Bike Tour Reviews 331 to 360 of 3392

 

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dennis H 6 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Theodor Korner is an older boat. A little loud sometimes with the bedrooms a little small. Otherwise, the dining room, the lounge, other areas – all were fine. The meals, both breakfast and dinner, were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. And the tours, whether guided or on your own, were very-well organized and led.

    One problem with the Bike and Boat tour – the bikes. I do not consider them well-maintained. Mine had bad brakes and wobbly steering, leading to accidents. And the “sailors” responsible for maintaining them did not seem to have much of an interest in doing so. They were the least helpful people on the boat; it wasn’t even close.

    Would I go on another B&B tour? Yes, overall it was a lot of fun. Would I take the Theodor Korner? Maybe. Would I recommend that a biker INSIST upon a good working bike – no matter what you have to do, who you have to talk to? Absolutely.
    And good luck on your trip.

  • Lake Constance to Interlaken Bike Tour
    by Corrine G. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The views and the people were fantastic! Our luggage arrived before us every time! Hotels were fantastic! Bike people were very informative!

    Countries: Switzerland

  • Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
    by Stan and Nancy H. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was fabulous, very scenic and the ebikes were perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip although we went at a time when the vineyards were mainly closed for harvest. We made our own picnic lunches along the way or stopped at local pubs and restaurants for lunch and wine. The written directional instructions were very helpful, as were the gps tracks. Julian, our local coordinator was very helpful in resolving a small glitch with our first hotel. All the hotels were great, and the restaurants and food were generally quite good, even though our dinner selections were limited to a few choices. Of the towns we stayed in, Colmar and Kayersburg were the best! The dessert in the Colmar Grand Hotel Bristol was memorably fantastic. The restaurant we were sent to in Basel was rather mediocre and disappointing given what we had pre-paid, especially the horrible cup of fruit cocktail we were given for dessert ( not even on the menu!) The vineyards ended before Mulhouse, which seemed like Read more… a very industrial city. And although the scenery into Basel was lovely with rolling hills (ebikes saved the day!) Basel itself was just okay. We would probably skip the Mulhouse-Basel part of the trip if we were to do it again. We would prefer in future to spend more time in Colmar and smaller villages like Kayersburg.

    Countries: France, Switzerland

  • North Holland Tour
    by LEONIDAS ROUSSINOS 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have completed many boat and bike tours all through TripSite who have always done an outstanding job to make sure the customers get their information on time. Carla and her team do a great job.
    The North Holland tour is the least desirable tour to choose for a number of reasons.
    The De Holland boat is the least agreeable thing to ever float on a river, a box with no charm at all. On the other hand the cabins inside even though they are small, they are clean and the bathrooms are fitted nicely and roomy. It also has a decent deck from where to enjoy the view when in port or sailing.
    The administration of this company are not doing themselves any favours. They have cut down the crew to the level that they are unable to properly serve their customers. The persons working as crew on this boat are killing themselves to provide the best service possible without much success most of the time. Just not enough people to do the jobs. Furthermore if you plan to charge for WiFi Read more… service you are simply daft by asking for the 10 euros for the week. Just up the trip price and tell everyone WiFi is FREE. What a a bargain! Nickel and dimeing your customers is a poor way of doing business. Also changing the itinerary in order to save fuel is a disservice to your customers. The excuse that the boat is not able to dock at Ouderchild on Texel is rubbish as they have been doing it before and cycling through the harbour there, we saw no difference to facilities or space than all the other docking places we did dock at. So boat wise and management wise this trip is poor.
    However, the guide person was outstanding. She knew everything about the area and the routes and she was soooooo patient she was great! The day (Day 3) of cycling the dunes east of Alkmaar can easily be deleted. There is little to see and of very little interest to almost all the riders we spoke with. It is far more interesting to cycle in Alkmaar city and explore the city museums and other historical venues than riding the dusty windy dunes. The most interesting cities visited are Alkmaar, Enkhuisen and Volendam.
    The food on board was adequate but nothing special or even Dutch. Not a single Dutch meal or treat was offered during the week. Then the issue with the coffee and cake time upon return after a day of cycling. Are they nuts or what? One day coffee time is 4 to 5 pm. The next day 3:30 to 4:30 and the next day different again. Get real and set the time 3:30 to 5:00 and get on with life. No need to confuse things and have people expect a cup of coffee and then find out that the time was earlier today. Really?
    Asking for ice in the water was like asking for gold plated silverware. One napkin per person like napkins are a euro each. Are you kidding? Put a napkin holder on each table like every where else. What is this 1910 world paper shortage or are you pretending to be the world leader in paper napkin savings??
    The bikes were of top quality and well maintained. The crew that was looking after the bikes were there when you needed them and helped everyone to make sure the bikes were set up properly and safe for them. First Class service.
    What is great about these trips? The people you meet and the fun things that happen during the tour. The fun places you meet strangers and have lunch with, the help you may get or give on the way to a destination and memories that stay behind. I am afraid to say this trip was short on great memories, but some nevertheless. Perhaps another boat and this trip could have been a better one.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Krystyna s. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was well organized once we got there. The guides and staff on the boat were great. The booking agent for Tripsite was extremely poor. I had a gluten allergy (I'm a celiac) and I informed her of this allergy 8 months prior to the trip. The month before the trip it became a huge concern that the boat could not accommodate my allergy when your website claims differently. The agent told me that Croatia is not aware of gluten free food and it would be near impossible to help me. As a result I purchased a huge amount of food to bring with me and had to check extra baggage to accommodate this $75 each way. When I got there, I noticed that virtually every food store had a huge selection of GF food, even the smallest ports had GF items. The agent clearly did not know what she was talking about, I am very dissatisfied at the huge grievance she caused me, the extra baggage I had to bring and the hassle and cloud she put on me. I did not appreciate this at all. It is curious to me Read more… that on your rating form you do not provide me with any place to rate the booking experience. That's what needs the most attention.

    Boat: Kapetan Jure

    Countries: Croatia

    • National Parks of Dalmatia
      by Carla from Tripsite 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Krystyna,
      I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your tour!
      I am sorry you were not pleased with my service, however I do not feel your description of our correspondence is accurate. Please review our email exchanges again. I never told you that Croatia was not aware of gluten free meals. We had recently become aware of a serious issue with gluten intolerance, and hence, emailed you regarding your request. I informed you several times that the boat COULD accommodate gluten free meals, however if your disease was serious enough that separate pans and cutlery must be used to avoid residue, we could not accommodate that request.
      My intention was only to be safe and take care of you the best way possible.

      Countries: Croatia

  • Normandy
    by Michael C. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a truly outstanding tour. Excellent routes found for cycling and gave the chance to see the beaches and really understand the way the Normandy Invasion unfolded and how big the area involved in this incredible event in history was.

    A seemless trip where our biggest concern was where to get our next cup of coffee as we meandered across the countryside.

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Carol T. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have visited Amsterdam 3x so was well acquainted with the City, but for someone who has never been there before I would strongly recommend they plan extra time before or after the trip to Explore

    I loved Brugge and had never visit before I wish I had allowed more days there

    Packed smartly but the key is layers & several bike shorts/capri's as the weather is changeable

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Gerald M. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best memory of the trip was a spectacular meal at Auberge de la labourer in Chenonceaux. They were fully booked but set up a table in the bar and gave us the full restaurant menu. It’s a great restaurant and the extra work the staff put in added to the experience.

    We had two complaints. First, neither of our odometers worked so we had no way of measuring distance. This meant constantly stopping and checking to make sure we were on the right way.

    Second, the directions to get to Cour Chevigny had one massive error. When we came off the trail and onto Route 52 the directions said to turn right, go to the roundabout, and follow the sign to Route D102. There is no such sign. The only sign to Cour Chevigny is for Route 52, the road we were already on. So, thanks to some help, we turned around, followed route 52 for five kilometres and came right to our hotel. THIS SHOULD BE FIXED.

    Countries: France

    • Castles of the Loire
      by Carla from Tripsite 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Gerald - thanks so much for taking the time to submit your feedback.
      We really appreciate the advice about the misguidance on the route descriptions. We will certainly have it fixed! I also wanted to mention we have GPS tracks for this tour and many other tours, in case you want to avoid the adventure of getting lost in the future.
      Lastly, regarding odometers, I am so sorry they did not work for you. Did you call our local shop to have them fixed? They normally have 5-star service when it comes to fixing bikes.
      Thanks again for your feedback!

      Countries: France

  • Mosel and Saar
    by Randall O. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed everything about this tour - great accommodations on the Zwaan, wonderful meals, outstanding staff, and beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Richard R. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The use of e-bikes allowed us to make this trip. As "flatlanders" we were able to enjoy the magnificent scenery and majestic views as we traversed the extremely hilly islands. Croatia is a very beautiful country and the availability of fresh seafood is wonderful. The guides were more than helpful and knowledgeable. They had a great sense of humor. The crew was friendly and attentive and the food was plentiful, excellently prepared and presented..
    The only disappointments were that there wasn't any shower gel provided which made for a last minute purchase before departure. The other being that have been on many bike-boat tours and coffee, tea, and water(hot and cold) have always been provided at no charge. It is not so on the Harmonia. With the exception of breakfast, all had to be purchased. Despite this, we had a wonderful time.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Mosel and Saar
    by Stephen M. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great trip - many great memories. Most memorable? - I rated it a 4 because we were stuck with the bow cabin on the Zwaan and no one should be given that cabin if they don't expressly want it - too small and too difficult to get in and out - and a much different standard than the other cabins on the boat. We are two taller, older people and the least suited for that cabin, but because we were the last to board we were stuck with it. We were told by Tripsite that we were getting a different cabin but that didn't happen.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

  • Halkidiki Peninsula
    by Grant B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great trip! Awesome beaches and food! This is where the locals in Thessaloniki come to relax. The route was pretty flat (days 1 and 4 were somewhat hilly, but totally manageable). Roads were good with wide shoulders and less traffic.

    Countries: Greece

  • Halkidiki Peninsula
    by Thomas W. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was outstanding and very reasonably priced. The people were so friendly and were very happy to answer any questions that we had. The biking was spectacular and the beaches were indescribably wonderful. We had plenty of biking up hills and then spending time on the beach swimming and sun bathing. The hotels that we stayed at were all excellent and offered us great relaxation and sleep; in a few cases our own private beach as well! Our guide, Nick, was extremely good, and was always available for questions, meeting points along the routes and recommendations for restaurants. Our group would highly recommend this trip to anyone.

    Countries: Greece

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Norma T. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Dalmatia as yet unspoiled, clear water harbors with exception of Old City Dubrovnik few tourists, but even there clean beaches, shoreline, city streets. We have taken 6 European bike/barge with TripSite, Harmonia was first on open sea, boat spectacular, crew, guides, as Dalmatia, spectacular! Biking was exhilarating and challenging. Local city guides informative, a highpoint for me was visit and lecture at 2/4 year college in Pucisca where stone mason skills, sculpture was being taught, student lecturer was inspiring.
    Do not miss this bike/barge.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Paul L. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Croatian cycling cruise was fantastic. Well organized,excellent your guides and a clean and well appointed ship. Would highly recommend. It was an active,fun filled vacation.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Linda K. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bicycling was fabulous. The rides were thoroughly planned, well paced, varried and beautiful. The ebikes made the routes easy to navagate.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Umbria
    by Catherine T. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We did the five day/four night tour and it was the highlight of our European holiday. Tripsite were easy and efficient to deal with throughout the booking process, and the team on the ground were also helpful and instructions were easy to follow and detailed. Most of the riding was on country roads, some quite busy, however drivers were generally considerate. Would definitely recommend doing the additional side excursions to towns even if it means an uphill climb. And for that reason would also recommend an e-bike unless you're a regular cyclist.

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janice M. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Danube 4-Country bike and boat tour, Our ship the Carissima was very comfortable and the staff were great. The food was amazing- beautifully prepared and good variety for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. The bike trails were easy to follow for the most part and the scenery spectacular. We had so many memorable moments. One of the highlights were the bonds we formed with our fellow passengers. We got to meet some terrific people who became instant friends and who we will stay in touch with.
    My only suggestion would be to provide easier trail maps and directions. The briefings were helpful, but hard to remember all the details. Finding our way at times was a comedy of errors and we muddled through with other fellow riders. I guess all part of the experience.
    Overall an amazing trip and would highly recommend to others.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Teresa I. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling was a fantastic way to experience and travel threw the Czech Republic to Germany. A big thank you to our tour leader Vítek and his crew for taking such good care of the group.

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Malcolm H. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I are biking enthusiasts and found this trip very exciting. But be forewarned it is a challenging ride and if your not riding a lot I'd recommend an e-bike. The guides were great, food was also great. We upgraded to a top cabin and found it very comfortable. Late Sept. weather was in the low 80's and sunny most days. My only negative was the bar bill and water bill were collected at the end of the trip and no credit card was accepted, cash only. I'd wrap the water bill into the price of the trip and collect the bar bill on a credit card. We also signed up for the "extension trip" which was two additional nights. We found this part of the trip poorly planned and a real disappointment.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by John C. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was a joy.

    Our guides Vee Tex, Harvel and Jara were both enthusiatic and knowledgable about the route, the landscape and the history.

    The accommodation on the trip was great, varying from a former manor house, country village hotels and more contemporary funky locations.

    My fellow cyclists were companionable and talkative with people from Canada, USA , Australia and Germany.

    The route was managable, and consisted of around 80-85% level/easy inclines along old toll paths or the old rail track, and usually 5-6 hours per day ranging from 25 to 50 klms per day.

    Highlights for me were Prague, Litmorvice, Terezina, the mountain hike to the stone bridge - (worth every upward step!), plus I spent two nights in Dresden - and encountered striking buildings, excellent food (think pork knuckle in dark beer), easy of movement through a well organised transport system.

    Would I recommend this trip? Yes, and if apprehensive about the length of the daily Read more… rides - there are e-bike available at reasonable prices, a boon for perhaps the less experienced and those allied to cycling devotees so they can join the fun.

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Catherine Ann H. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling through historic monuments and the Camargue wilderness was magnificent!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Istria
    by Joseph T. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everyday's ride was fun and full of beautiful sights led by terrific guides. The routes took us along the incredible Adriatic coast and to charming interior villages where we mingled and laughed with local folks while enjoying delicious food both on and off the boat.

    Boat: Tarin

    Countries: Croatia

  • Puglia - Heel of Italy
    by Richard r. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This tour was not my first choice, but I am happy I did it. The ride was along the beautiful Adriatic coast, the accommodations were great, the food was terrific. To make the package complete the guide, who is a part owner of the tour company, was outstanding. One of the best tours I have done.

    Countries: Italy

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Meg C. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was when we got close to Amsterdam and were cycling with the canals on one side which had gorgeous beautifully maintained gardens and farmland on the other. This was a spectacular view which offered us the quietness of the country road to cycle on with just beauty to take in.

    Boat: Magnifique (Princesse Royal)

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Classic Basque Country
    by Terry C. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Classic Basque Country tour was well organized with excellent support. Northern Spain presents beautiful countryside, lovely villages and cities....very pretty. We enjoyed the whole experience.
    This was billed as a "moderate"tour. Many of the climbs and long daily cycles suggested (to me) the tour should be described as moderate-difficult.
    We had GPS tracks; could not have easily found our way if we had to rely on paper maps.
    Iberocycle ran an excellent tour.

    Countries: Spain

PWPC