Bike Tour Reviews 2191 to 2220 of 3152

 

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by A. Harris 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A fabulous experience. We will seriously consider further barge/bike holidays with you.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by A. Miller 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the trip. Hank, Jantien, & staff were super as usual. The electric bike was a bit heavy. My(Anita) electric bike at home feels much lighter--it's smaller. Look forward to another trip on Merlijn & with Jantien & Hank. --Anita & Duncan

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by L. Reisinger 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff of the Merlijn were delightful and very personable. Enjoyed them thoroughly.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by J. Klok 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Travel aboard the Merlijn is always a wonderful experience. Our guide, Felix, was excellent. This was our fourth trip and we will return for more.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Golden City of Prague
    by D. Dray 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our first day was quite rocky… The directions were not good and the routes were not well marked. Everyone was frustrated. The guide promised to bike out again from Prague and redo it--hopefully that happened.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
    by R. Kocher 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The scenery between Passau and Vienna was the most memorable part of the trip, even when we were away from the Danube. Beautiful.

    The reason I gave the first question a 4 out of 5 is because the daily rides were long enough that it was hard (tiring) to get back out in the evenings to see the local sites or to see some of the sites along the way. That was probably also a result of trying to coordinate and corral too many people (9 on our trip) to get things done in a timely manner. I suspect the 10-day option for this trip might have been better for us.

    Regarding route and description guides, sometimes it was a little too much to remember to coordinate the route book, the additional instructions in the travel documents (voucher) book, and Rad & Reisen's Travel Information book, not to mention the daily itinerary in the literature advertising this trip. In fact, the worst mistake we made was the worst one we could have made: ignoring the instructions to take the Read more… van transfer from Grein to Gasthof zum Aigner Kreuz, Bad Kreuzen to avoid very steep inclines. However, some of the literature given to us suggested we go to Klam Castle (a good way up the incline to Bad Kreuzen), which was not on the way to Grein, and that is what we did.

    I've now taken 5 bike trips in Europe: 2 using hotels, 3 using boats/barges. Barges are easier: you only have to unpack and repack once while riding.

    Thank you for all your help putting this trip together. Overall, it was a great experience.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Clare and the Burren
    by K. Hatcher 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the scenic route along the Burren and the Wild Atlantic Way. It was 22 km of beautiful ocean views and incredible landscape. It was also amazing to see the Cliffs of Moher.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by S. Lior 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of my trip were the small towns and villages that we visited. These are places where tourists rarely venture. The people are friendly and open for conversations; willing to share their lives and experiences with us. And curious to know about us as well. I have so many wonderful memories.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by M. McPhee 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A fantastic tour. Really well organised and the guides had great local knowledge. One of our guides even spoke 5 languages so he made everyone feel welcome. The scenery was amazing especially the island of Brac with the most wonderful early morning reflections of the beautiful village in the bay. The food was tasty and plentiful rivaling the odd episode of "Masterchef"
    At the Captains dinner we also learnt that the boat was built by the captains family over 4 years with no design drawings. Amazing. We met some great people on board from Brazil and Germany. A fantastic adventure. We enjoyed the Croatian undulations!!! There are a few hills but it is worth it!!!! Enjoy

    Boat: San Snova

    Countries: Croatia

  • North Holland Tour
    by C. Abernethy 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The small tour group was perfect for my 12 year old son and I. The biking was awesome - we both loved cycling through the farms and along the canals. Although it was rainy and windy for majority of the time - we still enjoyed it very much. The food was fantastic!!

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Y. Silverberg-Urian 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    At the start there was mix-up with our believing we were in Option A (written on receipt) but placed in Option B. Small issue but a surprise. Otherwise, maps worked fine once more used to the + or - aspect figured in to almost all mileage. We had a wonderful time!

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by P. O'Hagan 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having the map to tryi to not get lost was so much fun. Thank you to all the staff for making the bike barge a great activity vacation.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by A & M Decourcy 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip BUT.. We decided to cycle with 6 others because we are experienced riders. We were counting on the signage being much more complete and easier to follow. At times, there was no indication of where to go. Our path just ended! Also, the bigger group, of about 18, had some inexperienced riders and we felt that riding in this large a group could be dangerous...which proved to be the case.
    In one case, a previous rider had taken the liberty to use a marker to write our path number on a sign. Thanks to him/her we were able to continue on without taking out the GPS. Had this been done on several other signs, we would not have had to find our way ...using GPS..on many occasions. There were also 4 other Europeans, who cycled as a group, who experienced the same sense of frustration as us.
    We will forward a photo to the Tripsite website. Thanks for providing a most enjoyable and memorable trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by C. Baird 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Guide gave us very little information about either the equipment or route before he left us. Just simple things would have helped significantly. He was abrupt, especially with women and certainly less than helpful. The guidebook was good for the most part, but some sections were completely useless. Some of this may have been due to translation, but improvements are needed. When we entered cities, we always had to ask for assistance.
    We have taken about 10 European bike trips and expect some difficulties finding our way, but have never encountered the degree of problems we had on this trip.

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by T. Petersen 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved our guide, the food quality and variety was the only disappointment.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by D. Pincar 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would recommend it, but with reservations. I think there should have been two guides, one to take a faster group and one for a beginner group. A few people on the trip should not have been. They were not comfortable on their bikes, and were a daily danger to whomever they were near. Something should have been done about it.
    I also would have liked to ride faster, and spend more free time in the little towns.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by L. Barker 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had so much fun. Looking forward to doing it again. Been telling everyone they need to try it. Just riding your bike through the towns over cobble stone or brick. Just a great way to see a country.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by D. Fish 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was enjoyable. Only drawback was that follow along Moselle River, some of the scenery of the vineyards became boring after a while. On previous trips we traveled more inland, seeing sights and then meeting up with barge at next destination.

    Boat: Iris

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by L.G. Germishuys 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Really impressed by the effort and kindness of the staff on the boat.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by J. Lockwood 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Only bad was some hills and a very long bridge (wife is afraid of heights and had to walk the over mile long bridge).

    Boat: My Story

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by C. Morrison 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had a wonderful time. The staff was very accommodating in making modifications due to the previous heavy rains and high water. The last day bike tour of Metz was disappointing in that it is a very difficult city to navigate on bikes with a number of people.

    Boat: Iris

    • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
      by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi C. Morrison,
      Im sorry that you were disappointed with the last day of riding. I can assure you that your safety is one of our top priorities and we try our best to ensure routes are safe and easy to navigate. In spite of the rain, I hope your overall experience was positive!

      Boat: Iris

  • Maastricht to Bruges
    by B. Curry 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The barge - The Merlijn was unbelievably wonderful with huge cabins and wonderful big bathrooms with large showers.- very nice big dining room and bar area. All super clean! Wonderful hosts! The biking I found a bit disappointing mostly biking along the canals where there were trees on each side and not being able to see the countryside. Our last day we biked thru small villages and farms and I found that great!

    My e-bike was great and I was used to it in a day or so. They are much heavier than a normal bike and if a bit off balance they are harder to right. They are a great help on the hills.

    Our guide Lia was lots of fun. Very sharp map reader and knowledgeable regarding the history. The passengers were mostly German and very friendly.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Maastricht to Bruges
    by F. McElroy 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Great experience! We loved the way the English-speaking and German-speaking groups coalesced - to a large part due to Jantien , our amazing hostess, chef and boat-owner!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Champagne Tour
    by D. Miller 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The ship, captain and crew were wonderful. Our guide was totally unacceptable!

    My only complaint regarding the boat was due to the small cabins. The French locks are narrow, so the boat is narrow, making the rooms a bit to small for my comfort.

    Our main concern was the unprepared tour group leader. She was constantly undecided on how to proceed. I think it was more trying to please the group than not knowing what to do. There should have been a route guide for each person (all we received was a large map with no route shown on it). She needed to be a leader rather than a friend!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by E. Hull-parsons 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have planned to contact you with feedback, but haven't. The staff was great except the guide. He was not friendly or helpful. We were all disappointed in his lack of leadership and "guiding". Of the three trips we have taken, this was the least appealing. The route was not attractive, and mostly industrial, urban or rural. We were near places we know were charming and interesting, but did not visit them. I'm left wondering if it is that tour company. For 35 people biking there really should have been more staff on the road with us. Still love you!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by N. Foley 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My travel advisor (Carla) is already aware that, although we registered as two vegans and sent a reminder a week or so before we left for Europe, the information had not been transferred to the chef. So we ate as vegetarians (eggs and dairy) for the trip rather than eschewing all animal products as is our preference.

    Our trip leader was not experienced on the route, having only travelled it once before in the opposite direction, and this meant a few wrong turns to be corrected... But Ronnie was as pleasant, friendly, encouraging, and multilingual as you could ask for! The only problem I encountered with the bikes was the lack of suspension -- which meant for a bruised tail bone after the first day when we travelled a very bumpy, broken pavement back road on the return from Chateauneuf de Pape ;-)

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Richard Oliver 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We sailed on the Iris, from Cochem to Metz, 18-25 June. It was a most delightful and joyful experience. Even with initial high water from unseasonal flooding and occasional detour from the bike paths, it was an incredibly memorable experience -- the crew, the tour guides, the food were all top notch, and the camaraderie among the other bikers was phenomenal. Special thanks to our two bike leaders and guides, Roelie and Wouter, who were fantastic in making the rides safe and mostly easy, and with an in-depth knowledge of historical sites. A special treat was having the ship's owner on board, Lenny was very engaging and most pleasant. Aline, the chef, served delicious meals, especially the final banquet was a true feast! Again, our thanks to Lenny and the entire Iris crew.

    Boat: Iris

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Oliver 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We sailed on the Magnifique II from Bruges to Amsterdam, 25 June to 1 July, under the able command of skipper Paul, and ride leader Tom Tiedom. It was a magnificent experience in every way, even though we had a few odd showers to contend with. This is virtually a brand new barge with upscale accommodations and amenities. We had one of the four top-side suites, which are indeed larger, and with view windows that open as opposed to port holes. Tom, the ride leader and guide, was an extremely charming, knowledgeable and humorous fellow. He provided daily briefings on the next day's ride, all of which included ample coffee and food stops, as well as providing historic info. Indeed, the entire crew were extremely courteous and helpful in every respect, and the food delicious.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

PWPC