Bike Tour Reviews 2641 to 2670 of 3106

 

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by William Reed 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Evening walking tours of towns by tour guide were a nice extra.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Bob Connor 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bikes provided were crap. You could still see the cobwebs. What was particularly egregious was the lack of a decent bicycle pump to bring our tires up to pressure on a daily basis.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Melinda Johnson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have booked a couple trips through tripsite.com and frequently recommend them to my friends. What separates Tripsite from the pack is their service, value and expertise. I am looking forward to working with them on my next adventure!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Dorothy Kenyon 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved your barge/bike trip!! Would do it again to somewhere else, but I need a travel companion!! Thats the only thing holding me back.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Around Paris
    by John Geraerdts 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Overall trip came up to expectations. Crew was friendly and capable. The glitches to be expected on a new boat-new tour were minimal. Daily itineraries seemed to be well planned. Highlight was riding to Eiffel Tower and on to Notre Dame. Enjoyed tunnel cruise and free day in Paris. Meals on board were very good. Small group made dining fairly intimate. Bikes good but not excellent. Mine had a shifting problem that was a minor annoyance. Cabin accommodations were fine given the nature of the bike and barge experience. While this barge was in general less luxurious than those on our prior trips, (Mantova-Venice and Avignon-Comargue) it was fairly advertised as a ""Standard"" and priced accordingly. We thought that riding to the Eiffel Tower was pretty nifty and it became our main bragging points upon our return home. This was our third bike and barge with Tripsite. We recommend this type of experience and Tripsite to all.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Sharon Cratsenberg 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Perfect weather, gorgeous scenery, wonderful riding--loved every minute of the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Gary Lofland 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Could not have asked for a better experience. From the start the help and communication was excellent, the staff at Tripsite was superb. The trip itself was great. The staff helpful, the guide did an excellent job.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Beth Groundwater 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff of the Quo Vadis and our bike guide were absolutely wonderful.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by Marilyn McDowell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Amalfi coast section of biking was along the main roads driven by large local buses and the other tourist traffic was very heavy - although the drivers were not mean or aggressive, it was very unnerving to be biking on such busy roads. The guide seemed to be surprised that the traffic was still so heavy the 2nd week of September.

    The boat anchored in Amalfi on the 3rd night, in an unprotected harbor - the boat rocked and banged all night long, no one including the crew was able to sleep, and apparently this was not an uncommon experience when in the Amalfi harbor.

    On day 4, after an extremely hot day of biking we reached the boat in Cetara. For some reason, the boat was anchored along side the sister boat, not next to the pier. The crew made us wait in the hot sun until the bikes were hoisted on to the sister boat, then situated the bikes on our boat before allowing us to get on our boat to shower or get something to drink. AND since we were not next to the Read more… pier, to get from the sister boat to our boat the crew had us step up on the railing of the sister boat then step on the railing of our boat then down to the deck. Although they were assisting us, it was definitely an accident waiting to happen and totally unnecessary. On our Croatian trip in the Dalmation Islands, this type of parallel boat anchoring was common, but the boats utilized the openings in the railings to allow us to walk through the boats...

    The captain fell and injured himself during this bike hoisting situation, and was certainly in pain when we finally got on the boat, but he was very rude to another passenger who commented about the inappropriateness of loading the bikes first and the ""rail balancing"" access to the boat.

    Capri was a crowded disappointment, not worth the stop. Naples was also not worth the stop, large, dirty, crowded, the walking tour was not very interesting. On the positive side the Amalfi coast was absolutely beautiful and we really enjoyed the islands of Ischia and Procida with their quiet roads and small peaceful little towns.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Around Paris
    by Lynne Newville 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We had the best time and have recommended the Around Paris trip to many friends. Loved the small tour group and guides. Two nights rather than one in Paris was a bonus on our tour. We would have liked more time in Arles. Guides and staff were excellent. Tiny berths but we like each other so it worked.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Multi-Adventure Tour from Trogir
    by Lynn and Hans de Jongh 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our third Tripsite bike/boat tour, this Multi-Adventure Tour beginning in Trogir was fantastic - as we've come to expect from Tripsite! The Princess Diana was a lovely ship with great food and wonderful staff. Where will our next adventures take us? Who knows but it is definitely on our radar.
    Lynn and Hans de Jongh

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by Frank McDowell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    "The ""recommend this trip (Tyhrennian Sea)"" question is a difficult question to answer. Scenery is great. Pompeii great. Guide good. Some passengers had issues with the Capt. At the end of our third day out we were secured to our sister boat in such a way that we had to walk across the railings (not on deck) to transfer to our vessel. It was unsafe, and honestly, uncomfortable for the women. When a few of our female passengers shared their opinion with the Capt he dismissed their concerns. In fairness, he had slipped and broken several ribs while handling bikes and was probably not in the best mood. When we finished biking on this same day (very hot) the crew/guide made all of us wait while they loaded the bikes. We all thought that was odd. They did not offer an explanation. The scenery was very good, guide was a nice guy and very knowledgeable. The crew was mixed. Cook & first mate great. Barista not so much. Capt....I don't know. After his Read more… accident he left to recover. Forgot about our second night. The harbor was unprotected from the prevailing wind direction and we rocked on 2-3 waves all night. No one slept-crew included. I told Marilyn if we encounter another night like that I was getting a room. It was miserable. The rest of the anchorages were fine. After writing this I changed my survey answer from Yes to No. I would send them to Metz if they want easy biking and Croatia for difficult.

    On the plus side...The Metz (Merlijn 2013) & So Dalmatia tours (San Snova 2015) was excellent in every way. Crew, boat, scenery, guides. We'll return to Europe but events in Paris probably have many of us thinking about different options.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Montargis to Paris
    by Martin Kale 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Almost perfect in every way. Only bad was I wanted more of everything.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Francis Duckworth 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have done several bike barge trips in france and europe and other places. This one was just too crowded with tourists. Of course it was August, so that explains a lot. Our least favorite that we have done.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Dean Boyce 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best holiday ever. Great staff.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah Stone 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Accommodations were too cramped. Our first boat trip had more adequate rooms.
    Breakfast was great but supper was so so. Not good vegetarian options .

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Alan Robson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great tour down the Danube.

    Boat: My Story

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik
    by Simon Husband 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Harmonia was immaculate. The staff and guides were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Croatia was stunning and we would go again.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Corinne Bauer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous guides, wonderful scenery, food, very helpful Tripsite staff. Will be taking another trip as soon as I can!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Mainz to Metz
    by James Gibson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Only the good, no bad. This was our second bike/barge experience and we will do more. On our last trip we brought 12 family and friends with us. They all loved it.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Balearic Islands
    by Harvey Brody 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall great but cabins too small. Advertise air conditioning. There was none. the staff were great. The cabins were hot, no porthole.

    Boat: Atlantis

    Countries: Spain

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Joan Farina 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I recommended it to Dave Ford who is joining you in September 2016 with his large gang. Do I get a free shirt?

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ken Scheske 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have recommended this trip to all of our cycling friends, it was one of the best trips we ever had in Europe - and we have had a lot. So far we have cycled in Scotland, Germany, Holland, Belgium, France, Denmark and Sweden and then of course the barge trip. Keep up the good work, would love to do another one.

    Boat: My Story

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Margaret Pattison 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My daughter and I had a great time.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Donald Stockwell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was not good, would ride off too fast, often the tail end riders were lost and confused as they could not keep up. Everything else was excellent!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Cheri Emahiser 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were self-guided for 3 days. The road guides given us were written for bike riders using a GPS. No GPS was provided. Thus, the guides were a bit confusing. We didn't notice the odometers (and they were not pointed out to us during our orientation) on our bikes until it was too late. We should have attempted to track our mileage against the miles listed from point to point in the guide book. Instead, we followed the advice we were given during orientation, which was to just follow the green arrows. We got very lost one day. We followed the arrows in the wrong direction! We should have paid more attention to the road guide. It might be good to update the guides if GPS's are not going to be provided.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sue Ernst 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I've passed your site along to others.

    Boat: My Story

  • Provence - Van Gogh
    by Leslie Lami-Reed 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Staff was wonderful. Weather not so good but we had a great time.

    Countries: France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Fred Tomlin 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Absolute top quality from stepping aboard the barge through to saying goodbye at the end! We were made to feel special and they sure delivered.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mosel Bike Tour
    by Sharon Robers 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Mosel trip was excellent. Danube trip, the map and instructions were worse than useless because they were actually wrong in places.

    Countries: Germany, France

PWPC