Bike Tour Reviews 931 to 960 of 3253

 

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Janet J. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Number of people was just right. Excellent choice for routes each day and enjoyed the end of day walks into the beautiful cities.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
    by William G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great trip. The bike trail, signage and printed guide was very good on the section from Passau to Vienna. If we were lost it was due to our own failure to read carefully. The section from Vienna to Budapest was not as clear. There was more road riding, confusing or absent signage, and detours due to construction projects. There were also several stretches where the ‘path’ was gravel/sand or old Roman road. We do not regret doing both legs, but learned that most people do only the first segment and we can understand why they make this choice. Luggage transfer was seamless and all of our hotels provided secure, inside bike parking. We also had great weather, which made the ride much easier.

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by David C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a trip of a lifetime. There were plenty of climbs and equal downs. The small towns and seasides were magical. Some tough riding on stone streets in Portugal and some other challenges with fire damaged roads. Overall, the natives were supportive and friendly. Food and wine made the trip!

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Deirdre S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic experience...staff could not have been better....the food was unreal!....everyone of the staff went out of their way to help... even through a surprise birthday celebration for me.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Nelson S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip....tour guides outstanding ,more than outstanding....the food was fabulous and all staff were wonderful....first 3 days of self guided biking were well worthwhile.....stay hydrated if it is warm as cramping can occur.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Elizabeth C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Prague to Dresden, A Tale of Two Rivers (self guided) was an outstanding tour! This was my 5th bicycle tour but first without boat. My friend and I were delighted with every day on tour. Hotels (standard option) and breakfasts were excellent. When I booked I specifically asked if an upright sitting wide seat bicycle (like those on my previous tours) would be available since I physically can not ride in a bent over position. Upon arrival we were presented with the bent over style narrow seat bicycles and told that is all they offered. After explaining my issue and that I would not have booked the tour under those terms, I was provided a bicycle that met my needs. Unfortunately my friend had to ride the other style bicycle. The routes on this tour were scenic and the villages/cities were charming. Day 4 was confusing since written instructions conflicted with map which clearly stated official path was closed and detoured route on to a busy hilly road opposite side of river. Because we Read more… decided to ignore the map, we had our easiest most beautiful day. At days end we bumped into the tour guide (same company) who was traveling with guided tour and he said they hadn't updated their maps this season. Extremely poor unacceptable excuse since a simple sharpie mark could have made the important change. Overall, we loved it! Would recommend it! AND would absolutely love to do it again someday. (so please save my upright bike! LOL) Note: Day 1 we took the alternative route beside the river instead of going over the hill and did fine since we are experienced cyclists and could handle following a 10-12 inch wide trench trail path the first part of the way. Be sure to veer in to town where map indicates to leave the river or you end up on a mountain bike trail. If you need a wide path, stick to the hill road. Also note a rear pannier is not included in price. We felt any concerns/problems we had were dealt with quickly and graciously.

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Janet B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I highly recommend a trip on the New Star! We enjoyed everything about the trip!

    Countries: Croatia

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Jerline S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic trip!!! Everything went smoothly. Want to return and spend extra days in some of the places!

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maria Tereza and Arturo 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was much better than we expected. The service on the boat was one of the best we have experienced. The food was very good. The cabins confortable, very good shower. Good and very well adjusted bicycles. Precise information each day of biking. Scenery gorgeous. Completely safe even for children and older people. The cycling distances were appropriate for all. Very tasteful sandwiches for those who were biking. The cities we visited are amazing. Congratulations to the team working on Carissima.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Roger S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We truly enjoyed our barge, tour guides, barge staff and biking tour through the Netherlands and Belgium. The best way to see a country is through the back roads and trails. We will be back for another bike and barge trip!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Estela B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great tour, with wonderful cities to visit and scenic bike rides. The barge was perfect, great food and service. We enjoyed the evening music and dancing very much. A heat wave happened while we were there, so we had a great time on the sun deck
    I was not as happy with the bikes. I was in charge of a group of 25 and at least 6 of them had bike issues: brakes that worked only in the front or back, e-bikes that only assisted when pedaling at full throttle, and more. Even though we reported this, and we were told they would fix the bikes, in reality the bikes were not repaired by the next day, and it took time and effort to get them replaced. I expected more from Rad & Reisen, the bike company. Also there was very little instruction on how to use the e-bikes. My suggestion is to have a person at the dock on the first day to give a 10 minute one-on-one instruction on the e-bike and make the person do a little test ride. It was not as intuitive how to use them if you Read more… never have done it.
    Another issue that could have been better is a bigger, clearer map on how to get to the path from the barge location. That part is usually the hardest.
    All that said, it was still a nice, memorable trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Balearic Islands
    by Ann W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was an excellent experience all around. I Highly recommend this company

    Countries: Spain

  • Danube Delta
    by Nancy L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge accommodation and the staff are fabulous. Guides were fantastic. Everyone aims to please. Food is plentiful. We didn't see many birds but wind and weather are not controllable. I would have liked more biking and less on rocky paths. The days riding on roads through villages were great but the dike path not so good. I would travel with this company again for sure.

    Countries: Romania

  • Highlights of Holland
    by Mike R. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part? Everything! The scenery, the guide, the nature of the bike routes, the people.

    Boat: Flora

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Cyclades Islands
    by Catherine G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat was very tired. In our room the sink tap was not connected the pipe letting water into the toilet tank fell off the wall. The porthole wouldn’t open. Very few of the lights in our room worked. There was no comfortable seats on the boat, and we did not go where the tour was supposed to go because of the boat not being able to handle the weather. The crew was great.

    Boat: Panagiota

    Countries: Greece

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Jenny B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had many memorable experiences! Starting in the beautiful city of Prague with it's history & culture, biking through the Czech republic was the best way to experience this wonderful country, meet the Czech people & appreciate the changing landscapes. We were extremely fortunate with brilliant sunshine for the entire tour. The side trips provided further insight into this amazing country. Arriving in Dresden & exploring the side streets away from the main tourist areas was also a bonus.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Valerie P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a terrific trip. The scenery was outstanding and the bike trails were great fun. More biking would’ve been even better. The MS Arkona was a very nice ship, all recently remodeled and the staff all did a great job. I enjoyed all the breakfast choices. We would make our lunch at breakfast time to take with us for the day. Dinners were good but more salads would be a nice addition.
    Our boat was unable to reach Budapest due to low water levels. We were however taken by bus to Budapest and enjoyed a city bus tour. It made for a long day but at least we were able to see some of the city. This gave us more time in Vienna and an opportunity for a really fun afternoon bike ride there. Our tour director gave us excellent instructions for this ride since it was not part of the original tour itinerary. It offered shorter and longer distances that seemed to meet everyone’s needs.
    The directions in the map and narrative book were often lacking. I would Read more… recommend having turn by turn distances Incorporated. Generally, the morning briefing by the tour director was not much additional help. Questions by us to the tour director were often answered by “it’s in your daily program".
    It would be nice to have newer bikes. They were fine for the flat biking paths but would have been very challenging for anything with hills. They were heavy and some didn’t ride very smoothly.
    The optional Vienna concert was a bit of a disappointment. Although the music was nice I didn’t care for the venue. It was hot inside, the seats were very cramped and this particular theater was not very impressive.
    There is no free Wi-Fi despite an email from Tripsite confirming that there was.
    We were offered beverage packages which included bottled water.
    I drank the tap water on the boat and had no issues. I do feel that on an active trip such as this, unlimited chilled water should be available. We opted to forgo the beverage package and found the beer and wine reasonably priced.
    Laundry service on board would be a nice option.
    Having said all of the above, I would still recommend the trip and I would use Tripsite again.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by David R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hard to pick one part...The cycling and scenery each day was stunning. Vienna must be experienced. The staff and the food on the Arkona was outstanding.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Sam 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A GREAT experience on a bike & barge trip! I LOVE Bordeaux and the bike routes were beautiful !!! absolutely amazing from the start to the end.
    The staff members were superb and we had fun !!!
    I highly recommend this trip !!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Steve & Ginny B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Thank you for arranging our bike/barge trip on the MS Bordeaux.

    We cannot tell you enough good about MS Bordeaux, the Captain and his crew. It was so enjoyable to arrive on board, unpack for eight days, and relax. On other bike rides, we unpacked every night and repacked every morning. I think another bike/barge is in order. Tim LaMonte and I are researching next year’s ride already!

    The food was exceptional (except for one night when the chef was off. My red mullet was raw and not cooked. Can you spell Y-U-C-K?). Every day, we packed our lunches (except when we did our walking tour of Bordeaux with Sebastian, see below.) Desserts were yummy!

    The bike rides were great and we discovered fantastic wines!

    There were 84 passengers on-board. A large group was from Australia, some from Canada, Switzerland and the USA. Even though those of on the non-guided ride tour rode at different speeds, we continuously found each, and other helped each other find our way Read more… and found places of interest. The camaraderie with other riders was phenomenal.

    I had an e-bike. Ginny had a regular bike. On the last day, she traded it in for an e-bike! She will get one for the next tour! Tim also traded his bike for an e-bike on the last day.

    In the middle of the week, we could ride our bikes on a short bike path or take a walking tour of Bordeaux, or both. We decided to have a relaxing day and took the walking tour.

    Sebastian, the bartender, had the day off. We asked why he did the free walking tour on his day off. His response was simple. He loved to tell people about his country and take them on tour of his hometown, Bordeaux.

    A total delight was our interaction with 19-year old Dorrian (sp?). He was the highlight of the trip. He gave the welcome briefing, the evening briefings on what to expect the next day, and was always available.

    1. Dee LaMonte had a flat tire. We called Dorrian and he was there within 15 minutes

    2. Dorrian was on different roads where the non-guided riders were, and always got us on the right track.

    3. Every time we were not sure of where we should be, Dorrian showed up like magic!

    4. Another flat tire, a telephone call, and Dorrian found us again. He took Dee LaMonte and her bike in a van to MS Bordeaux. Dorrian also offered a ride to the rest of us, however, we declined and rode the rest of the way back.

    The final night on board, was the Captains Dinner, a party and lots wine flowing and lot of dancing! A perfect way to celebrate the end of our adventure!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lee F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was an altogether pleasant experience; the highlight was the lovely little village of Saint-Émilion.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Mok L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Danube / bike path was wonderful , My bike was a red girls bike that clunked “hate it”, my wife’s ebike was great, the food was good except the hair in couple of dishes, the tour dir and the hotel mgr were friggen rude (not just us to about 14 others ) would Never take a SE tour again. The people we met on board were great, Austria was very nice. Omg Austria wine was fantastic. thx Mik

    Ps
    Still like Tripsite’s

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Patti P. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The best part was traveling with friends. I would have enjoyed more information about the area and towns we were traveling through.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Karen T. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The staff and crew of the Anna Marie were very friendly and helpful but over all, if this was my first bike and barge trip, it would probably would have been my last. The accommodations were small, we knew that going in but because space was so limited, there was nowhere to hang the towels to dry properly so they should have been changed a little more frequently. The mattress on the bunk bed also needed to be changed as it was old and hard to sleep on.
    The food at breakfast was the same for 7 days, as were the luncheon meats. The bread was fabulous but could have been switched up with some protein like eggs to start the day. The dinners were, on most occasions, tasty and delicious but lacked quantity after a long bike ride.
    My biggest complaint was the cost of the water. The days were hot, the stores and restaurants along the way were closed and for the temperature we should have been provided with water or somewhere to fill our bottles. The boat charged too much Read more… for a small bottle and provided only one even smaller bottle for the day.
    Our bike guide did not provided any history of the areas we saw and at night, we were not given any tours of the place we were moored at.
    Last but not least, all the bikes needed to be tuned up, several chains, when changing gears, fell off, some brakes did not work well and some gears would not change properly.
    The most memorable part of the trip were the rest of the passengers, we all enjoyed each others company and had the ability to laugh at some of the situations described.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Sherry 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just completed the Prague to Dresden tour and am giving it 5 stars based on the overall experience, although I'm going to lead with some negatives. Our group size was 15. I had asked the question early on before booking about size and was told usually 10-12. With 2 guides and a support van we were able to divide on most days, as part of the group was habitually late. It was also an issue for lunches since a group of 15 slows things down for restaurant service. Our lunch stops often approached two hours. In addition, there were times that we were down one guide apparently due to overbooking issues, plus one unexpected issue with the overnight bike storage that caused a huge delay in the start the second day. That was the Terezin day, and while we got into town, the sites were already closed.
    But now for the positive, this is a great ride on mostly good bike paths. If you are in any way concerned about hills, weather, trail conditions or stamina, I highly recommend an ebike. Read more… This will mitigate almost all issues and still offers all the benefits of biking. 30-35 miles a day is a lot to cover with the drawbacks of being in a group, so most of the riding was at a pretty quick pace.
    Our guides, Richard and Jana, were outstanding. Richard is a veteran guide and a wealth of knowledge. He read the group well and let us divide into two whenever possible. This was Jana's first time on this tour, but she was cheerful and helpful at all times.
    The hotels and restaurants were all enjoyable, especially the chateau in Liblice/Melnik. We did enjoy our fellow riders and even with not ideal weather for a couple days, it was a fun time. The positives far outweighed the negatives and made for a memorable, thoroughly enjoyable trip.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Tim Devine 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The biking itself was fabulous. The staff looked after the bikes well, and the routes were lovely. My problems are with the boat itself, and there are several significant issues. First, our room was next to some machinery near the bridge that woke us up frequently during the night. The bathroom smelled bad, and other guests on a lower floor had major issues with smells too. The boat broke down on one occasion, and we had the feeling that it was on its last legs. The food was okay, sometimes good, sometimes not so good. The staff were very good, although the music was mostly orientated to non-English speakers. I know that this is not a Viking riverboat, but I have a reasonable expectation of having a comfortable and fairly quiet room. Never again on this boat.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • North Holland Tour
    by Paul Alper 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    On the Liza Marleen there were 6 of us from our family ranging in age from 82 to less than 2 years of age. The staff on the ship was superb, especially the cook who was particularly considerate regarding the granddaughters who roamed the dining area. She was quite creative with her menus and happy to socialize with the participants. Moreover, because it was my daughter's birthday (birthdays are Big Deals in the Netherlands) on the last night of the trip, the cook ignored my request for one cupcake with a candle and instead presented gorgeous cakes for the entire ship. Her English assistant was equally kind; the skipper turned out to be a first-class guitar player and had the entire ship singing along.

    It was a wonderful and successful excursion and I am very grateful to the staff on board the Liza Marleen for everything they did to accommodate us and make it a memorable 50th wedding anniversary.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Berlin to Copenhagen
    by Pilar Parra 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Ha sido un tour fantástico. Hemos hecho la ruta desde Copenhague a Berlín, con unos paisajes increíbles, disfrutando de estupendos carriles bici. Es nuestro cuarto tour y esperamos continuar con un nuevo destino. Unas vacaciones inolvidables!!!
    It was a fantastic tour. We have made the route from Copenhagen to Berlin, with incredible landscapes, enjoying great bike lanes. It is our fourth tour and we hope to continue with a new destination. An unforgettable vacation!!!

    Countries: Denmark, Germany

  • Rural Kerala, India
    by Allison Martin 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have just returned from this tour in Kerala, (September 2018) it was customised for the two of us to include 3 nights in Munnar. The tour exceeded our expectations, was extremely well organised by Kalypso Adventures, we had an outstanding guide and competent driver, learnt much about the area, culture, the people and how they live what is grown in the area and so much more. The cycling was great, amended slightly in distance and route because of the recent devastating floods but this in no way detracted from the experience. Accommodation was varied and always excellent, food delicious. We would certainly recommend this tour. We are an older couple from New Zealand.

    Countries: India

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Florence B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great ride, if you use the right company. We used Tripsite, who contracted Austria Radreisen, not the company to use. We were told that Austria Redreisen would meet us at the hotel in Passau the day before the trip was to start...they did not show( a competitor company, Donau, spent 2 hours with their clients, in our hotel). We tried to contact Austria Radreisen at their 'emergency' number...no one answer/no answering machine. The day the tour was to start, they delivered two bikes which were extremely heavy, and with 7 speed changers....we had specifically ordered 21 speed hybrids. The bikes were delivered by the person who picked up the suitcases, and we were told by him that he had no knowledge of how the bikes worked...we were on our own to figure them out. In spite of being in good physical condition, we found the bikes very difficult to use, as they would not coast. After 2 days with the heavy bikes, we had to take a day off as we were exhausted. Read more… Thanks to the help of a receptionist at the Courtyard Marriot in Linz, the company delivered replacement 21 speed hybrids(which we should have received in the first place) at our next hotel (we had to take the train to get there), which we used with no problems the rest of the way. The hotels provided by the company were excellent, and the travel maps adequate. We certainly will not go with this company again when we plan our next bike tour.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

PWPC