Bike Tour Reviews 2521 to 2550 of 3373

 

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Ross 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved it! The crew was great, the boat was marvelously beautiful, the food was very good, and the overall atmosphere was perfectly casual and elegant at the same time. But: They should NOT charge for coffee/tea after 4pm. If the Bar Tab could be handled at the end of the trip by credit card it would be a bit more sophisticated, but not a deal breaker.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Around Lake Constance
    by L. Zantingh 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the most amazing vacation we have had. For our 40th we decided to do a self- guided bike tour around Lake Constance. The first day was a struggle due to many hills, but that was by far the most difficult day. The hotels were clean and the breakfast was fantastic. When biking you see so much more of the countryside, the historical towns were simply breathtaking. On one day we needed to take a boat from point A to B due to an injury and it was very easy to access. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by M. Hunt 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a long line of riders of various abilities even though it was basically a flat ride. There should have been an official sweeper at the end of the line. Our guide was a great guy but seemingly casual in this regard. Toilets on the boat needed continual tweaking - a bit unnerving. Loved the crew- all hard working, super upbeat and friendly.

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by E. Greer 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything did not go perfectly all the time but we had a great time and the guys from Girolibero were always doing their best to help out when needed.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • Amalfi Coast - Tyrrhenian Sea - Bike & Boat
    by V. Milner 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Well organised overall. In honesty the food was at times ordinary with great emphasis on fish & pasta. Bit more variety would have been good. Riccardo (tour guide) was excellent - he really made the tour worthwhile with his enthusiasm and knowledge. Not all staff on board were as friendly or able to communicate which did make a big difference to the overall atmosphere on board. We did have some difficulties with the booking process initially which remained unresolved in that we were unsure of why someone was phoning us from US.

    Boat: Deriya Deniz

    Countries: Italy

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Neal & Lisa 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a fantastic trip. The boat, and crew were great. We had lots of fun with them (Dino) and the tour guides (Marko & Lucy). Riding in and out of the beautiful Croatian Harbors was the best. There is NOTHING I can find to say that wasn't above and beyond our expectations. The bikes were good, the food delicious, the crew & tour guides exceptional. Meeting people from all over the world, priceless! Do not hesitate to take this trip!!!

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by B. Milroy 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything exceeded expectations. I would definitely recommend the Fleur and trip

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by C. Powell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is one of the best trips I have ever been on. The boat was very clean, comfortable and new. The steps to the lower level kind of steep but very manageable. The staff was wonderful, especially the chef! and the bike guide! I liked the stops.The bikes were very enjoyable. I think the coffee could have been free all day instead of being charged for it after 4pm. I would love to do another trip!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by L. Chambers 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first bike & barge. The bar has been set very high!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Umbria
    by J. Wark 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    All hotels were great except Hotel Magione. We were the only guests and I don't think they wanted us there. The breakfast was not up to snuff and there was NO English station on the TV. Given the level of difficulty of the hills, the bikes were very heavy (steel) especially when we had to walk up hills. Ok for flat but not hilly. We loved the restaurant near the hotel in Togiano and went twice. Unfortunately, we did have rain......

    Countries: Italy

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by C. Martin 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed this trip. The barge was very spacious and the food was excellent. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was very relaxing. The biking was just right and our bike guide was wonderful. Felix was knowledgeable and very helpful to all. I will certainly recommend this trip to others and can hardly wait to do another bike and barge trip.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by N. Tucker 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a blast on this trip! My first Bike and Barge through Tripsite. Our captains, Hank and Yantine, made us feel like part of the family. The boat was very clean and we loved the table designs at each sitting! Our guide, Francine, made us feel very welcome and really went out of her way to provide us friendly travel tips as we continued on our journey! Thanks for such an awesome time!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by K. Sattler 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Only thing missing was quality wifi on the boat. The trip more than met our expectations

    Boat: My Story

  • Tripsite Traveler - Tulip Tour with Nancy Arehart
    by Jacqueline van Neutegem 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was born and raised in the netherlands too, but am also astonished by the  beautiful pictures you have taken! I also enjoy your style of writing: it inspires me!
    Three years ago we made a sailing trip with 'Zwaantje' from Schiedam to Parijs: it was marvellous! I wish you much fun next year!

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Authentic Holland
    by L. Fesyk 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It would have been nice to have a group photo at the end. It seemed a little confused at the end. Also, with other trips I have been on the guide circulates an email list and anyone who wants to join it can. That way it is easy to connect with other participants to exchange photos etc. Other than that it was a great trip. I'd definitely like to do another one! I think the Gandalf is the best boat in the fleet (or so I hear from others).

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by D. Yeabsley 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would have liked for the table assignments to have been mixed up a little bit so we could get to know more people. I also think the sweep should have a walkie talkie so he can let the guide know when he has missed a turn. This was a fabulous trip! The guide, staff, food, tour and accommodations were perfect!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by K. Teerlink 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Bike and Barge was one of the Highlights of our tour of Holland. The boat is comfortable and the food is great! Yes the room are small but that is no worry since there is so much to do. You can sit on the bow of the barge in comfortable chairs after a day of biking. Everything is planned out well. The meals, bike tours, city walks etc all start on time like clockwork. The guides are informed and you learn bits of history as you pedal. Really a great way to see and learn about a country. I would highly recommend this trip to the bike enthusiast.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • South Holland Tour
    by P. Watson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Due to the length of the cycling routes, there should have been better quality bikes. All gears should have been in working order.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Authentic Holland
    by L. Roussinos 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great route and the cycling areas are excellent in so many ways. Scenic paths through forests, parks, graphic small towns and with well defined directions given daily by the guide. The barge cabins were quite adequate in size and even though the bathroom was small it served the purpose for the week long trip. Having porthole windows that we were able to open was great in order to bring in fresh air. The disappointment was that the barge was not very clean overall (dust and cobwebs), there was very little deck space to enjoy the views during cruising and having two large dogs on board did not help matters.
    The food quantity was good but hardly any quality in it. Four out of seven meals were rice oriented, little meat substance and overall not comparable to other similar meals on other barge and bike trips we have taken and the first time we have ever had "fish" lasagna!
    Breakfasts were by far the best meals and there was always plenty to go around and to Read more… prepare for your take away lunch. The crew were friendly and welcoming. I would most definitely recommend this trip if done on a better ship. The trip gets 5 out of 5 stars, the ship hardly 3 out of five.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by K. Hadley 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Some wait staff could have been more accommodating. We seemed burdensome at times. Running out of food & then having to wait for more or not refilled at all was an annoyance.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

    • Bruges to Amsterdam
      by Jehiel 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hello K. Hadley,
      We are very sorry to hear this. We have since spoken with our partners on the Fluvius and they have taken steps with their staff to correct this problem. We work very hard with our local partners to provide the best experience for our guests. We hope to help you plan your next trip!

      Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Authentic Holland
    by K. de Geest 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was nothing short of Fantastic! The towns we went through on the Hanseatic Route were so charming. Captain Hans on the Gandalf was so generous to me...he knows what he did! ;-) I will specifically seek out trips on the Gandalf. Fred the guide was superb...ensuring everyone got the biking experience they wanted and just a lovely guy all around!! This was my first Bike & Barge but it won't be my last...I've got friends lined up wanting to join me on my next trip...they didn't know such trips exist, but they do now!!

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by T. Rosencrantz 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Barge trip starting May 7, 2016 on the Fluvius was fantastic from the minute we step on the barge in Bruges until the day it was over and departed the barge to take the foot ferry to Central Station in Amsterdam. Our guide Guus and the boat's crew were friendly and helpful 24/7. Loved all our fellow travelers too. The bike trips each day were through beautiful countryside and centuries old cities. The food on the boat was great. The bunks were comfy and the showers always had plenty of hot water. The bikes worked well. Our guide and our maps got us where we needed to go everyday. Even the weather was perfect! Can't wait to do another trip like this!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by C. Fligner 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous trip. The guide and staff were great. The biking was perfect. I would recommend highly and without reservation. Great trip. Great biking and guide and wonderful staff. The boat was very comfortable and the country was beautiful. I recommend this trip highly and without reservation.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by J. Wagemakers 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This adventure was more than we expected. The boat was very well equipped, and our cabin was comfortable and larger than we expected. The staff was very friendly and dealt with all of our needs, and the meals were fabulous. Our bikes were well maintained and were well suited for the route we rode. The scenery was amazing and we come home with a collection of pictures and memories.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by S. Carlson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Some of the other people that came on the trip were not prepared to ride a bike 20-25 miles per day. They said that they had not ridden a bicycle since they were a youth. Consequently, this significantly held up the entire group. I would recommend emphasizing the importance of being in good riding condition for the bike/barge trips. Thank you.
    The staff of the Merlijn absolutely made the entire trip a pure delight! We would definitely sail with them again in the future!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tripsite Traveler - Tulip Tour with Nancy Arehart
    by Cathie Trogdon 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Okay, I admit I'm jealous. What an inspiring retirement life you lead. I do want to know more about the Scotland hiking. That's on my bucket list. Thanks for sharing your adventures and amazing photos.

    Countries: Netherlands

    • Tripsite Traveler - Tulip Tour with Nancy Arehart
      by Nancy Arehart 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Cathie, we had a great time (Kurt and our 2 boys, 13yo & 23yo at the time) on the WHW. I don't remember who we booked through, but we did about 5 days worth of the trail and ended at the north end. Our bags were moved forward for us, so all we had to carry were day-packs with rain gear and food. If I recall, we hiked ~12-15 miles per day. Such beautiful country! Our lodgings were in the middle of the countryside ... nothing much around except other friendly hikers :) Check out something like hillwalktours.com.

      Countries: Netherlands

PWPC