all other items in the room would get moist and moldy from condensation.
    The Bicycles were not the best, they were quite used and most of the seats were loose and could not be tightened which made for long days of riding...

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Melanie Hinzman 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    What a delightful bike ride. The bike rental people/shop were very helpful and they provided us with good quality equipment and bikes. We enjoyed the country paths and wonderful views. The uphills on the asphalts were not for the faint hearted... you need to be in shape. The variety of foods were truly gastronomical satisfying. The picnic basket with local produce was an appreciate "extra" to make the trip that much more special.

    Countries: Spain

  • Karen K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable Part: The crew on the boat, dinners and the tour on canals throughout the Netherlands and Belgium. The cheese shop was the best and also the small cafe's.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mary C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Trip went way above my expectations. Everything started exactly on time, the food and entertainment was excellent. The maps and bike routes were well detailed and went through beautiful countryside. Routes also gave you many opportunities to stop and enjoy the culture of each city.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Yael S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was beautiful and what I would describe as completely worthwhile work/play.

    Countries: Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

  • Wendy D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was a fabulous holiday in every way. Already looking to plan another for next year. Loved every part of it. What a great way to see the country, get some exercise and vacation in style. The crew on the Quo Vadim were wonderful, the food was great and the biking experience fabulous. Well done!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium

  • Deborah M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through the wine country around Melk. The villages were amazing and the people were friendly. I'm only 5'2" and the bike's weren't a good fit for me I needed a smaller frame but none were available. The bike I was given for the 1st day of riding was in very poor condition which made the first 27 mile ride rather uncomfortable but several people complained and the staff fixed the bikes. Make sure you get on your bike the 1st day as early as they will let you so there is time for fixes if needed before the boat leaves and you need to ride off on your first journey.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Lynn L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Not only was the bike route scenic, it felt very safe, even for the short periods we were off the bike path. The Regensburg to Passau route was perfect for our group of four adults and four teenagers. None of us are experienced cyclists so three days of biking on a flat path was a perfect introduction to bicycle touring. We loved touring each of the cities on our trip.

    Countries: Germany

  • Charles O. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Traveling on the Merlijn is always a delight. The accommodation are great and the food was delicious. Our trip along the Mosell was utterly charming. This was my third sailing with Jantien and Henck and I hope it wasn't my last.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Wheaton L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous holiday in every way and great value. Already looking to book another like this trip next year. Thank you!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium

  • Joan H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Riding through the Dutch countryside on dedicated bicycle paths was most enjoyable. The system of numbered paths is ingenious! Keeping up with the front of the group was a challenge, not always a welcome one. It's best to be a strong rider even on the "easy" tours.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Noel J. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Memorable and very satisfying tour. The Merlijn and her crew were wonderful, friendly, and efficient, even while operating one member short (due to illness). The route along the Rhein and Moselle Rivers was beautiful, historic, and made for great cycling. The extras offered by the tour, wine tasting trip, winery tour, Roman mosaic and others, were highlights, and the food on board was great. I'll be back.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

PWPC