Bike Tour Reviews 3241 to 3270 of 3373

 

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Becky Thacher-Bell 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I went on the Venice to Montova trip September 2012 and had a wonderful trip. Our guide Fabio was fabulous and the food was so good, I was worried I'd put on a few pounds. But with all the biking, I think I lost a few. The barge was so comfortable and the crew did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. We loved the towns and the sights, especially Montova and Venice. Such fascinating country. The terrain was flat enough that the biking was very manageable. One day we did more than expected, about 45 miles and it was windy, but we made it with the great bikes. We are definitely planning on taking another bike and barge trip through Tripsite!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Kvarner Bay
    by Joyce and Denis Smith 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We did south Dalmatia aboard Adonis. The island hopping was strenuous but the scenery grand. Great young guides and great food.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Istria
    by Joyce and Denis Smith 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really had a great time on this tour. Our young guides did a fabulous job, we enjoyed the Tarin and crew, and Cookie's food was terrific.

    Boat: Tarin

    Countries: Croatia

  • Heart of Alsace
    by chris kopet 7 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We absolutely loved Alsace, Osthouse, Hotel la Ferme and the bike rides. The villages, canals, tree-lined tow paths and the people..plus the wonderful stay at Hotel la Ferme. We did not want it to end.

    Countries: France

  • Around Romantic Bruges
    by chris kopet 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had visited Bruges previously and wanted to return to this beautiful charming place. The routes took us in all 4 directions from the city; each was interesting and beautiful. We loved the B&B stay.

    Countries: Belgium

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Cynthia Adams 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband, I and two friends did the island hopping tour along the southern coast of Croatia in Sept 2012. The San Snova is a beautiful boat with a friendly very helpful crew. Sailing between islands was lovely. Our guides were always encouraging even on the steeper hills. Never have I seen such a beautiful country and crystal clear water as in Croatia. Each island was unique, the people friendly, the small towns charming and Dubrovnik a gem.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Shirley Lazurko 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We traveled with another couple from Saarburg to Koblenz and enjoyed every part of the trip, even biking in the rain during a couple of days! The bikes we used were better than our bikes at home, the gears changed easily and the bike was comfortable. We were provided with suitcases to put onto the bikes so we could easily store our lunch, water bottles, coat, camera etc. Every morning started with a clear and concise presentation on the route we were taking during the day. We received booklets that contained information on our route and descriptions on what we were going to see along the way. The bike paths were paved and we rarely had to worry about vehicle traffic along the way. We toured beside the Mosel River, past many kilometers of vineyards growing on steep slopes; we toured through small villages with castles overlooking the countryside. We took time to stop in villages along the way to enjoy some of the local wines and beer and apple strudel. The barge experience was Read more… excellent - the staff were very helpful and interested in helping you with any issues that arose. Our only recommendation would be to have WiFi available for the guests so we could easily keep in touch with families through email however most of the villages did have internet cafes. Overall the experience was excellent and we are already looking at booking our next bike trip through this site - Italy here we come!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Betty Helpa 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What could be better than biking in Belgium and Holland? Returning each day to the Merlijn with Jantien and Hank as your host! We loved it so much that we know any trip with them would be another life memory. After returning home we booked our next trip within 3 days! This year we go with them to France & Germany. There is a reason their trips book so far in advance. Don't wait! Book now for next year! It will be better than any expectations you have! We can't wait for this year's tour!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Around Romantic Bruges
    by Anne Millar 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the tour. This was our first time cycling in Europe and we are eagerly anticipating our next. We liked the flexibility of self-guided. The hotel was great and we loved Bruges!

    Countries: Belgium

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Steve Moorhouse 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely loved the trip on board the Merlijn. Wonderful staff and amenities on board, met a great like minded group of travelling companions. As a coeliac, the crew were very attentive and ensured all my dietary needs were met. Nothing was too much trouble.

    As for the cycling and the scenery....what can I say? It was magic cycling along quiet bikeways through the vineyards and small villages, at all times in sight of the wonderful Moselle River.

    Last but not least...the wine selection and quality on board the Merlijn was the best (and very well priced).

    Already thinking about our next bike and barge tour...with the great help from Tripsite (of course).

    Boat: Iris

  • Magdeburg to Berlin
    by Wanda Short 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a terrific time exploring the vibrant city of Berlin, followed by marvelous days biking thru rejuvenated areas of eastern Germany. The Merlijn is a ***** experience of delightful accommodation, excellent dining, gracious hospitality. TripSite provides thorough itinery information and offers rapid replies to questions to prepare for the Bike/Barge experience. It was our second booking and we had a wonderful time.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Diane Knight 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a great tour! Beautiful scenery, easy riding, wonderful accommodations

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Rick Teitell 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a fabulous tour (April 2012). The boat was spacious and clean, with very good food & amenities. The bikes provided were in excellent condition. The hosts & staff were friendly & accommodating. The daily bike trips were interesting & well organized- too many highlights to describe. A great way to see many parts of Holland, especially if you combine the bike tour with several days before and/or after in Amsterdam. The staff at Tripsite provided all necessary information.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Road of 100 Castles - Münsterland
    by Don Shields 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I did this tour with our two young children. I rode a tandem with a tag along so the our two kids had my leading through the ride. We had a wonderful time, and the help we received in booking the right family accommodation was fabulous. I highly recommend this tour as a family

    Countries: Germany, Netherlands

  • Loire Valley - Châteaux Country (based in one hotel)
    by Dore Mead 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We took this tour in October, 2012. It was fantastic. The history, the scenery, the chateaus of the Loire Valley are truly amazing. The little country inn was delightful, with steaming pots of hot chocolate with breakfast and elegant, world- class, dinners. The provided route maps were a challenge to follow, taking us deep into forests, etc. that were great to experience. But on Day 3, we switched to the official French bike route maps because they were so easy to use. I finally got to study the scenery as we pedaled along! Thanks, Pack and Pedal, for a perfect vacation. We'll be back!

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Darcy 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I recently enjoyed the Paris to Bruges bike & barge tour and I loved it. The crew were fantastic, the service was excellent and the daily ride with a wonderful guide was great fun. It was one of the best travel experiences. Thanks to everyone on the Elodie for the ideal holiday. (I was on the 30th Sept 2012 trip)

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barb Adams 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group had a WONDERFUL time. I am one of six who went to celebrate 20 years of biking together. I loved all the rides, but the ride on the last day Krem-Melk was the best! I liked the fact that the cruise director had everything lined out for the rides and actually went with us. He also pointed out good places to stop along the way for local treats. I loved going to the small villages along the way, especially Vac in Hungary. I also liked all the activiities the boat crew had planned, a music quiz contest, skits and dancing on the last night and Roland on the piano-organ. The food on the boat was so delicious; something to celebrate each country we were in. It waas wonderful touring through Budapest and Vienna. I highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: My Story

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Gai Jordan 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Did Castle of the Loire 3rd week of sept 2012. The weather was nice though we did get rain on our first afternoon. No complaints at all. We picked the 2 star option and were more than happy. All hotels clean and comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. Food was fantastic. Bikes were also fabulous and the intinery/directions easy to follow (even when we got ourselves a little lost, easy to get back on track). We are 50 and of average fitness, the bike riding was not too hard. We will definately look at another tour soon. Thanks for the memories!

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Ritchie Baggs & Liz MacDonald 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the trip. The food was better than advertised, and the barge was more comfortable than expected. Our suggestion for improvement would be a second guide OR better overall maps for a breakaway group.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Beth Ridenour 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the best way to enjoy Europe combining bicycling through painting-like landscapes on a well balanced tour of culture, history and fun with a fantastic caring crew and fabulous food! The addition of a dozen Australians made it even better; and barging into Paris on a sunny afternoon with a glass of wine was divine. We're booking again in 2013!

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Ann Vess 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    If you picked a tour aboard the Merlijn for your next vacation, you made the perfect choice. It is not just a barge, it is a luxury barge. The ride through the Mosel Valley is stunning with the vineyards and quaint towns. But, beyond that it is the specialness of your hosts, Jantien and Henk that make this an outstanding experience. Jantien's warmth, humor and attention to detail is amazing along with the delicious meals she prepares. When you come away from the trip, you are left with wonderful memories and you feel like you were entertained in the home of a close friend.

    Boat: Iris

  • Prague to Dresden
    by Ralph Cohen 7 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time and were very happy with local provider, Ruckenwind, organization of the trip. Dieter from Ruckenwind reviewed the route before hand which was very helpful in keeping us on the best paths and he also was very flexible with our desire to use our own pedals. There were a few challenges with bike path construction that probably weren't known but we managed to trek through the construction sites. The only minor issue was whether we could have requested a derailleur bike rather than 7 speed with coaster brake. With cleats on bike shoes, the freewheel type drive train would have been easier to use - a couple of other people on the tour had 21 speed bikes (with cleats) but we didn't know it was an option. I guess I will ask next time. Otherwise, it was excellent. The hotels were lovely, hotel staff all very accomodating. The hotel in Prague was a bit removed from the heart of the city but easily accessible to the tram and convenient for starting the ride. Read more… The hotel in Melnik was a few kilometers from the old city but the hotel provided a free shuttle and we enjoyed the walk home (taxis available, too). Overall, very pleased with this tour (our third with Tripsite). Thinking about the next one...

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Paula Wickstrom 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a wonderful bike & barge tour- we biked about 168 miles in 6 days; the trails were great and easy to ride with beautiful scenery along the way. We started out with great breakfasts and ended with fabulous dinners. Met many nice people on the "My Story" barge. Great experience all around.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jan Engwer 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a fabulous trip - even better than what I expected. We were able to spend a fair amount of time in most of the major cities and the bike trails took us through some gorgeous countryside, and there were many quaint villages along the way where we were able to shop and dine. The bike trails were wide, paved and level, and a couple of the longer routes offered shorter options by taking a ferry to cut off some of the distance. The entire "My Story" experience was delightful. The captain and all the crew members were very accommodating and friendly, the other guests were fun and young-at-heart, the rooms and beds were comfortable and clean, and the food was exquisite!!! The daily biking trips were well-planned and organized, and the extra tours, particularly the biking tours through Vienna and Budapest, were well worth the money. Even the weather cooperated nicely - we had sunshine every day and temperatures in the 70's (Fahrenheit). Perfect weather for Read more… biking.

    Boat: My Story

  • Berlin to Copenhagen
    by Allandra Hyndman 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a great trip this was through the old Eastern Germany and into Denmark. We rode through beech forests, beautiful old towns and tasted all the local food delights. Morning coffee and apple cake became a must. The accommodation was top rate and the daily distances just right to take in some sight seeing as well as peddling. Highly recommended bike trip.

    Countries: Denmark, Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Diane Reck 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip is all and more. There is a good balance of seeing nature at it's most beautiful as you follow the Mosel River and you go through many villages and see historic sites, and taste wine. You take many stops and the miles are spread out through the day so it isn't a hard, tiring bike ride either. This is a trip of a lifetime and great staff and people. The food on the boat is out of this world and the dinner table is set so beautifully! The barge is the way to go!

    Boat: Iris

  • Prague to Passau
    by Michael Kieda 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful routes and towns make this a "must do" tour that exceeded all my expectations. The routes were sometimes quite challenging, as I hoped they would be, but I always arrived in each town with plenty of time and energy to walk around and enjoy the fabulous sights, shops, and cafes. The hotels were all very clean, comfortable, and pleasant. The hybrid bikes are well suited for the route and were equipped with two particularly welcomed features: rear panier bags and a fresh pair of Schwalbe Marathon tires. A couple of absent features that also would have been very welcome are a cycle computer and clear sleeve on the handlebars for the route notes. I recommend bringing SPD clipless pedals and shoes. And I highly recommend allowing two or three extra days in Prague and at least a full day in Passau.

  • Salzburg & the Bavarian Lakes
    by James Umpherson 7 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Traversing the Bavarian Alps is excellent. The highlight of the trip was the Hotel Jagerhof in Bernau. Willie was awesome. He gave us great tips for cycling around the region, his cooking was wonderful (he made us venison), and the service was superb. A truly accommodating cycling hotel.

    Lake Chiemsee is the highlight of the trip. We cycled around the lake. Unfortunately, the weather was cloudy and cool so we didn't take the ferry to the island. A good ride, all the same.

    The biggest disappointment was Berchtesgarden. The hotelier wasn't very accommodating and because of the timing and duration of stay, we couldn't visit the Eagles Nest. The community itself, including shopping and sites is worth the visit.

    If I had the choice of either the Bavarian Lakes or Salzburg and the 10-Lakes, the Austrian version is the preferred choice.

    Tripsite was great. They helped us with some minor challenges.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Salzburg & the 7 Lakes
    by James Umpherson 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Austrian people are friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We enjoyed the food, the scenery, the various communities, and the cycling. An awesome time.

    If you do the trip, make sure to upgrade to the 4-star hotels. They are excellent, especially, the Holiday Inn in Salzburg,and the hotel in Mondsee. Both the service and support were superb.

    There is a lot to see, experience, and take in. The cycling is challenging but fun. You traverse some nice locations with minimal road usage.

    We will be back.

    Countries: Austria

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by vincent zuellig 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just returned from a wonderful experience. Kvarner bay was wonderful. Beautiful sites, wonderful people, lovely boat and great challenging rides. I would recommend this trip to anyone.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

PWPC