5 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 811 to 840 of 2142

 


Kathy B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This was my first bike and barge trip and it won't be my last. The barge, staff and food were all excellent. The trail system in the Netherlands and Belgium was easy to follow and the countryside was beautiful. I'm ready to book my next trip.

Elizabeth J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

High Summer in Sweden
Sweden

Our trip, "High Summer in Sweden" was perfectly planned and carried out with two terrific guides and a wonderful group of bikers. Scenery, especially in Stockholm, was absolutely awesome...a combination of land and water, castles, museums, and history. Food was gourmet, hotels were pure Sweden, and we loved it all. Would go again in a minute!!

Judee W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

High Summer in Sweden
Sweden

The Rotalis Biking experience is one in a million. We were treated as honored guests! Everything was taken care of with smiles and style. It was a terrific experience with the best of everything.

Marlene Z.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

Riding back into Copenhagen from the country, through the suburbs, and then entering the urban center with all the excitement of a big city, yet being so comfortable with the bike I have been riding for a week was very cool.

Lori C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I adored the trip from start to finish. The scenery, the towns and cities and of course seeing everything by bike. I met wonderful people who share a love of travel and adventure. The only problem with the trip was the tour leader. He was condescending and rude to several guests. The rest of the staff was phenomenal. I would do this trip again tomorrow.

Daniel S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Best of Holland
Netherlands

Atmosphere was great and bike guide was excellent. I already recommended to few friends.

Bruce K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Anna Maria IV Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
France

Roman, Matilde and guide Ari, couldn't do enough to make welcome and please our entire group, especially during some minor technical difficulties that were not of their making. The quality of the bikes, whether due to model, age or degree of maintenance is something that our entire group of eighteen agreed is an area that could be looked at HAT tours; a lot of pressure fell upon the Anna Maria crew (especially Ari) to rectify faults not of their making. A less flexible and tolerant group of paying passengers might have made for an uncomfortable trip.

Gail W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Bike Boat 4 countries Germany, Austria, Slovakia and Hungary - most memorable part of the trip was experiencing the Danube River up close; boat was comfortable and so smooth sometimes I had to look out the window to see if we were moving

Erica W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence - old version
Italy

This bike ride was scenic and full of pleasant surprises! The fields we passed were full of fragrant flowers and fruit hanging off of the trees. The towns were small enough to get around by bicycle easily with lots of options for food and activities.

We had some difficulty reading the paper maps because the English translation was not always words we would use to describe the route. (Also the mileage was in kilometers) My GPS did not work. That was probably due to our inability to make the technology work in another country ! So, we just got used to getting a little lost every day.

We are adventurous people so none of this would prevent me from doing it again! We rode the self guided route.

There was one day there was a long stretch of a gravel bumpy bike path. We opted to go another route on our own to avoid it. That was an adventure in itself!
The last day the hill was steeper than anything we had ever ridden and we did Cape Bretton in Nova Scotia with 17% grade hills. So we walked up!

Overall the trip was absolutely wonderful, people were super helpful etc. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Wendy T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most Memorable Part? The beauty & grandeur of the Danube...and the ability to enjoy this while riding a bike!

Houry S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I loved the biking through the country roads and the small towns that we stopped at were awesome!! This trip allowed us to visit and see places that the average tourist doesn't experience. Loved it!! Can't wait for another trip.

Neil M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Most Memorable Part: The accommodations, the staff and of course cycling through all the beautiful country side.

Melody S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

We decided to have our honeymoon on the St. Morritz to Innsbruck self-guided bike tour. We are so happy we did as the scenery was beautiful and the people we met along the way made it memorable. I recommend staying an extra night in St. Morritz so you can take the gondola up the mountain (free from the hotel when you stay 2 nights) to hike and enjoy the views. The bikes were sturdy and had the gears necessary for the hills. Bring your own helmet for this tour as they are not available to rent.

Earl W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Best part of the trip was bicycling through the scenic Wachau wine region. The views of the Danube River and vineyards were magical. Views like you see in PBS commercials for Viking cruises. Bratislava was the most pleasant surprise. A beautiful city with an active cafe culture that is not as big and intimidating as Vienna.

If you are unsure of your bicycling skills consider the hop-on hop-off tour option for Vienna instead of the bicycle tour. The crowds and heavy traffic make the bicycle tour slightly treacherous.

The hardest bicycling day ironically was the first day with steep hills up to the Mauthausen concentration camp and the Clam Castle both of which were worth seeing. If you question whether you are in good enough physical condition for this trip rent the electric bikes, they make a huge difference.

Doug K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The staff on the barge were always very helpful and friendly.

Brenda A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

French Alps Lake
Switzerland, France

Thoroughly enjoyed! Hotel staff were a wealth of knowledge and so friendly!

Dee M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Costa Rica Bike Tour & Adventure
Costa Rica

This was a fantastic tour! We had a great time and found our tour company to be helpful all along the way. They kept us informed of any delays or changes. I especially liked all the activities We were able to book some extra excursions on our own while travelling. The only thing I had a problem with was-- I was not prepared for the mountain biking . It was more strenuous that I anticipated. (I'm not a mountanin biker but I am a road bike person. ) But this was not the fault of the tour company. It was my lack of training. We did a Greyline Tour of the city in San Jose as an added excursion when we arrived in Costa Rica but I would not recommend it unless you're fluent in Spanish.

Jon H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elodie Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

5 star bike tour in the Netherlands. The Elodie is a clean and comfortable barge with a family type atmosphere. The guided tour through the country side is the best way to take in all the sites of the small towns along the river banks. Staff aboard the Elodie was first class and the food was amazing.

Manuel Cordeiro
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

My wife and I flew all the way from South Africa to do the self guided tour from Porto to Santiago. This was a way to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary and what a treat. Sergio, Tiago and Diego were totally professional and made sure we got the right sized bicycles for our trip. The route was amazing, the hotel accommodation was spectacular. Especially in Bayona and Caldes dos Reis. We would recommend this ride to anyone who wants to do the Camino de Santiago over a six or seven day period. We will be back with Sergio and his team soon.

Nelson G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

We had a great time riding through Bordeaux’s beautiful wine country. Our trip was enjoyable for our entire group of varying cycling abilities. The E-bikes made it easy for those that needed them. The staff was excellent and very personable. We were treated as art of the family. We are looking forward to our next cycling adventure.

Susan W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I would highly recommend this trip. The food was fantastic. The rooms were of a good size and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cycle route were scenic and enjoyable. I would definitely do another.

Carol D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Absolutely stress free opportunity to experience real heart of Netherlands and Belgium. Really enjoyed meeting new like-minded tripping companions.

Yael U.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Three Country
Netherlands, Belgium, Germany

My third trip booked through Tripsite.com and my third wonderful summer of biking! Three years ago, We traveled through Provence Villages. Last year through Slovenia and Croatia, and this year through Three Counties - Netherland, Belgium and Germany. We have LOVED each of these explorations: countrysides, villages, forests, inns, seasides, agriculture, architecture and delicacies. The days were never dull, they were not too difficult, they filled us with a sense of peace and joy. We completed our trip in Europe excited to dream of where our next Tripsite adventure might take us!

Ron H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The staff on our Amsterdam to Bruges trip were all fantastic. Our cabin was a wonderful retreat at the end of the day. The cycling was easy even for someone who does not cycle. The one area where I could see some improvement was in the breakfast and lunch offerings. There was very little variety from day to day. Would have been nice to have some other options.

Katie H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

This was a very positive experience. Bikers of all abilities can participate in this tour. The navigation can be a bit tricky. I would definitely recommend using the navigation app in addition to the maps & briefings. However, there was usually a friendly local or another member of the group not too far away to help get you back on the route. The barge was very nice. We had an upgraded room. Plenty of storage space. The guides were excellent. The staff on the barge couldn’t have been nicer. The food was very good. The tour itself exceeded my expectations. Holland is beautiful. The route took us through a variety of geography. Lots of quintessential Dutch experiences, windmills, cheese, delft, etc.. The de Amsterdam is a larger boat than most so you have a large group. Neither here nor there, just a note if you prefer a more intimate group.

Louise M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arlene II Mainz to Cologne
Germany

We loved our bike and barge tour from Mainz to Cologne. The food was great, the scenery amazing! Biking is the perfect way to appreciate the environment in a relaxed way and truly immerse yourself in the experience. Two suggestions - have the tour briefings in the evening between Entree and Main course (it was a pain having to wait til 9am in the morning when we are early risers) and have branded reusable water bottles that can be filled up at water stations each day (instead of contributing to plastic bottle waste). Thank you.

Janet C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna aboard the Primadonna
Austria, Germany

Riding along the Danube river was fantastic! We loved all the port cities and the scenery was picturesque. Our favorite memory of the trip was being able to explore on our own each day. Guiding ourselves on the daily rides was challenging but very rewarding. Usually we saw our fellow shipmates along the way and had lunch companions for our daily Danube picnics!

Elizabeth S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Best of Holland
Netherlands

Our group of four thoroughly enjoyed the 'Best of Holland' bike tour. The Magnifique III Team were all wonderful, the food was truly excellent and our rooms were spacious and comfortable. We particularly loved Edam and the Waterlands area, also Gouda and Leiden. The daily tours were very well planned and we really did see the best of Holland.

Rose B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Alsace Road Bike Tour
France

The trip in Alsace, France was an amazing way to see the French countryside, wine region and the local community. The route choices were amazing, almost no cars the entire time and the hotels and restaurants were very aware of how the system worked and how to support us on our trip. I would highly recommend this trip to any expert cyclist.

Paul H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

What an unforgettable trip! We were able to take our 75 year old dad and he cycled the whole thing easily. The touring days in the cities were full, overwhelming, and inspiring for someone who's never seen the rich history of Europe. Cruising down the river while eating a 4 course dinner was a perfect finish to cycling though forests and orchards all day. It was a perfect combination of cycling, cruising, relaxing and sight seeing. I would recommend it to anyone!