Bike Tour Reviews 181 to 210 of 3391

 

  • Auxerre to Paris
    by Cecilia C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour was beautiful but I don’t know if there was a misunderstanding in communication I had believed the bike riding was mild rides and not so advanced. I suffered grave pain in my body after our first bike tour. This not recommended for elder persons with any arthritis problems. Thank you.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by peter b. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip was changed as the boat had a broken rudder and not able to be fixed by the time we started. The people involved int he tour then changed it to a bike and hotel trip which was great.
    Memorable part of the trip was seeing all the small towns along the way. The bigger towns were ok but the smaller ones were better

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Sue M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We so recommend this trip. We cycled mostly on cycle paths or quiet country roads but when we occasionally had busy roads or intersections our guide Bart ensured we were safe. Everything was well organized crew were great. Meals were very good. Our guide Bart set a good pace and gave us a lot of information.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Margaret E. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful scenery and great bike routes planned for us. Only difficulty with the routes was navigating Libourne the last Friday in rush hour afternoon traffic. Perhaps a longer route, going around Libourne, could be investigated

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Juan Pablo B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent bikes maps and coordination including luggage transfers

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Rick C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    All of the biking was fantastic. The time in Vienna was a close second.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by James C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip. Two weeks wasn't even enough. Barge was great... super clean, great food. Small cabins, but really nice common areas. Staff was awesome.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Rotterdam to Cologne or Cologne to Rotterdam
    by Barbara Y. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was all that I expected. The barge was very clean, the people were really nice, the bikes were in tip top condition. The scenery was beautiful and the rides were as expected.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Germany, Netherlands

  • Berlin to Malchin
    by Cindy K. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip gave insight into East Berlin; life during communism and now. I have spent a lot of time visiting Western Germany - small quaint towns; beautiful hillsides, etc. This trip was more farmland and very rural. The bike path was varied terrain. Many times our lunch was in a small park or church with no town nearby. The Merlijn is a fabulous small boat (22 passengers) with exceptional owners. This was our second trip with the Merlijn.

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Barry M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part: Biking into Vienna

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Sheilagh M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding through the south of France along quiet country roads with the occasional stop to learn about the history and people of the place.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by William M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Such varied but scenic bike riding!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable. Great scenery, small towns and villages, very friendly people. It's great meeting new people from varied countries and backgrounds. Having a guide and local tours really enhanced the experience.

    Our only complaint is that our travel agent was very unresponsive to our communications. We had to call the company several times to get information. We booked transportation from airport to the hotel through Tripsite and were taken the wrong hotel. We had to find the correct hotel and get there on our own.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Ed D. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Each city or town visited was a treasure. Lot's to explore. The hotels were good, many in excellent locations. Breakfast was large. The bike riding was pleasant.

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Carol B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike tour was immensely enjoyable. Even though it rained 6 of 7 days, it was still a highlight of our vacation in Europe. Thanks to Tripsite's instructions, we were well prepared for various weather from rain to warm and cool weather. Taking a barge is a great way to travel without unpacking each night, returning to the same room and delicious meals served on board. I hope to take a bike trip again trying out another river.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Istria
    by Carl W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike tour guides OUTSTANDING. Tarins crew accommodating! Food four stars!

    Boat: Tarin

    Countries: Croatia

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Janice C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow, so hard to pinpoint to one memorable experience; there were so many. Our first impression of the boat and crew was wonderful. The boat was very clean, perfectly maintained and very comfortable. All the crew members were welcoming, kind, fun and efficient. The Captain, RJ, was one on the crew, always on, active, involved and always with a smile. I loved that by the end of the trip, all 24 of us knew each other well after eating, biking and watching out for each other after the 8 days. Bike riding along the Moselle River in the fall with the colors changing was breathtaking. Every turn was equally as beautiful and everyday the colors became more vibrant. We broke off into 2 groups of 12 every morning; each group having one of the two guides. I was very happy to see there were two guides. We came across another bike/barge tour in one of the towns and there was only 1 guide for a group of 24. I think that was pushing it a bit. The villages, towns, castles, history, wineries Read more… and food on board were all exceptional. The pace of the daily ride was not difficult. The only suggestion that I have would be to separate the e-bikes from regular bikes. I found at times, the e-bikes would interfere with the momentum of the rest of us trying to pedal up the hills. It might just be the need for a little more training with the riders on the e-bikes, there was none that I saw, and a better understanding of an "etiquette".

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Louise E. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful countries, great bikes and fun tour. Flexible dining seating would be preferred.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Ionian Islands
    by Cindy D. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We felt like we were stars in a movie. People came to stare at our boat and see what all the Fun was about. Our swim stops in coves and bays were magical. The bicycling was a blast. Our guides we like friends we had known for years The food was better than excellent. We really didn’t want to leave.

    Boat: Panagiota

    Countries: Greece

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jill S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall the trip was good and we enjoyed our time. However, we did have some things that could be improved -
    firstly the e-bikes that we rented had several problems with them and were unreliable
    secondly I found the choice of food strange for being on a tour in Europe - we had Mexican food, followed by Asian food & sushi. What was wrong with french or belgium or even North American (seeing that we were all from NA). There was no flexibility or accommodation of other types of food.
    The group leader should have allowed some of us to go ahead with maps rather than keep us in a long line of 20 people strung out with the slowest members behind the leader. We are all adults and professional people and do not wish to be treated like children.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Darlene L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Beauty of the Surroundings, intimate boat, fantastic food, met new great friends!
    Instructions for biking could have been better.. with mileage.. to better time management for return to boat. Cruise Director too pompous for me... had better.. but think his last tour with you

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Jean B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was 5 star.......from the barge accommodations, the meals, the guides, the side trips and tours which were all included! It was a wonderful trip!
    We definitely want to do another trip!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Vietnam
    by Michael W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am still in Cambodia.
    I can tell you that it was an extraordinary experience for me all around.
    I have one suggestion, and that is, the hiking and or mountain climbing need to be more explained to the travelers.
    Thank you.

    Countries: Vietnam, Cambodia

  • South Holland Tour
    by Gilberto M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Unforgetable trip becouse this country is amazing! The boat crew and bike guide were also very nice! Thank you!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by Sandy S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Seeing the countryside in the Netherlands was the highlight of this trip. The group was very friendly as well.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Venice to Poreč
    by Diane Z. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This self guided bike trip was a great way to see the countryside. We biked through vineyards and along the coast for most of the trip. The written directions and maps given to us were very accurate and made navigating so much fun. My suggestion for others is to start early so you can make the most of each day. I'm so glad we did!

    Countries: Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Don D. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The normandie boat and crew was well run and has a nice flow to the week. Most memorable moment was Vienna concert operetta

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Roxy K. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the day by day review of what was to happen. On board entertainment was spectacular.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Michele C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We very much enjoyed our guided cycling tour. We have done several self guided cycling tours, it's just very pleasant to never look at a map or gps. Will definitely repeat that kind of experience.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • South Holland Tour
    by Pamela R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing on the barge through Rotterdam harbour. This bike and barge tour was amazing. The barge was so comfortable,the crew were wonderful,food was absolutely first class.Our guide did a fabulous job,and was so nice.We would urge anyone thinking about travelling in Holland to consider doing a bike and barge tour with this company.We are in the upper age group,and had no trouble keeping up.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC