Bike Tour Reviews 1171 to 1200 of 2914

 

  • Spencer H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The expertise of our tour guide Lea

    Countries: Germany

  • Christine D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide, Hein, was the absolute best. Knew everything about history, culture, architecture, food... Had a great sense of humor. Best guide in 10 bike/barge trips.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Linda M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The tour guide was great. He took us to wonderful little locations for coffee & lunch breaks while biking. He clearly had built relationships with people at the stops. He took us for walks into town in the evening and knew history of buildings &/or towns.
    The bikes were in great condition.
    The captain (& his dog) were great, circulating and getting to know the passengers.
    The food was very good and the young crew worked very hard.
    I would go again with this barge, captain & tour guide in a heartbeat.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Peter H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our guid Jeff Lacey was outstanding and and certainly added to the enjoyment of the trip which was very well organized.

    Countries: Spain

  • Robert E. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Compared to previous tours, the Merlijn was very well organized on board, but maybe over-organized to the point it was less fun and spontaneous. Very low key with lots of rules - no partying for sure. Also, we found the food was very disappointing by comparison. Highlights included the actual cycling, with beautiful countrysides, storybook towns, the wine tour, etc and the cycling guide was excellent. We were also fortunate to have another good group on the tour which was both interesting and fun. All in all, a satisfactory trip.

    Countries: Germany

  • Nancy S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Hard to pick the most memorable part, I continued to be awed every single day! The food was amazing kudos to the chef for sure! The staff on the Fluvius were so hard working and made sure everything from our rooms to our social times were perfect. absolutely amazing!
    The tour guides were so helpful, patience and lots of fun, to say the least!
    Tripsite made every step from the booking to the beginning of the adventure so easy, keeping us informed, answering all the questions etc., etc. (And we had many!)
    Can’t thank you all enough!
    Looking forward to my next trip with Tripsite.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Janine B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I loved this trip, even tho it rained two days we were riding the Camino. Our guide was very knowledgeable and so patient and kind. My only concern was the bicycle was too large for me and there was no other option in the shop. I am 5' 1" tall and was on the same bike as my husband who is 5' 11". I needed a smaller bicycle. But I managed. It also did a Bike and Barge with Tripsite three years ago and was very pleased.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Val M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was awesome and the whole trip was fantastically organized and Jeff Lacey our guide was tremendous. We would recommend this trip to all our friends and will in all probability do another one in a year or two.

    Countries: Spain

  • Sarita L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was great. Just did not like the room and bathroom size.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Roger S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: A return with friends for a second trip and working on next year. We had a great guide very informative and fun to be with. Enjoy the riding and barging

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Sara G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    First day ride and exceptional lunch along the canal. Recommend more info on options to stop, eat, etc along the routes. Also recommend better bike maintenance - both bikes had shifter/derailer issues. Transfer of bikes and luggage went very smoothly. Hotels were all great, except the one in Freiburg - run down and rude front desk staff.

  • Bruce H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the bonding that occurred with our fellow travellers over our shared biking experiences. The pathways and route were amazing. Tips for others: Be prepared to have a great time.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Rebeca L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The guide and all personnel from hotel Dory are wonderful. They make you feel like home
    and the attention of Tripsite was fast and good because they look for the best trip according to my demanding.

    Countries: Italy

  • George S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    One of our best vacations ever! Met some great people. The owners and staff of the boat provided exceptional service. We're making plans to travel with them again.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Patricia M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The staff were wonderful and attentive and the biking equipment was excellent. It was tremendously satisfying to enjoy this beautiful part of the world on bike and then return to the comfort of the boat each evening. Looking forward to the next trip!!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Lori D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: There were several-seeing the David in Florence and riding through Rimini and to the Santini Winery.

    Countries: Italy

  • Susan M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great views and biking. The ebike really helped on the climbs but you still get a workout if you want one. Great weather and scenery and great guides. It was nice to get off the bike and go to Bosnia mid week. Eating so much on the boat wasn't my favorite and the fact that we had to pay extra for the day at the farm/winery seemed a bit cheap as I know other tours pay for these types of things. Having to get instructions in two languages (German and English) seemed a bit long. But the boat was nice and enjoyed it. If you are a swimmer you might might to come a bit earlier in the season.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Susan M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed St Emilion which we explored on our own. We should have been told what there was unusual to see in all of the ports that we were in at the beginning of the trip so that if reservations were necessary at sights that interested us we could have made them. Sebastian worked very hard at making sure that we had a great time on the boat. We were part of a learning experience and work in progress for Pascal.

    Countries: France

  • Patricia S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The islands of Croatia are exquisite and the boat Harmonia is beautifully designed and cared for. Cycling in Croatia was breathtaking.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Linda R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was wonderful. Biking around the French countryside — what could be bad? HOWEVER, this trip should not be taken unless the client is assured that the barge has replaced their current bikes (as they say they will for 2018) with lighter bikes in perfect working order. They should make sure that there are bikes of all sizes, so that a small person (I am 5’) will get a properly fitted bike. I biked the entire week on a 6-speed rusty heavy old bike. Even the bell and kickstand didn’t work.

    Countries: France

  • Shelia P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery on the day from Santa Maria di Leuca to Otranto was spectacular. Overall excellent trip. Would not hesitate to recommend.

    Countries: Italy

  • Sue P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery and the weather made this a wonderful trip-- however, the participants were unusually amiable and everyone got along famously. One of the waiters was a real clown and kept us all entertained at mealtimes. The chef and his assistant put out some amazing food, and so much of it! The bikes were probably as good a fit as possible on this kind of trip. Our guides were great-- one wouldn't have known this was the end of their season. I can't think of anything that might have been improved upon. Good work!

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Tama L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: St. Emilion and the disco party on the boat the last night

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Susan E. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was amazing: excellent food prepared by our 2 chefs; our guide was well-prepared, thoughtful, good-natured; the route was beautifully planned and educational, the bikes were more comfortable than my own, the weather was fortunately perfect, and we had a great group to bike with. The experience went way beyond my expectations . Can’t wait to plan the next biking adventure.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Ronnie L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Bordeaux is an exquisite area of France. Exploring it on a bike made it that much more enjoyable. The scenery and visiting wine Chateaus that have been in business for generation was quite spectacular. The city of Bordeaux may be my favorite city of all the European cities I've visited. It's very easy to use the public transportation, there is much to see, explore and experience there. For future listings, I would rate this trip as at least moderate in cycling difficulty. There was one flat day, one day of rolling cycling, and 3 day of pretty challenging hills, especially on heavy hybrid bikes. On any future tour I will definitely consider using an ebike. Many if not all of the European women used them. I met many interesting and lovely people from other countries on this tour. It was delightful!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Laurie P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The beautiful scenery of Italy and the connections we made with the other guests!!!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Phil S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful self-guided bike trip. Perfect weather in early October. Map & instructions occasionally confusing, but adequate.
    Hotels & food very good at all stops. A few climbs, but not really challenging for an experienced rider. Highly recommend!

    Countries: Spain

  • Lorna T 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the cycling, the scenery was generally really lovely and revitalizing, with options to see different things.
    The food was very good (especially the fish dishes.)
    The staff were very pleasant.
    The bikes were good and the bike staff very helpful.
    The choice of outingings were very enjoyable.
    Overall it was a relaxing cycling holiday which was what I was looking for.
    I found that the Tripsite staff, (especially Carla), were very helpful in answering all my questions . Thank you!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Pete & Norma T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Guide, Antonella, crew, food, tour and route were fine, but the Estello was not, surely not "comfort plus". The boat is tired, lounge furniture was dirty, lead to believe the boat was not equivalent to Ave Maria but close, Girolibro providing better boats than FR companies. Were tied up close to a FR boat, was better. Cabins in comparison to other boats we have booked are poor, shower was not separate from remainder of the head so everything was soaked after shower. Since we booked the entire boat for Coastal Cruisers, even though no one seemed to complain, we expected better. Your bike and barge tours continue to be good value with folks who provide services compensating for "tired boat".

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

PWPC