Bike Tour Reviews 751 to 780 of 3106

 

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Rhonda L. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was meeting and traveling with people from around the world and learning about the the two fascinating countries on our tour--Belgium and Holland. The Magnifique's atmosphere and crew were wonderful, too!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Ann S. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: Les Baux de Provence: location, view from hotel patio, view from restaurant, atmosphere

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by William G. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Carissima had nice cabins that had ample room. The staff were truly amazing with their customer service. The daily briefings provided us with most of the information that we needed for the ride and Albert was excellent at answering all questions for those of us that needed extra help. We only had a few issues with directions. The bikes were in great condition, shifted easily and not as heavy as I expected, we used regular bikes. The cycling paths were filled with beautiful scenery and easy cycling. Touring in Vienna was much easier than expected. It was unfortunate that the water level was too low to take the boat all the way to Budapest but Rad Reisen did their best to make sure that their customers had a good experience and provided a tour bus to transport the people to Budapest, providing them with a nice lunch of traditional Hungarian food. The food on the Carissima was very well planned, their chef was excellent in his food preparation. I personally would have preferred a lot Read more… more vegetables but overall was very happy with his meal planning. The dining room was a bit noisy with all the people chattering so this made it difficult to converse with some of the other people at our table. The waiters were outstanding in their hard work. We will definitely go on more of these trips as we enjoy being active on vacations. This trip was a wonderful experience and so enjoyable.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Girona Spa Experience
    by Torben T. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tripsite is a great idea, my experience was that it need to mature. We did not receive the hotel listed. We did not get a SPA experience either. Surprises is not a positive thing when you are on vacation. Spain and Girona is great places to visit.

    Countries: Spain

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn G. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the 4th of the boat bike trips we had done with Tripsite and I would say the best. Our guide Axel was amazing and being able to visit the many little villages along the Danube was wonderful. We had two rainy days right at the start but we all came prepared so was still great rides. Biking around Vienna was really incredible as there are many good bike paths however one had to watch carefully as there were also many tourists. Our visit to Budapest was also a major highlight. Our guide Axel walked with us up to Buda Hill to visit the Fisherman’s Bastion for the most amazing views of Pest at night. The Bastion was also a beautiful sight at night.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Murray B. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What made our trip memorable were the outstanding guides we had, Arie and Andre. They were fun loving, knowledgeable, complimentary and very patient. They responded quickly and decisively during two minor crises that befell our group. Kudos to them and to the entire staff of the Magnifique II.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Atlantic West Coast & Sintra
    by Allen W. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My girlfriend and I took this trip down the coast in early October. The whole experience was excellent. We were picked up at the airport on time with bikes ready. The scenery and destinations were outstanding. The accommodations were very good. We really enjoyed the whole trip. We would recommend Tripsite and their partners to everyone.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Venice to Florence
    by Sherri 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved this trip! We went in September and it was perfect weather. So much to see along the way. Lots of small towns to ride through and such beautiful scenery. The hotels we stayed in were good and the morninbreakfasts delicious. Don’t hesitate - book it!!

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence
    by Sherri 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved this trip! We went in September and it was perfect weather. So much to see along the way. Lots of small towns to ride through and such beautiful scenery. The hotels we stayed in were good and the morninbreakfasts delicious. Don’t hesitate - book it!!

    Countries: Italy

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Margaret Molineux 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We didn't know what to expect on such a small barge/boat: however it was very enjoyable Our hosts were great and always helpful even when we knew it was a busy time for them. Being a small group and despite some language differences, we all bonded and managed to communicate well. Our leader Anna was particularly competent and took us through some interesting situations without a glitch. We will be known as the group who loves limericks as one guy in our group started by writing one for each cyclist...then of course we all started to write them. The last dinner was quite hilarious. You can't beat these tours for economy, traveling through history and spectacular scenery and commaradorie. I left off one star as the rooms and bathroom were super small and hard to manouver in. Everything else, including the meals, were something to write home about.!

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Jeanne L. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great family reunion and scenic vacation. E-bikes made it easy for less experienced bicyclists to keep up with trained cyclists. Nice to hear all 8 of us laughing while riding!

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Central Greek Aegean Sea
    by Terrie M. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Breathtaking views on hilltops on all the Greek islands. The narrow streets of Patmos and Lesos islands were fun and charming. The guides were knowledgeable and agendas fit the the groups ability. Thank you!

    Boat: Elara 1

    Countries: Greece

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Jane M. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful. The extra excursions were popular with our group. The breakfasts were great.

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Janice V. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved swimming off the back of the boat in the beautiful clear sea after a morning of cycling.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Lynda B. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The camaraderie, the cuisine, our cabin!

    Countries: Belgium

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Martin C. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were fortunate enough to have Tripsite founder, Hennie, along, who led half of our group on a terrific cycling adventure between Paris and Bruges. We made wonderful friendships and were treated royally on board the Zwaantje by the crew - and what wonderful meals!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by David B. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Cycling thru the small Villages of the Somme with good riders lead by Hennie.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Stuart A. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed the staff, the group we met and the overall tour. I got to visit a part of France I might never have seen. Really enjoyed the champagne bottling winery the last day.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Danube Bike Path - Donaueschingen to Ulm
    by Christine E. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part? Going off the route to explore little towns

    Countries: Germany

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Pierre S. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The two-week trip on the Zwaantje from Paris to Bruges was awesome! The crew of the ship and the tour guide were exceptional. The food, prepared by Frank, was consistently top-notch and interestingly varied day-to-day. Our guide, Geert, provided us with an excellent selection of sites, of which he had encyclopedic knowledge. The captain, Martijn, was also very engaging with the guests. Daily rides were easy to occasionally moderate, providing us with a satisfying riding experience. Almost all of the riding was in open country or small, rural towns, which we loved. However, riding in and out of the larger towns, while of necessity, did present some typical urban challenges to the bicyclists. Overall this trip is highly recommended. Pierre and Laurie

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Pat M. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Bruges to Amsterdam BOAT-BIKE tour created memories that will last a lifetime! We really enjoyed the people we met. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. The guests were interesting and fun to get to know - we hope to keep in touch with several of the couples that we met. The cycling was at a good pace and the frequent breaks for coffee and regional treats added to the experience. We toured through a nice mix of historical sites and local neighborhoods. After cycling, arriving back at the boat to have a glass of wine while dinner was prepared was the ultimate in being pampered. We will definitely book another tour through Tripsite.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • The Heart of the Tarn River Valley
    by Beckie S. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were at hotel Les Magnolias. We had a fabulous holiday, some of our prettiest riding quiet roads and well planned days. Staff were wonderful and always available. Thank you for one of our best holidays

    Countries: France

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Joanne M. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    "Taking a vacation aboard the new Magnifique III is a ""must do"" for cyclists in Europe. We received a warm welcome as soon as we arrived and we were invited to a walking tour of Brussels by our guide on the first day. When we returned to the ship for dinner, we were introduced to an amazing team of individuals who went out of their way to ensure our vacation experience was outstanding. The chef announced the menu enthusiastically each evening which we followed with applause as our palates drooled in anticipation. We were never disappointed as the dinners were fantastic. We even had a barbecue on the deck, one evening, with a tasty selection of chicken, sausage, steak, or shrimp available to us.
    The competent tour guides led us through the sights of Belgium each day and gave us a host of valuable information. We all appreciated the option to join a slower group or a faster group of cyclists each day. The cycling was well paced with appropriate Read more… breaks for beverages, if desired. We liked the format of parking our bicycles in each city and the guide would take us a walking tour pointing out the recommended sights for us to go back and visit at our leisure in the same afternoon. The medieval cities that were spread throughout Belgium awed us and we were fortunate to have ideal weather to spend all day outdoors.
    When we returned to the Magnifique III, there was always a delightful treat awaiting such as an assortment of delicious cheese or decadent squares or baked treats served with ice cold flavoured waters to quench our thirst.
    Our friends couldn't wait to enjoy the outdoor hot tub on the upper deck after a day of cycling and they found it so relaxing. We enjoyed our comfortable cabin to re-group and get ready for dinner and the social evening ahead.
    After dinner, one evening, our guides took us to tour an art gallery in a local town. On another evening, we enjoyed a ""trolley tour"" of Antwerp after dinner.
    Thomas, our guide, also hosted a ""beer tasting"" one evening on board and he dressed in costume which engaged us in the event. One of our cyclists downloaded some chanting music to complete the picture and it was an entertaining evening.
    On day 6, we had a choice to remain on the boat until 11 a.m. while we enjoyed cruising along the canal from Ghent towards Bruges. It was a wonderful experience to be outdoors on deck enjoying the peace of the countryside as we sailed along. This was followed by scenic cycling beside the same canal.
    in the early evening, our guide, Thomas, led us on an informative walking tour of Bruges. This was followed by an opportunity to eat at local restaurant which we enjoyed.
    At dinner and at breakfast, we sat at tables of ten in the sunny dining room which gave us many opportunities to meet and get acquainted with the other guests from other countries and provinces making the whole tour so worthwhile. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
    On our final evening, the dining room was divided into two tables of twenty. One of the guests suggested each cyclist make a statement about what he/she had enjoyed most about the tour. Each person made a brief sincere presentation or a jovial comment and it was so entertaining. The meal was superb! After dinner, we all chatted for a while and the evening concluded with a spontaneous dance. It was a memorable night! Our whole tour was one I'll never forget and I will continue to recommend to everyone."Tourist tip: There is a nice grocery store in the downstairs of building not far from the Cathedral where you can buy necessities including chocolate bars.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Richard S. 12 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Great experience overall, will do another trip soon!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Kathleen S. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I broke my wrist while half way through the trip. Everyone was very kind and supported me to make sure I was included in most activities.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • The Heart of the Tarn River Valley
    by Robert E. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group of eight greatly enjoyed our experience at Les Magnolias and especially appreciated the personalized hospitality of Claudia, supported by her always-courteous and attentive staff. We really give highest marks to the quality of the food, cleanliness of the rooms and facilities, selection of bikes and, of course, the amazing scenery and sites of interest. Thank you so much for a great week!! We will be back some day!

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by David F. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Breakfast good. Bagged lunches okay but not great and they only had sparkling water which I don't like and can't drink. No option to get still water without paying extra. Dinners good but not great. Only one meal very good. Most upset about not being able to drink the water from the room sink (which was announced over the PA system just before dinner after we had been onboard for a few hours)and then having to pay for still safe water for the cabin, breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Bike barge nightly talk about the following day was always the second talk of the evening (made for later evenings or no room in the bar). Would have liked to share the first time slot for half of the evenings.
    Concierge staff outstanding and serving staff in the dinning room good.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Montargis to Paris
    by Sharon K. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip is not accurately described. Most of our group found the biking to be quite challenging, yet it was rated as "Easy to Moderate". This is a misrepresentation and should be adjusted. On the first day, one our group had to be taken to the hospital due to the heat and exertion. The captain of Le Fleur could use some lessons in hospitality. He and his crew occupied the salon every evening for their meal after we ate, and then they stayed there for the evening. This put the guests out on the back deck as the only alternative -- and then he scolded us when we were laughing due to the noise. The captain did not treat us like guests, but the other team members were friendly. The fact that we sailed with the captain's young daughter and their large dog was a surprise. I would not recommend this boat, but enjoyed the sites and activities. I have taken two other bike and barge tours, and this one did not compare favorably.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: France

  • What is a Bike & Barge Tour?
    by Aliyah 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am gonna say that have learned lots of through this blog. This proved an inspiration for me and will surely try these all things during day trips from philadelphia pa. Thanks for helping me out.

    Countries:

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Doreen S. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bourg / Blaye was a wonderful ride with minimal traffic and enough gradient to make it interesting. The fortified town at Blaye was an interesting diversion from vineyards. In all a well organized tour with excellent staff. The bikes were a little heavy but that gave me an excuse for an extra creme brûlée!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

PWPC