5 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 841 to 870 of 2142

 


Suzanne D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Amsterdam to Bruges July 2018. We loved the whole aspect of cycling to meet our barge (our floating hotel) at the end of each day. The accommodations on the Sailing Home were great and the barge is a handsome one. Staff were friendly and relaxed but attentive and personable. Our cycling guide Karline was very competent and kindly took us into almost every town each night for a walking tour. Her historical knowledge of the areas in the Netherlends and Belgium we visited were an unexpected bonus. The food was great on board and most enjoyable. I will definitely recommend this trip to others.

Carol M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Best of Holland
Netherlands

Biking thru picturesque Holland was was delightful. The next thing to view was more beautiful than the last.
Next time I’d get an ebike.

Nicholas M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Best of Holland
Netherlands

We completed the Best of Holland Cycling tour.
Not only was the the scenery beautiful, but the attentiveness of the crew on the boat and during our bike ride was exceptional.

Elyse B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Stockholm: Land of Lakes & Castles
Sweden

Most memorable-spending time in Trosa.
Carmen was very friendly and great to have the owner of the company do the introduction and drive to starting point. Materials were very well organized and detailed. Be sure bikes and equipment are properly serviced before trip and equipment in good working order.

Jackie S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Our guide, Geert, would take us on an after dinner historical walking tour of each town where we were staying the night. Geert was extremely knowledgeable about every place we went. Between all we saw during the day while we were biking, and the after dinner walking tour, we learned so much! If Geert is your guide, don't miss a minute of his walks!

Sherry D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was a perfect way to spend a holiday. The food was AMAZING! The staff was personable, kind, and so very efficient with all they do. I was pleasantly surprised with all the paved bike paths and the number of cyclists out traveling on vacation. It was inspirational to interact with them along the way. Thank you, Normandie and staff. We had a fantastic time!

Donna E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Really enjoyed the dedicated bike paths, the small villages/towns we stopped in for breaks. My only concern was the sometimes intermittent contact with the ship (cell service) and contingency plan should a participant become ill or injured or if the bike broke down.

Kim C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The trip, from start to finish, far exceeded our expectations. We were welcomed aboard by a very lovely crew and shown to our cabin. Accommodations, while "cozy" were clean, attractive and storage spaces were very thoughtfully planned; it never felt claustrophobic. Meals were as good as any four star restaurant and my gluten free needs were met without any problems. I cannot say enough about the crew and our guides; they were outgoing, caring, accommodating and fun to be around. I can say as much for the guests. I felt as if I was with old friends (not just the "old friends" with which we were travelling.) The bikes were in good condition and guides made sure everyone had a bike to fit their size. The tour, scenery, quick visits to churches and castles, even the little unexpected things, like vending machines filled with chilled strawberries, remain fixed in my memory as the most special experiences. We were very lucky that the weather was perfect each day. The Read More

Jo-Anna K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The whole trip was fantastic. The food was amazing, staff was wonderful and the barge was comfortable and gorgeous. Bruges and Ghent were our favorite stops.

Merinda N.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Leafde Fan Fryslân Bike & Sail the Ijsselmeer
Netherlands

It is difficult to highlight one part of the trip as the whole experience was excellent. I have done bike/boat tours before and the accommodation on this historic ship was by far the best ever. The rural scenery in the Netherlands is extraordinarily beautiful and the Issjelmeer is stunning. Actually, perhaps the best thing was the staff. We felt like personal guests on this trip and as if the staff were long time personal or family friends. The organization was informal but efficient and the food was home cooked and excellent. There was a variety of activities from cycling to sailing; exploring historic villages and towns and swimming in the sea. Best ever trip.

Brad C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

The Prague to Dresden bike ride was an amazing vacation. Everyday there were beautiful sites and scenery that made the journey a really memorable trip. Each night we lodged in picturesque towns along the route and always near the city square where we enjoyed great dining and sightseeing. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a really unique biking vacation in the heart of Europe.

Nancy B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The most memorable part of our bike and barge trip from Malchin to Berlin was the day we biked on the Isle of Usedom. The landscape was beautiful, the beach front area was full of interesting shops and restaurants where we ate spaghetti ice, a childhood favorite treat of my husband. He has waited years to share this moment with our kids. We topped off the day with a swim in the Baltic Sea which was full of big waves and surrounded by soft, white sand.

Kathryn H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

One of my favorite parts of the trip was jumping off the boat into the canal. It was the end of a long, fun day of bike riding. The canal was clear and perfect for jumping. Everyone jumped off and everyone did fun tricks. The funniest was when Paul fell off and I never could keep a straight face around him again (Paul didn't get hurt except his pride btw). Captain Henk even put down a ladder to make climbing to the dock easier.

Ellen R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The entire barge and bike trip was superlative! But what impressed me the most biking and barging aboard the Magnifique besides the excellent accommodations, great and varied food, breathtaking scenery, and cultural stops, was the professionalism of the staff. The Bruges to Amsterdam crew of six were constantly working to make our week safe, enjoyable, and deplete of any hitches. If you have never even thought of a trip like this because you deemed it too adventurous, please reconsider! The 30 miles per day of riding were pretty easy even for a casual rider, and for anyone who has concerns about “keeping up” or has some physical limitations, e- bikes were available that leveled the playing field. I think that biking through a country really gives you an appreciation and in-depth feeling you would never get by touring more traditionally. And all those calories burned allows more ingestion of Belgium’s famous chocolates and fries! Absolutely loved this trip!

Diane W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The beautiful scenery along the river was the most memorable part of the trip. We also loved all the little cafes right by the path for lunch and breaks.

Ursula T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking along the Danube and in the evening sitting watching the sunset on the top deck. I would like more time on the bike, but happy we got to see so much!

Tracy F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The entire trip was wonderful! The food was great, accommodations were perfect and the scenery is spectacular.

Carol K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Magnifique III was so much better than imagined. Great looking barge inside & out! Dining room glowed, friendly bar, wonderful creative chef. I’m a “foodie” and never expected such fresh delicious meals. Room accommodations small neat clean would have liked little more room so 2 people could unpack their suitcases.
Staff was friendly attentive and did their jobs efficiently. Bike trip was well planned, I personally would have liked to have been able to stop a few more times to enjoy scenery surroundings & picturesque small towns.
I recommend a bike/barge trip through Tripsite... I would consider another!

Andrea S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Most memorable thing from our Lake Konstanz trip?? How in the world do I pick?? The Biergartens? Picnics in medieval towns? Watching World Cup with locals in small family cafés? The acres of apple orchards? Seeing zeppelins flying over crystal blue water? Feeling the thunder of Rhein Falls? Getting lost and finding amazing parks and kind people? It was the BEST vacation we’ve ever had, and we’re already talking about which one to do next year!

Jeffery G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bavarian Lakes
Germany

From forest paths at the outskirts of Munich to steep gravel trails en route to the source of the Isar, the tour featured a mind-blowing range of scenery and terrain. We pedaled more than 300 km in five days. Just one rainy day; we had to imagine the approach to Garmisch-Partenkirchen would've been all the more impressive under clear skies! Our bikes were custom made for touring, with seamless gear shifting and panniers. We built a couple of rest days into the schedule (we're by no means Tour de France contenders) but on a "day off" I got back on the horse and did a loop through the rolling forests and farms between Bad Tölz and the lakeside town of Bad Wiessee, on sparkling Tegernsee, a favourite of kitesurfers. By the final stage, Bad Tölz to Munich, the Alps had receded but the spectacular landscapes continued: woods, ravines and the crystal clear Isar River never far from our puncture-resistant tires. An amazing experience.

Tami & Hilary
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
Croatia

This is a truly fantastic tour – a trip of a lifetime, which we thoroughly recommend! A luxury experience, on a gorgeous new boat, with fantastic food and incredibly thoughtful and skilled guides and crew…. With daily swimming in glistening, aquamarine seas and beautiful bike rides with stunning views. It was stimulating, energizing, relaxing and peaceful all at the same time. We would score it 12 out of 10!

The e-bikes are brilliant! We had never used e-bikes before, but they are high quality bikes, very comfortable with comfortable saddles, easy to operate and maneuver, not at all cumbersome, with a quiet engine. You can use the pedal assist as much or as little as you like, so you can get a totally natural, high calorie-burn biking experience, or an almost effortless ‘glide’ up gorgeous hills! The guests on our tour were all different ages and fitness levels, with different biking experience, and we all loved the e-bikes. We were all able to do the Read More

Gail W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Although this was a bike-barge trip, I did not bike; rather, I stayed on the barge each day as it progressed along the rivers and canals. It was very pleasant and relaxing watching the scenery. Each day I was able to disembark at least once prior to arrival at the destination for the night to walk around nearby towns or along paths. The crew was extremely gracious and accommodating to my presence on the barge.

Peter M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

It would be difficult to pick one specific memory as the most significant. I loved the companionship of my fellow riders. I recall one beautiful afternoon as we rode through countryside reminiscent of a Van Gogh painting. I was impressed by the open friendly manner of the local people in the small towns through which we rode.

Paul M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Great ship, staff and scenery.

VeeAnn C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Everything was fantastic. Each day they gave route instructions. I tried to follow along with the instructions with the ride, but in reality, I would have missed several turns if I had not stayed with the group. So even though theoretically, you can do self-guided, I think in reality it would have been a mistake. I believe the first day the route guidance indicated some photo places that we did not stop at. Either the guide didn't want to, or we had gone a slightly different route. I do think the guides modified the routes slightly based on wind, riders etc. But all in all FABULOUS trip - thoroughly enjoyed it.

Rhoda S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Our bike and barge trip with Tripsite from Brugges to Amsterdam was a wonderful trip we will remember always! The Magnifique II was luxurious, the food was amazing, the scenery was gorgeous, and our bike guides were fantastic. Overall we would recommend this company to all our friends and we are already planning our trip for next year!

Paul V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elizabeth Bike & Sail the Ijsselmeer
Netherlands

Great scenery, wide, flat, bike paths along with pleasant sailing in lovely weather.

Javier C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  New Star Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
Croatia

This is an amazing trip. The ship is brand new. Doesn't feel crowded ever. The places visited are gorgeous. The views are breathtaking. The biking is very doable. No need to be afraid of hills; with these ebikes, most people will be able to do them. Plenty of time to explore ports and villages. It's hard to get lost during bike rides. Not too many bathroom facilities along the route, but every village has a number of cafes and restaurants that will let you use facilities. Bring sunscreen and good sunglasses. Ivana and Matjia, our guides, were fantastic--very accommodating. Be prepared for some improvisation, since wind conditions may force captain to alter route. Dubrovnik is nice, though too crowded, and the ship moors a bit far (30 minute walk). The other cities and towns are more visitable and relaxing, and the ship docks right downtown. Overall, one of the best trips of our lives.

Art W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food on the barge was terrific--as was our guide Fabio.
Come prepared for 5 serious days of biking as well as bringing the right/complete biking clothes.

Larry B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking along river was the greatest. Budapest and Bratislava wonderful. Time in Vienna too rushed. Strongly advise participants to take an extra day or two in Passau before the trip—a lovely small town.