5 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 931 to 960 of 2142

 


Pam W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

This trip exceeded all my expectations. It is a wonderful way to see the country. The accommodations were very comfortable. We will be back. And recommend it to our friends.

Sandra B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Authentic Holland
Netherlands

This was my third time on this particular barge the Merlijn. I love everything about the experience and will for sure do it again

Stewart J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Hein was a most engaging and entertaining guide/trip leader. The rides were well planned with interesting stops and sightseeing, beautiful scenery and it didn’t hurt that we had spectacular weather. Post ride relaxation and camaraderie on the deck was great as was the value priced bar for beer/wine! The evening dinners were wonderfully prepared meals, truly excellent and overall the trip was very affordable, an A plus value.

Valerie K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Overall the trip was excellent. Sergio and his crew could not have been more accommodating. They went above and beyond to provide a great experience. Although I realize that it is difficult to grade the level of cycling difficulty for people of different ages and abilities, the trip was more difficult that I was expecting from the description.

Christine T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The accommodations each night were such a treat! The guides and the care they took was excellent!

John C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Andela Lora Kvarner Bay E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

The entire trip was wonderful. Our guides, boat staff and captain were very accommodating and went out of their way to make sure this was a memorable experience. The e-bikes were excellent. If an issue was noted, the problem was repaired that night. The tour information provided was great and allowed us to determine what the next day’s ride would be like, and pack accordingly. Options were offered and again descriptions allowed a knowledgeable decision. I would definitely take another trip.

James Lindsay
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

What a wonderful time! We did the 7 day self-guided tour in May and was better than we could have imagined. I had a good feeling from the moment of our pre-tour meeting with Lukas, (the local tour bike company) who had everything well prepared; maps for each day, route descriptions with helpful hints, shortcuts or longer route options, restaurant recommendations, bikes, and all the bike gear, including rear racks and bags! We had a few questions during the trip and they were very quick to respond and even gave us a heads of some weather to expect. Each day was different but filled with spectacular sites and castles in nearly every night's stop. Hotels were great and luggage transfer always showed up before we did. We saw amazing sites along the way and was a great way to fully experience the wonderful country of Czech Rep!

Judy C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

It was absolutely amazing from start to finish. The weather was warm, sunny, and perfect for biking. The country roads, surrounded with miles of vineyards, and the canal bike paths were beautiful. The small towns and villages were charming and delightful destinations; there was always an old castle or church to explore. The picnic lunch that we packed each morning allowed us to experience a variety of "picnic" spots. One day we were on the steps of the University of Bordeaux; another day sitting along the Garonne River in St. Macaire.

The boat, with just our family plus another couple, was terrific. We got to know the crew quite well-- actually, all on the boat became one big family. It was the trip of a life-time for all 15 of us. Everyday a grandchild would come up to me and say, "Mema, this is the best trip I've ever been on. I am having so much fun." From the youngest, at age 12, to the oldest at 78, we are left with memories that will never be forgotten.

Sandra B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking through Budapest was most memorable! We were amazed at the fabulous bike paths through the city. The car traffic was courteous to bikers and honored the cross walks. Biking through Vienna was great, too. Not quite as well defined, but it was so different to have the freedom to explore the cities, visit sites and landmarks via bike, and much more efficient than walking.

Yolanda J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tarin Istria
Croatia

The trip on Tarin was fantastic! Very relaxed atmosphere on the boat and during the tours. The best sceneries and the tour guides had a lot of knowledge about the places.

Joseph R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Andela Lora Kvarner Bay E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Kvarner Bay Plus was a great trip. This is our third bike and barge in Europe, this was by far the best for the boat, food and service. Beautiful scenery and great ports of call. The guides were world class.

Kristi P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

This trip was fabulous. I looked forward to new adventures biking in Croatia everyday! Beautiful scenery, fun rides and great guides. This was our second trip and it was just as great as the first!

Peter H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

A great combination of biking, scenery, history, the sea, food and beverages served up by a great staff on a fantastic floating hotel!

Jeanette A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal Atlantic Route
Portugal

Wonderful bike tour along the coast of Portugal which included biking through forests and small towns. Having a pre-set GPS made it so much easier when traveling without a guide. Hotels (and breakfasts) were' top notch' and our luggage was always waiting when we arrived. Could easily do his trip all over again but more likely will consider a second one in Portugal (starting in Lisbon and heading south this time). Not only is Portugal an incredibly beautiful country, but the people are friendly and radiate the relaxed atmosphere that makes touring even better.

Annie & Steve F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We had a fantastic time on our Bruges to Amsterdam bike and barge. The boat was just lovely and the cabins beautiful and crisply clean each day upon our return. The chef did outstanding food, especially the barbecue evening with a meringue cake to die for! Our guide Hugo was such fun and passionate about the land and history. Great energy! The best part were our fellow bikers that became friends by the end of the week. A great experience.

Wendy S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I loved this trip from Bruges to Amsterdam! The guides were very good and ensured we were all safe and all together. The bike paths were flat, very well marked and easy to follow when we went out on our own. The guides made sure we had our maps and emergency tools and our phone numbers in case of emergency. The scenery was beautiful and we enjoyed the countryside with farm fields, flowers, horses, sheep, birds, rivers and lakes. The rooms on the barge were bigger and better than I expected. We had a cabin on the upper deck which included a large window which was nice. The food was simple, plenty and good. It was good to be prepared for all weather types when riding. Riding gloves helped with cooler days as well as preventing blisters from the bike handles.

Barbara O.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We travelled from Bruges to Amsterdam. Stunning scenery, lovely accommodations, competent staff, outstanding guide. It was an excellent way to visit major cities and sleepy villages lost in time. We were impressed with the history of the Netherlands and got to see exquisitely beautiful buildings and works of art. By the end of the week, all bikers knew each other, so the sense of camaraderie was very comfortable. Can’t wait to plan another trip.

Janet C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Our guides were terrific, funny and knowledgeable. The choice of our route was very interesting. Also our waiters Stephan and Naomi were delightful.

Sandra V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Merlijn was definitely a "comfort plus" barge. Rooms and beds very comfortable; staff couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating; Captain Henk was a genius at docking and piloting the barge; our guide Lea, was professional, knowledgeable, and fun; Jantien, the jack of all trades, did everything from ministering to ill or injured to cooking gourmet meals. This was my second trip on the Merlijn. We booked the entire barge. There were two fantastic upgrades from two years ago--new bikes and helmets and better internet. Obviously, I cannot say enough positive about this experience. Highly recommend it.

André G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

The atmosphere among the guests thanks to the two guides was exceptionally good. Congratulations to Tina and Lannis.

Katharine S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The most memorable part of the trip was arriving at the Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela. After 6 days of cycling over varied and often challenging surfaces it was a thrill to reach our ultimate destination. What a way to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary!
Other highlights include turning in our Pilgrim's Passport to receive our certificates of completion, attending Mass in the Cathedral, as well as the magnificent coastal scenery along the way.
Sergio and his team - Tiago, José and Pédro - are real pros. Safety is their number one concern and they are extremely attentive to the needs of their riders. The bicycles were well-maintained and adjusted as required.The support van was a much appreciated added feature.
Our accommodations were top-notch, in fact one place was the nicest in which we have ever stayed. The breakfast selections at every stop were plentiful and varied.
It was enjoyable speaking to the walking pilgrims and finding Read More

Barbara
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Just returned from five days of cycling through the Czech and German countryside from Prague to Dresden: A Tale of Two Rivers. A wonderful experience - beautiful countryside, quaint accommodations, good food and excellent service. Lukas and company of Europe Bike Tours do all they can to please and support their riders. Try it - you'll love it!

Amy Sandlin
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

Wonderful trip! We did the self-guided tour option (and used the GPS coordinates from the tour company to help with directions). Everything about the trip went very smoothly, and someone from Europe Bike Tours was always quick to respond if we had any questions or issues during the trip. Every city we stayed in along the route had something interesting for us to see and do. The routes were long enough that we got the physical challenge we were looking for, but also had time to sight-see every day in each city. I cannot recommend this trip enough. Loved every day!

Martha
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

Very nice bike tour - great scenery and nice hotels. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Sergio is wonderful to work with and very responsive to our questions and requests. Wonderful trip!

Emily P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
Germany

Beautiful scenery, bike path was quite clearly marked as well without having to constantly refer to the map booklet, especially once we got onto the Danube trail. The booklet also had details on where we could find rest stops with food which was very handy. It was a great cycle experience for me and my companion, even though he's an inexperienced cyclist (it's only his 5th time or so on a bike!) we both enjoyed it very much--helps that the route is largely flat, the bike was very comfortable and we came prepared with extra seat padding just in case! The route also felt very safe, with minimal sections with road traffic. Accommodations were clean, comfortable and near the bike path, however the Deggendorf stop didn't have air-conditioning which I imagine may be a little uncomfortable later in the summer. One especially memorable moment was stopping by Walhalla, perched on a hill overlooking the Danube--incredibly peaceful with the most amazing views.

Thomas A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip was beyond our expectations. We have taken other bike and boat tours and this was superior to the others. The food on board the boat was wonderful. The cities visited were beautiful and interesting. We took the guided bike tour and the guide, Jurgen Gehrke, was wonderful. I would encourage anyone interested in a bike and boat trip to seriously look into this trip.

Ruth M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

I loved being part of the Southern Holland Tulip Tour! The biking was wonderful, the scenery was unparalleled, and the Sailing Home was comfortable and well appointed. Staff was uniformly pleasant and accommodating. I enjoyed bonding with the other riders in the group , mostly from the Central and Western US and Canada. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining, however I feel that keeping our large group of 26 riders together on the rides was a challenge, and he would have benefited from the use of "corners" to make sure that all the riders were clear on the turns. Also, we were each given a booklet with the daily ride routes, but it would have been helpful to go over the next days map each evening so that we could visualize the lay of the land.
Great trip all around and I am hoping to join another in the future!

Curtiss M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

We came to see the tulips and that was definitely accomplished. Albeit a bit late for most of the major fields, but Keukenhof was spectacular. Cycling through the polders and quiet countryside was also very enjoyable.
On the negative side, the last days cycling into Amsterdam and departure from the boat was a bit rushed.

John S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

This was our first bike and barge trip. It is a great way to travel. There is time to see the area and not have to worry about finding lodging. The crew of the Merlijn was first rate. I will sign up for another trip with them. Jantien was like your mom welcoming you on your trip home.

Elizabeth Dianne D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Montova was a really lovely spot and I liked the cycling around there. It might be easier in the towns if the cyclists all had either jerseys or pennies to identify the group so locals see we are all together which would prevent us from getting cut off or unable to pass.