Bike Tour Reviews 781 to 810 of 3230

 

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Suzanne B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The incredible scenery and the wonderful people. We met some incredible new friends on the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brent F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bikes were in terrible condition. My while broke down with 10 miles left on the first day. My wife’s bike had a flat that the crew was just going to fill with air. My sister-in-laws bike broke down 5 miles out on the third day. Food was poor. Very few English speakers among the crew. Directions and maps for the rides were poor or non existent. When we complained we were told. “Well you made it back didn’t you?”

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Marilyn P. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    After having had prior positive experiences, I was very disappointed with this trip. The accommodation on the boat was almost to the point of ridiculous! The upper bunk was almost impossible to get into and getting up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night was treacherous! The staff were pleasant enough and the food was okay. Peter, our guide, was also disappointing. He really seemed to have little interest in whether we were enjoying our ride. He would often head out ahead of us and then a some point realize that we weren't all there and would stop or go back. He did not wear any kind of identifiable clothing so that we knew who or what to look for if we were further behind. Thank goodness there were enough of us with prior experience that we picked up the slack and made sure the first timers weren't left behind. I invited my sister, a first timer, to join me on this trip and found myself apologizing many times that this trip was less than enjoyable. That being Read more… said we did see some nice scenery and did come across some stores that were actually open. The general comment was "that's just the French" Another thing to note is that finding the bus that was supposed to take us from Paris to meet the boat ended up being a bit of a fiasco! We waited for an hour in the hot sun and the bus had been there the whole time. There was no identifiable sign to let us know that was our bus. Several times members of our group checked with the driver and were told that it wasn't our bus. Finally one of the members of our group who was more proficient in French appeared to ask the right question as it turned out that the bus was actually ours. Not a good omen apparently! All in all I would not recommend this trip to anyone!

    Countries: France

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Kurt W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew, guides, boat, food, bikes were all great. The scenery was spectacular and the weather (end of Sept, first week of Oct) was ideal -- except for some heavy winds that caused the itinerary to be modified for safety (we never experienced the winds ourselves). Biking was really good -- lots of hills, steep and long, but I had an e-bike so they weren't a problem for me -- and others on the trip, even those older than I am (I'm 72) on "normal" bikes, did fine on them. The one thing I'd say was I would have liked was more biking -- longer routes, more time pedaling. We biked from 9 a.m. to lunch, never after lunch. Having said that, swimming off the boat or cruising after lunch were also very nice. Other guests on the trip were fun, interesting, and friendly. I was sorry to say good-byes.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Central Greek Aegean Sea
    by Annette K. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    An amazing experience with great friends

    Boat: Love Boat

    Countries: Greece

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Denis E. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part? Scenery and food and small group size

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sheri S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My most memorable part of the trip was traveling with friends who have different cycling abilities. There was a something for everyone. The staff was helpful and very professional.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Warren S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very enjoyable trip! Great accommodation, great cycling and great crew & guides.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Gayle D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Simple the thrill of cycling through Europe along the Danube River.

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Adele S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking on paths that were mostly not too crowded. The architecture was so different from the U.S. I really enjoyed seeing the neat homes with lots of flowers still in bloom in late Sept. The small towns full of beautiful old buildings and churches. Our guide did a great job of teaching us the history of the area.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Wendy D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I love Tripsite. We are about to embark in 2019 on our third such bike and barge holiday. We did Brussels to Bruges in 2017, Mantova to Venice this year (2018) and have already booked for 2019 to do a 6 country river boat and bike trip down the Danube. We find the combination of being on the water in a comfortable barge enjoying great food and company, coupled with daily activity a wonderful combination and experience. Biking through the various countries during the day after a hearty breakfast, packed to enjoy a wonderful packed lunch along the way is an altogether thrilling and fulfilling experience.
    We highly recommend Tripsite and the wonderful holidays they offer. All the work is coordinated. All you do is get out and enjoy your vacation.
    Well done Tripsite! A job well done.

    Countries: Italy

  • Central Greek Aegean Sea
    by Kimberly H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the various opportunities to swim in the sea, off the boat and at the beach. It was interesting to learn the unique history of each island we visited.

    Boat: Love Boat

    Countries: Greece

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Catherine S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip on the Sailing Home Amsterdam to Brugge was far more than we expected. The cabins are spacious enough for 2 people and the bathroom was well equipped and plenty enough space. The outside deck area was very social and the best way to finish the day with sundowners and your fellow cyclists. Loved this trip and would highly recommend.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Susan G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Two of the islands with national parks were removed due to weather concerns. High wind and rough seas evident with the first one, the second the weather did not happen and some of the guests thought we were taken to our final port of Zadar a day early (two nights there instead of one) perhaps for the convenience of the crew. Release the captain a day early, save on fuel? Food on the boat was institutional. Bikes were very comfortable and handled well, but should have rear-view mirrors. Guides Ivana and Kristofer have a lot of personality and were very engaging. Some of the scenery was spectacular. Guided walks provided for us at some of the ports were excellent. Tripsite should send trip info farther in advance of the trip. When it finally did arrive, it included info about flying to Dubrovnik, etc. By then, we and likely most other clients had made plans.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Eric D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    First time I've had an art historian/architecture teacher as a tour guide. Geert was wonderful and enriched every stop.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Katherine T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everyone should take this trip! A truly wonderful experience.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Barbara G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge trip from Amsterdam aboard the Magnifique II greatly exceeded our expectations. The camaraderie among the passengers developed quickly. The staff was friendly and professional. This was our first such trip and We are anxious to book the next.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Shena L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Croatian bike and barge exceeded our expectations! Spectacular scenery, fabulous cycling, helpful guides, incredible weather, great accommodations. Overall a wonderful experience!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Mainz to Ludwigsburg
    by Joan S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time riding through the vineyards along the Rhine and Neckar Rivers and explore that small, picturesque towns along the way. Our tour leader made every effort to enhance our experience with interesting information and spontaneous adventures. Very much enjoyed the evening walks as extra value. Fine trip. Be aware that road surfaces vary.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Alentejo Vineyards
    by Joseph White 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a fantastic trip with some of the best vistas and sites. Roads were quiet one your got off the cobble stone and marble streets of the towns. Hotels were exceptional and a great part of the trip.
    The hills are longer than we had expected but it was not a problem. Error on the side of using electric if in doubt
    All around great trip with new GPS and Kickstands.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Kristy M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The different landscapes in Croatia were awesome. The guides were amazing and the atmosphere, food and accommodation on the boat were fantastic. Being an avid cyclist, I would still recommend an e bike in Croatia to better enjoy the hilly scenery.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laney B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful and the accommodations were great. The riding was a pleasure start to finish. We loved it all and would do it again in a heartbeat!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Sergio G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery and staff on board were the most memorable parts of the trip. Although the tour says easy to moderate, there are 2 to 3 days that there are a few steep hills. You need to be bike ready. Or as an alternative rent an E Bike. As long as you just want to enjoy the scenery, places, vineyards, and not in a hurry, look at the guided portion for the extra cost. The guide we had was wonderful in explaining any questions we had. There are many things said that you would not get by self guided. If you are a wine fan and history and culture, this tour is for you. Stay in the city of Bordeaux also a couple days before or after. Very vibrant city with great restaurants and things to do in the city centre. Enjoy!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Mele M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a large group of 18 friends and family of various physical ability on the Croatia Dalmatia Plus boat and bike tour. The staff was fantastic and very receptive to our needs. My roommate broke her wrist shortly before we were to board, and Lucija met with us to make sure that my friend was properly taken care of, and offered hikes for her to take since she could not ride a bike the entire week. We ran into a huge storm the second day of the trip and had to port on the peninsula rather than the island that was planned, but the crew had suggestions for hikes and wine tasting since it was unsafe to bike, and we had a very enjoyable time. The entire trip was memorable and fun despite the setbacks, the crew and guides were helpful, fun and very informative, and the food was delicious and plentiful.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Brian N. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour guides are the trip. They are the face of your company. Anna and Gabrielle made the trip awesome despite the setbacks due to the weather, being stuck three days in one port and missing out on seeing some of the islands. Those guides were awesome. Tenna and Laura who served us were also awesome. They made sure we had top service delivering anything we asked when we asked and were always there for us when we needed something. And they were cheerful in meeting all our demands. The crew, cook and the staff were invisible to us but we could see there efforts through the results they delivered. The ship was kept top notch and clean the whole time as were the bikes. My bike was maintained and repaired even though I never asked for any changes. New tires showed up one day for instance, it was time for new tires and I never had to ask, they just appeared. The food was good and I had to teach myself to not eat so much! But I still feel a bit sad that we could not complete Read more… the full agenda of the trip. The weather is the weather but I wonder what I missed out on. It’s a big world and I can’t see myself doing this exact trip again but I will recommend it to others. And I will be doing more boat and bike trips. Maybe even a mountain bike one.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Mainz to Cologne
    by Sandra D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding through the country side of Belgium was like riding through a fairy tale. Picture Perfect!

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Germany

  • La Rioja - Land of Wine
    by Kenneth L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Of course the Rioja wines were what this trip was (mostly) about and they were so delicious for a low cost. It was great to stop for lunch and have delicious coffee and diverse tapas. The scenery was beautiful with great geological formations along the Ebro River. The history was fascinating. We saw cave dwellings from around 500 a.d., churches from 1100 and later. We had an extra day in Bilbao where we visited the Guggenheim Museum and the many festivities in the surrounding park. It was especially enjoyable to talk to local people about their life in Spain.

    Countries: Spain

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Gordon M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Harmonia and its crew were the best part of the trip. They were excellent in supporting us and making changes as needed. I would definitely go with them again.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Colin W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip.
    Super guides, accommodations, food and experience.
    Try it...you'l love it!!!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

PWPC