Bike Tour Reviews 181 to 210 of 3373

 

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jill S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall the trip was good and we enjoyed our time. However, we did have some things that could be improved -
    firstly the e-bikes that we rented had several problems with them and were unreliable
    secondly I found the choice of food strange for being on a tour in Europe - we had Mexican food, followed by Asian food & sushi. What was wrong with french or belgium or even North American (seeing that we were all from NA). There was no flexibility or accommodation of other types of food.
    The group leader should have allowed some of us to go ahead with maps rather than keep us in a long line of 20 people strung out with the slowest members behind the leader. We are all adults and professional people and do not wish to be treated like children.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Darlene L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Beauty of the Surroundings, intimate boat, fantastic food, met new great friends!
    Instructions for biking could have been better.. with mileage.. to better time management for return to boat. Cruise Director too pompous for me... had better.. but think his last tour with you

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Jean B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was 5 star.......from the barge accommodations, the meals, the guides, the side trips and tours which were all included! It was a wonderful trip!
    We definitely want to do another trip!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Vietnam
    by Michael W. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am still in Cambodia.
    I can tell you that it was an extraordinary experience for me all around.
    I have one suggestion, and that is, the hiking and or mountain climbing need to be more explained to the travelers.
    Thank you.

    Countries: Vietnam, Cambodia

  • South Holland Tour
    by Gilberto M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Unforgetable trip becouse this country is amazing! The boat crew and bike guide were also very nice! Thank you!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by Sandy S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Seeing the countryside in the Netherlands was the highlight of this trip. The group was very friendly as well.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Venice to Poreč
    by Diane Z. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This self guided bike trip was a great way to see the countryside. We biked through vineyards and along the coast for most of the trip. The written directions and maps given to us were very accurate and made navigating so much fun. My suggestion for others is to start early so you can make the most of each day. I'm so glad we did!

    Countries: Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Don D. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The normandie boat and crew was well run and has a nice flow to the week. Most memorable moment was Vienna concert operetta

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Roxy K. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the day by day review of what was to happen. On board entertainment was spectacular.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Michele C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We very much enjoyed our guided cycling tour. We have done several self guided cycling tours, it's just very pleasant to never look at a map or gps. Will definitely repeat that kind of experience.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • South Holland Tour
    by Pamela R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing on the barge through Rotterdam harbour. This bike and barge tour was amazing. The barge was so comfortable,the crew were wonderful,food was absolutely first class.Our guide did a fabulous job,and was so nice.We would urge anyone thinking about travelling in Holland to consider doing a bike and barge tour with this company.We are in the upper age group,and had no trouble keeping up.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Tina C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I truly enjoyed this tour that included daily rides through the picturesque Italian countryside. Each day we biked through a variety of landscapes, stopping in small towns along the way for cappuccino breaks, lunch and local tours. The bike tour staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The boat crew was equally as wonderful, preparing wonderful meals each evening and serving them with a smile. Everyone bent over backwards to make this a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
    As for suggestions, I think the last leg from Pellestrina Island to Venice could be improved. The morning was wasted in a small town that was not really open for business. Why not take an earlier Ferry to Lido and spend more time there before heading to Venice?

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeffrey B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Must See: The excursion to the Clam Castle. Authentic Castle owned by the Clam family since the 1500's to the present.
    If you take this excursion or the concentration camp, inexperienced riders should rent an electric bike.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Kim F. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every day was an adventure. The bike paths were lovely to follow and every town was beautiful. We enjoyed riding all day and walking the towns at night before selecting a restaurant for dinner. The history was endless and the daily map book provided good advise for sightseeing in each town. Generally the ride was easy until we got to the coast where the wind presented a challenge. Amsterdam and Brugges proved to be the perfect bookends for the smaller towns we visited in between.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Gillian C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole 7 day bike/barge trip exceeded expectations in EVERY way! Very professional, helpful and friendly crew; great bikes and accommodation plus simply incredible food. A truly fantastic experience

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by John C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew of the boat Caprice was wonderful. Each crew member did their utmost to make the trip perfect for everyone. The food was outstanding, our compliments to the chef Joseph who prepared a gourmet meal every night. The tour guide Alessandra was wonderful and kept the group moving along together. The size of the tour was perfect, 20, the route was ideal and that part of France was beautiful. Highlights were the Ponte du Gard, the villages in Provence, Avignon and the tour of the winery and La Moulin d'Huile. We also enjoyed the company of the others on the tour very much.

    Suggestions: bring raingear if it's the rainy season, stop in the cafes in the little towns along the way for beer, wine, french fries or desserts.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Poland’s Lake District
    by Patsy V. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Seeing Warsaw and the Poland Lake District, places that few Americans go, was on my list to see. Warsaw was a pleasant surprise with free walking tours in English of the old city restoration. The lakes are scenic and the forests around them lovely. Historically they have been a significant element of Poland's past. The biking was challenging for traditional road bikers but offered a new experience in off-road trails.

    Boat: MS Classic Lady

    Countries: Poland

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Kent H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience was just tremendous. Cruising on the Feniks, peddling through the countryside of Belgium and France, stopping at cafes and chateaus. The sail into Paris was unforgettable. We thoroughly enjoyed our fellow cyclists, our guides, and our on board chef Nelleke was a great cook and a valuable resource.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Guilherme G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Maps must be improved.
    We got lost more than one time.
    The signs are very poor in many places.
    Local people are not used to the signs used in the bike route used in the maps. So they could not help us.

    The first day of the trip is too long. It would be better to do it in two days.

    The normal package hotels are not good. For few cities we payed for upgrade hotels. This ones were very nice.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Gerald W. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I travelled with my 13 year old granddaughter .I must congratulate the crew on how they treated her on the day she did not feel well .Becuase she is a Celiac the crew and especially the chef made sure that at every meal there was a substitute.if needed. The ride distances were a concern of mine but as it turned out the ride distances were as stated. Becuase of the crew this was a worry free week for me.
    .

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Donna H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was exciting getting on our bikes in the morning and heading out to new places each day. The GPS was super easy to follow and we had plenty of time to stop along the way. It was lovely coming back to the barge in the afternoon where the crew greeted us and ice cold water with mint/lemon/herbs and treats awaited us. We also lived heading out in the evening for walking tours of beautiful cities, and one evening got to go on a canal tour too. The food was fantastic and plentiful. The dinners were beautifully presented. Fresh orange juice and really great coffee in the morning. Loved our trip and looking forward to booking another one.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Edward R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was great! The food was prepared by the wife of the captain and it was delicious. The tours were well planned and excellent. We rode 170 miles in 6-days and this is the first time I actually lost weight on a vacation trip. They preferred the tips for the crew to be paid in cash (Euros). Would definitely do another bike and barge again. The attitude, experience and knowledge of the captain and crew of the bike and barge definitely makes or breaks a vacation like this one, but the captain and crew of the Merlin were excellent!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Gill and Martin C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I travelled around the world from New Zealand to participate in this bike/barge trip - and that long journey was well worth it! EVERYTHING about the experience was first class and could not be faulted; the tour leader and cooking staff, the on board catering, the accommodation on the Vita Pugna, the e-bikes and the scenery were fabulous - and the two extra aspects to the trip (the weather and our fellow guests!) were also the best!
    As a result of the comments above, we will be thoroughly recommending this trip, through Tripsite, to anyone interested in this type of holiday......

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Samantha C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was an amazing trip. The MS Carissima was very comfortable, the people were lovely, very helpful and friendly . The food was very varied to fit in with the countries and was always delicious . The cycle routes were leisurely and the scenery beautiful . We made life- long friends and had a wonderful time .

    Boat: Carissima

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by John and Deborah R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The crew on the "Sarah" were fantastic, the meals amazing, the cycling through the countryside
    was unforgettable. Would recommend trip to anyone wanting a friendly, relaxing cycling tour.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Loire Valley - Tours to Angers
    by Anette Lie B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful landscape in the Loire Valley and the picturesque towns of Chinon and Azay le Rideau made this trip a wonderful experience that I would warmly recommend everyone! The bikes had high quality and the hotels were all great.Everything went smoothly and everyone was very helpful. I will definitely come back some day.

    Countries: France

  • North Holland Tour
    by Gertie B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A perfect experience - great staff - very flexible - excellent meals

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Vera S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My sister and I made this trip in may this year. We love this tour. Everything was perfect, the GPS Works well , The hotels were excelent . We recomend this tour.
    The most memorable part of this trip was the differents and wonderful landscapes all the way.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kerrie G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the opportunity to cycle along the Danube and see more of the countryside and visit the small towns. Could have done without the wind though! Need to be prepared for all kinds of weather in October. Each day was different - Vienna and Budapest were amazing to visit (once again!).

    Boat: Carissima

  • Super Tulip Tour
    by Carla J. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This tour has everything for cyclists -- whether you are in shape or not. Highlights of this trip are the route that allow participants to see historic Dutch towns, as well as beautiful countryside. The staff went out of their way to provide a comfortable experience. Our chef Allette's cuisine was gourmet, and portions were substantial. Self-serve tea and cookies were available between meals, and sandwich makings were provided for picnics on the cycling route. Our tour guide Bert kept us on schedule while considering the pace of slower riders.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC