5 Star Netherlands Tour Reviews — 301 to 330 of 686

4.8 out of 5

 


Barbara O.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We travelled from Bruges to Amsterdam. Stunning scenery, lovely accommodations, competent staff, outstanding guide. It was an excellent way to visit major cities and sleepy villages lost in time. We were impressed with the history of the Netherlands and got to see exquisitely beautiful buildings and works of art. By the end of the week, all bikers knew each other, so the sense of camaraderie was very comfortable. Can’t wait to plan another trip.

Janet C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Our guides were terrific, funny and knowledgeable. The choice of our route was very interesting. Also our waiters Stephan and Naomi were delightful.

Sandra V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Merlijn was definitely a "comfort plus" barge. Rooms and beds very comfortable; staff couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating; Captain Henk was a genius at docking and piloting the barge; our guide Lea, was professional, knowledgeable, and fun; Jantien, the jack of all trades, did everything from ministering to ill or injured to cooking gourmet meals. This was my second trip on the Merlijn. We booked the entire barge. There were two fantastic upgrades from two years ago--new bikes and helmets and better internet. Obviously, I cannot say enough positive about this experience. Highly recommend it.

Ruth M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

I loved being part of the Southern Holland Tulip Tour! The biking was wonderful, the scenery was unparalleled, and the Sailing Home was comfortable and well appointed. Staff was uniformly pleasant and accommodating. I enjoyed bonding with the other riders in the group , mostly from the Central and Western US and Canada. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining, however I feel that keeping our large group of 26 riders together on the rides was a challenge, and he would have benefited from the use of "corners" to make sure that all the riders were clear on the turns. Also, we were each given a booklet with the daily ride routes, but it would have been helpful to go over the next days map each evening so that we could visualize the lay of the land.
Great trip all around and I am hoping to join another in the future!

Curtiss M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

We came to see the tulips and that was definitely accomplished. Albeit a bit late for most of the major fields, but Keukenhof was spectacular. Cycling through the polders and quiet countryside was also very enjoyable.
On the negative side, the last days cycling into Amsterdam and departure from the boat was a bit rushed.

John S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

This was our first bike and barge trip. It is a great way to travel. There is time to see the area and not have to worry about finding lodging. The crew of the Merlijn was first rate. I will sign up for another trip with them. Jantien was like your mom welcoming you on your trip home.

Geoff
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Leafde Fan Fryslân Bike & Sail the Ijsselmeer
Netherlands

Fantastic trip! The biking was great...very serene and relaxing thru small towns and villages thru farmland and along the coast.
The best part was the socializing with felllow travelers and the crew. The ship is huge for a sailboat, but much smaller than the big barges. Between biking and the ship, we all spent a lot of time together, and had a lot of fun getting to know each other. My cruise happened to be on a German holiday...I was the only non-German on the tour. It worked out fine, everyone was welcoming and willing. Between a bit of Ge-english and sign language we shared many laughs (and beers!) together.
Ilse led our tour-her knowledge of the area was great, even opened her riverboat home to us during our stop there.
The ships crew was terrific. Captain Eelke, first mate Annemaj, and Thabea all made us feel at home. Chef Alf served up restaurant quality meals, this was an awesome surprise.
Would absolutely return to Netherlands...would even consider repeating this trip/ship with other friends and family, it was that good.

Betty S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sarah Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

We absolutely loved our first Bike & Barge. We did the Tulip Tour the week of Apr 14 - 21/18 on board the Sarah and had a fantastic time. We had beautiful weather the entire week with absolutely no rain. The scenery was amazing and the tulips were at their peak during this week. We enjoyed the Dutch culture and food especially the cheese, chocolate and yogurt. The crew were amazing. Thanks to Ivo, Reintje, Kristof and Agnieszka who looked after us so well on the Sarah. A special thanks to Cornel our tour guide. He went above and beyond to make sure we were safe and that we all had an enjoyable week. We would love do another tour in the future.

Connie B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

The two excellent guides, Anya and Age, made the trip fun and informative. We also had a very congenital group of bikers, which helped make the trip truly memorable! We had an excellent time!

Sandy R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Flora Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

Awesome opportunity to experience the many Dutch highlights and tulips without being too touristy. The 4 day Tulip Tour offered an easy ride for retired bikers but was still adventurous and so interesting with incredibly beautiful scenery. Our guide, Bob, was fun, well organized and knowledgable about the area and towns we visited. The Jelmar berth was really comfortable and clean and they offered us first rate meals. Definitely a trip of a lifetime for me!

Charlotte G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most memorable was biking through the peaceful countryside, getting lost (not with the guides, but when we ventured out on our own), finding a real working windmill, and being invited inside by the owner. Lunch selections could have varied more but dinner onboard was always wonderful. Staff was also on point and always ready to help.

Barbara N.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

A great balance of activity, wonderful scenery, and interesting towns and culture. Lovely!

Kim D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Our Bike and Barge trip on the new Magnifique III was the BEST! The boat was beautiful, the food was fabulous, the the guides and staff were so helpful and friendly. We'll never forgot all of the beautiful sites - windmills, tulips, and baby animals - just to name a few. Memories that will last a lifetime. I cannot recommend this vacation highly enough!

Laurie M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The people who we met in the trip made it memorable. Cornel was a wonderful guide who made everything fun and interesting as we were biking. Everyone on the Quo Vadis made us feel so welcome. Food was fantastic. Loved meeting all the other bikers and had lots of great times together.

James K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

My wife and I did a 10 Day Barge and Bike trip from Brugge to Amsterdam during Tulip season. The boat Quo Vadis was really excellent. The rooms were small but quite comfortable. The dining room and lounge were well appointed and welcoming. Everything was always spotlessly clean! The crew was incredibly hospitable catering to any need. Captain RJ was knowledgeable, experienced and and very approachable. The evening walks he led in towns were great fun. Also really enjoyed sitting in the wheel house and chatting as he navigated rivers and canals.

The food was basically gourmet with delightful surprises every dinner. Fresh bread was baked on board every day and breakfast was a mix of american style eggs, bacon, etc and European style meats, cheeses, fruit, veggies, etc. Chef Franco deserves many accolades for his commitment to healthy and delicious food.

Our bicycle guide was extremely competent. He knew the roads and towns well and was able to make changes to routes as Read More

Ronald R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Memorable parts: The other guests, the scenery, and the barge experience. The Tulip time is also the rain time, so be prepared with proper clothing. Even though the weather may not be ideal, the experience more than makes up for it.

Alix L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Qua Vadis boat, staff, tour route all exceeded my expectations. The food is fabulous and the chef, Franco, made me fabulous gluten free options. I loved the small group, our guide was knowledgeable and fun. He made sure to take us on loops that would show us major sights. R.J. And Ina, owners and captain, are personable and accommodating. I would recommend any tour on the Quo Vadis.

Rosann G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Most Memorial Parts: the biking routes and scenery.

Kim K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: The fabulous guides, scenery and staff!

Christiane and Pascale D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

The kindness and attention of Sanders and Als, owners of the barge, the delicious and beautifully presented meals, the bike tours so different every day, the size of the boat allowing super relations with the others, Rola the so friendly and helpful guide and to top it all, 5 days of perfect sunny hot weather....ordered by Tripsite, no doubt!!

Frederick S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

Our trip aboard Quo Vadis exceeded our expectations; the food and crew were great. We ended riding more than the itinerary suggested (averaging about 35 miles per day), but we lucked out and head great weather the entire trip.

Lynda A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Most Memorable Part? Cycling in the warm spring weather seeing the fields of spring bulbs in bloom with windmills almost always in view.

Beth P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The first day was the best...but then the next day took over that stature and then the next day...and so on for all glorious 10 days of our sojourn. Around every turn was another beautiful vista, filled with the aroma of hyacinths, the colors of tulip fields, the beauty of windmills and the charm of 16th century villages. Our accommodations were impeccable, the captain, cook and staff were thoughtful, accomplished and accommodating. Did I mention the food? The food was deserving of a Michelin star! Our bikes were perfect for the terrain (the Netherlands is gloriously flat - for a biker from the hills of NEPA that was a treat!). Our fellow bikers were great company - everyone had a sense of camaraderie and fun. This was my second Tripsite excursion and it won't be my last!

Patrick L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elodie Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Janteen's food was superior - even better than the other bike barges, and that's setting the bar pretty high.
Nico and Chango are great guys. Fun to chat with and good at their professions. The small group, cozy quarters on the Elodie, excellent crew, great riding companions, the people of The Netherlands - and, of course, the tulips - made this the best bike and barge trip ever.

Elizabeth T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elodie Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

This was my first Bike and Barge trip . Now I am hooked and am making plans for another trip next year. There were many many WOW moments on the trip., on the barge, on the bikes and during the nightly tours of the cities visited. This is the only means to really learn about, see and interact with the country.
Everything on this trip was memorable from the staff, the guide ,the other tour participants and off course the scenery and the people and customs of The Netherlands

Thank you TRIPSITE for the excellent service!

Eileen S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Exceeded my expectations. Best value for great experience.

Stephen R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

It was a very well organized trip with no unexpected “surprises” at the end. RJ and his staff were very friendly and helpful. His barge was very clean and comfortable. The cabins are definitely small so pack lightly. The WiFi is slow but we were able to use Facebook and email. The bikes were all new. We found that the bikes are heavier than our hybrids. My wife used a ebike everyday and really enjoyed the trip. If your spouse isn’t a big rider, rest assured that the ebike is the way to go. The other guests were very compatible and most were repeat customers of Tripsite. We would definitely book with Tripsite again.

John G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

A tour of the Netherlands has to be a "bucket list" item for any biker. It is a fascinating country with great history and scenery. Travelling on the Quo Vadis for the Tulip Tour was a great way to experience the smell of the hyacinth fields along the country roads.

Angela T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Loved the comfortable accommodations on the barge.

Karina M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Most Memorable Part: Riding through the tulip fields and the Kuekenhoff gardens on the same day is a memory that will stay with me forever.