5 star rated Bike Tour Reviews 1141 to 1170 of 1805

 

  • Bremen to Magdeburg
    by Robert C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was meeting a German who was a prisoner of war in the USA during WW2.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Clare C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I don't know how I could possibly pinpoint one part of the trip as the most memorable as it was all so absolutely fantastic. I was expecting it to be good but is was beyond my wildest expectations.
    Take a day in Passau either before or after the trip to walk around the beautiful historic town. The cathedral is so worth a visit, it's absolutely magnificent with an organ that has more pipes than any other in the world.
    The boat was excellent, accommodations better than expected, the food was amazing and the staff friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Remember to book your spa time as you will have that privately for an hour. There is nothing quite like sitting in the hottub while cruising down the Danube after a days ride.
    Visit the Trappist monastery before you ride on your first day and see the reliquaries in the church-pretty weird, and don't forget to stop for refreshments before you take your bike across on the ferry at the Danube bend. The bikes are really comfortable and take your time to enjoy the magnificent scenery on this ride. You will see old castles up on the cliffs and picturesque villages across from the bike path.
    In Bratislava we took our time to walk up to the castle which give great views over the city and looks beautiful when lit up at night. Take a slight detour from the route to ride over the "flying saucer" bridge. When you are riding to Bratislava take your time to look at Prince Eugenes palace with its magnificent Baroque gardens.
    Go up on deck to take full advantage of the cruise into Budapest. To say that every picture I took here was postcard quality is no lie. Rather than do the guided tour we jumped on the hop on hop off bus so we could make it up to the castle and anywhere else you might want to see. This was actually my favorite City as it was so beautiful and it didn't seem as packed with tourists and it's very walkable. The views at night from our cabin were fantastic with the city lights and the view across the river.
    The next day was a beautiful scenic ride by the river with another ferry ride to Esztergom where you really should walk up to the cathedral and the huge statue that overlooks the river.
    Vienna was our next stop and we took a tram and subway up to the city center. Tours were offered but we did this one ourselves, and I think that biking this city would be worth it as it is so set up for cyclists. There was a Jesuit church here that was more magnificent than any other church I saw on the trip. I had never seen rainbow colored corkscrew marble columns before. It was truly spectacular. Visit an art museum too if you get the chance. The architecture here was spectacular and we watched people waltzing in one of the central parks.
    Our final day was riding through the vineyards of Austria and little villages along the river. Stop for some wine tasting but not too much as this is the day you will probably have to ride against the wind on the final part of the ride.
    The rides were so much fun and anyone could do them, electric bikes were available for the less able. There is so much to do and see, and you can make great new friends.
    All I can say is sign me up for next year and while I would do this trip again in a heartbeat, I want to try a new one.
    Thanks!!!

  • Magdeburg to Berlin
    by Deborah R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was seeing many historical sites in Berlin.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Nianne F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    There is a reason why the default bicycle on the Southern Dalmatia Plus trip is an e-assist model; the islands of Croatia are very hilly! The e-assist made it easier for me to stop on an uphill, take photos of fellow riders or the amazing scenery, get re-started easily, and make it to the top without holding up the whole group. Everyone, from the guides and crew on board to the locals in cafes and restaurants, was very friendly, helpful, and willing to speak English for the benefit of us uni-lingual folks!

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • South Holland Tour
    by Mike S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The overall experience was excellent. We enjoyed the intimacy of a relatively small group on the boat. It allowed us to meet a number of people over the course of the week. We will definitely be returning in the future.

    If I had one suggestion it would be to limit the number of days where there was a deadline to meet the boat in the late afternoon as these deadlines sometimes creates pressure to complete the route quicker than I would have otherwise chosen.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by John Miller 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip provided both the opportunity to see the countryside in an up-close and invigorating manner, but it also allowed for memorable time to get to know and enjoy our fellow travelers.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Gail F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Ah...The trip was memorable for so many reasons, the people, the sites. Bikes were amazing to ride. Loved the infinity gears. We loved the Soleo, however it sunk due to some submerged metal. The staff did their level best to help the passengers continue vacation, get to their embassy to get new passports, medications, and put us up in hotels. The Estello was brought up to continue our trip. There were some circulation/moisture issues on the Estello so we didn't enjoy that boat as much. One suggestion would be to do a short first day clinic to ensure riders understand basic group riding etiquette. Rounding the city round about would have been better/safer had we all gathered and taken the lane to go as a group rather than single file around in such an extended line. Then resume to single file along country/city roads. The sites were amazing but there were some areas that must have required more city riding. Loved the Carmarge horses, fields of poppies, flamingos, roman stadium and aquaduct. Loved the group of people and the crew. Peter and Sheena did a great job despite their loss of the boat. Marco was awesome, he was our single contact after the barge sunk he helped organize us and processed us thru what had to be done. Arie also was a huge help during this process.. (the owner of the boat was in and out, he didn't even recognize any of the passengers try to apologize for the situation or see how we were doing.. not a fan of the owner of the boat) Oh the folks at Tripsite who I contacted did try to see what they can do. We have separate insurance as suggested but I'm not sure if Tripsite will try to make any reparations for our interrupted trip.. we missed 2 days of cycling.. I wouldn't mind a discount on a future trip.

    Boat: Soleo

    Countries: France

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Karen H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guide and crew were amazing. Great home cooked meals with personal atmosphere.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Ring of Kerry & Dingle Peninsula
    by Lynne 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    In my view, the overall route rating of this itinerary should be at least be at the "Moderate/Difficult" level, and certain sections "Difficult" because of the "gaps" or mountain passes to overcome. Also, the route to Ballaghbearna Gap has unpaved, rough roads with long, steep climbs; this area is in a very remote part of Ireland as there are no cars, no one else around except sheep all around the mountains, and no cell phone reception. Fortunately, when we were there, the weather cooperated.
    Coupled with the climbs, this tour can easily turn to "Difficult" if the weather is windy and/or rainy.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Doreen C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was stopping for lunch in a vineyard!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Jo-Anne W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    What an Experience! Our Barge, the Jelmar, was spacious with a nice private bathroom. Albert-Jon was a great Captain and our meals were outstanding! We certainly were never hungry and the menus were very unique and delicious. The bikes were great and pretty comfy. Petra our guide was terrific. We not only enjoyed our Biking with her, but she also took us on evening walking tours of the little villages we were docked in. Being local, she was able to indulge us in a lot of the history of the areas. The Tulip fields, and beautiful architecture were delightful and of course the Keukenhof was AMAZING! Loved the little stops along the way for ice cream or coffee. Learning of the Working Windmills and speaking with overseers was so interesting. The little Cheese farm we visited was terrific. They even vacuumed our cheese for us to bring home. The Aalsmeer Flower auction was like a beautiful ballet and the millions of flowers the backdrop to the workers performances. I have already forwarded the trip information to several co-workers and friends. Truly a MUST DO.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Marty W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Marcos , captain and Kim, cook were at the helm of our trip with the Claire de Lune. They did an outstanding job; food excellent, conversation and safety of boat exceptional - we were taken care of very well. Paul, tour bike guide kept us all together on the back streets and roads, never lost and always got us back to the boat in time for relaxation time and dinner. He knew the area, well versed in the country's history and strong bicyclist and took good care of us. This trip is not for the faint at heart or easy bicycle afternoon riders. We road 30 miles almost every day - wind in our face and sometimes lucky with the wind at our backs. The riding was some back roads, some deltas and some cobble stone city riding along with traffic. Not rails to trails and no sag wagon. We saw beautiful country sides, the tulips were full aglow at the tulip fields and the windmill adventure was super. It was a good full week of adventure. The barge crew are to be commended for all that they did to make our week special.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Aare Trail
    by Will L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic cycling trip along the Aare and Rhine Rivers in Switzerland. The organization of our trip was great, bikes, luggage transfer and hotels. We were particularly pleased to stay each night either in or near to the old centre of each city. Thanks Tripsite.

    Countries: Switzerland

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The best part was seeing the countryside by bike.

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Paul Emile T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Excellent group spirit!

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Cindy G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff on Fleur were wonderful and our guide Lia was excellent sharing so much info about the Netherlands.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Troy T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    One of the best European Vacations I have ever done. Well worth the money. Will never forget how beautiful the Tulips were.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Sandy B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was the best trip. The food was spectacular, our guide was spectacular. I loved the whole trip.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Frank L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    EVERYTHING about this trip was fabulous! We will have long lasting memories about everything related to this trip- the booking process with Tripsite to the barge and crew to the tulips and windmills to the wonderful biking experiences throughout The Netherlands. I would highly recommend this trip to everyone!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • South Holland Tour
    by Lauren F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable parts were the wonderful roads to ride on in The Netherlands, the food was delicious, the staff members were accommodating and friendly .
    We loved this barge experience so much we signed up to do Northern Holland.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Alan G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was the biking along the rivers.

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Carol K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was the chef and guides!!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Leslie B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was the biking and the touring of various cities in the evening. I was interested in seeing if I could physically do the biking and found it was no problem at all.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Patricia C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Three highlights of the trip: glorious sunshine on the palette of colour at the Keukenhof Gardens; exploring the fabulous 'secret' back alleys in the Kieuperspoort district of Middelburg; the helpful, friendly and confident nature of our Dutch hosts. Fantastic holiday!!!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Audrey L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I returned May 9, 2017 from Italy from the best trip of my life. It started out from a conversation with a retired flight attendant a year ago and became a reality on April 29, 2017 when I had the great pleasure of boarding The Ave Maria from Mantua Italy to Venice Italy. From start to finish it was perfection. The boat was quite accommodating with our 3 bunk cabin, lovely dining room and sun deck to visit with our group of sixteen from Michigan, Nevada, Florida and Texas. The crew of 4 were fantastic and the food was superb. Everyday something different and delicious. The bike riding and touring through the countryside was phenomenal all because our guides Hein and Alain were exceptional. At age 64 I have enjoyed a lot of different destinations, but this trip by far exceeded every expectation I had and I would attribute it all to the fabulous crew and guides. Thank you so very much!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • South Holland Tour
    by Kathleen L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was riding through the windmill countryside.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Kathleen C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything was wonderful, from the newly renovated Barge, the staff, food, agenda and bikes. The booking process sometimes was a bit confusing and questions took a bit to get answers to via email. The cost was so reasonable and good value overall! I will definitely travel this way again!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Heart of Holland
    by Shirley 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We just completed this trip (may 13 - 20), and loved the experience. The rural scenery was so lovely - however if you are looking for more than peaceful pastures and canals for 6 days, then this might not be the trip for you. The first day of biking was into a strong wind for 55 km which made it very challenging. I would recommend an e-bike! The bikes were very heavy, the gears changed easily, the saddlebags and bike locks worked very well. Although we had maps, 2 GPS, a discussion of the route by the captain....we still got lost every time we went through a city. There were several times that the map showed a road number however that number was not found on the road signs. The food was served family style and was plentiful. The boat was small but suitable for the 19 passengers, the bathrooms were tiny but there was plenty of hot water for showers.
    Negatives - no ice for our water bottles; no fans or air conditioning for the couple of days that were extremely hot; our rooms were never cleaned; the captain tended to be curt; the maps were not always accurate.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Rita de CAssia Graf 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Momentos mágicos vivemos no Rio Mosel.
    Nossa casa foi o Patria,nosso guia o Reinert,atencioso e amigo.
    Tudo correu bem, ate o clima colaborou.
    Comida excelente, foi um sonho!

    Countries: Germany

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by David F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Every participant showed great enthusiasm for a perfect holiday, not one moan or groan.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC