Bike Tour Reviews 211 to 240 of 3386

 

  • Poland’s Lake District
    by Patsy V. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Seeing Warsaw and the Poland Lake District, places that few Americans go, was on my list to see. Warsaw was a pleasant surprise with free walking tours in English of the old city restoration. The lakes are scenic and the forests around them lovely. Historically they have been a significant element of Poland's past. The biking was challenging for traditional road bikers but offered a new experience in off-road trails.

    Boat: MS Classic Lady

    Countries: Poland

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Kent H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience was just tremendous. Cruising on the Feniks, peddling through the countryside of Belgium and France, stopping at cafes and chateaus. The sail into Paris was unforgettable. We thoroughly enjoyed our fellow cyclists, our guides, and our on board chef Nelleke was a great cook and a valuable resource.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Guilherme G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Maps must be improved.
    We got lost more than one time.
    The signs are very poor in many places.
    Local people are not used to the signs used in the bike route used in the maps. So they could not help us.

    The first day of the trip is too long. It would be better to do it in two days.

    The normal package hotels are not good. For few cities we payed for upgrade hotels. This ones were very nice.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Gerald W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I travelled with my 13 year old granddaughter .I must congratulate the crew on how they treated her on the day she did not feel well .Becuase she is a Celiac the crew and especially the chef made sure that at every meal there was a substitute.if needed. The ride distances were a concern of mine but as it turned out the ride distances were as stated. Becuase of the crew this was a worry free week for me.
    .

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Donna H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was exciting getting on our bikes in the morning and heading out to new places each day. The GPS was super easy to follow and we had plenty of time to stop along the way. It was lovely coming back to the barge in the afternoon where the crew greeted us and ice cold water with mint/lemon/herbs and treats awaited us. We also lived heading out in the evening for walking tours of beautiful cities, and one evening got to go on a canal tour too. The food was fantastic and plentiful. The dinners were beautifully presented. Fresh orange juice and really great coffee in the morning. Loved our trip and looking forward to booking another one.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Berlin to Malchin
    by Edward R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was great! The food was prepared by the wife of the captain and it was delicious. The tours were well planned and excellent. We rode 170 miles in 6-days and this is the first time I actually lost weight on a vacation trip. They preferred the tips for the crew to be paid in cash (Euros). Would definitely do another bike and barge again. The attitude, experience and knowledge of the captain and crew of the bike and barge definitely makes or breaks a vacation like this one, but the captain and crew of the Merlin were excellent!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Gill and Martin C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I travelled around the world from New Zealand to participate in this bike/barge trip - and that long journey was well worth it! EVERYTHING about the experience was first class and could not be faulted; the tour leader and cooking staff, the on board catering, the accommodation on the Vita Pugna, the e-bikes and the scenery were fabulous - and the two extra aspects to the trip (the weather and our fellow guests!) were also the best!
    As a result of the comments above, we will be thoroughly recommending this trip, through Tripsite, to anyone interested in this type of holiday......

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Samantha C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was an amazing trip. The MS Carissima was very comfortable, the people were lovely, very helpful and friendly . The food was very varied to fit in with the countries and was always delicious . The cycle routes were leisurely and the scenery beautiful . We made life- long friends and had a wonderful time .

    Boat: Carissima

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by John and Deborah R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The crew on the "Sarah" were fantastic, the meals amazing, the cycling through the countryside
    was unforgettable. Would recommend trip to anyone wanting a friendly, relaxing cycling tour.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Loire Valley - Tours to Angers
    by Anette Lie B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful landscape in the Loire Valley and the picturesque towns of Chinon and Azay le Rideau made this trip a wonderful experience that I would warmly recommend everyone! The bikes had high quality and the hotels were all great.Everything went smoothly and everyone was very helpful. I will definitely come back some day.

    Countries: France

  • North Holland Tour
    by Gertie B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A perfect experience - great staff - very flexible - excellent meals

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Vera S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My sister and I made this trip in may this year. We love this tour. Everything was perfect, the GPS Works well , The hotels were excelent . We recomend this tour.
    The most memorable part of this trip was the differents and wonderful landscapes all the way.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kerrie G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the opportunity to cycle along the Danube and see more of the countryside and visit the small towns. Could have done without the wind though! Need to be prepared for all kinds of weather in October. Each day was different - Vienna and Budapest were amazing to visit (once again!).

    Boat: Carissima

  • Super Tulip Tour
    by Carla J. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This tour has everything for cyclists -- whether you are in shape or not. Highlights of this trip are the route that allow participants to see historic Dutch towns, as well as beautiful countryside. The staff went out of their way to provide a comfortable experience. Our chef Allette's cuisine was gourmet, and portions were substantial. Self-serve tea and cookies were available between meals, and sandwich makings were provided for picnics on the cycling route. Our tour guide Bert kept us on schedule while considering the pace of slower riders.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Hamilton C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike trips is very easy and fantastic.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Debra B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge trip of the Netherlands was incredible...much more than I had anticipated. Biking through the fields and canals brought us enchanting views of geese, sheep, cows, horses, swans, charming houses and villages, not to mention the tulips! The pace was perfect, and the diversity of each day well chosen. We enjoyed an excellent array of gourmet food and the laughing companionship of new friends from different countries. Our tour guides were full of information and made us feel safe on our travels. Lodging was very comfortable and private. After hearing me rave about this trip, several of my friends now want to take it too!

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Paradise in Portugal
    by Andy Z. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was an excellent experience for my first time visiting Portugal. What a truly fantastic way to explore and discover the historic attractions. I couldn't have been more impressed with the tour guides, and overall the service was first class. Thanks to Mario and Jorge for making this such an enjoyable trip. My only complaint was that I didn't have more time to spend, two days of riding was not nearly enough. I will be back to fix that as soon as I can!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Dianne A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The second tour I joined Sergio and his team on was the Silver Coast tour of Portugal from Porto to Coimbra. It was stunningly beautiful along the never-ending boardwalks following the coast. This tour is very flat but very enjoyable, the breathtaking coastline of Portugal is definitely worth seeing. Our group managed each day’s cycling limit very easily and Sergio and Henrique are always very attentive, caring and totally devoted to making each client enjoy their holiday to the utmost. There was never anything that was a problem to them and they went beyond what I would ever have expected of them. Each meal was amazing, each day was fun and I just wish Sergio all the very best in his future because he was the most fantastic guide.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by William W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Lovely and well organized trip by Sergio and Santiago from Porto to Santiago

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Cindy L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I cannot say enough about this trip. The entire experience was amazing. We were on the Sailing Home which is beautifully appointed and the rooms are small but quite comfortable. The crew made sure that our every need was met. We got caught in a bad rain storm one afternoon and when we arrived back at the boat we were greeted by the crew with baskets for our wet shoes and jackets to dry everything for us before the next day. The food was amazing, every meal was 5 stars and the chef was not only talented, but charming! Our tour guide, Seitse, was a true scholar who loves his country and is proud to share his knowledge of the land, the people and the rich history. Every night he offered walking tours through the town for anyone who was interested. We saw the country up close and personal, riding through the fields, towns and neighborhoods in a way we we could not have done without the bikes and our guide. We will definitely do another trip, however the next one will have a lot to Read more… live up to!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Shelly B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My friends and I had a wonderful time on the Bordeaux Bike and Boat Tour! The bike rides were like riding in a postcard! The boat was very comfortable. The meals were delicious and based on the region! There was a wide variety of wine available at a very reasonable price! The crew were all extremely polite, pleasant, and helpful! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to do a boat and bike tour!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Rita W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The warm companionship of the trip leader and staff on the boat was outstanding as well as the fabulous meals taken from local/seasonal sources. Bikes were kept in top working condition, the trails and tours followed scenic and cultural experiences, and the leader's interaction with the local people made for a most genuine and memorable trip.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Tom E. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was perfect - the biking, the people, the food and the sites.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • South Holland Tour
    by Tracy v. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a retirement celebration for my husband. We were a total of 8 family members. The Liza Marleen was a great boat- food was marvelous and our tour guide superb. Out 16 mo old grandson was accommodated for and I must say our fellow passengers were the kindest bunch we could have hoped for. It’s hard traveling with babies-but we could not imagine the vacation without him

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Siem Reap to Saigon
    by Molly M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip was great, especially our guides. They worked very hard to make sure everyone’s needs were met. The ride itself was easy - very flat. Heat and humidity, cleanliness were challenges.
    My biggest complaint would be the size of the group. 15 people was too large.

    Countries: Cambodia, Vietnam

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Diane F. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I took the Bordeaux bike and barge trip the first week of September 2019. I am comparing it to the Danube bike & barge trip I took in October 2017 via Tripsite. The Danube trip was great all the way around, good food, nice dining service, white linen, well cooked and good variety of food. Excellent value for the money. The itinerary, guides, and crew service were great. The Bordeaux trip on MS Bordeaux held great expectations. The itinerary and scenery were fantastic. The quality and variety of food needed a lot of work. The morning coffee was dreadful each day, and there were no proper coffee mugs, teacups or teapots. Paper placemats did not add to the breakfast atmosphere. We were offered the same overcooked eggs each morning. One morning garlic carrots were on offer. Our make yourself lunches were exactly the same ingredients each day. The dinners were often overcooked with a complete lack of fresh greens or fresh market cheeses. In fact, the cheeses on offer each morning were Read more… pre-sliced cheese. This is not what one expects in France.
    So the food was very disappointing for the price we paid for this trip. The food servers were very friendly and worked hard to please. The bike mechanic was great and solved any issues we had with the bikes. The captain of MS Bordeaux was always impatient and gruff with passengers as we disembarked each day. On the Danube trip, the staff ensured the bikes were on land for us each day. The GPS's in Bordeaux did not work most of the time and the maps in the books need updating - this is a comment that has been in the Bordeaux reviews for several years now. A team discussion and group effort allowed us to find our way.
    The most disappointing aspect of the trip is that my concerns were expressed to Tripsite and left unanswered for over a month until I called Tripsite back, and nothing was resolved for me. Just be sure to evaluate if the quality of food and customer service are an important part of your trip - otherwise, enjoy the great rides!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Brenda R. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew and service provided by our crew on the Anna Antal was excellent. Mijintje (Marianne) our tour leader was a National guide and provided a well paced, safe and lovely route, pointing out important and interesting sites in towns along the way. In the evening Marianne offered activities from walking tours, to an art gallery and a fun group sing song. Nicole our chef was superb offering delicious breakfast and 3 course dinner meals...even provided a rice table for our final evening.
    Most memorable was cycling on the fantastic array of paths winding along canals, rivers and through forests, pastures and towns made enjoyable by the excellent bikes provided to us. The view from the changed from day to day. The homes along the route were well maintained and occupants seemed to take pride in showing something of beauty in the front windows such as bright flower bouquets, vases or pictures. A terrific bike and barge experience!

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by beverly l. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Boating on the Harmonia and biking on six islands (Dalmatia) was magic! The natural beauty of the islands and the sea combined with the tours of the islands provided great adventure for each day. Appreciated our outstanding tour guides (Mikhail & Carlos) who were passionate & knowledgeable about their country and shared this in an informative, fun manner. They set a "comfortable" tone on the trip and were always willing to help in any way possible. Bar manager/kitchen supervisor was excellent and friendly too. Delicious food. Enjoyed meeting the captain and the other crew members. It was great boating and very interesting docking at each of the islands-appreciated the skills of the captain & crew. Thank you for a memorable trip!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Merzig to Cochem
    by Lynda A. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Relaxing cycling through vineyards, watching the grapes being harvested and visiting the villages and castles aling the way

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

PWPC