Bike Tour Reviews 991 to 1020 of 3371

 

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Casimira R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guides were amazing made sure no one was left behind. I wish there would have been transportation for us from the train station to the boat. Other than that the trip was amazing and I would highly recommend this.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Marg E. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    You will not really see France and Belgium unless you cycle. This way you go through villages and towns and farms, see cathedrals, castles and even the grave of Van Gogh. The routes take you on forest, bike and tow paths, roads and cobblestones. Enjoy picnic lunches in church grounds, pubs, cafes and gardens. You will enjoy evening night walks after a delicious three course meal.
    If you don't think you can do it, you can!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Bernadette G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was the perfect balance for experiencing Italy as well as being physically active. The most memorable part of the trip was being with a group of like-minded active and curious people!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Clive P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My main disappointment was that we did not go to Chateauneuf du Pape, that was one off the considerations in picking this tour. I understand the reasoning for the change in itinerary but it should be removed from the description if it is not being included. The gearing on the bikes could be better, higher top gear, lower bottom gear, for this tour. I hope this doesn't sound too negative as we did enjoy the tour. Most memorable sites were Les Beux/Les Carrieres de Lumieres and Pont-du-Gare.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Pete T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My Mom immigrated from the area of Italy we cycled through, it was as if I was viewing towns and fields she viewed and visited as a child. Based on my sampling there is not a bad glass of wine in Italy....Forget a car, use a bike and public transportation...

    Countries: Croatia

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Abbie M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We absolutely loved the two villages we stayed in and many we rode through along the way (our trip was shortened). The French have a way of sharing their “Joie de vivre.” We'd never been to Provence, and the olive groves and apple orchards, the adorable small towns, the food and wine, eating our picnic lunch in an ancient, empty church foyer— all made for an unforgettable adventure. My only suggestion is to make sure people know how to use the GPS if they are their own guides. It was confusing for us but we eventually figured it out. Lucky are those that can take this trip!

    Countries: France

  • Central Greek Aegean Sea
    by Bryan L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The rides were the most memorable, very enjoyable and scenic. However there were a few issues. Disappointed with the bikes, for example the rubber on the pedals were so worn that my shoes constantly slipped on the exposed metal of the pedals. One of the guides switched his pedals with my bike, the guides seemed aware of the problem and it was obvious this issue had been raised before. Our toilet was leaking when we first arrived on the boat and we had quite a bit of water on the floor of the bathroom. Also the generator of the boat was switched off at night making the rooms uncomfortably hot. I don't understand why shore power wasn't utilized.

    Boat: Elara 1

    Countries: Greece

  • Loire Valley - Orléans to Tours
    by Frank H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Loire River Valley tour was spectacular in every way: bikes, scenery, route, trails, signage, difficulty level (which was "easy" and fit our previous experience level), the towns and accommodations.

    Countries: France

  • Auxerre to Paris and Paris to Auxerre
    by Hui-Chang W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a great trip! The crew of the Elodie are a tight-knit team who made our tour quite exceptional. The route was spectacular, the food wonderful and the accommodation comfortable. The bikes were high quality and well suited to the varied conditions enroute. A highly recommended tour!

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: France

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Tom H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did the Camino de Santiago Bike Tour in October of 2018 and it was an experience of a lifetime. I began my trip in Porto, Portugal and completed my journey in Santiago, Spain. My trip began with a guided tour of Porto, Portugal with Diego. Diego was extremely informative throughout my tour and he provided insight and information into the beautiful city of Porto. The next day I was met by my tour host, Sergio and he provided my bike, an explanation of the GPS system and safe passage out of Porto. The sights I enjoyed over the next several days were breathtaking. For the first 3 days of my trip I had the Atlantic Ocean over our left shoulder and it was warm, beautiful and inviting. After I left the sea coast I was greeted by vineyards, forests, small rural areas and eventually larger busy cities. Upon arriving in Santiago I ended my route at the Cathedral and was filled with emotion and tears. This trip gave me the opportunity to pray, reflect on my life and give thanks for the many Read more… blessing I have been given. Thank you Tripsite for providing an opportunity of a lifetime!

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Jordan Holiday
    by Casey G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Jordan should be on everyone's biking radar. The combination of on and off road with challenging climbs and spectacular descents is as good as it gets. Our guide on this trip, Anas, could not have been better; at times cheerleader, bike mechanic, teacher and first aid provider, he was always friendly and willing to share his culture and his perspective on his wonderful country. The opportunity to spend a day and a half at Petra and the jeep tour through Wadi Rum gave us the a greater understanding of history and appreciation for the beauty of Jordan.

    Countries: Jordan

  • Berlin to Aschaffenburg
    by Laurie C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Only suggestion, offer a Tripsite Jersey top to wear during the bike tour to keep the group together or identification. Make sure all bike tires are fully inflated. Low tire pressure does slow you down especially against the wind.
    I will miss Lenny and her Iris crew.
    Wonderful memories! I truly loved the day by day itinerary. Well organized! Good job

    Countries: Germany

  • South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
    by Marjorie B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It will be difficult to surpass our trip to South Africa. Biking on dirt roads while viewing wild life was amazing.

    Countries: South Africa

  • Coastal Andalusia
    by Grant B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The portion of the ride through the cork forest was really special. Very little car traffic, a great hill, lovely scenery, and the restaurant at the top was amazing! Really a great day!

    Countries: Spain

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Peggy S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It's hard to choose a most memorable part of the trip. Aigues Mortes was a big surprise -- the history, the walls and the tower, and the special celebration -- the bull games -- taking place while we were there. The Camargue was amazing, with the waterways and the vineyards, the distinct breeds of horses and the bulls. Provence was beautiful with the olive groves and apple orchards, and of course more vineyards. It was exciting to visit the sites where Van Gogh had painted in Arles, and Hugo's commentary was superb. Singing Starry Starry night on deck under the starry night was lovely. The visit to Les Baux, with the spectacular scenery and Les Carrieres des Lumieres in the quarry were fabulous. We enjoyed visiting the Pont du Gard and singing Sur Le Pont d'Avignon as we cruised passed the bridge itself.

    Now the areas for improvement: The bikes were not good enough for the Provence segment. We understood that we would be provided with 27 gear bikes, but Read more… had an infinite gearing system instead, and the lowest gear wasn't enough for the hills we encountered. Those with electric bikes were happier. Also, through some poor communication between Tripsite and the tour operator, Girolibero, a part of the trip route that our group had been particularly interested in -- a visit to Chateau Neuf du Pape -- was no longer included. Hugo did his best, with a vote (which came out even) to see whether we should go to Chateau Neuf du Pape or take the shorter route that had been promised to the others on the trip. Then he flipped a coin. We accepted the decision as appropriate, but were disappointed that we had not got what was advertised through Tripsite.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Danna J. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The knowledge about the country that our guide, Hein, provided at sporadic times. He was very astute to stop on a hillock for a small respite when there was no “cafe” in sight. Great information.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Danube Delta
    by Anne E. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Seeing a sea otter cross over the track 10 metres in front of me.

    Countries: Romania

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Marisa C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was awesome. The bike trails were excellent and we were so much in contact with nature that we couldn't believe it. Everything was very well organized and the villages and cities we visited were great. No complaints except for the Flamenco Hotel in Budapest, which was not as expected. We had to have our breakfast in the lobby sitting on a sofa because there weren't enough tables for all the guests. They didn't refill the breakfast buffet and no one took care of the spills on the tables. Besides the rooms were old and smelly.
    But it was just a hotel and we will definitely do more of these trips in the near future because it was a great adventure and a memorable experience! I really recommend Tripsite.

  • Tripsite Traveler: Cycling & Safari in South Africa
    by Ray Siwinski 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just completed this tour plus an add-on to Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe. Both were A+++. Lizelle was a fantastic hostess and guide. And Ronnie was the best (we even got him on a bike and a whitewater raft). Don't hesitate to do this tour. You'll thank me.

    Countries: South Africa

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Sue & Fred H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were on the bike trip from Prague to Dresden. The biking was really enjoyable. I had worried I wouldn't be able to go that far but the kilometers just slipped away. There was always a break with something interesting to see or a time to eat a snack or lunch. We were very lucky that the weather was so perfect for riding.
    Vitek and Stepan were excellent guides and kept us informed as to what to expect on each day's ride. They were very helpful and excellent company.
    The scenery along the rivers was so picturesque that it seemed we were traveling in a post card!
    The breakfasts and dinners were always very enjoyable and delicious. Food and drink for mind and body!
    I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys biking and seeing
    beautiful places. We loved it!!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Stephen G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food on board the ship was amazing, and at a higher quality more expensive competitors. I would definitely consider Rad und Reisen again.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Patricia D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the scenery on this trip and not cycling on main roads. Love when we are on cycle paths and not in traffic. The boat was first class and the crew on the Magnifique III went out of their way to accommodate all our needs. The chef made all the meals very unique and we were able to sample the various foods of the region. A wonderful vacation.

    Countries: Belgium

  • Innsbruck to Bolzano
    by Brent H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. The scenery was breathtaking and the hotels were in good locations close to the center of towns.

    Countries: Austria, Italy

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Frank S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Really enjoyed our evenings off the boat visiting some FABULOUS cities....

    Boat: New Star

    Countries: Croatia

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Rhonda L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was meeting and traveling with people from around the world and learning about the the two fascinating countries on our tour--Belgium and Holland. The Magnifique's atmosphere and crew were wonderful, too!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Ann S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: Les Baux de Provence: location, view from hotel patio, view from restaurant, atmosphere

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by William G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Carissima had nice cabins that had ample room. The staff were truly amazing with their customer service. The daily briefings provided us with most of the information that we needed for the ride and Albert was excellent at answering all questions for those of us that needed extra help. We only had a few issues with directions. The bikes were in great condition, shifted easily and not as heavy as I expected, we used regular bikes. The cycling paths were filled with beautiful scenery and easy cycling. Touring in Vienna was much easier than expected. It was unfortunate that the water level was too low to take the boat all the way to Budapest but Rad Reisen did their best to make sure that their customers had a good experience and provided a tour bus to transport the people to Budapest, providing them with a nice lunch of traditional Hungarian food. The food on the Carissima was very well planned, their chef was excellent in his food preparation. I personally would have preferred a lot Read more… more vegetables but overall was very happy with his meal planning. The dining room was a bit noisy with all the people chattering so this made it difficult to converse with some of the other people at our table. The waiters were outstanding in their hard work. We will definitely go on more of these trips as we enjoy being active on vacations. This trip was a wonderful experience and so enjoyable.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Girona Spa Experience
    by Torben T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tripsite is a great idea, my experience was that it need to mature. We did not receive the hotel listed. We did not get a SPA experience either. Surprises is not a positive thing when you are on vacation. Spain and Girona is great places to visit.

    Countries: Spain

PWPC