5 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 1411 to 1440 of 2141

 


Joe B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The biking part of the trip takes you through some of the most beautiful countryside in Belgium and the Netherlands. The tour guide is very knowledgeable about the history of the landscape. It's a very casual pace so keeping up is never a problem. There are many stops for coffee, lunch and afternoon breaks while biking.

Catherine (Carrie)
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Paris
France

My mom and I booked the trip from June 3- 10, 2017 from Moret-sur-Loing to Compiegne. What a fantastic holiday!! The biking was incredible and the bikes were in excellent shape - very easy to ride. Wieger was an excellent guide both on and off the bikes. We experienced France from a totally different perspective - biking in the forests, into Fontainebleau and having a picnic in the garden; stopping along the Seine for coffee at a small cafe; biking into Paris to Notre Dame and the Eiffel Tower. Every night Wieger would give us a small tour of the town we were moored in. The meals that Thea made each day were 5* - excellent!! The Clair de Lune was a lovely place to call our home each night and our captain Marco was very accommodating and friendly. We highly recommend this trip - what a fantastic experience!!!

Shelly J.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Magdeburg to Berlin
Germany

From making the arrangements to enjoying the trip, the guides, hosts, and accommodations, the experience was all excellent. Can't wait to do it again!!

Azam E.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Boat and bike trip was our first experience. It was really amazing and well- organized one :)) we just wish to have more options for healthy food on board and choose our table at dinner time to socialize with more people than having assigned seats every night. -Thank you

Csop G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Most memorable part: The scenery. The varied landscape. The entire trip was an adventure. Definitely tack on an extra day or two in Prague and Dresden. It will make for a perfect holiday.

Bill W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

We are long time customers to Tripsite and have always enjoyed our trips. This year we did St Moritz to Innsbrook. It was an amazing trip with some of the best views we have ever seen. The ride was challenging for the first few days but then it got to be a typical river ride. We did a triple room package rather than paying for a single supplement and it worked great. All of the hotels were newly renovated and very modern. The people of Switzerland and Austria were very friendly and supportive. Again these trips in the alps are so spectacular! Looking forward to planning next years trip.

Maria luiza L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

La Rioja - Land of Wine
Spain

It was my second trip managed by Tripsite and everything was perfect. The route was amazing.

Chelton T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

Great trip - exceeded my expectations- first class in every respect.
Bike courses were challenging but you can't beat the scenery.

Jenny M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Odisej Along the Dalmatian Coast
Croatia

The most memorable part were the people we met, both crew and guests. The route had been well chosen to let us experience the beauty of the area. I would have rated the guide and food higher except for the following reasons: although the guide was very personable and knowledgable he did not carry a first aid kit or tools to deal with emergencies. I think this could be easily remedied. Although the food was well prepared the captain could have spent a little more money on his selection of meats, cheese, and wine.

David C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Bavaria Tour
Germany

The most memorable part was the friendliness of the other guests.

Rebecca K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Having never taken a bike and barge trip I didn't know what to expect. Wow....it exceeded my expectations. Boat was luxurious for a barge, what friendly, hard working staff. Tom our tour leader was terrific. Other than the fact that the single cabins are really small everything else outstanding.

D. Dray
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

We have been on seven self-guided bike trips (two of them with boats) and this was truly one of the best! The accommodations on our Prague ship, the MS Florentina were nicer (larger lounges, expansive deck, etc) than the Angela Esmee to be frank, but the Angela's superb crew, the charming towns as ports of call, and along the route, and our tour leader, Margaret, more than made up for it. I highly recommend this tour!

Elaine Sullivan
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Three Capitals of Russia
Russia

This tour (Jun 16 2017) which included a bicycle festival in Uglich and the White Nights festival in St Petersburg was fabulous. The guides were wonderful, knowledgeable, and helpful. Accommodations were super. We toured many small museums along the route, had an excellent city tour of St Petersburg led by an incredible tour guide. Too many great things to list.

Karry & Brent M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Besides the beautiful scenery, the staff on the boat were so friendly and helpful. They worked as a team, and the relationship with the guests was wonderful. We made many new friends, and had such a good time. Leaving, we had tears in our eyes. We loved the wineries and tasting many new wines. Although we understand the purpose of corkage fees, we thought they were too high, as we came back with one or two new ones every day! Loved the trip!

Whitley G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

Stunning vistas, terrific staff, and the weather was spot on in the Dublin area 2nd week of June 2017.

Ana Karla Oliveira
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

We loved the whole trip from Prague to Dresden ... Beautiful places to visit and spend a few hours admiring ... All the cities that we slept were special ... We chose premium option to stay in 4 star hotels, really Prague and Dresden were But the rest can be considered 1 or 2 stars ... The level of difficulty of the route is really easy even, very few climbs and are short ... The bikes were excellent, the maps very well elaborated ... I would just like to Suggesting that you take a closer look at Pravcicka Gate, because it was a very long walk, about 5 hours (round trip) to visit it ... It is beautiful, unique, wonderful landscapes, worth visiting , But you have to prepare for long distances ... This was the third time we hired the tripsite and it was great! As of other times, the pedaling was AMAZING! We recommend! We are already dreaming of the next! :))

Deanna G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The entire week was fabulous. Loved cycling through the towns and country side. Tom our guide was very nice and an excellent guide. I also enjoyed our evening walking tour, especially when he brought us to the home of an artist and his wife. I bought a few pieces of jewelry.
We were very lucky with the weather and even ate outside 2 nights.
Loved that we were a small group and I knew everyone after a couple of days . I enjoyed everything.

Janet L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

We were glad that we did the independent bike ride starting in Bolzano 3 days before meeting up with everyone on the barge. The scenery and biking were incredible, especially on the alternate route. We did go solo the first day and got very lost 3 times! The next day we tagged along with others on the same trip. The directions could be more explicit ( Ex. It would be helpful to state directions that avoided questioning routes i.e. ""go this way, not that way""; caution - fork in road- bear right, but not up that 14% grade hill!) And what is a fly-over? (An overpass, we found out later) And what is considered a ""fountain""? (It's a small water spigot at a bikers rest stop). However, it was an adventure we won't forget. We learned we needed to have GPS through Google or another mapping/biking program. This would allow us to be more independent and ride self guided as biking with 28 or more people and 2 guides is slow going. The biking Read More

Csop Glew
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

As our first self guided cycling trip, we can not see how this experiene could be better. The scenery was extraordinary, the accommodations were excellent and the trip coordinator was superb! We highly recommend this trip. Can't wait to do another trip!

Vivian C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

The routing in Bordeaux was great. Amazing scenery, passing through little towns and managing our way through a city or two made for an amazing adventure. One day I had a big problem with my bike and with a phone call I had a young man show up and fix it. He was my hero.

Lori C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Loved the beauty of the rolling hills, vineyards and chateaus. Due to the hills, I would rate 2 of the days more moderate to difficult, leaning more to moderate. The maps and booklets are hard to follow, definitely have 1 person in your group get the GPS, it should be mandatory with all the turns. There is only a deposit required.
The staff were attentive, hard working and fun! The food was exceptional. We highly recommend this tour!

Courtney R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Touring by bicycle is the best! It's a great way to take in the scenery, small villages, and larger cities while getting a little exercise along the way. It was a very relaxing trip and I was glad to be a part of a larger group on the trip. The food and cycling directions could be improved, but the service and itinerary were great.

Barbara C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fiep Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most memorable parts: The camaraderie of the group and of course the fabulous meal by Chef Franco.

Liz G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

Accommodations faultless. Bike company efficient and I loved my bike. Maps very inadequate, we should not have been on "on ramps" to or navigating 4 lane highways, check out the maps through Cavaillon for example. More moderate than recreational cycling especially the hills. Great on an E bike if you had one. Scenery exquisite. Weather too! Thank you to Mary for organizing or extra nights in Avignon, another great hotel.

Harvey A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

"easy to moderate" was at the outset incorrect, it was "moderate to difficult" when one considers the length and incline of the hills. Also, our group of twelve experienced 3 flat tires, the first time in many years of biking in Europe, and each was on an e-bike. The hotels, on the other hand were exquisite!

Diana W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The best combination, boat and bicycle, without packing in every place.
Every morning a new city to visit and the best way is by bike where you can experience the sound of the win through the forest, the river just by your side and beautiful villages where always will be a huge church and a restaurant to have a beer.
And unforgettable experience, I just love to do it and would like to experience again.

Andy D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip was very well organized, the scenery was beautiful, boat staff very helpful. All the meals were great. The packed lunch was a nice feature for the day rides. Rooms were very nice, lounge staff treated us well.
We liked the City of Budapest very much, glad we had the day to explore.
Biking through wine country on the last day was a great way to finish the experience.

Beth M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most beautiful part of the bike trip was he Danube Bend, eye candy around every corner! The thermal pools at Szechenyi in Budapest are not to be missed! It is the largest medicinal bath in Europe. Plan on spending 3-4 hours there, it is an unbelievable experience. Also, in the Jewish Quarter you can feel & experience Jewish life before WW II inside old shops; the communist period of Hungary at retro restaurants; and contemporary Budapest through street food and street art.

Peter M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part was our free time in Budapest. What a beautiful city.

Mark L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My wife and I enjoyed the variety of the destinations and getting off the boat to explore small villages, ruins and interact with the local people.
The staff was very friendly and always helpful.
One tip we would suggest is to make every effort to be on top deck or in the parlor to see the cities we visited during arrival and departure.