Bike Tour Reviews 1111 to 1140 of 3250

 

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by Shirley D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I feel the bike should have been rated moderate-not easy moderate!

    Countries: Italy

    • Dolomites to Venice
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Shirley,
      Thanks for submitting this feedback. We try to provide as much information as possible regarding the difficulty rating in the "Skill Level" section above, including daily distances, road conditions, and even vertical climb. It's sometimes hard because there are many variables that factor into rating a tour, including things that vary from person/person. When in doubt, we recommend ample conditioning before your trip or reserving an ebike which allows you to adjust how much assistance you receive from the electric battery. Hope this helps!

      Countries: Italy

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Tama L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My dissatisfactions, two nights in the suburbs of Constance, out of the way, should not be used. Konono staff excellent, but cost us for taxi to get there and back to the train. Route book imprecise. What is the route sign we were supposed to follow? What good is a dotted line on a map when there are multiple routes? Which are more scenic? Less hilly? Passing by cafes? Unpaved in a forest? Exactly how do you get to the Rhein Falls ferry? Book never mentioned the three elevators that take you up and down. We had frustrations every day.
    Is it a beautiful trip? Absolutely. The Mozart and Park Villa are beautiful hotels, although not air conditioned.

  • Oslo Fjord
    by Kazi Ahsan S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour itinerary was very well coordinated. Very easy to follow the routes. Would like similar tours in the Northern part of Norway eg, Lofoten Islands.

    Countries: Norway, Sweden

  • Istria to the Adriatic
    by Ivette S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The perfect trip for families with young adult children. We enjoyed the different kind of roads, the food, the sights, every town we stayed at. Our guide Matic was excellent. We are looking forward to a new adventure with Tripsite.

    Countries: Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Ray C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The travel through the countryside and villages. The trip exceeded our expectations. The two guides, Tom and Hillo knew their stuff and created a culture of camaraderie for the bikers. This trip provided an opportunity to witness life in the countries of Holland and Belgium.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Heather P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A thoroughly satisfying experience in all departments!
    The staff were welcoming and friendly, instructive and knowledgeable. I felt entirely safe in their hands.
    Accommodation has been well designed and thought out. I shared a cabin with a friend and it was easy to find our own space within a relatively confined space.
    The food was DELICIOUS! The meals exceeded expectations and were presented beautifully; the chefs having entertained us with their 'Two Ronnies' routine at the outset of each repast. I have made a batch of refreshing lemon and ginger cordial since my return, which is perfect for a hot summer day and reminds me of a very happy holiday.
    The bike was a delight to ride. I'm not a regular cyclist and I found the daily trips enjoyable and, with the regular stops, entirely within my capabilities. The one day off I had, sailing along the canal, added an extra dimension as it was so restful and enjoyable to watch the wildlife and the scenery Read more… glide by.
    The guided trips were enlightening and I now have a 'feel' for the part of Italy we traversed.
    From the start we felt like guests at a houseboat party. It was interesting to meet and enjoy meals with others from various countries and backgrounds.
    I shall be talking about this holiday for a long time thanks to you all.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Linda P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge from Amsterdam to Bruges on the Magnifique was extraordinary! Whether you were aboard the boat or the bike there was never "a bad view". The route was a great mix of small villages, farmland and cities - our guides were fun and knowledgeable about the history of each region. Thanks to the fantastic staff of the Magnifique, the entire trip was memorable. Our fellow guests were a wonderful mix of folks from many countries and it was fun getting to know them. Thank you Tripsite for making the booking of this trip so easy - I would highly recommend your company to anyone considering this type of trip.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by Scott M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The views on this tour were breathtaking. Northern Italy is so beautiful. For a mountainous region the pedaling was not difficult. Take your time and soak it in. Great food and drink in the region.

    Countries: Italy

  • Luxury Castles of the Loire
    by Michael S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Loire environment was wonderful, and the well planned routes through the area, with so much off road or quiet road cycling was exceptional. The accommodation and overall organization was of excellent standard.
    The one piece of feedback that you should receive concerning the bicycles is that they needed servicing. There was significant slippage of the gears throughout the trip, on both bicycles. This can very simply be fixed with appropriate servicing of the chain and rear cluster.

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ruth W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The lovely scenery and the excellent condition of all the bike paths.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Michael W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Biking thru the countryside of Netherlands and Belgium

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mainz to Strasbourg or Strasbourg to Mainz
    by Brad W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Much of the bike ride was difficult to navigate. Signs on the road are not always clear. Expected more country rides but much of the bike ride was through cities with many vehicles (somewhat dangerous). If we elect to travel with Tripsite again, we will do more research to determine ease of navigation along the bike route and how much of the route is through traffic.

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Patrick S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part for me was the camaraderie formed within the group. Mainly because our guide, Helmut, was so personable and caring. Also, Tripsite did a great job filling our time with memorable adventures. I'm so glad I chose to use an e-bike.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Authentic Holland
    by Linda H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Really enjoyed the bike/barge tour on the Gandalf. The food & scenery were great. Enjoyed cycling into the forest & small towns. On the down side, be prepared for some wind. If new to cycling I would recommend getting the electric assist bicycle. The terrain is mostly flat but there are some hills which can be challenging with head on wind. Our guide, Fred, was very knowledgeable & friendly. He took good care of everyone.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Around Paris
    by Richard O. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Our guide, Chris, was exceptionally talented. He answered questions clearly and completely, and he offered many interesting comments about the various sites we traveled through. Our captain, Connie, was also thoroughly competent and provided additional insight about our travels, especially thru the various locks. Meals were good. Breakfast was standard European and I appreciated their encouraging us to prepare sandwiches and snacks for lunch. Be aware that the instructions for meeting the tour bus from the train station, Gare du Nord, were incomplete: You have to continue walking about 100 meters on Rue de Maubeuge beyond Rue Ambroise Pare to find the bus. Also, this bike trip was considered "easy" based on the relatively flat terrain and modest miles ridden.
    However, the paths were not always very smooth; we experienced rocky, bumpy, pitted and muddy roads for much of the trip. In general, however, this was a very memorable trip; I'd do it Read more… again!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Peg Hanson 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did the 7 day Around Lake Constance. This was my 4th Tripsite bike tour. I will list the positive things first.
    I booked the Category 4 hotel package and was extremely pleased with all the hotels. Location was good for all except the Park Hotel in Uberlingen. It is located at the top of a very steep hill and was very difficult to find even after you saw the sign pointing the way!!
    The breakfasts at all the locations were amazing and so beautifully displayed. A wonderful way to start the day!
    The bikes were comfortable and almost brand new. Panniers, front bag and trip meter were all very nice.
    Now the not so positive...
    I had read all the reviews before booking and noticed the negative comments about the bike route directions. Since these comments were from a year and 2 years ago I assumed they had improved this info. NOT TRUE. The book with the routes is almost worthless. Getting from city to city was not always the problem but once in a city the Read more… situation changes. It is even more challenging when you do not speak the language. The locals are more than friendly and always willing to help. However they often assume we know more than we do and even their help does not get us to our destination. A suggestion would be to provide the cyclists with GPS or a HOTSPOT so that we could download the routes on our phones. I realize that if the customer is from Europe they can do that easily but those of us from the USA depend on a wifi connection for this service. I stayed recently at a hotel in Madrid that provided each room with a Hotspot at NO EXTRA charge. If a mid level hotel can afford to do this you would think a cycling touring company could do the same. I realize Tripsite does not have control over some of these situations but if they could encourage this company to try some more advanced methods of guiding their clients I am sure everyone would be happier. I had a wonderful holiday with fabulous weather, beautiful scenery and memorable meals. I will be booking with Tripsite for my next cycling tour. Just wanted to raise this issue to help future travelers be aware.

  • Best of Northern Zealand
    by Janet A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved our 'Best of Northern Zealand' tour. The hotels and breakfasts were amazing! A real treat. A must-stop is the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art at Humlebaek - fabulous. Also Sophiero palace in Helsingborg with impressive gardens.. would recommend this trip.

    Countries: Denmark, Sweden

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dean Y. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike routes. Vast majority on nice bike paths.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Bremen to Magdeburg
    by Darlene D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Merlijn and it's crew are extraordinary! Jantien and Henk treat guests like family. We had a great time riding in central Germany. Lots of agriculture, forests, small villages and history. Our guide, Ilsa, is extremely knowledgeable and makes the rides fun and interesting. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable trip!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Heather W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The full range of stimulating experiences of all things Dutch with so many things different every day. The impressive first day, in particular, through and out of Amsterdam set up exciting anticipation for subsequent days that was maintained. If one highlight has to singled out, which is somewhat unfair, it would be the spectacular and unique ride over the Zealand Bridge and competing there with the raw forces of nature. Our tip would be to ensure you use the route maps and GPS in combination noting the advice that there are variances, and each evening check out the actual start of the route for the following day.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Joe V. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: We stopped at a small bar and had a fabulous time dancing and singing!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Susan L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A fantastic tour, with knowledgeable guides that led us through Holland and Belgium. Everything aboard the Magnifique III was top notch and any concerns we had (our room was a little musty) were dealt with immediately and to our satisfaction. The biking was very enjoyable, primarily on bike paths and even when on roads the cars are very respectful of bicyclists. The routes at 50km lengths sound daunting but were the perfect length to fill the day along with frequent breaks for pictures and beer! I do recommend saddle time prior to the trip and bike shorts! The bikes were in excellent condition too. Overall one of the best vacations we’ve ever had. Highly recommend. If you are more adventurous you can download the maps on your phone and go self-guided. Many in our group did that and had no issues.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Green Coast of Spain
    by Karen G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was great, our main problem would be that the advertising did not really give enough information as to the degree of difficulty as while we are both middle level riders some of the many up’s and downs were a lot more than the advertising suggested. The close gearing of the bikes did not help with that either.

    Countries: Spain

    • Green Coast of Spain
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Karen,
      Thanks for sharing this feedback. We have changed the difficulty to moderate-difficult and added more detail to the page, including daily climbs. Thanks again!

      Countries: Spain

  • Bremen to Magdeburg
    by Judy J. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew of the Merlijn were fantastic and very concerned with guests comfort. It was a great combination of leisure and biking, a well seasoned and flexible guide, and great food beautifully presented.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

PWPC