5 star rated Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 301 to 330 of 582

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Marcia B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Highlights: Seeing these countries via bike paths. Going through small towns and villages with an excellent guide to highlight the history and out of the way places.
    Tip: get in shape! You will enjoy it more if you are fit to bike these distances.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kurt W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our first bike and barge trip, and we loved every aspect of it. Yes, the weather was a challenge, but even that was rewarding in retrospect. The guide and crew were great, the food was wonderful, and the boat was very comfortable (and a good size). We got to know all our fellow passengers and that was the icing on the cake. Now I'm spending way too much time, probably, reading about where to take our next trip!

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Merzig (no longer available)
    by Dave C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Passenger/participant/staff group dynamics were excellent.
    Barge had no laundry service, so go prepared with the necessaries to look after it yourself.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig (no longer available)
    by Gordon W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking through wine country in Germany and going into the fields themselves. Take this trip!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig (no longer available)
    by Kristine & Joe S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip exceeded our expectations on every level. We'd never done a bike and barge excursion and decided to jump in with both feet on this trip. To say that we were thrilled is an understatement. The incredibly comfortable boat, the friendly and hardworking crew, the delicious meals, the fantastic guide, the varied and beautiful route... it was all more than we imagined. I can't tell you what a pleasure it was to experience three countries and their cultures with the intimacy that a bike tour allows.

    We're experienced travelers and think through our options carefully. The combination of activity, education, relaxation and total immersion was so appealing... and this excursion did not disappoint. To top it off, given everything that is included, this trip is a tremendous value. We can't wait for our next adventure with Tripsite!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig (no longer available)
    by Gail C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip started out with high winds and rain but it didn't dampen the spirit of the group. We were always going downhill with the wind on our back! The comfort of the barge and delicious meals were outstanding. The Mosel valley was probably the highlight for scenery and seeing the grape harvest in full swing. Our wine tasting evening was one of the best we have ever experienced. The Captain wanted us to have a real experience and we did.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • South Holland Tour
    by John B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Cycling gave us a good look at south Holland. Wonderful variety. Passed through peaceful farm land and enjoyed the many small towns we passed through. Getting lost from time to time forced us to interact with locals and many of those occasions turned into highlights. Found the Dutch people to be most helpful.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Merzig (no longer available)
    by Leanne S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Especially enjoyed the days cycling through the vineyards along the Mosel River.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • South Holland Tour
    by Gaye S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was quite an adventure! Best way to see the real country and people of Holland.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Timothy S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. A suggestion for others would be to prepare for wind if going during that time of year. The route may be very flat but the possibility of a constant headwind can make it feel uphill. Knowing this, some guests may opt for using an eBike.

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Merzig (no longer available)
    by Harvey C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved Germany the best. The coffee stops were the best. Great brats and pastry.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Charlott H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Bike and Barge in Belgium and Holland was a whole week of memories and is at the top of my favorite trips! You are surrounded daily by beautiful landscapes and architecture unique to the Netherlands. The bikes are perfect for extended times of riding and you are on bike paths close to canals for most of the trip. This is an active vacation which I prefer but is never too difficult. Everything is done for you so there was never any worries and I was relaxed all week. Meeting people from around the world is amazing. I had the fortunate experience of meeting a special couple from Australia and that was a bonus! I hope to do this trip again in the near future.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Bryan F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    What I enjoyed most about my Boat & Bike trip were the rides through the countryside in the early mornings when it was quiet, and the only sound was the hum of my bicycle. Secondly, were the times we moved the boat during breakfast. I found myself staring out the window at life and business along the canals. Lastly, the new friends we made, from Britain, Australia, and Canada!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Rick C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The country side, the guide was very personable and knowable of the routes, sites with a very positive and safety conscious attitude. More time in some of the major centres (Gent, Antwerp) I would recommend that travelers arrive at least one day preferable two in advance of the bike & barge departure and stay at least 2 days afterwards to enjoy the cities of Bruges and Amsterdam. The availability of e-bikes was essential so that those less experienced in pedalling the distances could enjoy the biking part of the trip.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michael P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I really enjoyed the variety of the tour, including bike rides through pastoral countryside and alongside canals, and walking tours through fascinating historical cities and towns. The food and drink were highlights, both on and off the boat, and I really enjoyed traveling with a great group of fellow travelers. The crew and guide were fantastic! The Tripsite guidebook included suggestions for tipping the crew and guide. Our group felt that the suggested tip amounts were not adequate, so we tipped a lot more than what was suggested.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • North Holland Tour
    by Alene G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our first time at a bike & barge trip and it was a great adventure! Staff was amazing and the other guests all gelled - we all worked together to have a fun experience. Getting to see various areas in Northern Holland up close was amazing. Be prepared for weather changes! Layer and bring clothes for rain! But most of all be prepared for a great vacation!

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tailor made bike tours in Holland
    by James U. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We just completed an 18-day independent cycle tour with Tripsite. They mapped out a custom route, provided GPS and map navigation, amazing hotels in the centre of the communities, and luggage transfer.
    The the day we met cycle company representative in Amsterdam and throughout the trip we had the support to ensure our trip was memorable.
    Every hotel was an experience with a local flavour in the centre of town. It was close to shops, dining, and filled with friendly people.
    The cycling was fun with lots to see and the opportunity to visit towns, sites, and some great riding.
    If you want a great trip either a custom, pre-packaged, group, or independent, Tripsite is your first and only choice.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathy B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I really enjoyed everything about the trip: the scenery, towns and villages, camaraderie, guide, food , music evening. All was wonderful!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Lynda R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful time. The accommodation was above expectations, very clean and more roomy than expected. The food was excellent, plentiful, diverse and attractively presented. The staff was welcoming, helpful and made the trip extremely enjoyable. There were extras above what we expected...guided trips into the various cities in the evening and even entertainment with Music and dancing. We stayed with the guide every day and appreciated his expertise at choosing routes that were scenic and avoiding as much of the traffic when we did have to go through the cities.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour
    by Julie M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best Part: Cycling to Delft. The town was beautiful!

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Mik L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Amsterdam and a week of perfect weather

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Karen K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable Part: The crew on the boat, dinners and the tour on canals throughout the Netherlands and Belgium. The cheese shop was the best and also the small cafe's.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Joan H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Riding through the Dutch countryside on dedicated bicycle paths was most enjoyable. The system of numbered paths is ingenious! Keeping up with the front of the group was a challenge, not always a welcome one. It's best to be a strong rider even on the "easy" tours.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • South Holland Tour
    by Eileen C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Southern Tour from Amsterdam in the Netherlands is a wonderful trip. It was my first time on a cycling tour and I felt that I received all the information that I needed in order to prepare and to make a wonderful experience. The route had nice a diversity between cycling and stopping in Dutch cities. The crew was very helpful and friendly, and the food was great. My bicycle couldn't have been more comfortable. I highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Neal P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Certainly it was a wonderful trip and I would recommend it to anyone HOWEVER our chef was fired on the 3rd day (the regular chef was on vacation), our stressed out guide was less than patient with passengers and we had 3 kids, 8 years old and younger who were poorly behaved and due to the insensitivity of their parents interfered greatly with the enjoyment of our trip. This created unnecessary tension for the the guide, captain and for the passengers. This family caused great delay in the itinerary starting on the very first day. I think in future children under the age of 16 should be prohibited from these biking trips. These kids, even their parents, were incapable of riding a bike for the distances required in the itinerary. All that aside we would book a bike and barge trip again but would be certain to inquire about age requirements. Thank you.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Patrick S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The meals onboard were great! Sander was an expert chef, Eric a well informed and pleasant captain, and Nico was a constant source of entertainment. The general attitude of the he crew was above and beyond.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • South Holland Tour
    by Walter V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A wonderful way to see the Netherlands and experience different parts of the country. Food on the barge was excellent. I do recommend you practice a lot before the trip to prevent saddle sores. Proper biking pants helps a lot.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Colin O. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Bike / barge trip was great. However, there was a family on board with 3 children under age of 6. This affected our daily bike trips and the atmosphere on the barge. Children under the age of 12 should not be accommodated on these trips- especially when the parents, let alone the children have had little biking experience- especially considering the distances we needed to travel.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • South Holland Tour
    by Christa V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The combination of beautiful bike routes and coming back to amazing meals each evening made for a vacation I would consider doing again.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Carol H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Barge: in our premium room neither the bed lights, the TV or the hairdryer worked. The Jacuzzi was cold. Clearly the barge had electrical issues.
    Routes: the trip description said we could follow the routes and bike on our own, stop for photos, etc. This was not possible as the routes changed, the stops were prescriptive by the guide, and were for coffee/beer/bathroom breaks, rather than impromptu photo breaks
    Routes: we would have liked to have spent more time in the Netherlands, less time in Antwerp. The "photo op" on the top of the museum in Antwerp was a waste of time.
    Group dynamics: we lucked out; group dynamics were great!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC