Bike Tour Reviews 691 to 720 of 3373

 

  • Portugal Atlantic Route
    by Richard J. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I really enjoyed this bike tour; everything from the hotel in Porto, to the gps guide, luggage transfer and our final transfer to Lisbon was excellent. Carlos briefed us about the tour, introduced us to our bikes and our gps "tour guide"; actually made us do it before he left us. Since we had an extra day in Porto we practiced using the gps by doing its walking tour of Porto. Appreciate the Emergancy phone provided, even tho we did not use it. Weather was perfect. The only downside is the tour goes thru areas that were burned a couple years ago; very sad; made us really appreciate the beautiful unburned forests we rode thru. The tour booklet provided a good overview of each day's ride; there are some sections where finding food & water at mid day may be a challenge. A good tour

    Countries: Portugal

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jenny J. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the whole experience but one favorite highlight was the Hungarian Folklore show and being selected to dance with the troupe! We made great friends with our tablemates and are planning to visit them next year in Canada. We have shared our experience with so many friends at home that they want to do the trip too. Truly an amazing experience! I would be remiss if I failed to mention the value of the entire experience for the price paid. Very affordable!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Mallorca
    by Sean M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I have done several of these bike tours. They've all been amazing, Umbria, Sicily, Dali Country, etc. Mallorca was the most relaxing. You are on beautiful country roads nearly the entire time. Coming from California where you are constantly dealing with cars, this was a huge treat. The weather in May was perfect. The inns and food were spectacular as well. A truly great trip. Sean

    Countries: Spain

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Prosper 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my 5th bike/barge Tripsite tour and it was just as amazing as my first. The guide was knowledgeable and the group was an interesting blend of former and present U.S. Air Force personnel as well as Italians, Americans, French and Flemish. The weather in mid April was the biggest challenge with hailstorms and thunder, which made the trip all the more memorable.
    The bull fights (humane but sad), the aqueducts, and the food, oh the food! As always a nice cross section of people who are like minded in their zest for life and the enjoyment of experiencing Provence at 11 mph at sea level. (Oh, and they do warn you about the hills and the wind, which I glossed over BEFORE we went). The reason I rated this a 4 Star is I'm reserving the top prize for something that knocks my socks off!

    Countries: France

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Christopher Patrick O. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The sheer amount of interesting things to see and do along our route, so much so that we did a lot of hiking in wonderful scenic countryside. My tip for others is that this is a cycle route that you must do! We plan to revisit it again in a couple of years. It was that good.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Trevor A. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable parts: The guided cycle tour around Prague and then the Elbe Sandstone Mountain Range and the region around the border between the state of Saxony and the North Bohemian region.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Barry R. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts? The spring landscape & scenery. The mix of sights and history along the route.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Cody D. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Prague guide was fantastic, was very interesting and could not do enough for us

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Stan Carr 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We took the self-guided "Sport" tour from Passau to Vienna, starting on 2 April.

    A. Here are our suggestions for anyone looking at the tour options for Passau to Vienna.
    1. Don’t ever sign up for the “Sport” version of the tour because it requires 50+ miles every day, and leaves no time for exploring or resting.
    2. If you are doing the self-guided trail, do yourself a favor and get the e-bikes. The bikes given to us were really inadequate for the distances.
    3. Consider doing the bike & boat option rather than biking the whole way. The reasons? If on a boat, you won’t have to pack and unpack every day; You won’t have to search for the hotel in the evening, and you can look forward to relaxing on a boat every night. Another big plus is that from the shoreline, you often cannot get a good perspective on the scenery. When the cliffs rise overhead and you are below, you can’t see them at all. And you may be able to Read more… avoid some of the on-road biking that we encountered.

    B. Here are the things we liked about the Tripsite planning and execution:
    1. They booked all of the hotels and moved our bags every day. The hotel choices were excellent and the hotel owners all served good meals and provided nice rooms.
    2. There were no surprise expenses.
    3. Tripsite pretty much delivered what they promised.

    C. Here are the things we did not like about the Tripsite planning and execution:
    1. The materials and the bikes were delivered on the first morning of the trip. The trail book has lots of detail and routes on both sides of the river. Receiving the book as you are departing for a 350 mile journey is ridiculous. The company who publishes the maps (esterbauer.com) probably could provide a PDF far in advance.
    2. The trail map was outdated. We encountered sections, starting on day 1, where the trail signs said the trail ended. Several times we were traveling on busy highways with no bike lane, no shoulder, and with semi-trucks screaming past us. On one section, we had to peddle for several km on soft sand past the trail closed signs, because the alternative was riding on an autobahn-type highway.
    3. We purchased the Komoot iPhone app with the trail, thinking it would help us. Sometimes it did help. Other times, it tried to route us onto busy roads. It does not work well for this kind of trip, because the hotels are not on the route. We used Komoot to help get us from the trail to the hotels and Google Maps worked at least as well. I think Komoot is a good product, but not implemented well for this application.
    4. During our entire trip, we encountered very strong headwinds that made progress painful. We expected that 21-speed bikes would be ok, but the gearless bikes performed very much like 7-speed bikes and is the source of complaints from others too. We concur. We should have ordered E-bikes.
    5. On the second day, we called and asked to replace our bikes with e-bikes. Rad-Reisen called back and essentially said it would not be convenient for them to make the change. Trying to ride 50 miles into a strong headwind with the equivalent of a 7-speed bike is not good. I was sometimes limited to 11-14 km/hr (7-9 mph) because of the wind.
    6. We signed up for a bike-tour of Vienna and stayed an extra day in Vienna. That day there were 25,000 runners in the Vienna Marathon, so we asked to cancel the tour. We found that the tour had already been cancelled for us, but we did not know it.

    D. Summary.
    We have been traveling to Europe for many years and we are experienced with the logistics. Tripsite and Rad-Reisen are both good companies who are working to provide great experiences for travelers. We made some bad choices when we planned the trip and those were compounded by weather and equipment. It would have been better if Tripsite challenged our choice of a “Sport” trip, and if they provided the biking materials in advance. I support the Tripsite service as a valuable one for travelers. Our lesson: when planning a bike trip, take extra days and make sure to leave time for exploring.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Leigh & Pat 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just completed this tour - May, 2019. We were a group of 12 (Canadians) and were looking for a reasonably easy bike journey. The terrain was - as advertised - very flat and never strayed very far from the beautiful shorelines of Portugal. (one significant hill - character builder) Early to mid-May worked well and we could only imagine how crowded the beaches and communities would be if the trip were taken in high summer months. Many of the small towns we passed through were almost dormant - very little life or activity, and many shops seemed closed . If you take the trip - be aware of Sunday closings and fewer selections of restaurants in Portugal. Sergio, the organizer and supporter, was helpful in every way with the organization of the trip, gps devices and bikes. He was available at all times if needed. We did not require that sort of support - and we were non-guided. The actual surfaces of land that we biked upon were variable - ranging from excellent bike paths Read more… to rural, remote dirt roads - but all very passable.
    Not enough can be said about the hospitality and consideration of the Portuguese people we encountered. Bike travel is not as abundant in Portugal, and not as much a part of the culture, as elsewhere in Europe - but the gentle ways of the Portuguese are a pleasure to encounter. lb

    Countries: Portugal

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Molly R. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide Cornel was great with fun stories and historic information provided throughout our trip. Loved the digestive walks after dinner of the various towns we were docked at. The staff of the Merlijn couldn't have been nicer or more professional and the boat was very clean and comfortable. Food was pretty basic and could be improved, but that was not a high priority to me. Overall great trip and have already recommended it to many people.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Rita R. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    "It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was as each and every day brought wonderful new sights and experiences. Biking along fields filled with tulips and a stop at the Keukenhof Gardens would certainly rate as one of the highlights of the trip. The staff and bike guide definitely made the trip special as they went above and beyond to ensure we were satisfied. Food was great with a plentiful breakfast buffet and a different menu each night. Our lunches were made and packed each day and boy, theses sandwiches and treats sure tasted great after putting some miles in. The dining/lounge was large and spacious and made for a great place to interact with the other guests. Bedrooms/bathrooms were nor overly spacious but were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
    This was our first trip of this kind and also our first trip to Europe and the Crew of the Merlijn made it a wonderful experience we will never forget. Thank you Coen, Cristina, Klara, Luliana, Read more… Lili and our tour guide Cornel. Memories to last forever.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Rosemary SZ. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I highly recommend this trip. We were on the Merlijn. It was a charming barge with a very friendly and helpful staff. I was amazed just how comfortable the beds were and how roomy the bathrooms were.
    Our guide was very informative and had a great sense of humor. The guests, even though all so different , became friends. Leaving the barge was bittersweet. I cannot wait to go on another. The only thing I wish was a bit better, was the food. But then I consider myself a bit of a foody and so my expectations might be too high.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Jane J. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking was wonderful, the digestive walks in the evening were great and the camaraderie of the group was fantastic.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Mark R. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful way to experience the Netherlands. Our guide Cornell was informed and professional. Captain, mates and staff provided all the conveniences of home.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Jean B. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The expected/promised highlights on our 8 Day - Tulip Tour (Keukenhof Gardens, the Royal Flora Holland Auction, Zaanse Schans and a visit to a cheese farm on an island in Rijpwetering) were wonderful. But it was the unexpected stops introduced by our guides that were most memorable. The visit to a windmill making paper from recycled rags, watching the release of cows for the first time in the spring near Spaarndam , the stop at the Aalsmeer Crash Museum and a visit to the Hortus Bulborum in Limmen made our trip extra special.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Krakow to Warsaw
    by Elizabeth C. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was tour #6 for me and it was completely different than my former experiences. My previous tours were full of tourist sights and charming villages with little shops, coffee/tea/bakery cafes, and restaurants (with restrooms) to stop at along the way during the day and actual bicycle paths. Krakow to Warsaw (Warka) Poland tour was very unique. Positives: Krakow is absolutely charming and has some interesting day trips available to the salt mines and concentration camps. Once on tour the bicycles, hotels and food were excellent. The forests and farmlands were lovely. The birds were singing, roosters crowing, and the spring blooms were abundant. We saw wild boar in the woods the first day and wolf tracks another. The route maps were detailed and easy to read. The tour company was quick to work out any issues such as transporting us on day 2 of cycling due to severe weather and flood warnings. This being said, I must point out this was not a bicycle path but a bicycle route utilizing Read more… narrow roads with usually light traffic (but some sections were busy), logging roads, dirt and gravel (possibly rutted), and horror of all horrors...soft sand. The third day of cycling was bone jarring at times and though only 40km we were exhausted. The last day of cycling was 65 km instead of 55km listed. We traveled all week through extremely rural areas with no restrooms, restaurants, shops, or tourist sights during the whole cycling part of the day most days. (be sure to take snacks!) When a village appeared on the map it normally meant a group of houses and a church...but no commercial establishments. Friday we did see a few businesses but it was a holiday so they were closed. If there were castle ruins at the beginning we didn't see them. The bunker mentioned on day 6 was closed. The Abbey/Castle was closed for renovation which was a major selling point of interest when booking (we were put in a nice hotel as a substitute). The last hotel though nice was very crowded with young families and it was very noisy late into the night. It also required a taxi drive to town. This tour takes you through the former soviet block section of Poland. Overall my friend and I didn't mind doing this tour since we have experienced the other tours first, but feel you should be aware of what you are signing on for: remote cycling in non tourist/commercial type areas over possibly challenging surfaces.

    Countries: Poland

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Ed H. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a great trip. Would like to do another.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Kim K. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was fantastic. It was the whole experience altogether.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Jody S. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff, food and barge accommodations were perfect.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Chuck P. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable. The boat staff was terrific, the meals from Frank our chef, were gourmet quality, the weather sunny tho a bit chilly first days, the tulips were in full bloom, our bike leader had contacts in many cities and we had private evening tours from local guides, the boat was comfortable and always well maintained. I think the only caution I might offer is we started the tour in downtown Amsterdam at the train station and for those of us with limited bike experience going thru the city was a challenge keeping the group together thru traffic, turns, bridges, stop lights. A more rural start would have been better was the general consensus, but that aside virtually everything well received.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Michael & Margaret G. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on the barge Iris, biking through the Netherlands. The trip was well planned and the information given each day really highlighted the sights that we saw. The visits to the various venues were full of information and gave us a nice view of life in Holland. We could not have asked more from our guides, Wouter and Sarah. Each day when we rode up to the barge at its new dock site, the crew welcomed us and asked about our day. The meals were excellent with a different area of the world serving as the source for the menu each evening. Wines had been chosen to go with each serving. The rooms were as expected on a ship and very clean. they offered an easy base for our adventure. We had a very good time and we thank the guides and the crew including the chef.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Elizabeth S. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful Tulip Tour week on the Quo Vadis. We had excellent tour guides who were knowledgeable and personable. In addition to the planned events, we "happened upon" many extras, including "a cow dance," farmers shearing sheep, a WWII museum and some regal looking deer in the dunes at the North Sea. The ship was comfortable, the staff friendly and the food was great. Highly recommendable!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Andrew N. 10 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    I was clearly the fattest and least fit of the 12 guests on this 4 day bike and barge tour. My bride and I found all aspects of the tour to be above our expectations. The barge itself was something of a tardas. No the rooms were not massive but enough for two and well planned. The showers are small but hot and the beds surprisingly comfortable. The meals were beautiful. As a group we asked if the meals would be all traditional meals. I do not think this was the cooks intention so she changed every meal for us. Splendid food, warm and plenty to go round. The bikes were better than expected. Each day we traveled more KM with about 35 on the third day. I have to admit towards the end I did nearly give up. Note for next time break in your bottom and get a few km into your legs. Overall a great experience. We saw a lot of nature both of the animal and plant kind. Flowers cheese and at night a city walk. Our hosts and guide spoke English well and were a delight to spend time Read more… with. Go on book the tour, you know you want to.

    Boat: Flora

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Susan D. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had the perfect week for our Bike & Barge adventure! We brought rain gear but never had to use it. First day it was rather cold 39 degrees when we started out biking with wind, but of course it is the land of windmills. I was glad I had an ebike. The guides were knowledgeable and our experiences very local. They knew the market days, unique cafes, great places we wouldn’t have wanted to miss. The tulips were all in bloom and we biked through seas of color. The captain and crew of our barge, “Quo Vadis” were absolutely the best and individually got to know us all. I would highly recommend this trip to all. You don’t have to be an avid biker to enjoy this trip, all levels were welcomed.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Carl B. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Crew and Guides were exceptional! Boat was more than we could ask for.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Cycling in the Baltics - Tallinn to Vilnius
    by Mike Morin 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We are a group of ten seniors who arranged a modified 8 day trip with guide and van support for this tour. The tour was first class, the guide was excellent and very knowledgeable about all three countries. The van driver was very good as well and a character!
    I wouldn't recommend abbreviating the tour as we did because it involves too much riding in the van but in every other respect, the tour is excellent. A great way to gain knowledge and see the sights of an area of the world less travelled!

PWPC