Bike Tour Reviews 931 to 960 of 3391

 

  • Flavors of Italy: The very best of Emilia Romagna (OLD)
    by John M. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The tasting opportunities added a different perspective to just cycling.

    Countries: Italy

  • South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
    by Ann M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every aspect of this trip was superb! The attentive and experienced guides, the beautiful country, the amazing wildlife, the accommodations, the food. There is not a single thing that could have been improved. Every day contained a variety of new and delightful adventures and we were constantly in awe of the things that we saw and did. It was definitely the trip of a lifetime!

    Countries: South Africa

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Michael S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide and crew were the best! "The Merlijn Rocks!" Our group was so compatible...It was like traveling with family. The scenery and experiences were so beautiful and to be one with your natural surroundings while on a bike was an added bonus!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cheryle C. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    It was wonderful being with the tour guide, both relaxing and visiting places we would not have found on our own. The wine tasting and lunch stops were great. Also, we had a very blustery day and our guide found a route to get the wind behind us instead of sideways! There were a couple of issues with government closing roads and the staff got us where we needed to be on time regardless of the intrusion. Wonderful barge, great food and awesome people in our group.
    Our second trip with Tripsite.....we plan on a third next year!

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ross M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was truly an amazing adventure with great people from around the world. We are now Bike vacation people for life. Can't wait for our next booked trip to start!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Janis B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, hotels and food were great. People were very friendly. The maps for this self-guided trip around Lake Constance were not detailed enough, did not provide information for intersections and turns. We had many times that we did not which way to go. Definitely need better maps.

  • Southern France Canal du Midi bike tour
    by Irene W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    As a group of four mature adults, we completed the Canal du Midi bike ride. It was great even with some windy and wet days. The scenery is fantastic and any little glitch was quickly forgotten when you looked out upon your surrounds. The Tripsite team were very helpful and our gear was always at the next destination by the time we got there. I had an e-bike where as the others had standard bikes. I thoroughly recommend the pedal assist e-bike as it really took the stress off when in slightly difficult terrain. Great for doing the hills in traffic as all you have to do is sit and watch the cars rather than standing up in the pedals. Definitely my kind of bike and my kind of trip. Loved the open space and rolling countryside.

    Countries: France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Gina F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amsterdam to Bruges . The most memorable part of the cruise was our singalong. After a full day of cycling and a fabulous dinner by our cook Ayelt, we returned to the Anna Antal to find a surprise: our Captain Arnaud was also a guitarist and singer! So we gathered round, local wine in hand and took turns choosing from his songbooks our favorite tunes and singing along. It was a bonding experience that you could only find on a small tour where we all cycled together and learned about the customs of the countries we explored away from the touristy crowds.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to see quaint villages and remote hard-to-get-to places. I was able to do that and pleased with our itinerary. Bike was awesome and made me want to change my bike at home. I had non- electric.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Scott & Liz P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having never done a “biking” vacation before, this was our first experience and I will say that we both felt that this would be something that we would definitely want to do again.
    The equipment was in great condition and was properly geared for the terrain that we encountered. The guide on our tour was part historian, part musician, part artist and part entertainer. He made our trip come alive with insightful facts and was always encouraging with all of the clients on the tour. We constantly felt special in the opportunities we had to gain access to sites that we toured.
    The crew on the boat was exceptional as well. We were always made to feel at home and quickly realized how much effort they all placed on us enjoying ourselves.
    The meals served on board were exceptional as well. Our chef Sara, provided seasonal, and local dishes that enhanced our journey through Provence.
    Lastly, we would have to say that biking through Provence was by far, the Read more… best was to tour Provence. We often felt more like citizens of the country than tourists. We will never forget the wonderful times we had, especially with the Dropbox videos and photos that our tour guide send us upon our return home.
    This was undoubtedly one of the best vacation experiences that we have ever had.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Randy B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was exceptional from beginning to end. The accommodations were perfect (you can't beat having your hotel follow you). The food was amazing and the staff were the perfect hosts. The guides did an exceptional job guiding us through the beautiful towns, villages and countryside of Holland. A trip my wife and I will always remember.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Suzanne B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The incredible scenery and the wonderful people. We met some incredible new friends on the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brent F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bikes were in terrible condition. My while broke down with 10 miles left on the first day. My wife’s bike had a flat that the crew was just going to fill with air. My sister-in-laws bike broke down 5 miles out on the third day. Food was poor. Very few English speakers among the crew. Directions and maps for the rides were poor or non existent. When we complained we were told. “Well you made it back didn’t you?”

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Marilyn P. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    After having had prior positive experiences, I was very disappointed with this trip. The accommodation on the boat was almost to the point of ridiculous! The upper bunk was almost impossible to get into and getting up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night was treacherous! The staff were pleasant enough and the food was okay. Peter, our guide, was also disappointing. He really seemed to have little interest in whether we were enjoying our ride. He would often head out ahead of us and then a some point realize that we weren't all there and would stop or go back. He did not wear any kind of identifiable clothing so that we knew who or what to look for if we were further behind. Thank goodness there were enough of us with prior experience that we picked up the slack and made sure the first timers weren't left behind. I invited my sister, a first timer, to join me on this trip and found myself apologizing many times that this trip was less than enjoyable. That being Read more… said we did see some nice scenery and did come across some stores that were actually open. The general comment was "that's just the French" Another thing to note is that finding the bus that was supposed to take us from Paris to meet the boat ended up being a bit of a fiasco! We waited for an hour in the hot sun and the bus had been there the whole time. There was no identifiable sign to let us know that was our bus. Several times members of our group checked with the driver and were told that it wasn't our bus. Finally one of the members of our group who was more proficient in French appeared to ask the right question as it turned out that the bus was actually ours. Not a good omen apparently! All in all I would not recommend this trip to anyone!

    Countries: France

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Kurt W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew, guides, boat, food, bikes were all great. The scenery was spectacular and the weather (end of Sept, first week of Oct) was ideal -- except for some heavy winds that caused the itinerary to be modified for safety (we never experienced the winds ourselves). Biking was really good -- lots of hills, steep and long, but I had an e-bike so they weren't a problem for me -- and others on the trip, even those older than I am (I'm 72) on "normal" bikes, did fine on them. The one thing I'd say was I would have liked was more biking -- longer routes, more time pedaling. We biked from 9 a.m. to lunch, never after lunch. Having said that, swimming off the boat or cruising after lunch were also very nice. Other guests on the trip were fun, interesting, and friendly. I was sorry to say good-byes.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Central Greek Aegean Sea
    by Annette K. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    An amazing experience with great friends

    Boat: Love Boat

    Countries: Greece

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Denis E. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part? Scenery and food and small group size

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sheri S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My most memorable part of the trip was traveling with friends who have different cycling abilities. There was a something for everyone. The staff was helpful and very professional.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Warren S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very enjoyable trip! Great accommodation, great cycling and great crew & guides.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Gayle D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Simple the thrill of cycling through Europe along the Danube River.

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Adele S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking on paths that were mostly not too crowded. The architecture was so different from the U.S. I really enjoyed seeing the neat homes with lots of flowers still in bloom in late Sept. The small towns full of beautiful old buildings and churches. Our guide did a great job of teaching us the history of the area.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Wendy D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I love Tripsite. We are about to embark in 2019 on our third such bike and barge holiday. We did Brussels to Bruges in 2017, Mantova to Venice this year (2018) and have already booked for 2019 to do a 6 country river boat and bike trip down the Danube. We find the combination of being on the water in a comfortable barge enjoying great food and company, coupled with daily activity a wonderful combination and experience. Biking through the various countries during the day after a hearty breakfast, packed to enjoy a wonderful packed lunch along the way is an altogether thrilling and fulfilling experience.
    We highly recommend Tripsite and the wonderful holidays they offer. All the work is coordinated. All you do is get out and enjoy your vacation.
    Well done Tripsite! A job well done.

    Countries: Italy

  • Central Greek Aegean Sea
    by Kimberly H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the various opportunities to swim in the sea, off the boat and at the beach. It was interesting to learn the unique history of each island we visited.

    Boat: Love Boat

    Countries: Greece

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Catherine S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip on the Sailing Home Amsterdam to Brugge was far more than we expected. The cabins are spacious enough for 2 people and the bathroom was well equipped and plenty enough space. The outside deck area was very social and the best way to finish the day with sundowners and your fellow cyclists. Loved this trip and would highly recommend.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Susan G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Two of the islands with national parks were removed due to weather concerns. High wind and rough seas evident with the first one, the second the weather did not happen and some of the guests thought we were taken to our final port of Zadar a day early (two nights there instead of one) perhaps for the convenience of the crew. Release the captain a day early, save on fuel? Food on the boat was institutional. Bikes were very comfortable and handled well, but should have rear-view mirrors. Guides Ivana and Kristofer have a lot of personality and were very engaging. Some of the scenery was spectacular. Guided walks provided for us at some of the ports were excellent. Tripsite should send trip info farther in advance of the trip. When it finally did arrive, it included info about flying to Dubrovnik, etc. By then, we and likely most other clients had made plans.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Eric D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    First time I've had an art historian/architecture teacher as a tour guide. Geert was wonderful and enriched every stop.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Katherine T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everyone should take this trip! A truly wonderful experience.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Barbara G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge trip from Amsterdam aboard the Magnifique II greatly exceeded our expectations. The camaraderie among the passengers developed quickly. The staff was friendly and professional. This was our first such trip and We are anxious to book the next.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Shena L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Croatian bike and barge exceeded our expectations! Spectacular scenery, fabulous cycling, helpful guides, incredible weather, great accommodations. Overall a wonderful experience!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

PWPC