Bike Tour Reviews 1201 to 1230 of 3157

 

  • Portugal Atlantic Route
    by Jill P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were unfortunate to do this tour when the weather was unseasonably bad. It would be a much better experience with good weather and tail winds! However, the tour providers kept in touch and made the tour as good as it could be under the circumstances.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Terrence Zito 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time along the Danube river! The cycling was very good and the bikes adequate. The crew of the Theodor Korner were especially nice and competent. The tour guide was really on his game! Unfortunately, the boat itself needs a thorough rehab- our stateroom had an odd odor and was extremely noisy due to mid-ship engines. If we decide to do the Danube tour again we will choose a different boat!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
    by Terrence Z. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This potentially could be a great tour but it was not a great tour for us. The tour guide book was in German which we do not read, thus we wasted a lot of time every day being lost! Also, the provided bikes were not of the best quality, and pedaling them was not easy! The hotels were fine, but we would not recommend this tour unless you read German!

    Countries: Germany

  • Tripsite Traveler - Lake Constance
    by Alice 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    You have put my mind at ease. My husband and I are are leaving, in a month, on the 10 Tulip Time tour. I have been in "training" but have been anxious about my ability to keep up. I have an ebike reserved and after reading your blog I feel better about the trip. Thank You!

  • Trizay
    by Helena Knight 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I did this tour in September 2017 and loved it. Easy cycling, superb food and fabulous warm service at the hotel. Beautiful location and great rides. We
    Also took our bikes by car and then rode bikes across and around Ile de Re. Fabulous week. Only shortcoming were the bikes that were more city cruisers not as advertised. But fabulous holiday

    Countries: France

    • Trizay
      by Carla 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Helena,
      Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're thrilled you enjoyed this tour! I want to apologize that the bicycle did not meet your expectations. I've updated the description of the bicycle so we can avoid any shortcomings in the future.
      Sincerely,
      Carla

      Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Judith B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Bike and Barge- along the Danube to 3 countries- was wonderful. The weather ended up being perfect, though it was October, and that made it all even better! Scenery was super! Bikes- well maintained and easy to ride. Lots of great encounters with staff on board; only problem was an accident with the ship on the last day. I am sure it will not happen again!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Georgia M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Travelling on the boat with a small group of international people is such a great way to experience the world - and the bike tours are brilliant.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
    by Kathryn Bertram 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our entire group agreed that this was the trip of a lifetime! However, I spent the entire plane ride home plotting how I could take the exact same trip again. We spent the entire tour with AMAZING guides who led us through their "home" and provided us with the opportunity to enjoy sunny South Africa as the local do.

    The biking on this trip is all done on mountain bikes. The terrain and rides vary, and we added miles onto the routes on a few of the days. The guides allow your group to set the bike pace, and there is always the van to tour in if riding isn't an option. However, our entire group loved all of the biking. My personal favorite was all of giraffes we saw on our bikes. It is amazing way to see the sights!

    My only concern prior to this trip was the food, but we ate like kings and queens. Who knew they served cold and hot breakfast?! We enjoyed tons of fresh produce, including avocados and grapefruits straight from the trees.

    This Read more… trip is a great balance of touring and biking, and if you are even considering going, you must go. You, too, will leave plotting a way to get back again. Enjoy sunny South Africa!

    Countries: South Africa

  • Lanzarote, strange island world
    by jehiel 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Test

    Countries:

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Corri & Tom H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    FOOD & staff aboard the Gandalf were amazing and loved Ghent!!!!

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Nancy V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was surprised at how great everything was.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Brain F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The scenery, the people, the food, and the cycling.

    Boat: Iris

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip exceeded my expectations. The beautiful country side along the Danube River, the locks and dams, the wine county of Austria and Budapest were the highlights.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Frank M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The daily briefing on what to see and do really helped to get the most out of the bike and barge tour.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jenny & Ted Miles Johnson 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff members were superb!!!
    Another great experience on a bike & barge trip!
    Some suggestions:
    We should have known in advance, that appointments were necessary to visit a winery. A daily visit to a winery would have been nice, where the staff of the boat could have made the appointments.
    In the write up for this particular bike & barge (Bordeaux), it would have been nice for the write up to let people know, that there are a few hills (12-15%) to ride up daily.
    Even bicyclist in decent shape had a tough time riding up these 12-15% grades, due to the heavy bicycles. Maybe, letting people know, that it’s advisable to get an ebike, can resolve the uphill climbs issue.
    Also, for not getting lost on the daily bike routes; The availability of the gps was a big plus and a necessary piece of equipment, for a successful & pleasant daily bike trip.
    Overall, the staff & owner of the barge were very helpful & were there for you, Read more… when you were in need of something!

    Countries: France

  • Sicily
    by Annette B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We’ve done 2 trips and both of them have been amazing - Pulia and Sicily. Highly recommend both as the sites were beautiful, the food (and wine) delicious. So many good memories.

    Countries: Italy

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Margie A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Elodie bike/barge trip was fabulous in terms of scenery, routes, staff, food. However, 2 couples on the barge were not able to keep up with our very leisurely pace. I would advise your company to stress level of fitness for participants, and also to recommend 2 guides for different ability levels.

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Jacalyn C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling on the camino in Portugal and Spain was beautiful at every turn but the most memorable part was the wonderful people we encountered, both those walking or cycling and those who lived along the way.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lisa S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We traveled on the ship Bordeaux in France. The bike routes were beautiful, but the instructions provided by not so great. No worries, we had maps and a GPS, we made each day into an adventure!!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Joanne B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best parts of the trip were the staff, the food and the camaraderie. The bike rides, the scenery and the towns visited could not have been better. It was an all around outstanding vacation!!!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Isabel V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The way the staff looked after us concerning our gluten and lactose free meals. No effort were to big for them!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Innsbruck to Bolzano
    by Suzanne P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really loved our ride from Innsbruck to Bolzano. The scenery through Austria was breathtaking and the hotel accommodation was excellent. We have not stopped telling our friends what an amazing time we had, all thanks to Tripsite.

    Countries: Austria, Italy

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Angela R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was great. Other passengers on the barge were great, weather was good, one couldn't ask for anything better. The Tripsite staff were extremely helpful and I have always found them to be most professional.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michael P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the whole trip. The pace was perfect, fast enough to be interesting, with constantly changing scenery and a mix of cities, villages, and farmland, and yet slow enough to enjoy and savor the experience. Our travel guide and the staff on the Gandalf were fantastic and looked after us almost like royalty, but still with a casual and friendly approach.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Amanda S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am still raving about our trip - we loved every minute of it. Loved the cycling through all the fields of tulips and Lia our guide was fantastic. The barge was warm and welcoming - like coming home at the end of the day - excellent food. I only have good things to say. Just do it!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Charles H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wachau valley was my favorite part...small towns, great shops and wine.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Constance R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a most memorable trip! Everything was truly top-notch! Especially loved the scenery, staff, food, company ... what more can I say! The only thing I'd like folks who are considering this to know is that the rides are hard. It was noted as moderate to difficult and most all of us would say it was difficult. But it was worth the effort as the views from the top of the mountains (not hills!) were incredible! And then I could reward myself with all the scrumptious food served at every meal. The camaraderie that developed amongst us travelers was truly a highlight. These are people I wish I could travel with again - so much fun! I know I can't count on this happening again but maybe...! I will definitely book another Bike and Barge trip!

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

PWPC