Bike Tour Reviews 961 to 990 of 2914

 

  • Judith B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Bike and Barge- along the Danube to 3 countries- was wonderful. The weather ended up being perfect, though it was October, and that made it all even better! Scenery was super! Bikes- well maintained and easy to ride. Lots of great encounters with staff on board; only problem was an accident with the ship on the last day. I am sure it will not happen again!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Georgia M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Travelling on the boat with a small group of international people is such a great way to experience the world - and the bike tours are brilliant.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Kathryn Bertram 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our entire group agreed that this was the trip of a lifetime! However, I spent the entire plane ride home plotting how I could take the exact same trip again. We spent the entire tour with AMAZING guides who led us through their "home" and provided us with the opportunity to enjoy sunny South Africa as the local do.

    The biking on this trip is all done on mountain bikes. The terrain and rides vary, and we added miles onto the routes on a few of the days. The guides allow your group to set the bike pace, and there is always the van to tour in if riding isn't an option. However, our entire group loved all of the biking. My personal favorite was all of giraffes we saw on our bikes. It is amazing way to see the sights!

    My only concern prior to this trip was the food, but we ate like kings and queens. Who knew they served cold and hot breakfast?! We enjoyed tons of fresh produce, including avocados and grapefruits straight from the trees.

    This Read more… trip is a great balance of touring and biking, and if you are even considering going, you must go. You, too, will leave plotting a way to get back again. Enjoy sunny South Africa!

    Countries: South Africa

  • jehiel 2 years ago     Staff

    Test

    Countries:

  • Corri & Tom H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    FOOD & staff aboard the Gandalf were amazing and loved Ghent!!!!

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Nancy V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I was surprised at how great everything was.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Brain F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The scenery, the people, the food, and the cycling.

    Boat: Iris

  • Michael K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip exceeded my expectations. The beautiful country side along the Danube River, the locks and dams, the wine county of Austria and Budapest were the highlights.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Frank M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The daily briefing on what to see and do really helped to get the most out of the bike and barge tour.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Jenny & Ted Miles Johnson 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The staff members were superb!!!
    Another great experience on a bike & barge trip!
    Some suggestions:
    We should have known in advance, that appointments were necessary to visit a winery. A daily visit to a winery would have been nice, where the staff of the boat could have made the appointments.
    In the write up for this particular bike & barge (Bordeaux), it would have been nice for the write up to let people know, that there are a few hills (12-15%) to ride up daily.
    Even bicyclist in decent shape had a tough time riding up these 12-15% grades, due to the heavy bicycles. Maybe, letting people know, that it’s advisable to get an ebike, can resolve the uphill climbs issue.
    Also, for not getting lost on the daily bike routes; The availability of the gps was a big plus and a necessary piece of equipment, for a successful & pleasant daily bike trip.
    Overall, the staff & owner of the barge were very helpful & were there for you, Read more… when you were in need of something!

    Countries: France

  • Annette B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We’ve done 2 trips and both of them have been amazing - Pulia and Sicily. Highly recommend both as the sites were beautiful, the food (and wine) delicious. So many good memories.

    Countries: Italy

  • Margie A. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Elodie bike/barge trip was fabulous in terms of scenery, routes, staff, food. However, 2 couples on the barge were not able to keep up with our very leisurely pace. I would advise your company to stress level of fitness for participants, and also to recommend 2 guides for different ability levels.

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Jacalyn C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling on the camino in Portugal and Spain was beautiful at every turn but the most memorable part was the wonderful people we encountered, both those walking or cycling and those who lived along the way.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Lisa S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We traveled on the ship Bordeaux in France. The bike routes were beautiful, but the instructions provided by not so great. No worries, we had maps and a GPS, we made each day into an adventure!!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Joanne B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The best parts of the trip were the staff, the food and the camaraderie. The bike rides, the scenery and the towns visited could not have been better. It was an all around outstanding vacation!!!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Isabel V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The way the staff looked after us concerning our gluten and lactose free meals. No effort were to big for them!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Suzanne P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really loved our ride from Innsbruck to Bolzano. The scenery through Austria was breathtaking and the hotel accommodation was excellent. We have not stopped telling our friends what an amazing time we had, all thanks to Tripsite.

    Countries: Austria, Italy

  • Angela R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was great. Other passengers on the barge were great, weather was good, one couldn't ask for anything better. The Tripsite staff were extremely helpful and I have always found them to be most professional.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Michael P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the whole trip. The pace was perfect, fast enough to be interesting, with constantly changing scenery and a mix of cities, villages, and farmland, and yet slow enough to enjoy and savor the experience. Our travel guide and the staff on the Gandalf were fantastic and looked after us almost like royalty, but still with a casual and friendly approach.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amanda S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I am still raving about our trip - we loved every minute of it. Loved the cycling through all the fields of tulips and Lia our guide was fantastic. The barge was warm and welcoming - like coming home at the end of the day - excellent food. I only have good things to say. Just do it!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Charles H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wachau valley was my favorite part...small towns, great shops and wine.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Constance R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was a most memorable trip! Everything was truly top-notch! Especially loved the scenery, staff, food, company ... what more can I say! The only thing I'd like folks who are considering this to know is that the rides are hard. It was noted as moderate to difficult and most all of us would say it was difficult. But it was worth the effort as the views from the top of the mountains (not hills!) were incredible! And then I could reward myself with all the scrumptious food served at every meal. The camaraderie that developed amongst us travelers was truly a highlight. These are people I wish I could travel with again - so much fun! I know I can't count on this happening again but maybe...! I will definitely book another Bike and Barge trip!

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Rebecca K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The bike trip, the guide, the staff were all memorable. I'm not easily pleased. The trip was beyond my expectations. Loved riding through the countryside. Our guide was terrific while very responsible he was also fun and made everyone feel at ease. Although I was a solo guest he always made me feel comfortable. They staff was outstanding. Hard working and sooo nice. Again very friendly and just wanted everyone to be happy. Have shared my positive experience with so many friends, etc. I am happily considering another trip this summer. I'm an American and a somewhat simple/picky eater... at times I didn't care for what was served. Suggestion...Possibly more variety for lunch. It was the same everyday. Some type of luncheon meats and cheese.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mia & Jim M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Parts: The fields of flowers in the Netherlands, our fellow passengers, both the barge and bike riding experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Suzanne F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our boat staff were very friendly and competent and really made the effort to make sure that you were enjoying yourself. Jantien, our boat den mother and chef always made you feel so welcome and cared for. And Jacques, our guide was so knowledgeable and passionate about all the history and scenery. Absolutely a memorable experience all around. Thank you.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Ed W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Bike , boat, staff and fellow travelers all great fun. Memorable trip for me and still talking about to my mates at home in Australia.

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Carmen P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The barge is beautiful & clean. The food fantastic! I totally enjoy the countryside & the cities we stopped at. I always recommend this trip from Bruges to Amsterdam.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Jim W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful scenery. If you are an experienced cyclist, consider splitting off with a smaller group. The group was too large with varied skills, making the ride less than it could have been.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Kathy S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We loved our trip on the Danube! From the first day to the last, we enjoyed the food, scenery and new friends. Would definitely recommend.

PWPC