Bike Tour Reviews 1111 to 1140 of 3106

 

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Frederick S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip aboard Quo Vadis exceeded our expectations; the food and crew were great. We ended riding more than the itinerary suggested (averaging about 35 miles per day), but we lucked out and head great weather the entire trip.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Tom L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Quo Vadis was super! The food, accommodations, staff and bikes were all terrific.
    However, we were unprepared for the traffic and city riding intensity. Marsha is an experienced recreational rider but had no idea how to deal with traffic. She completed the first day and began another, but turned back after the first half kilometer and packed it in after that. City traffic and congested cycling is something only urban folks experience, so we and others were unprepared. We were were really expecting a leisurely paced scenic tour, not the frantic paced marathon we got. The trip was listed as easy, but a 12 mph average speed for 36 miles is ridiculous for most recreational cyclists, especially when you’re there for scenery and cultural experience along with cycling.
    Additionally, once you start for the day, there is no practical way to drop our.
    So, if we were to look for another bike barge trip, we would be looking for:
    Quo Vadis or equal
    20-25 mile Read more… days maximum
    8-10 mph average speed maximum
    Route maps
    Routing to avoid urban traffic
    More short stops to smell the flowers.
    Ultimately, we were disappointed in the cycling portion of the trip feeling it was not so much for tourists who like to ride. We (and others) felt the guide placed too much emphasis on covering miles and not enough on making it pleasurable.
    Tripsite staff is superb and did everything they promised. Thanks.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Lynda A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Cycling in the warm spring weather seeing the fields of spring bulbs in bloom with windmills almost always in view.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Beth P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The first day was the best...but then the next day took over that stature and then the next day...and so on for all glorious 10 days of our sojourn. Around every turn was another beautiful vista, filled with the aroma of hyacinths, the colors of tulip fields, the beauty of windmills and the charm of 16th century villages. Our accommodations were impeccable, the captain, cook and staff were thoughtful, accomplished and accommodating. Did I mention the food? The food was deserving of a Michelin star! Our bikes were perfect for the terrain (the Netherlands is gloriously flat - for a biker from the hills of NEPA that was a treat!). Our fellow bikers were great company - everyone had a sense of camaraderie and fun. This was my second Tripsite excursion and it won't be my last!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Patrick L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Janteen's food was superior - even better than the other bike barges, and that's setting the bar pretty high.
    Nico and Chango are great guys. Fun to chat with and good at their professions. The small group, cozy quarters on the Elodie, excellent crew, great riding companions, the people of The Netherlands - and, of course, the tulips - made this the best bike and barge trip ever.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Elizabeth T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first Bike and Barge trip . Now I am hooked and am making plans for another trip next year. There were many many WOW moments on the trip., on the barge, on the bikes and during the nightly tours of the cities visited. This is the only means to really learn about, see and interact with the country.
    Everything on this trip was memorable from the staff, the guide ,the other tour participants and off course the scenery and the people and customs of The Netherlands

    Thank you TRIPSITE for the excellent service!

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Eileen S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Exceeded my expectations. Best value for great experience.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Linda N. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Netherlands is a unique and beautiful country. We loved everything we saw. The flower auction was amazing. The Keukenhof was not to be missed. Our only problem was riding in a group single file through Amsterdam. We were strung out so long it sometimes took 2 or 3 lights to get through an intersection. We were so far back from the guide we couldn’t say “let’s stop and check out that windmill”. We were spoiled. On the Danube trip we could go at our own pace with detailed maps. I would suggest people download the map app and go it alone. But really, how can you complain about springtime and hyacinths?

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Stephen R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a very well organized trip with no unexpected “surprises” at the end. RJ and his staff were very friendly and helpful. His barge was very clean and comfortable. The cabins are definitely small so pack lightly. The WiFi is slow but we were able to use Facebook and email. The bikes were all new. We found that the bikes are heavier than our hybrids. My wife used a ebike everyday and really enjoyed the trip. If your spouse isn’t a big rider, rest assured that the ebike is the way to go. The other guests were very compatible and most were repeat customers of Tripsite. We would definitely book with Tripsite again.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by John G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A tour of the Netherlands has to be a "bucket list" item for any biker. It is a fascinating country with great history and scenery. Travelling on the Quo Vadis for the Tulip Tour was a great way to experience the smell of the hyacinth fields along the country roads.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Angela T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the comfortable accommodations on the barge.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Karina M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through the tulip fields and the Kuekenhoff gardens on the same day is a memory that will stay with me forever.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • South Holland Tour
    by Dave C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The De Amsterdam is more like a cruise ship than a barge, very nice cabin, very nice dining room.

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Dave C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew on the Zwaantje was fantastic. We loved the meals that Frank prepared. Fred is a great tour guide.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Jo S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding through the tulip fields...the sight and the smell was indescribable...pictures couldn't do it justice...

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Janice B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved tulip day and going to Keukenhof Gardens

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Roberts W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tulip fields the way they smelled going into Keukenhof gardens it was marvelous the whole trip was fabulous. The captain and wife on Zwaantje was so great cook was magnificent they were so welcoming and Fred the guide was so knowledgeable of the area love loved the trip.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Connie W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best part of the trip was the congenial atmosphere on the barge, the camaraderie amongst the guests, and the excellent guided biking experience.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Brenda M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tulip tour trip is too short, but cycling around the flowering bulb fields was wonderful. Visiting Keukenhof gardens in bloom was great. I didn't like assigned seating for our meals and the buffet organization on the Fluvius was terrible, especially when trying to make lunches in a tiny space with everyone grabbing stuff. Food arrangements were the weakest part of the tour, although they also hired an awful lounge singer one night.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Kathy C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The 8 day Tulip tour was fantastic. The boat, bike, food, staff and scenery was everything we had hoped for! The only thing we couldn't control was the weather and the tulips not quiet in bloom....we dodged the rain and saw many daffodils and hyacinth and met new friends to top it all off. Thanks for the memories!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Mary A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our boat, the Merlijn, and its crew were fabulous! A huge thank you to Jantien and Henk for an amazing weeklong experience! This is the way to see The Netherlands! We rode bikes from one port to another, exploring the countryside, meeting local families, enjoying the beautiful fields of tulips, daffodils and hyacinths, purples, reds, yellows flowing across the land. Our hosts fed us 3 wonderful meals a day, and gave us opportunities to explore each city in the evenings with our knowledgeable and dedicated guide, Ferry. We stayed a few extra days to learn all about Amsterdam as well, which was definitely worth it. So much to see and learn about. Tripsite did a great job of organizing this trip, from efficient email contacts, timely billing reminders, and tips for preparing for a unique trip such as a Bike and Barge in Amsterdam. Absolutely we recommend Tripsite, and the Merlijn in particular!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Randall B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip! Even though the tulips were a bit behind because of the extended winter, the tour offered wonderful scenery and a plethora of other flowers. The guides were great and the pace accommodated all the participants. Great food, accommodations, service and staff!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Istria to the Adriatic
    by Larry H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were a group of eight old friends and found this trip very enjoyable. The tour organizer, Klemen Stular was very responsive to our questions and preferences, and even worked to adapt the route to accommodate our request to visit a winery! The trails had some loose gravel so it required extra caution (and muscle) on steep hills, but the off-road trails made this particular tour the most special. The equipment was well-maintained, easy to use, and reliable. The tour operator was very conscientious about making certain everything fit the rider. The scenery was glorious and the people warm and welcoming.

    Countries: Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

  • Venice to Poreč
    by Larry Hinzman 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were a group of eight old friends and found this trip very enjoyable. The tour organizer, Klemen Stular was very responsive to our questions and preferences, and even worked to adapt the route to accommodate our request to visit a winery! The trails had some loose gravel so it required extra caution (and muscle) on steep hills, but the off-road trails made this particular tour the most special. The equipment was well-maintained, easy to use, and reliable. The tour operator was very conscientious about making certain everything fit the rider. The scenery was glorious and the people warm and welcoming.

    Countries: Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Jean Balloon 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just ended this tour this morning and it was one of the best vacations we've ever taken. Can't say enough about the captain, staff and guides on the Fleur-very glad we chose a guided trip as there are numerous detours and unclear route signs. Fantastic sights, excellent equipment, wonderful food and fun fellow passengers, REALLY important to take the right clothes (we wore t-shirts, short, sandals and down coats/hat/gloves in the same week) Full rain gear including waterproof shoes or boots is essential. Also be aware the wind in the Netherlands can be brutal-we booked e-bikes and were REALLY glad we did! Steps down to cabin are very narrow and steep - almost like a ladder, so make sure you can do this several times each day. Excellent communication from Tripsite regarding booking and all information. Thank you Cpt. Steffy, Elsa, Aga, Nellie, Helena, Petra and Bert for an extraordinary holiday!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Heel of Italy
    by Ida A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Ostuni was a lively, great city- a major contrast to the rest of the region which is apparently deserted until summer is in full swing. I also really appreciated having my bike replaced, but I obviously wish the standard bike I got in the first place were more appropriate for long distance rides.

    Countries: Italy

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Lyla C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have already recommended this trip to my walking and running friends as I am not a biker but found that it was very, very manageable with little current biking experience. I rode bikes a lot as a kid but just haven’t been on a bike much at all lately. This winter in Canada made it impossible to get out and get out on the bike ahead of time. Of course the flat Dutch terrain helped and I ended in the long group each day! The best part was that by being well looked after by the tour by way of food and the guides, the group came together in just a magnificent way. The days were laid out in advance for us and we were all quite comfortable. Everyone was relaxed and really good company. We soon were having a lot of fun!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC