Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 60 of 3371

 

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Elliot A. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was fantastic, especially the other people on the tour. My recommendation to newbies is to definitely sign up for e-bikes and the guided tour.

    The only bad thing was that the noise level in the dining area was painfully loud. My ears are still ringing! They really need to install some acoustical tile or something.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Ellen K. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved moving to a new spot in France every day and biking the country side. Exercise, vacationing with friends, drinking great wine - was wonderful. Fun to have so many options to enjoy the countryside - ebikes, guided, self guided, etc. easy to customize the trip for your desires.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Carol M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have been traveling for many years and have had many amazing adventures. I can honestly say that this is one the the best holidays I have taken. I loved being active and after a day of exploring to come back to the boat for a cocktail, wonderful dinner and conversation with the other guests. The crew made us feel at home. I cannot recommend this trip enough! We are already planning the next holiday. Thanks for a great experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Richard J. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Zeaantje barge is very nice. Crew was great. Our guide, Andre, was the best we have ever had—very knowledgeable about the route and special sites to see/visit, adjusted our route a couple times to accommodate the rain. Frank, the cook, was really outstanding—creative meals, good variety. My only, minor, complaint is that the barge’s lounge can be very noisy when a group is in it, especially at meal time. Bikes were ok but could use some TLC; we had a lot of flats, and some brake issues, but everyone pitched in to make repairs.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Rick M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Suggestion for others: Take a different bike/barge trip!

    The boat was quite old and noisy. Due to either river conditions or dock accommodations, the skipper had to move the boat off the dock multiple times during the days and at night, disrupting sleep for many of the guests. Air conditioning did not work in several of the cabins, and the crew was very slow to repair. At our "welcome aboard" briefing, we were told that there were 130 life vests on board the vessel, and that was the extent of the safety briefing - nothing about where they were located or how to don them. No word about where fire extinguishers were located. Nothing about how to get off the boat in an emergency. If there was an AED on board, it was well hidden!

    Several of the young ladies in the crew were very friendly and helpful to the passengers, but others were not very helpful at all - The Captain could best be described as an old Curmudgeon. Time for him to retire! The bikes were Read more… old and somewhat worn out. Very little help from the crew with getting them set up and ready to roll each day. The first day of "bike fitting" was pandemonium, with 80+ people all trying to get their bikes at once. Probably could have been a little better organized - as could several other aspects of the trip. Our guide was trying very hard to do the best he could, but he was handicapped by a lack of experience and local area knowledge. His regular job was working in the office for the boat company, and I suspect he was pressed into service as a guide, probably because so many people requested the guided option.

    The food was generally good, but there was no choice during evening meals. If you happened not to like duck, too bad!

    While the crew and the company had no control over the weather, it rained almost every day, and to top it all off, I found I really prefer California/Washington wines to any we tasted in the Bordeaux region.

    While this was our first barge experience, we have taken many other cycling trips, with other companies. In general, they have all been far more organized an better executed than this trip. The bikes were always better in quality and better maintained by the crew. The tour leaders were far more informed and informative about the areas we were riding in.

    Bottom line: I will not take another bike/barge trip through your company, nor can I recommend your trips to others.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Kevin M. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling through the vineyards and countryside of France, Bordeaux area and spending time in France with friends.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Gina T. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking and the tour guides, Alex and Bill, were amazing! Beautiful scenery and quaint towns with many fabulous wineries to check out along the way. Also saw kiwis, wicker and corn fields and enjoyed the most amazing fragrances of the flowers blooming as we traveled. This was our first boat/bike trip, so we have no comparison point. The boat is aging and we rarely had internet. The rooms are extremely small, but we didn’t stay in our room much. The food was fantastic and having lunch makings every day was very handy! If you are adventurous, I’d definitely recommend this tour!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Deborah C. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Windmills, cycling and millions of tulips. What could be more wonderful? The barge, Sailing Home, was by far the nicest vessel we have stayed on for a bike and barge. The food was amazing, the Captain very welcoming, and the staff efficient and friendly. The itinerary was interesting and well planned. Do be sure to dress for the changeable weather!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Eric N. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic value! Ship accommodations, food, bikes, tour routes exceeded our expectations. Most important crew and guides were the best!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Marge H. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The views along the Mosel River were fantastic and of course, the wines.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Amsterdam - 10 days
    by Bobby H. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Too many memorable parts to decide. The staff aboard the quo vadis, the food, the beautiful scenery both on the bikes and barge. All were superior.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Champagne Tour
    by Anne Denise H. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our third Tripsite bike and barge trip, it was very well organised as we have come to expect - well done! Loved the camaraderie of the small group, and glorious country scenery. E bikes were a must! Yay!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Best of Burgundy
    by Gary N. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The hotels were great & friend

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Mary U. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery and biking in this region is fantastic. The quaint villages and all the wineries make great stops along the way. The e- bike's were so much fun and having a guided tour made it easy to just enjoy the beauty of the area.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Jaclyn B. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was the last week of the season and only 18 bikers joined the tour! This was so nice to have an intimate group and flexibility of activities. It was so helpful to have evening informing sessions on what to expect the next day along the route. It was absolutely necessary to have a GPS device to keep us on the correct route. The trip was a good value.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Paul M. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip from start to finish was excellent. Boat staff were exceptionally helpful and always ready to assist as needed. Food was varied and tasty too. Will be booking another bike and barge trop on the future.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Kathie Z. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The rides were wonderful...the e-bike was excellent and the overnight harbors/ports were lovely

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Laura G. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a tour of coastal Croatia including a number of islands. The scenery is positively breathtaking,the people are great and the cycling was a blast. We lived on a boat which was so much fun, meeting lots of new and interesting people who became our cycling companions. Overall a first class trip that could not have been better.including the gorgeous Medi weather. I cant say enough good about this country,Croatia has it all.

    ,

    Boat: Kapetan Jure

    Countries: Croatia

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Valerie L. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was impressed with how many sights we were able to fit into the 5-day tour and with such variety! The countryside was so beautiful and biking was a great way to see the landscape. It was exactly what I was looking for! The tour guide (Win) and barge crew (La Belle Fleur) were very professional and accommodating. I always felt very safe when biking behind my guide and the bikes were very well maintained. Everything was as expected or better! Would definitely book with Tripsite again!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Carol M. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very well organised. Beautiful scenery, brilliant guide, lovely food, good company, fantastic weather. Have booked to go on another one!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Wyn D. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Well organised, with bikes made available as required, bags portaged without incident, accommodation arranged as planned.
    Overall good organisation albeit the bikes with their infinitely variable in hub gears seemed less efficient than conventional bikes.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Don and Sheryl E. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike/barge trip. We loved the bike trails along the river ... did not like the times we were in busy traffic...when we left Koblenz day 1. The patria was a great place to call home...food was awesome and accommodations were fine.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Germany

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by Dawn D. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful tour guide- very knowledge, very helpful

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beth T. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved cycling through the Wachau valley. The boat staff was so attentive and everything ran smoothly, in spite of a few minor hiccups. The scenery and the daily stops were great. I loved spending time in the big notable cities.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Charlott H. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Traveling on the Danube was the most beautiful and fun experience we’ve ever had as a couple. Starting the day biking and being active, having great food, meeting lots of interesting people and seeing amazing countries and the culture was Incredible. I hope I can travel on Tripsite again for another bike and boat tour soon!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jessica R. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was amazing, the biking was very scenic and not difficult at all. The boat staff was very friendly and very upbeat. The food was to die for. I would recommend doing this trip you will really enjoy it.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michael F. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We’ve traveled widely over the years, and this trip was among our favorite vacations. Most memorable was just the intimate sense the trip provided of the various cities, towns and villages along our route. That sense was amplified by the after-ride walking tours led by our guides. Good stuff, all.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Phil M. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Well organized tour led by personable, knowledgeable, and competent guides. Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, and Baroque Villages
    by Norbert G. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Good local staff!

    Countries: Italy

PWPC