Bike Tour Reviews 1081 to 1110 of 3386

 

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by David R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hard to pick one part...The cycling and scenery each day was stunning. Vienna must be experienced. The staff and the food on the Arkona was outstanding.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Sam 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A GREAT experience on a bike & barge trip! I LOVE Bordeaux and the bike routes were beautiful !!! absolutely amazing from the start to the end.
    The staff members were superb and we had fun !!!
    I highly recommend this trip !!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Steve & Ginny B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Thank you for arranging our bike/barge trip on the MS Bordeaux.

    We cannot tell you enough good about MS Bordeaux, the Captain and his crew. It was so enjoyable to arrive on board, unpack for eight days, and relax. On other bike rides, we unpacked every night and repacked every morning. I think another bike/barge is in order. Tim LaMonte and I are researching next year’s ride already!

    The food was exceptional (except for one night when the chef was off. My red mullet was raw and not cooked. Can you spell Y-U-C-K?). Every day, we packed our lunches (except when we did our walking tour of Bordeaux with Sebastian, see below.) Desserts were yummy!

    The bike rides were great and we discovered fantastic wines!

    There were 84 passengers on-board. A large group was from Australia, some from Canada, Switzerland and the USA. Even though those of on the non-guided ride tour rode at different speeds, we continuously found each, and other helped each other find our way Read more… and found places of interest. The camaraderie with other riders was phenomenal.

    I had an e-bike. Ginny had a regular bike. On the last day, she traded it in for an e-bike! She will get one for the next tour! Tim also traded his bike for an e-bike on the last day.

    In the middle of the week, we could ride our bikes on a short bike path or take a walking tour of Bordeaux, or both. We decided to have a relaxing day and took the walking tour.

    Sebastian, the bartender, had the day off. We asked why he did the free walking tour on his day off. His response was simple. He loved to tell people about his country and take them on tour of his hometown, Bordeaux.

    A total delight was our interaction with 19-year old Dorrian (sp?). He was the highlight of the trip. He gave the welcome briefing, the evening briefings on what to expect the next day, and was always available.

    1. Dee LaMonte had a flat tire. We called Dorrian and he was there within 15 minutes

    2. Dorrian was on different roads where the non-guided riders were, and always got us on the right track.

    3. Every time we were not sure of where we should be, Dorrian showed up like magic!

    4. Another flat tire, a telephone call, and Dorrian found us again. He took Dee LaMonte and her bike in a van to MS Bordeaux. Dorrian also offered a ride to the rest of us, however, we declined and rode the rest of the way back.

    The final night on board, was the Captains Dinner, a party and lots wine flowing and lot of dancing! A perfect way to celebrate the end of our adventure!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lee F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was an altogether pleasant experience; the highlight was the lovely little village of Saint-Émilion.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Mok L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Danube / bike path was wonderful , My bike was a red girls bike that clunked “hate it”, my wife’s ebike was great, the food was good except the hair in couple of dishes, the tour dir and the hotel mgr were friggen rude (not just us to about 14 others ) would Never take a SE tour again. The people we met on board were great, Austria was very nice. Omg Austria wine was fantastic. thx Mik

    Ps
    Still like Tripsite’s

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Patti P. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The best part was traveling with friends. I would have enjoyed more information about the area and towns we were traveling through.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Karen T. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The staff and crew of the Anna Marie were very friendly and helpful but over all, if this was my first bike and barge trip, it would probably would have been my last. The accommodations were small, we knew that going in but because space was so limited, there was nowhere to hang the towels to dry properly so they should have been changed a little more frequently. The mattress on the bunk bed also needed to be changed as it was old and hard to sleep on.
    The food at breakfast was the same for 7 days, as were the luncheon meats. The bread was fabulous but could have been switched up with some protein like eggs to start the day. The dinners were, on most occasions, tasty and delicious but lacked quantity after a long bike ride.
    My biggest complaint was the cost of the water. The days were hot, the stores and restaurants along the way were closed and for the temperature we should have been provided with water or somewhere to fill our bottles. The boat charged too much Read more… for a small bottle and provided only one even smaller bottle for the day.
    Our bike guide did not provided any history of the areas we saw and at night, we were not given any tours of the place we were moored at.
    Last but not least, all the bikes needed to be tuned up, several chains, when changing gears, fell off, some brakes did not work well and some gears would not change properly.
    The most memorable part of the trip were the rest of the passengers, we all enjoyed each others company and had the ability to laugh at some of the situations described.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Sherry 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just completed the Prague to Dresden tour and am giving it 5 stars based on the overall experience, although I'm going to lead with some negatives. Our group size was 15. I had asked the question early on before booking about size and was told usually 10-12. With 2 guides and a support van we were able to divide on most days, as part of the group was habitually late. It was also an issue for lunches since a group of 15 slows things down for restaurant service. Our lunch stops often approached two hours. In addition, there were times that we were down one guide apparently due to overbooking issues, plus one unexpected issue with the overnight bike storage that caused a huge delay in the start the second day. That was the Terezin day, and while we got into town, the sites were already closed.
    But now for the positive, this is a great ride on mostly good bike paths. If you are in any way concerned about hills, weather, trail conditions or stamina, I highly recommend an ebike. Read more… This will mitigate almost all issues and still offers all the benefits of biking. 30-35 miles a day is a lot to cover with the drawbacks of being in a group, so most of the riding was at a pretty quick pace.
    Our guides, Richard and Jana, were outstanding. Richard is a veteran guide and a wealth of knowledge. He read the group well and let us divide into two whenever possible. This was Jana's first time on this tour, but she was cheerful and helpful at all times.
    The hotels and restaurants were all enjoyable, especially the chateau in Liblice/Melnik. We did enjoy our fellow riders and even with not ideal weather for a couple days, it was a fun time. The positives far outweighed the negatives and made for a memorable, thoroughly enjoyable trip.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Tim Devine 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The biking itself was fabulous. The staff looked after the bikes well, and the routes were lovely. My problems are with the boat itself, and there are several significant issues. First, our room was next to some machinery near the bridge that woke us up frequently during the night. The bathroom smelled bad, and other guests on a lower floor had major issues with smells too. The boat broke down on one occasion, and we had the feeling that it was on its last legs. The food was okay, sometimes good, sometimes not so good. The staff were very good, although the music was mostly orientated to non-English speakers. I know that this is not a Viking riverboat, but I have a reasonable expectation of having a comfortable and fairly quiet room. Never again on this boat.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • North Holland Tour
    by Paul Alper 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    On the Liza Marleen there were 6 of us from our family ranging in age from 82 to less than 2 years of age. The staff on the ship was superb, especially the cook who was particularly considerate regarding the granddaughters who roamed the dining area. She was quite creative with her menus and happy to socialize with the participants. Moreover, because it was my daughter's birthday (birthdays are Big Deals in the Netherlands) on the last night of the trip, the cook ignored my request for one cupcake with a candle and instead presented gorgeous cakes for the entire ship. Her English assistant was equally kind; the skipper turned out to be a first-class guitar player and had the entire ship singing along.

    It was a wonderful and successful excursion and I am very grateful to the staff on board the Liza Marleen for everything they did to accommodate us and make it a memorable 50th wedding anniversary.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Berlin to Copenhagen
    by Pilar Parra 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Ha sido un tour fantástico. Hemos hecho la ruta desde Copenhague a Berlín, con unos paisajes increíbles, disfrutando de estupendos carriles bici. Es nuestro cuarto tour y esperamos continuar con un nuevo destino. Unas vacaciones inolvidables!!!
    It was a fantastic tour. We have made the route from Copenhagen to Berlin, with incredible landscapes, enjoying great bike lanes. It is our fourth tour and we hope to continue with a new destination. An unforgettable vacation!!!

    Countries: Denmark, Germany

  • Rural Kerala, India
    by Allison Martin 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have just returned from this tour in Kerala, (September 2018) it was customised for the two of us to include 3 nights in Munnar. The tour exceeded our expectations, was extremely well organised by Kalypso Adventures, we had an outstanding guide and competent driver, learnt much about the area, culture, the people and how they live what is grown in the area and so much more. The cycling was great, amended slightly in distance and route because of the recent devastating floods but this in no way detracted from the experience. Accommodation was varied and always excellent, food delicious. We would certainly recommend this tour. We are an older couple from New Zealand.

    Countries: India

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Florence B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great ride, if you use the right company. We used Tripsite, who contracted Austria Radreisen, not the company to use. We were told that Austria Redreisen would meet us at the hotel in Passau the day before the trip was to start...they did not show( a competitor company, Donau, spent 2 hours with their clients, in our hotel). We tried to contact Austria Radreisen at their 'emergency' number...no one answer/no answering machine. The day the tour was to start, they delivered two bikes which were extremely heavy, and with 7 speed changers....we had specifically ordered 21 speed hybrids. The bikes were delivered by the person who picked up the suitcases, and we were told by him that he had no knowledge of how the bikes worked...we were on our own to figure them out. In spite of being in good physical condition, we found the bikes very difficult to use, as they would not coast. After 2 days with the heavy bikes, we had to take a day off as we were exhausted. Read more… Thanks to the help of a receptionist at the Courtyard Marriot in Linz, the company delivered replacement 21 speed hybrids(which we should have received in the first place) at our next hotel (we had to take the train to get there), which we used with no problems the rest of the way. The hotels provided by the company were excellent, and the travel maps adequate. We certainly will not go with this company again when we plan our next bike tour.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Faith S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was disappointed in this tour, the scenery was mostly uninteresting and much more difficult than expected due to high winds on 2 days. I am short and was given a crappy bike to ride, having been told I could not fit on the e-bike I wanted. However, after 2 days of suffering my tour guide was able to find me a bike that fit (even after the company itself said it could not accommodate). The ship itself was wonderful, with big bright cabins and excellent food. I was on the guided comfort relax package, and the tour guide was way too laid back for my taste. I thought we did not have much time in the big cities to explore.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Mainz to Bamberg
    by Randy M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part was picking grapes at the community Arbor along the route. Sharing with the entire group. Our guide led us to many quant and tasty coffee, beer, wine and pastry stops...

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Bamberg
    by Bruce R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Having a cold dark stout at a hillside restaurant with the whole biking crew while overlooking the Main River and vineyards on the hillside simply beautiful.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Around Paris
    by Eileen A. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable? For me the day we cycled through the city of Paris. We got to experience a very authentic side of Parisian life, zooming along the myriad of bike paths with the locals, enjoying the sights, sounds and smells and knowing we were in the capable hands of our guide. Having a guide removes all of the navigational stress and allows for the freedom to sit back and enjoy the ride.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Gary F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip, great barge, well organized, a list of fellow passengers for each cabin would have been helpful from the start
    Keep in mind the MPS Zwaantje does provide hairdryers for each cabin, provides WiFi- a truly upscale barge.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Michael S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There were so many great memories, but I really loved the town of Melk and all the little towns in the Wachau area that we passed through our last day. It was like biking through fairy land. Fall is the perfect time for sampling the local new wines. And our guide, Regina, was tops!! Can’t imagine a better tour guide!

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Cheryl H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip. Beautiful scenery and the boat staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Phyllis C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very pleasant trip. The route included portions along the river as well as through picturesque villages, farmland, and vineyards. Daily mileage was perfect for us casual riders. The last day of riding through the Wachau area was the most enjoyable; we wish there would have been more time to explore the tasting rooms and shops in Dürnstein.
    There was only a minor problem in communication with the tour director over the the time of an optional paid activity that several members of the group did not get to attend. I didn't feel the problem was addressed well.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Deirdre R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The biking, totally. It’s ok if your friend chooses not to ride, there are others en route who make it pleasant. The staff were overly attentive! So helpful

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Lindsay Z. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking the "Prague to Dresden - Tale of Two Rivers" trip was a very enjoyable experience. We enjoyed the lovely scenery and our hotels along the way. We liked biking at our own pace with our detailed route instructions. I have been highly recommending this trip since we returned home, and I can't wait to do another cycling adventure in the future.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laura W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Along the Danube Four-Country tour far surpassed our expectations. The cabins on the MS Carissima are more spacious than large cruise ship cabins I've had in the past. The food was truly amazing, and the chef endeavored to offer the option of a dish native to the country we were in each night. The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond for us.

    And then there was the scenery! It was simply breathtaking! The comfort bikes are appropriately named; so much so that I would love to buy one to replace the bike I have at home. Riding along the Danube was such a spectacular way to really get a feel for the country.

    We had two people in our group who elected not to bicycle, for health reasons, and they loved the trip too. Apparently, relaxing with a drink on the sun deck was another very pleasurable way to see things.

    I highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Mosel and Saar
    by Bob T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The opportunity to experience rural Germany close up was awesome and made even better with the efforts of our guide and crew.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time. The bike rides were so much fun with ferry rides and beautiful scenery. The staff on board were excellent. Food, OMG, it was fabulous and served so elegantly. They very graciously accommodated my gluten sensitivity. And we had two great parties. I have recommended this trip to many friends. What a great way to see the country.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jennifer G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on the bike/boat on the Danube.
    The guide Axel was terrific. He took us to some out of the way places. He offered suggestions. The ride was scenic and easy to ride. 90% if the bike paths were paved which made riding easy. The bicycle crew was awesome. The bike were lined up and ready to go each morning.
    The accommodation and food exceeded my expectation. Rooms were clean but walls between rooms are thin.
    We will definitely do another trip with Tripsite.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Steve S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery - Bruges was like a storybook. The food - The chef on our barge went out of her way to accommodate my family’s vegan requirements, and she did it with style.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • South Holland Tour
    by Ronerto R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Exciting bike and barge tour throughout Southern Holland. Definitely proclaiming a successful trip in a beautiful Holland. Safe and crew were very attentive and courteous.
    Felt mislead by bike insurance offerer by Tripsite. Later found out bike staff on the barge that if the bike was damaged I would have to pay upfront the amount of damage that I caused to the bike staff and then I can put a claim to the insurance by Tripsite which I would be reimbursed at that time This was a minor snafu and I was very disappointed about the misrepresentation when I was told the insurance would cover everything upon needing the coverage for bike damages.

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dale K. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We biked the Danube, 7 days departing Passau and had one of the best weeks ever. Our cabin was beyond what we expected and very comfortable. The tour director gave us great information for our following days cycle. The dining both breakfast and dinner couldn't be faulted.
    A peaceful, relaxing week, where we only had to think about the experience.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

PWPC