Bike Tour Reviews 721 to 750 of 2828

 

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by August D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It's a shame that the incompetence and the misogynistic attitude of one person can affect what could have been a fantastic trip, our guide on several occasions got lost and we ended up doing many more kilometres of riding including a very long and steep hill climb that we had to walk in the hot sun.
    I can not praise the Captain and crew of the Zwaantjie more highly it's a shame he has no control over the guides that are allocated to various trips.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Mainz to Strasbourg or Strasbourg to Mainz
    by Peter and Denise Marzo 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We were on this tour from June 16-23, 2018. First let me say that we had a fabulous time and I'll attempt to breakdown both the good and the challenging.
    1. The boat was outstanding (5 star)
    2. All the meals were nothing short of scrumptous (all three..every day) (5 Star)
    3. The SE staff were knowledgable, polite and always willing to help. (5 Star)
    4. Embarking and disembarking was seamless. (5 Star)
    5. Our onboard guide was outgoing and fun to talk to. (5 Star)
    6. The rooms were tight, but manageable. two single beds, good storage for your clothes and a small but efficient washroom.
    7. The bikes were well serviced and enjoyable to ride. If you're not a seasoned cyclist, don't worry, the gears were easy to change and many of the people opted for the ebike option which really helped.
    8. Biking directions were a challenge. At first we thought it was a language issue, but many of the German people were getting lost as well. We saw no vineyards, one castle, and we traveled through many cities. We had three in our group take spills, mainly because of the city routes we had to take. The "Look for Signs" were often non-existant or hard to find and we found that our group of 10 cyclists were spending too much time conferencing, trying to find the correct route.
    Twice we encountered local people who actual lead us to get us back on track. This was definitely challenging, but boy did we bond!! We stopped in small towns having lunch in the town squares, trying local beers and cheeses. Restaurants willing to let us eat our bagged lunches in their restaurant when we bought some drinks.
    Suggestions:
    1. Arrive a couple of days early to explore Mainz, it's a beatiful city.
    2. We flew in and out of Paris and the train system is amazing, but I would suggest closer Airports (Frankfurt to get to Mainz and Paris for Strasbourg).
    3. Get comfortable being lost and embrace the journey. We always found our way and have some incredible stories about our rides.
    4. Talk to the locals they are magnificent and were always willing to help.
    The bottom line is that we are already planning our next bike and barge adventure, there are lots to choose.
    My actual rating would be a 4.5 out of 5

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Mary R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The cruise through the iron gate was a highlight of this trip. Cruise director did a great job throughout the cruise. Weather was much warmer than average and many days of biking were at 90 degrees F on roads and trails with little cover or shade so were somewhat more difficult than anticipated. It was a great experience but people need to be aware that most of the riding in the Eastern European countries are on the side of roads sometimes without a bike lane and there was some traffic.

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jacky H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Sharing the beautiful scenery while biking with great friends

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Around Paris
    by Howard B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The attentiveness and skill of the crew was most memorable. Chris was an awesome guide, encouraging everyone and being a wealth of knowledge about the environs. Conor was personable and available to share her knowledge and experience. Kim is a great cook and quite a character. Together, they overcame the limitation of an outdated too small barge to create an environment that allowed the riders to really enjoy the countryside and each other.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Raine P. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The routes were described well before each ride and usually easy to follow, however at least one person in your group should have a GPS. The guide and scenery were exceptional. The food was great but it was difficult getting vegetarian food for dinner even though I had requested vegetarian when I signed up.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Jenny D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was amazing!! From pink Lakes, to Pink Flamingos, White Sandy Beaches, to the Punta Du Gard, Castles, Sunsets, Fields of Lavender, and Van Gough. This trip was a feast for the senses. What a fun trip. I've already booked my next one. This was excellent!!

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Denise T. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I loved meeting new biking friends from other countries. Everything was wonderful!

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Around Paris
    by Molly C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall the trip was great. Route was rated as easy, but it was a little more difficult than expected. Lots of traffic in Paris and trails and streets were often more like off-road or mountain biking. That should be made clear from the beginning.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michelle P. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The barge staff, tour guides and fellow bike riders were the best part of this tour! Please know that this is definitely a bike tour. We zipped through towns at a steady pace but it wasn’t unbearable for a novice bike rider like me. However there wasn’t much time to visit any towns and do some sightseeing.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jeffrey W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through the Belgian countryside

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ann A. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Brugge to Amsterdam trip was a very flat, easy trip and we recommend it for beginner barge and bikers. Our main criticism was that although the guides were very nice and helpful, we would have liked more information and history on the sights along the way, and more picture stops.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Marjorie S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved this trip. The route was scenic and easily navigated, the bikes were well maintained and the customer service was impeccable. It was an easy trip with the exception of one leg at the end, but electric bikes made it doable. Absolutely recommended. The only point of confusion was occasionally the GPS would point us in 2 different directions. One was the main route and the other was an optional side trip. At times it was confusing as to which way to go. Otherwise, things were exceptionally well planned. See this wonderful part of Portugal while it’s still less visited by tourists.

    Countries: Portugal

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Carla A. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A bike and barge trip is the perfect way for active people to tour Croatia. The biking was challenging, but doable, and the scenery made up for it all. Our guides were experts, and had our safety and enjoyment foremost in their minds. We thoroughly enjoyed the tours of the various cities, towns and parks provided when not biking. The meals on the boat were gourmet, and the accommodations quite comfortable. The crew treated us with the utmost respect and caring, plus, we got to meet lovely people from all over the world. This was one of our most memorable and fun vacations!

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Josephine S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I have just returned from a most pleasant bike trip Prague - Dresden. The well paved and mostly flat bike paths made the cycling quite easy and enabled us to enjoy the wonderful scenery of the countryside. The hotel rooms were clean and spacious, especially the Chateau Liblice, which was a real treat. We were well fed and got plenty of drinks. The Czech and german beers are excellent, the wines are not bad either. Our guide Vitek made every possible effort to meet all our expectations.His stories helped me enrich the knowledge about the country, its history, people, traditions. But above all Vitek is a very nice, kind and friendly person.
    Thank you Vitek for all the fun we had and for making me enjoy every minute of the trip.

  • Aare Trail
    by Manuel Pena 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wow. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to do something out of the ordinary. Our tour started on June 3rd, and I selected the 6 day tour for my son and I and it was just the right amount of length. By the end of the last leg we were just about beat. This was an easy ride, but if you don't bike much I would recommend the E-bikes to give you a little boost along the way. The standard bike's that were given to us were in excellent condition and we had no issues throughout the trip. All of the hotels we stayed in were adequate for what was needed and were in great locations in relation to the sites of each town. Each time we arrived at our hotel we would ask the attendant for a good place to eat and they always had great recommendations. I would recommend that you ask each hotel if they have a garage to store the bike and if they don't that you definitely lock them up and remove ALL of the saddle bags from the bikes and keep the bags stored in your room for the night. Unfortunately, one of our saddle bags was stolen over night. Aside from that small incident, my son and I had a great time biking through Switzerland. Now, I'm looking forward to my next trip with my other children.

    Countries: Switzerland

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Gloria 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Did a self-guided tour with a group of 5 women - had a blast. Flat terrain, beautiful scenery. Glad we built in time to explore Porto and Coimbra, both fabulous cities. Sergio was a pleasure to work with, highly recommend this trip.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Sicily
    by Peggy H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We went to Sicily in May 2018. Biking was beautiful especially along the sea. Inland there were some areas that had lots of trash. No problems with directions. One or two hills a day.

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Janene M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Each day of the tour had its own special treat. A castle one day, a palace the next. The opera experience in Vienna was amazing. A day cycling through the vineyards with a relaxing place to sample wines. Crossing the river through the lock. The guide always explains in advance the best places to visit on the ride.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Ulla D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guides, the boat, the food, the staff all contributed to making this a perfect vacation. Swimming off the boat into beautiful water after a long bike ride was perfect. Biking the hills required lots of stamina, but the scenery at the top was worth the work. Thanks to everyone for making this a fun trip.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Theresa S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff and the crew went together to create an experience that we won’t soon forget. From first class food and accommodation to well maintained equipment and tour guides who at every possible opportunity went out of their way to make sure that there was nothing that could be improved on. I finished the tour knowing that while I couldn’t have done it without an e bike, the enthusiasm, excellent coaching and mental route preparation by Lucy and Ben made each day while still a challenge, a wonderful scenic outdoor adventure.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Phil M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I've done three "Bikes and Barges" trips that I booked through Tripsite, This was far and away the best one. The advance preparations made by the staff of the Romantica were excellent. The two directors were competent, knowledgeable, and friendly. The meals were balanced and well prepared and served in ample portions (truth be told more than ample!). The bike rides were well planned and beautiful. This was truly a delightfully awesome experience. Highly recommended.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Gord H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Croatia was beautiful. Every time you thought you saw the most beautiful place we would go to another more spectacular place. Bikes were good esp the e bike for my wife who had asma. The guides did everything they could to make the trip special. The boat stopped lots for swim breaks. Food on board was very good. Our server Klatko made the meals special. The only negative is that all the staff smoked as most people in Croatia. I would recommend a double room on upper deck for more privacy and to get away from staff smoking. All in all I would definitely recommend this trip to everyone.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Janet M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guides were truly terrific.
    The routes and stopping cafes were wonderfully thought out. Bathrooms at stops were very clean. Pace of rides was perfect for a first time experience.
    The food on board was outstanding. Chef Alex was sensational!
    The lunch meat, cheeses,and bread selections were great for making our road food.
    This was our first Bike and Barge experience. It was wonderful!
    Thanks to everyone!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Maxine W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We four had a blast biking thru vineyards. Nice flat well marked path.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Maxine W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We four had a blast biking thru vineyards. Nice flat well marked path.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Tuscany - Florence, Siena, and the Chianti
    by Jay M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Nice to bike along the Mediterranean coast and a chance to swim at a few beaches. Also nice to bike through the agricultural areas and seeing tomatoes and eggplant growing and watermelons being harvested.

    Countries: Italy

  • Balkan Mountains
    by Margaret J. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Difficulty not explained accurately. Bike not a hybrid. Definitely more a mountain bike. Please include fruit at meals and please provide laundry facility somewhere on trip.

    Countries: Bulgaria

PWPC