5 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 781 to 810 of 2141

 


Bruce & Dianna Reynolds
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Bamberg
Germany

We just completed this tour and had a great time. Jantien prepared some amazing meals for all of us and went out of her way to help any guest who may have a question,a problem, a dietary concern or any other matter. At night after all her chores were done she would sit down with us and join in with a glass of wine to talk about the days bike tour. Henk, our captain, crew Klara and Ahmed always had a smile on their face , kept the boat spotless, ready with a glass of wine or beer after a day of biking and just nice people. Finally our guide Lia, she was one of us. Whether it was talking about a certain Benedictine Abbey, sampling barley at a brewery or adjusting a bike seat she was special.

Pauline J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The crew of the Feniks, provided the most amazing experience. The food simple satisfying and enjoyable. Food fresh, tasty, and cooked well by the Nelje. Marius and Reinhold, provided amazing care of all our needs The accommodation small, efficient and clean. You always slept well. The guide Nina with her amazing knowledge showed us her secret places, backroads, canal paths, and bike paths. She encouraged all riders while challenging us beyond what we thought we could do. As a experience it exceeded my expectations. Looking for a different French/Belgium experience do this trip you never forget it. Will do another trip this way, and if possible on the Feniks...

Sue J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The cycling, the food, and the crew were all amazing!!

Jeff W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  San Snova Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

There were so many memorable rides, islands, towns, meals and staff it is difficult to choose. This was our first bike and boat experience and it is truly memorable because it exceeded all expectations. Previously we have done sportiv tours and also cycling hotels. Bike and boat combines the best aspects of both- you only have to unpack once, as with a cycling hotel, but you travel to a new destination each day, as with a sportiv.

Dylan Y.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Wow, such an amazing experience! Our tour was aboard the Zwaantje, traveling from Amsterdam to Bruges. I can not say enough about how fabulous the crew (Sam, Heather) and captain (Martijn) were. We also had an incredible chef (Frank), who spoiled us each day with amazing meals. We travelled with a barge full of friends and shared so many laughs a long the way. Our guide (Wieger) was very knowledgeable about every town we travelled through and was a pleasure to bike with each day. Such a wonderful way to see the countryside and experience the local charms of each city we visited. Loved our trip and we hope to experience another bike trip in the future. Zwaantje Bike and Barge Tour exceeded our expectations in every way.

Martin T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Since we returned from our trip, a few of us have been discussing another bike and barge trip but sadly we are not sure we would go again simply because it could never be as good as the one we just took. The captain and crew of the Zwaantje were amazing, the food was a ten out of ten and our bike guide was fantastic. There is no way this trip could be improved upon.

Bonnie W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes
Germany

Be adventurous and try a self-guided trip in Germany. You'll enjoy beautiful scenery, lakes warm enough to swim in and charming Bavarian towns. The routes are well marked. If you enjoy cycling at your own pace, this is the trip for you.

Pat C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

This is a must trip for anyone who embraces the Bike and Barge experience with a small group. The Merlijn is an extremely well managed boat with the owners attending to every detail in a friendly and caring manor. This trip checks off all the boxes, good food and drink, comfortable accommodation and arguably some of the most beautiful scenery in Europe. My only suggest is to book it early as it fills up quickly and in particular on this boat.

Mark E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We were lucky to be on board the beautiful boat Zwaantje. The Captain, Martin, our bike guide Weiger, 1st mate Sam, hostess Heather and cook extraordinaire Frank were absolutely the best you will ever get on a bike and barge trip. This small review does not do justice to the exceptional staff and food that was on this trip. All I can say is if you want a fantastic 5 star excursion of this kind, this is the boat to have it on. Again THANK-YOU to Captain Martin, bike guide Wieger, Heather, Sam, and the best cook in Europe, Frank for a once in a life time trip that my wife and I, along with the other 11 couples that we were with, will never forget. Trip of a life time!!

Neil V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Martin and the crew of the Zwaantje made our trip unforgettable, the food and service far exceeded our expectations. Weigier, our guide was informative and made the rides a lot of fun. Highly recommend the Amsterdam to Bruges tour, especially on the Zwaantje. Look forward to trying one of your other tours.

Kate L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Melody Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

I biked this tour in June of 2016, and it was absolutely the greatest. I have done a lot of bike touring on my own in the past with a tent and my own gear, and was looking for a way to share the experience with my dad that was a little more accessible than the way I'm used to traveling. That being said, I was a little nervous about what type of equipment might be available. I was nursing a hip injury, so we both ended up getting e-bikes, and I would absolutely recommend that to anyone. You could switch the power completely off and ride it as a regular bike if you wanted, but if you needed the help, it was really nice to have! The best part of the e-bikes is that it makes some of the most beautiful riding accessible to people who are not necessarily bikers. When I travel alone, the trip we did was about as challenging an itinerary as I like to do, but at 39, I was the youngest on our trip by far, and everyone was able to easily manage and still enjoy themselves even on the Read More

Vincent D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Baltic Sea
Germany

The Baltic Sea cycle was one of our best cycle experiences with magnificent forest, sea and landscape. Tripsite took care of everything including The Weather. It was the German Riviera with the most beautiful towns in which we stayed from Lubeck to Stralsund.
Thank you Tripsite and your wonderful staff.

Herbert C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The quality of life in both Holland and Belgium, what a difference from Spain!!!

John B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

We started out in Bolzano, going from Hotel to hotel the first three nights, and then on the barge for seven more. The scenery of the hotel to hotel was spectacular! The Ave Maria was a fantastic boat, the crew was great and very accommodating. The only negative is- I wish we could have spent more time in each town we went past. But with only ten days, squeezing anything else like more time is impossible.

George P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Mosel & Saar
Germany

The scenery was gorgeous, there were quaint little towns around every bend of the Saar and Mosel rivers. Our bike guide was excellent and very knowledgeable about the areas we were at. The food was plentiful and dinners were way above average. Great tour!

Doug D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Best of Holland
Netherlands

A fantastic experience , I cant think of a thing I would change. The Best of Holland tour was great aboard the Magnifique III, cant wait to select our next tour.

Jon T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Middelburg was the highlight for us - the town, our hotel, and the surrounding countryside were beautiful. Overall we had a great time on our bike trip. A few details:
- I had to reschedule our trip after initially booking. Tripsite staff were super helpful and I was relieved at how easy rebooking was.
- Our bikes didn't come with waterproof panniers, GPS, or a repair kit as promised. We got the repair kit and GPS at our third hotel but were bummed we never got the panniers
- Our original itinerary had a mistake that had us riding 100km miles the first day and 10km the second day. It was fixed after we pointed out the issue.
- The route was very pleasant and well-paced.

Pam B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Enjoyed the accommodations, crew was great, and cycling was easy . Looking at another Bike & Barge adventure!

Cecily
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

We were a party of six, using E bikes. We couldn’t have done it with out because although we cycle regularly, we’re not that used to these gradients. Our guides were terrific, the whole cycling experience was very professional and we had a great time. We thought the trip to Mostar was unnecessary and added nothing to our experience.
Our only other criticism was in the catering department, there was plenty of food it but the salads lacked imagination, and we had a lot of hot food in very hot weather.
All the staff were excellent, skillful and polite, and made us very welcome.
The tour was a good blend of excercise plus cultural experiences, and the boat was wonderfully comfortable

Marion B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Andela Lora Kvarner Bay Multi Adventure Tour
Croatia

Our trip was amazing, absolutely wonderful! Ideally, have clearer information that this trip is designed for families with children. Though guides and owner went out of their way to accommodate some additional bike trips - ten out of ten! We truly enjoyed our trip!! Even though this is level one biking trip (which we love) this trip was a little more low key than we have had it the past. Would recommend this trip to families with children or for those who want a less ambitious tour with a perfect blend morning sailing time with afternoon, low key adventures filled with sites and beautiful cities/towns.

Donald B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

South Holland trip was beyond what we were expecting in terms of scenery, trails and dedication by the Holland tour operators.

Dan C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Best part? The cycling along the Wachau valley

Rachel F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

It was the trip of a lifetime!!! This was a trip on my bucket list and could not have asked for better!! Thank you!

Holly B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most memorable part? All of it. Loved everything about it. Loved the cities and biking through the beautiful bike trails and seeing the countryside.

Alice C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Loved the whole experience - the scenery, everything about the ship (comfort and food), and the people on the tour. The staff was outstanding the entire time. I had such a great time that I'll be doing another bike tour next year! This was my first, and the Magnifique II sets the bar so high that it'll be tough to meet, never mind beat, that! My suggestions are primarily around the bike itself, which could be better. It was really old and rusty in some places, and the gear indicator was so smudged that I couldn't tell which gear I was in. Also, was not convinced that the lowest gear on the bike was actually the lowest, as it felt harder than the 3rd gear on my bike. I had no previous experience with bikes with paddle brakes, so it took some getting used to, especially with starting and stopping, since I couldn't kick up the paddle on my starting foot to push off and mount. I'm very, very glad I brought my own saddle. I know the rental ones bothered at least one Read More

Stephen T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

The North Holland barge and bike is a fantastic experience and a great opportunity for a family to share a unique adventure together. The scenery is spectacular, the villages immaculate, the people friendly, the barge comfortable, the food good, the bikes new and the staff accommodating. To improve the experience, breakfast could be better and the lunch selections more varied. Early risers generally helped themselves to all of the pastries before others cold enjoy them. Seating could be unassigned so that more people could meet and enjoy different parts of the dining room. Otherwise they have this trip wired.

John Manley
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Heart of the Tarn River Valley
France

This is a fantastic tour in a very beautiful part of rural France. The hotel is very comfortable, consisting of a series of very old but beautifully restored buildings together with some sympathetically designed modern extensions. These include a covered pool and a large paved outdoor area shaded by the huge magnolias that give the hotel its name. The hotel has its own restaurant offering excellent food at very reasonable prices. The special dinner offered on Saturdays features regional produce and is worth far more than its E29 price tag.
There are a dozen or more excellent day rides that can be made using the hotel as a base. Your host Claudia will suggest rides to suit your interests and riding capabilities and will provide very clear maps and directions. However - be warned - the surrounding countryside is stunningly beautiful but there are hills! Unless you are a strong rider you may wish to consider the electric bike option that is available.
This is probably the best of the half dozen or so bike tours we have done in France and Italy. We will be back!

Mikky from Tripsite
2 years ago

Tripsite Staff

  Elodie Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

This was my second tour with Tripsite and my first tour in Holland, and it was wonderful. The Elodie offers an indefinable atmosphere, which made this more than a bike tour, it was an experience I will never forget! The camaraderie amongst passengers was established the moment we stepped foot on the boat. Our tour guide, chef, and captain were amazing, they treated us like kings. I work here at Tripsite and would love to share more details with anyone interested in this tour. :)

Lois K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The entire trip was greater than expected! The staff bent over backwards to accommodate. The gorgeous Danube!

Kathy B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This was my first bike and barge trip and it won't be my last. The barge, staff and food were all excellent. The trail system in the Netherlands and Belgium was easy to follow and the countryside was beautiful. I'm ready to book my next trip.