5 star rated Bike Tour Reviews 1381 to 1410 of 1805

 

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Oliver 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We sailed on the Magnifique II from Bruges to Amsterdam, 25 June to 1 July, under the able command of skipper Paul, and ride leader Tom Tiedom. It was a magnificent experience in every way, even though we had a few odd showers to contend with. This is virtually a brand new barge with upscale accommodations and amenities. We had one of the four top-side suites, which are indeed larger, and with view windows that open as opposed to port holes. Tom, the ride leader and guide, was an extremely charming, knowledgeable and humorous fellow. He provided daily briefings on the next day's ride, all of which included ample coffee and food stops, as well as providing historic info. Indeed, the entire crew were extremely courteous and helpful in every respect, and the food delicious.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Four Country Tour
    by K. McKay 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Ok so.... all the hotels were perfect and suited to the atmosphere of our biking trip except for the Einstein Hotel in St. Gallen which was not in keeping with the "atmosphere" of the trip...a little too fancy if you get my drift. Also some of the breakfasts left a little to be desired but this could also have been from us just getting tired of eating the same type of food every day. The people in the hotels were all so friendly and accommodating! The bikes were perfect especially for my 6'2" husband. I had trouble with my gears one day, the next day a new bike arrived. Best service! The first ride (I think 65 kms from Lake Constanz to Zurich) was long and boring! Bike path most of the way. Not sure what could be done about that. The rest of the rides were awesome through little towns, gorgeous scenery. We will be booking our next bike tour with you next year!

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by S. Makin 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I've just returned from a wonderful trip, the National parks of Dalmatia. We had a fabulous time. Our two guides, Ivana and Ivan, were marvellous. Captain Tomo and his crew were top notch. The food was amazing. My only small criticism was the distance biked every day. Our longest day was 25Kms and I would have loved longer and perhaps slower days. I felt the distance was too short and we biked too fast. Otherwise, I loved every second of our Croatian adventure!!

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by T. Rodgers 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip could have stopped at interesting waypoints more frequently. The stop at the art studio was silly. I would have liked to learn more about Holland's and Belgium's history and current culture. A portable DVD player with a travel related DVD would have useful after dinner treat!

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by T. Rodgers 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip could have stopped at interesting waypoints more frequently. The stop at the art studio was silly. I would have liked to learn more about Holland's and Belgium's history and current culture. A portable DVD player with a travel related DVD would have useful after dinner treat!

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by W. Nurcombe 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The regular bikes are great but we rented an E-bike for our disabled son which did not work and there was no replacement. Riding a malfunctioning E-bike is extremely heavy and I was stuck with it for two days. Once we accepted normal bikes we all managed much better and my son amazed me. Tripsite was excellent in refunding us for the E-bike. This trip is a wonderful experience.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Lorraine Tour
    by S. Midha 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Beautiful way to travel from Luxembourg to France. Bike quality was very Good. Our Bike Guide Arie was very knowledgeable. Every evening we had Four course Gourmet Dinner. Sander and Els were the best Host and Owner of the Barge.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by S. Woodhouse 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We very much enjoyed coming back to the Theodor Korner each afternoon and the camaraderie on board this boat. Previously we have been on hotel to hotel cycling trips, which we have also enjoyed, but this time we enjoyed not having to pack up each morning. The staff were all delightful, the meals excellent and the cycling / sightseeing just right for us. Even the rain a couple of days didn't dampen our spirits. The only thing to mention that Tripsite had wrong on the info we were sent was that we were told that credit cards could not be used for purchases on board. In fact we were able to use a credit card.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by S. Irwin 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The details of the transfer from Munich Airport to Passau was not described in the online information, but detailed in the updated information leaflet found in the cabin once aboard (too late). The online leaflet needs to be updated with details of where the transfer desk can be found at Munich Airport.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Champagne Tour
    by M. Dumestre 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I highly recommend the Swaantje barge. The captain is both technically experienced and oriented toward customer satisfaction. The staff was very attentive to passenger needs.
    The bike guide was competent, but needed a bit more familiarity with the routes.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Mallorca
    by P. Braun 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The bicycle trip in Mallorca was a pleasant experience! The route was interesting, and the effort required to ride the daily distance was minimal. The instruction book provided for the self-guided tour was easy to follow. The hotels and the meals were very good.

    Countries: Spain

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Jen Herold 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a fantastic trip on the Fleur, It was well above our expectations.
    The crew were fun and helpful in every way. ( food was excellent )
    Bikes were easy to ride, i would take a gel seat cover for extra comfort.
    Cabins were bigger than expected and the bathrooms clean with a instant hot water.
    Our guide was informative, she took us into places that you would not normally enter.
    We had a fun team of riders, thanks guys from the Smurfs xxx

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Lochs and Castles (no longer available)
    by D. Periman 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had an amazing trip. The people were incredibly nice, the food was delightful, and the biking was better than we could've imagined!!! Best family vacation ever!!!

    Countries: Scotland

  • Camino de Santiago Bike Tour
    by Rycharde Farah 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Fizemos, eu e minha esposa, em maio/junho de 2016, o Caminho Português da Costa a Santiago de Compostela. Foi fantástico, excelente organização! Recomendo.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by M. Towle 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was amazing. The only negative were. Lunch on the boat was over the top. (it was more like a dinner), I would have preferred a lighter fare. One day of the biking was on a VERY busy road. I am not sure if there were other route but it was definitely NOT safe. The guide needed much stricter riding rules in this situation if it could not be avoided. On a positive note the country is safe and beautiful. The tour included a perfect balance of riding, touring and exploring the sea.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Champagne Tour
    by D. Quigley 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Your tour was so damn good l find l'm getting naught done cause l want to go again - tomorrow. Seriously, l received courteous service that was pertinent and addressed any of the issues that l might have experienced. Personally, l think the whole Bike and Barge tour was run to the highest professional standards under what were adverse weather conditions. You can't plan for the tidal wave like flood of water that swept down the rivers and the very fact that you were able to 'tap-dance in the snow' and continue to operate at all does you no amount of credit. So from me, a big thank you to all the staff and keep up the good work. it was indeed a distinct pleasure for me to bear witness as other professionals surmounted adversity and came out on top.
    D. Quigley - Melbourne, Australia.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by S. Bingham 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was the first Bike and Barge experience for my husband and I, and we feel very lucky to have had our initiation into this traveling experience with Marco, and the crew of Claire de Lune. What a fabulous way to see the sights so very few visitors get to see! The barge accommodations were tight, but efficient, and as advertised. Be sure to pay attention to the packing instructions sent out ahead of time! Our tour leader was extremely knowledgeable and very flexible with our small group of 7. Highlights were definitely riding through Paris, and "barging down" the tunnel under the Bastil. However, riding through the picturesque little French villages, countryside and forests were also what made this trip so special. We would highly recommend this tour, and hope to travel again on this barge, or one very much like it, on our next Bike and Barge trip.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by M. Mathews 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Was a fantastic trip!!! Tom was a great guide and will recommend this to others.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by E. Lowell 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a wonderful trip! I liked that we got to be on the barge when it moved (one time at the end of the day and another in the morning). The food was outstanding and I liked that the chefs described dinner and suggested wine pairings. The barge was very comfortable - even with 3 in a cabin.

    Our son (22 years old) was outnumbered by the over 50 crowd but Hein made him feel welcome. Only suggestion - mirrors on the bikes (although I realize that makes them difficult to store and move) and a brief intro on riding in groups.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Sunita 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I really enjoyed my first Barge and Bike Tour(June11th to June 17th)Sanders and Els were very Good. I would like to give them 10 out of 10 for their Hospitality. Our Bike Guide Arie was Great.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • South Holland Tour
    by W. Flink 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is our third bike and barge trip and we would come back to do another. We had a great time! The boat, the Liza Marleen, was very nice, the crew very friendly, and our bike guide informative, interesting, and a lot of fun. It was very nice going on a small size boat and the crew created a family-like atmosphere which made the trip very enjoyable. One one particularly warm and longer day, the crew handed out delicious popsicles as we climbed back aboard at the end of the day. We appreciated the all the small details like this. We tell many friends that they should do one of these Bike and Barge trips. We'll be back.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • South Holland Tour
    by M. Gaherty 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Trip was outstanding however a comment. Upon our arrival on the boat, the first thing they tried to do was sell us bike insurance. We showed them the paperwork that we had paid 15 Euros. They countered that their ins was only 10 Euro and that it would be easier to settle a claim because we would not have to get reimbursed by you. We did not buy their ins but this turned us off immediately. Also, why are we paying 15 when they charge 10? This option should have been explained to us. Now the good news: boat was beautiful and we had a great room. Food was absolutely outstanding! I thought it was exceptional on Theodor Kormer but Anna Maria Agnes had them beat by a hair! And our guide, Niko, what a doll! Wish I could have taken him home with me! Prior to our trip my friends and I spent a few days in Amsterdam. While visiting museums, I lost my new jacket, new Galaxy S-7 phone and my digital camera! We retraced our steps, went to police station. I came to the conclusion that I might have left them on the tram but it was Friday, the lost and found was closed until Monday. On Day 2 of our trip, I asked Nico if he could help me by calling the tram lost and found, which he did. The next evening, he approached me with a big grin and told me that they had recovered my items on the tram. What a miracle! He wrote down the case # and gave me directions to find the lost and found. Thank you Thank you to Nico!!
    One suggestion: we were given no instruction as to what the street signs meant. I know a little bit of Dutch and even I had a problem with them. I would suggest that a handout be prepared for all English speaking, showing pictures of the signs and interpretations. Also, a short session on cars vs bikes; who has the right of way etiquette ...that would be very helpful. Several times, we stopped at intersections, only to have bikers pass us or swear at us for stopping. At times, the route numbers were confusing but that was not the fault of Nico. There were some route changes, construction, which deviated from the map.
    Overall, we had a wonderful time!!!!!!!!!II have already had some friends who are interested in booking a trip to Holland through tripsite.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by P. Bryce 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best week of food ever. Great bikes. Super helpful guides. Would like access to more detailed maps to know better where we were. Really enjoyed the bike barge combination.

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by A. Roebelen 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The bike path signs were sometimes hard to follow and we got off course a few times.
    The staff of the boat, The Normandie, was fabulous. The food was better than we expected and they were very accommodating with our lunches. The wifi was very disappointing.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by D. Christianson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It would be good for the guides to have a bike calculator (a little device on the bike that shows distance and speed). The guides varied the speeds more than was necessary. It wasn't bad, but at times faster than "advertised" for the slow group and slower and faster than advertised for the faster group. This is not a big deal, but would be an improvement. Also we often biked a little longer than was in the route descriptions, so those could be looked at. Other than that, the trip was great. And less rain of course :-)

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by V. Assis 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was better than I could imagine! Thank you all.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by K. Thibodeau 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We found this to be one of our best trips ever!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by S. Garson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I know that there was a mid cruise change of cruise directors and neither were particularly helpful. We basically did the routes ourselves and there could have been better instructions. We had a wonderful trip though.

    Boat: My Story

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by V. Miller 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip gets a +10!! The staff (Tamy, Ilena, Luciano, Enrico, Guilio & Alberto) were amazing - fun, personable, knowledgable, friendly and engaging. They were truly a team and clearly enjoyed each other which ripples out to the experience of the guests. I loved that they gave a 'brief' the night before to let us know what to expect the next day. The food was creative, fresh and lovingly prepared. The accommodations on the AveMarie were great -- the cabins were well thought out with lots of storage so that the room felt spacious. The dining room was lovely with plenty of space to relax. The price of wine/beer was very reasonable and loved that we could keep a tab and pay it at the end, so easy.

    Oh yea the bikes --- a good ride and comfy enough for the distances ridden. The routes were well planned, even the few times we had to ride in traffic. The trip leaders were excellent at managing the group and making it fun, no matter what we were doing.

    For the whole week I felt well cared for :)
    I am already dreaming of my next trip.
    Kindly -- Victoria

    P.S. The bad and the ugly -- honestly I don't have anything to contribute for improvement.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by H. Hausch 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Really liked our trip director Andreas. The Theodor Koerner excellent boat with superb staff.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

PWPC