Bike Tour Reviews 301 to 330 of 3230

 

  • Best of Northern Zealand
    by David S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic bike trip with exceptional accommodations along the way. We noticed that we were given some of the best rooms at the hotels as the bike trippers are repeat customers of the hotels and the hotels strive to keep the bikers happy. We also noticed that we could check into the hotel upon arrival no matter what time we arrive while others had to wait until 3 or 4 pm which was the normal check in times at some of the hotels. Each of the breakfasts were outstanding with many many choices of hot and cold foods including some special diet selections at some.. We loved the freedom to choose our own location for lunch and dinner and to set are own start and finish times without the pressure of a group. That said, we did meet up with people in our group along the way and at breakfast that was nice. The GPS systems worked very well, accurately leading us down often hidden bike and dirt roads near but not on the main roads. We were rarely IN the same street as the cars travel. I am 73 Read more… and my wife is 60 with some but not a lot of biking experience.

    Countries: Denmark, Sweden

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Amanda S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best way to have a holiday - you do not have to think about logistics, unpack and enjoy:) The Carissima was awesome, our every need was taken care of - the staff were super friendly and the food amazing!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Peter B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Easy riding in a beautiful settling with a great group spirit. The boat was very comfortable and clean and the staff made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. Would recommend to anyone to have a look at this trip to see if it will suit them, all the information on the site was reliable and the experience was really enjoyable.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • The Elbe River and Prague
    by Lavonne B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My onboard experience was wonderful. The staff was awesome, very helpful and accommodating. The biking was quite an experience, a bit challenging at times due to some unpaved paths, however it was rewarding.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • The Elbe River and Prague
    by Kathleen S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat was very clean and spacious. The crew very friendly and accommodating. The food delicious and a good variety.
    The trails we rode on were not very good, however. A lot of pot holes and very narrow. We could not look around and enjoy the scenery as we had to keep our eye on where we were riding.

    It was a good experience for all of us.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Champagne Tour
    by Mark H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The general biking was above average , with some awesome sites visited.
    As far as the accommodation was concerned this was below average.
    Although the space was confined more emphasis could have been done to the quality and hospitality of stay.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Tom H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It's a great trip along the upper Danube there are some gravely bits and some places where the path was not always 100% obvious. This is a relatively easy bike ride to do the paved sections are great and the countryside and river views are beautiful.we were happy with most of the hotels and pensiones that we stayed in the food was really fun and good. some of the hotels were allowed if you had a room on the roadside so earplugs would be useful some of the directions getting into the cities were obscure so be ready to have your phone handy or some other mapping app.

    Countries: Germany

  • Istria
    by John C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Istria trip was excellent with beautiful seascapes, winding roads through the unfolding countryside. The attitude varied from sea level up to a max of 420m and was very manageable, as the bike were in good working order.

    Our guide Ina was very informative and attentive and provided updated advice on eating options. The crew of the Taron was friendly and the meals were delicious.

    Boat: Tarin

    Countries: Croatia

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Kap R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I and my wife took 7 days bike trip from Porto to Santiago De Compostela. We had a very wonderful experience and saw amazingly beautiful scenery. It was a very good hotel and accommodation was fantastic.
    7 Days, non-stop biking was a little tough. I like to suggest that 3 days bike and one day break time if a course is hard.

    Soaking wet, but we have a great time....

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lou O. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were absolutely world-class in all respects: knowledgeable, safe, proactive and TOTALLY guest-oriented. Is there a description more favorable that "FANTASTIC?!"

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • London to Amsterdam or Amsterdam to London Bike Tour
    by Cindy S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    London to Amsterdam was a great trip. Beautiful scenery especially along the North Sea and canals and farmland of Holland.hotels were unique but comfortable. Breakfast was always good. Dinners were good but more variety needed in menu choices. Loved the ferry from Dover to Dunkirk and all the small towns we rode through. There were 12 of us plus 6 others on the self- guided which made for a lively and interesting, diverse group.
    What was disappointing and could be improved was communication from the guide. Very little information was given ahead of time as to what was next and no information about the towns history, culture and facts regarding where we were. This would have made the trip more enjoyable and interesting.

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Kathleen S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a magical evening on the magnifique II when one of our guides "Hester" performed an Oboe concert for all of us. Hester is a professional musician & shared her amazing talent with all of us. It was a beautiful night on the water, the boat was lit with candles & we all listened with awe & appreciation as Hester performed for us. We were in this intimate setting, with new friends, listening to live, gorgeous classical music. We looked around & thought wow- This is truly "Heaven on Earth" "A pinch me moment" What a memorable night!!! We can't wait to go another Magnifique adventure with Tripsite.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Wendy R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great way to see four capital cities (Bratislava, Belgrade, Budapest and Vienna as well as get in 10 days of cycling! It's also fairly low mileage (less than 35 miles per day) but training to prepare is still a must. The scenery is very nice and it is about half on roads - mostly slower village streets. The group of people we dined with and rode with were all terrific and we all worked together to find our way since our tour was unguided. The days when you visit the cities can be a little overwhelming - so my advice is to pick one or two things you really want to see beforehand and focus on getting to those. At least in the summer the crowds were large in Vienna, Budapest and Bratislava. As for boat living - the dinners were tasty and served by a friendly staff each evening but I'm vegetarian so I had much more of a struggle with getting any protein. I would have also appreciated a little variety with the breakfasts and lunches. My advice also is to avoid Read more… the hotter weather months like July or August - we had days of over 90 degrees which made cycling tough - but the Theodor Korner is not well air conditioned either. Overall it was a nice trip and certainly the staff was terrific!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour
    by Marlene Z. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through the dunes of the North Sea is incredible. The rental bike is a heavy Dutch model and it is windy so you make like an e bike. The fresh herring and fish are amazing. Also there is bus 385 that runs from train in Voorhout to Noordwijk for 2 euro 20. So you don't need that 20 euro cab.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • London to Amsterdam or Amsterdam to London Bike Tour
    by Ed Carroll 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did this "guided" bike tour from London to Amsterdam. There are many areas where improvement is needed.

    We weren't given a map or App of the biking route as promised. We rode through many villages, resorts and towns from Dunkirk to Amsterdam but were not told the names of the towns, or the history of the towns - and we stopped only for "coffee breaks". When we asked what town we were in for the coffee breaks the guide was unable to tell us. We either used google maps or asked strangers where we were. Also, we biked past notable places of interest like the beach in Dunkirk where British troops were rescued during WWII - and the Dover Castle - but never stopped - even to take pictures. It was all about getting to the next hotel in time for dinner.

    We weren't told the hotel we were staying in until we arrived at the hotel. We usually arrived at the hotel around 6pm and had little time to turn in our bikes for the night, get our Read more… luggage, unpack, shower, change clothes and get ready for dinner by 8pm which usually lasted over two hours. And then we started early the next day - to get to our hotel for the next night.

    Overall it is a "forced march" from London to Amsterdam. If you want to bike 344Km then I suggest you just go and bike 344Km for the exercise on a route most convenient to you because that is what this is. Or, take the self-guided tour which is cheaper and includes maps and the App and you can sight-see and take time to enjoy the country-side you are biking through.

    The online website says "You will receive a code to download the maps, itinerary, points of interest, services and GPS position on your smartphone or GPS device. The App provides GPS tracks to be used offline. Paper copies of the route are available with supplement of €15." When I asked for the map or the App I was told they were only available to self-guided participants and that I should use GPS to figure out where we were at any given point. But that is not what the website says/said. As it is, we have no map or record of the route we biked or the towns we passed through. I would not recommend this "tour" to anyone.

    PS. Do not interpret this critique as a criticism of the people who guided this tour. The people who guided us were patient, kind, personal, friendly and professional....in my opinion they had/have no impact on how this tour is/was deigned.

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Nicky P. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Melody boat was absolutely spectacular- the crew, the food, the rooms and our outstanding tour guides, Toni and Willi. The riding and the islands were fabulous. Ensure you take the advice for an e-bike. The KMs may not seem high, but they have a lot of long steep hills, which I loved and it gave everyone a great workout to enjoy the delicious food.
    We had lots of great daily swim stops, with the ability to dive in off the back of the boat.
    I highly recommend this trip!!!

    Boat: Melody

    Countries: Croatia

  • Poland’s Lake District
    by jean h. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The sandy and gravelly trails that we rode through the forests...I felt that the rating of easy to moderate was not quite accurate. I had such a good experience on my first bike trip from Bruges to Amsterdam on a regular bike. But I wouldn't have been able to do this one if I didn't have an e-bike. I even stayed on the boat the 4th and
    6th days. Also, on the Bruges trip, coffee, tea, water, and even hot chocolate we're always available. But on this trip, you even had to buy your water at dinner. The breakfasts and dinners were both good everyday and the salads were especially delicious. If this was my first trip, there wouldn't have been a second. Maybe if I didn't have the Bruges trip to compare it to, I would have been more satisfied with this one.

    Boat: MS Classic Lady

    Countries: Poland

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Amanda H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a great holiday, wonderful way to see the country. Equipment and resources were perfect. A friendly, helpful and conscientious crew on board made our stay truly luxurious. Tamy and Carla were fantastic tour guides. Would thoroughly recommend this trip - holiday of a lifetime for me!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Multi-Adventure Tour from Trogir
    by Rob H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Multi-Adventure tour was amazing.Everything from our arrival to departure was very well organized.
    The Princess Diana ship that we were on was spectacular with comfy large cabins & the food that came out of the small kitchen was unbelievable.
    Every day there were options of things to do so it kept everyone as busy or as relaxed as they wanted to be.
    The cycling through vineyards to a beach for a swim was one of our favourite days but we also liked the option to go for a walk explore the towns after dinner.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Donna A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on board made this trip a vacation of a lifetime. The boat was more like a 4 star hotel than a ‘barge’. The food on board was delicious and nutritious. Served with flair and by happy, considerate waitstaff. The only improvement in the dining would be a better selection of wines for purchase to go along with the evening dinners. The scenery on this trip was gorgeous! Everything from beautiful rural pastures, to stunning historic villages. The cycling was relatively easy and most of it was on cycle paths. Unlike Florida, cyclists are respected and given the right of way. Our tour guides were helpful and just downright fun!! Even joining in for singalongs in the evening.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Paula G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The history and the countryside was fantastic. Need work with maps - took us over an hour to find the hotel in Dresden as we were never given a city map of Dresden with hotels marked as other cities. Do not recommend dinner package as fixed menu at some of restaurants was not very good.

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Susan P. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Gosh! There were so many! It is truly the best and most immersive way to experience the Netherlands and Belgium .... cyling along canals ... seeing beautiful gardens and flowers ...sheep, cows and horses ... beautiful architecture, and of course windmills. It was like a fairytale! Having different levels/lengths of cycle each day was good ... We liked the evening walks to see more of the town we were moored at. The staff on the boat were amazing ... all so kind and attentive. Special thanks to Marnik - so sweet and great with the guests (including my 20 year old son and step daughter). Congrats to Marnik who I believe will be captain soon - he deserves it! Let us know when he is captain so we can do his trip! Our cycling tour guides - Tom and Wilmie - were superb! They were knowledgable and handled the different levels of cycling ability well. The food on the barge was spectacular! The Chef was so sweet and talented - she even got me some gluten free bread and bars for my lunch.
    Read more… >Honestly, this is one of the best trips I have done! I liked being active and seeing different things, but do not like to have to worry about food. This trip satisfied all my needs, and the cabins were clean and comfortable.
    I am a travel advisor/planner/designer and I will definitely promote (have started already) your trips! It is easy to promote something you believe in. Thank you for an amazing experience!!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Libby Stupak 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did the Cochem to Metz boat bike tour on the Quo Vadis August 3-10, 2019. The boat itself exceeded my expectation, as did the captain (owner of the boat), his family and the crew. Out bike guides, Ferry and John, were exceptional and so personal. Their knowledge of the area was great. I'm an avid biker for both recreation and commuting so the bike provided took a little getting used to. Also I'm quite short so could have used a bit smaller bike, but it worked out. Daily mileage was perfect which allowed us to see the sites and make stops. The food was fantastic, the scenery along the Mosel so beautiful. The stops we made each day were perfect and the time we were able to spend in Saarburg, Trier and Metz was great. I felt the attention paid to our having a great trip was exceptional. I booked my trip through Eurosail, and there were many blips in that process with that company, but in the end it all seemed to work out OK.

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Allen A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge and crew were amazing as were the bike guides. I would not change a thing.

    However . . . the bikes were horrid and it was a bike trip! They were dated . . . poorly maintained . . . and dangerous. I had a piece of my front fender break and get stuck between my spokes in the front tire. I could have been badly injured if not going so slow through construction. I would think a "bike" trip would offer much better bikes in the future. I would not recommend this trip to friends because of the bikes . . . everything else was top notch . . . the food, the staff, the rooms, the bar . . . too bad about the bikes not meeting expectations.

    Boat: Iris

    • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Allen,
      Thank you so much for sharing this feedback. The bikes used on this trip are serviced every week to ensure each bike is fit for the road. Our local partner would have gladly repaired or replaced the bike for you if it was brought to their attention. I hope that despite this issue, you still had a good time.

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Donna Martin 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on the Quo Vadis could not have been more accommodating,
    Helpful, or fun. Our two bicycling guides, Ferry and John, were excellent and went out of their way to make this trip enjoyable for all. I wholeheartedly recommend this boat
    and this trip.

PWPC