5 Star Bike Tour Reviews — 991 to 1020 of 2141

 


Angela T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Loved the comfortable accommodations on the barge.

Karina M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Most Memorable Part: Riding through the tulip fields and the Kuekenhoff gardens on the same day is a memory that will stay with me forever.

Dave C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

The De Amsterdam is more like a cruise ship than a barge, very nice cabin, very nice dining room.

Dave C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The crew on the Zwaantje was fantastic. We loved the meals that Frank prepared. Fred is a great tour guide.

Jo S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Riding through the tulip fields...the sight and the smell was indescribable...pictures couldn't do it justice...

Janice B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

I loved tulip day and going to Keukenhof Gardens

Roberts W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The tulip fields the way they smelled going into Keukenhof gardens it was marvelous the whole trip was fabulous. The captain and wife on Zwaantje was so great cook was magnificent they were so welcoming and Fred the guide was so knowledgeable of the area love loved the trip.

Connie W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The best part of the trip was the congenial atmosphere on the barge, the camaraderie amongst the guests, and the excellent guided biking experience.

Kathy C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The 8 day Tulip tour was fantastic. The boat, bike, food, staff and scenery was everything we had hoped for! The only thing we couldn't control was the weather and the tulips not quiet in bloom....we dodged the rain and saw many daffodils and hyacinth and met new friends to top it all off. Thanks for the memories!

Mary A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Our boat, the Merlijn, and its crew were fabulous! A huge thank you to Jantien and Henk for an amazing weeklong experience! This is the way to see The Netherlands! We rode bikes from one port to another, exploring the countryside, meeting local families, enjoying the beautiful fields of tulips, daffodils and hyacinths, purples, reds, yellows flowing across the land. Our hosts fed us 3 wonderful meals a day, and gave us opportunities to explore each city in the evenings with our knowledgeable and dedicated guide, Ferry. We stayed a few extra days to learn all about Amsterdam as well, which was definitely worth it. So much to see and learn about. Tripsite did a great job of organizing this trip, from efficient email contacts, timely billing reminders, and tips for preparing for a unique trip such as a Bike and Barge in Amsterdam. Absolutely we recommend Tripsite, and the Merlijn in particular!

Randall B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Wonderful trip! Even though the tulips were a bit behind because of the extended winter, the tour offered wonderful scenery and a plethora of other flowers. The guides were great and the pace accommodated all the participants. Great food, accommodations, service and staff!

Larry H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

We were a group of eight old friends and found this trip very enjoyable. The tour organizer, Klemen Stular was very responsive to our questions and preferences, and even worked to adapt the route to accommodate our request to visit a winery! The trails had some loose gravel so it required extra caution (and muscle) on steep hills, but the off-road trails made this particular tour the most special. The equipment was well-maintained, easy to use, and reliable. The tour operator was very conscientious about making certain everything fit the rider. The scenery was glorious and the people warm and welcoming.

Jean Balloon
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Just ended this tour this morning and it was one of the best vacations we've ever taken. Can't say enough about the captain, staff and guides on the Fleur-very glad we chose a guided trip as there are numerous detours and unclear route signs. Fantastic sights, excellent equipment, wonderful food and fun fellow passengers, REALLY important to take the right clothes (we wore t-shirts, short, sandals and down coats/hat/gloves in the same week) Full rain gear including waterproof shoes or boots is essential. Also be aware the wind in the Netherlands can be brutal-we booked e-bikes and were REALLY glad we did! Steps down to cabin are very narrow and steep - almost like a ladder, so make sure you can do this several times each day. Excellent communication from Tripsite regarding booking and all information. Thank you Cpt. Steffy, Elsa, Aga, Nellie, Helena, Petra and Bert for an extraordinary holiday!

Lyla C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

I have already recommended this trip to my walking and running friends as I am not a biker but found that it was very, very manageable with little current biking experience. I rode bikes a lot as a kid but just haven’t been on a bike much at all lately. This winter in Canada made it impossible to get out and get out on the bike ahead of time. Of course the flat Dutch terrain helped and I ended in the long group each day! The best part was that by being well looked after by the tour by way of food and the guides, the group came together in just a magnificent way. The days were laid out in advance for us and we were all quite comfortable. Everyone was relaxed and really good company. We soon were having a lot of fun!

Antigoni T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Enjoyed the biking and food was great.

Rosemary W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Everyone associated with the barge was kind and personable. We met interesting people and enjoyed the 5 Star service of the entire crew. I’m sure all of our friends at home are tired of hearing about our amazing trip, LOL! We are already looking to book a future bike and barge trip and bring some of those friends along. The only thing that wasn’t perfect about this trip was the weather, but we made the best of it.

Shari Lukens
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Incredible! Amazing! Living the dream! There are no words to describe how exceptional this trip was. It was like "living the dream" really!. The beautiful, ever changing countryside of Holland was gorgeous. Every turn and corner brought a new landscape. From the moment I was chatting with Carla and Anna from Tripsite, to our home for 10 days on the Zwaantje was exactly what I expected and hosts Martijn and Marjorie were amazing. So caring for your every need and ensuring your trip is everything you wanted it to be. Frank the chef - well, let's just say the gourmet meals were impressive and delicious, and Fred our cycling guide was above and beyond. I'll be back! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for such an incredible experience. Simply amazing.

Alan B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vietnamese Junks Vietnam
Vietnam, Cambodia

Everything about this trip far exceeded our expectations. Our tour guides, Mr. Binh and Chris, were excellent. The logistics involved in putting this trip together were extremely complicated, but it all came together seamlessly. We can't imagine another trip to Vietnam being more comprehensive and informative. The scenery was phenomenal, and we truly got a better understanding and appreciation of the warm people of Vietnam. The biking, kayaking and hiking were actually secondary to all the other amazing things we experienced.

Sue M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Vietnam
Vietnam, Cambodia

The guides were amazing, knowledgeable, kind and funny. Hong from Vietnam and Kristopher from Island Hopping. The biking in Vietnam was a highlight. Food, accommodations and group were exceptional. The Vietnam history was told from the heart. The Vietnam and Cambodian people were beautiful and so gracious and
always happy to see us. Will definitely do another bike and barge with Island Hopping. Loved going to the school to see the kids. Loved the organic farm and cooking lesson.

Helena Knight
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Trizay
France

My husband and I did this tour in September 2017 and loved it. Easy cycling, superb food and fabulous warm service at the hotel. Beautiful location and great rides. We
Also took our bikes by car and then rode bikes across and around Ile de Re. Fabulous week. Only shortcoming were the bikes that were more city cruisers not as advertised. But fabulous holiday

Judith B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Bike and Barge- along the Danube to 3 countries- was wonderful. The weather ended up being perfect, though it was October, and that made it all even better! Scenery was super! Bikes- well maintained and easy to ride. Lots of great encounters with staff on board; only problem was an accident with the ship on the last day. I am sure it will not happen again!

Georgia M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Travelling on the boat with a small group of international people is such a great way to experience the world - and the bike tours are brilliant.

Kathryn Bertram
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
South Africa

Our entire group agreed that this was the trip of a lifetime! However, I spent the entire plane ride home plotting how I could take the exact same trip again. We spent the entire tour with AMAZING guides who led us through their "home" and provided us with the opportunity to enjoy sunny South Africa as the local do.

The biking on this trip is all done on mountain bikes. The terrain and rides vary, and we added miles onto the routes on a few of the days. The guides allow your group to set the bike pace, and there is always the van to tour in if riding isn't an option. However, our entire group loved all of the biking. My personal favorite was all of giraffes we saw on our bikes. It is amazing way to see the sights!

My only concern prior to this trip was the food, but we ate like kings and queens. Who knew they served cold and hot breakfast?! We enjoyed tons of fresh produce, including avocados and grapefruits straight from the trees.

This trip is a great balance of touring and biking, and if you are even considering going, you must go. You, too, will leave plotting a way to get back again. Enjoy sunny South Africa!

Corri & Tom H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

FOOD & staff aboard the Gandalf were amazing and loved Ghent!!!!

Nancy V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

I was surprised at how great everything was.

Brain F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Most Memorable Part: The scenery, the people, the food, and the cycling.

Michael K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip exceeded my expectations. The beautiful country side along the Danube River, the locks and dams, the wine county of Austria and Budapest were the highlights.

Frank M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The daily briefing on what to see and do really helped to get the most out of the bike and barge tour.

Jenny & Ted Miles Johnson
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

The staff members were superb!!!
Another great experience on a bike & barge trip!
Some suggestions:
We should have known in advance, that appointments were necessary to visit a winery. A daily visit to a winery would have been nice, where the staff of the boat could have made the appointments.
In the write up for this particular bike & barge (Bordeaux), it would have been nice for the write up to let people know, that there are a few hills (12-15%) to ride up daily.
Even bicyclist in decent shape had a tough time riding up these 12-15% grades, due to the heavy bicycles. Maybe, letting people know, that it’s advisable to get an ebike, can resolve the uphill climbs issue.
Also, for not getting lost on the daily bike routes; The availability of the gps was a big plus and a necessary piece of equipment, for a successful & pleasant daily bike trip.
Overall, the staff & owner of the barge were very helpful & were there for you, when you were in need of something!

Annette B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily
Italy

We’ve done 2 trips and both of them have been amazing - Pulia and Sicily. Highly recommend both as the sites were beautiful, the food (and wine) delicious. So many good memories.