5 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 1471 to 1500 of 2142

 


Martha Y.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

The most memorable part of the trip was the scenery and atmosphere.

Charlene B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part of the trip was the wonderful friendships made being a part of the guided tour group. There were six English speakers and seven Germans including the guide. Truly a remarkable experience. Budapest was also a memorable location. One tip we could recommend would be a portable hot spot. Wifi was not very good because it is satellite feed. Which caused issues with paying for some trips with a credit card.

Joella D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This trip was an excellent opportunity for travel with our mother who could stay on the boat while my sister and I biked through the countryside - meeting back up for meals and comparing experiences. Tripsite was very helpful and we got to know one of our Tripsite staff as she joined our trip to learn more about the tour and help others in the future. She couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

Madeline N.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Two items that were not as expected.
The literature states two guides but there was only one guide. This means there could only be one guided ride per day. So provide two guides or change the description of the trip to say only one guided ride per day.
Our pre-trip information provided a location for the where the barge would be moored in Paris. We selected a hotel near this location and planned activities based on this location. The boat did not dock at this location. We were not told that the location was changing. The boat docked. We didn't know where we were at and our guide also didn't know where we were at. Guide was very good. This was an issue with the boat captain.

Teresa L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. I loved biking through different scenery - quaint villages and towns, beautiful forests, farmland and countryside. It is the perfect way to see parts of Belgium and Holland. You can go at your own pace because the trails are so well marked. The barge is beautiful and the rooms are comfortable. I can't say enough about the staff, they were excellent. I definitely recommend this trip and can't wait to do it again!

Bob T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This is a great way to see Europe.

Michael F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

The Captain and crew were just wonderful. While the sights were certainly great, like cheese making, Champagne tasting, visitng the ruins and the WWII cemeteries it was the warm welcome from the Captain and crew that really made this trip. There was nothing they wouldn't do for us including getting fresh baguettes every day, finding out our personal preferences for drinks after a long day in the saddle, and in general giving 110% to keep everyone happy. I strongly recommend the Captain and crew of the Zwaantje! I also must mention a big thank you to Carla and her crew at Tripsite for their assistance in getting us additional e-bikes. Without the e-bikes some of us just wouldn't have made the hills, with them we enjoyed every minute. Thank you!

Arja L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The Magnifique II and staff were more amazing than we expected! The bike routes were absolutely beautiful with very well planned and laid out maps. Overall a very memorable experience that I am highly recommending to every one I talk to.

Patricia L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The majority of the Danube cycling routes are truly beautiful. We were worried about the bikes only having 7 speeds, however it was only an issue when we made the climb to the Mauthausen Concentration Camp. Otherwise, they were fine. The staff on the Normandie were fabulous, as was the food. I esp. want to thank Ani and Mikki who were a huge help to us prior to the trip. We had lots of questions and they always answered them quickly and thoroughly. I plan on continuing to book my trips with Tripsite. What a great company!

Laurie S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The Wachau Valley is breath taking. Austria and Bavaria are absolute gem locations. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. Tripsite made it easy to book, offer very reasonable prices and answered all our questions.
My only complaint was our German bike guide. We were the only primarily English speaking riders in a group of 14. The rest mostly spoke German. Our guide explained the vast majority of what we were seeing in German. This is somewhat understandable given that we were in the minority, but we felt that we missed out on so much historical explanations. In addition, he admitted that he didn't really know much about all the areas we visited and often deviated from the guide book. We ended up leaving the guided tour and going solo the last 2 days.
We rented e-bikes, which we loved, but had to figure out how to use them as we went along.

Antonina G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Loved the ship-the Primadonna. We liked it that the servings were not big and that you could ask for seconds. Appreciated the lunches they prepared. It was a great trip. Staff was helpful and efficient.

Margie H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

Petting a cheetah & having breakfast with her were most memorable. Guides were outstanding. They were full of information & happy to share their knowledge & experience with everyone. We received a genuine glimpse into rural South Africa.

Theodora H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Magdeburg to Berlin
Germany

Beautiful scenery, interesting architecture, wonderful boat, staff , food, participants , but awful reminders of wars.

Marie-Claude R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The most memorable parts were the scenery, the cute villages, the windmills and the dunes with great people and staff.

William H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Great trip. Irene was a great guide. She adopted my suggestion that she wait for the stragglers to catch up to the stopped leaders so the stragglers could have a short rest also. Her suggested side tours were great. Our chefs, Samuel and Enrico were great as well. Superb food. First class trip.

Norval G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Dutch and Belgium rural scenery and bike paths were beautiful, well marked and saw lots of wildlife.

Patricia M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Loved the trip. GPS wasn't dependable all the time, especially in Amsterdam.

Darren B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elodie Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The most memorable part was the whole staff and guide on the Elodie.

Robert W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The entire trip was memorable for me. I took lots of video and still shots. My plan is to create some YouTube videos to share the experience. I have wanted to do the ride along the Danube for several years and I finally got my chance. It was everything I expected and more. I am now looking at the choices for my next cycling adventure in Europe.

Robert C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bremen to Magdeburg
Germany

The most memorable part was meeting a German who was a prisoner of war in the USA during WW2.

Clare C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I don't know how I could possibly pinpoint one part of the trip as the most memorable as it was all so absolutely fantastic. I was expecting it to be good but is was beyond my wildest expectations.
Take a day in Passau either before or after the trip to walk around the beautiful historic town. The cathedral is so worth a visit, it's absolutely magnificent with an organ that has more pipes than any other in the world.
The boat was excellent, accommodations better than expected, the food was amazing and the staff friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Remember to book your spa time as you will have that privately for an hour. There is nothing quite like sitting in the hottub while cruising down the Danube after a days ride.
Visit the Trappist monastery before you ride on your first day and see the reliquaries in the church-pretty weird, and don't forget to stop for refreshments before you take your bike across on the ferry at the Danube bend. Read More

Deborah R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Magdeburg to Berlin
Germany

The most memorable part was seeing many historical sites in Berlin.

Nianne F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princess Diana Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

There is a reason why the default bicycle on the Southern Dalmatia Plus trip is an e-assist model; the islands of Croatia are very hilly! The e-assist made it easier for me to stop on an uphill, take photos of fellow riders or the amazing scenery, get re-started easily, and make it to the top without holding up the whole group. Everyone, from the guides and crew on board to the locals in cafes and restaurants, was very friendly, helpful, and willing to speak English for the benefit of us uni-lingual folks!

Mike S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

The overall experience was excellent. We enjoyed the intimacy of a relatively small group on the boat. It allowed us to meet a number of people over the course of the week. We will definitely be returning in the future.

If I had one suggestion it would be to limit the number of days where there was a deadline to meet the boat in the late afternoon as these deadlines sometimes creates pressure to complete the route quicker than I would have otherwise chosen.

John Miller
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The trip provided both the opportunity to see the countryside in an up-close and invigorating manner, but it also allowed for memorable time to get to know and enjoy our fellow travelers.

Gail F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Soleo Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Ah...The trip was memorable for so many reasons, the people, the sites. Bikes were amazing to ride. Loved the infinity gears. We loved the Soleo, however it sunk due to some submerged metal. The staff did their level best to help the passengers continue vacation, get to their embassy to get new passports, medications, and put us up in hotels. The Estello was brought up to continue our trip. There were some circulation/moisture issues on the Estello so we didn't enjoy that boat as much. One suggestion would be to do a short first day clinic to ensure riders understand basic group riding etiquette. Rounding the city round about would have been better/safer had we all gathered and taken the lane to go as a group rather than single file around in such an extended line. Then resume to single file along country/city roads. The sites were amazing but there were some areas that must have required more city riding. Loved the Carmarge horses, fields of poppies, flamingos, roman stadium and Read More

Karen H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The guide and crew were amazing. Great home cooked meals with personal atmosphere.

Lynne
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Ring of Kerry & Dingle Peninsula
Ireland

In my view, the overall route rating of this itinerary should be at least be at the "Moderate/Difficult" level, and certain sections "Difficult" because of the "gaps" or mountain passes to overcome. Also, the route to Ballaghbearna Gap has unpaved, rough roads with long, steep climbs; this area is in a very remote part of Ireland as there are no cars, no one else around except sheep all around the mountains, and no cell phone reception. Fortunately, when we were there, the weather cooperated.
Coupled with the climbs, this tour can easily turn to "Difficult" if the weather is windy and/or rainy.

Doreen C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The most memorable part was stopping for lunch in a vineyard!

Jo-Anne W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Flora Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

What an Experience! Our Barge, the Jelmar, was spacious with a nice private bathroom. Albert-Jon was a great Captain and our meals were outstanding! We certainly were never hungry and the menus were very unique and delicious. The bikes were great and pretty comfy. Petra our guide was terrific. We not only enjoyed our Biking with her, but she also took us on evening walking tours of the little villages we were docked in. Being local, she was able to indulge us in a lot of the history of the areas. The Tulip fields, and beautiful architecture were delightful and of course the Keukenhof was AMAZING! Loved the little stops along the way for ice cream or coffee. Learning of the Working Windmills and speaking with overseers was so interesting. The little Cheese farm we visited was terrific. They even vacuumed our cheese for us to bring home. The Aalsmeer Flower auction was like a beautiful ballet and the millions of flowers the backdrop to the workers performances. I have already forwarded the trip information to several co-workers and friends. Truly a MUST DO.