Bike Tour Reviews — 31 to 60 of 3112

 


Don B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Not moving and sitting next to a mud bank and a muddy river made the first couple of days disappointing. The rest of the trip was very good with Bordeaux and St. Emilion being the highlight of the trip. The staff and food was exceptional!

Carol H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

The bike routes were good and some of the stops at vineyards were excellent but other vineyards were not really interested in providing tastings even when they had been pre-arranged by the boat company. The old bikes were in bad shape but the new bikes were of excellent quality. The e-bikes were a godsend to riders that struggled with the hills on the second day. Unless you are are a fairly strong rider the e-bikes were needed on 2 of the days. The bike mechanic was great and the GPS was helpful when it worked but it was not reliable. Paper maps were needed as a back-up. The rooms on the ship were cramped but OK overall. Our biggest concern was that the food was really BAD. We could not eat several dishes and they sometimes ran out of the main course.
Overall, given the steep price, we would not recommend this tour. Other barge and bike tours are much better value.

Ceira S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Gorgeous Mosel with quaint towns cycling and being on a gem of a boat! Surrounded by great people and a great crew!
Thank you for wonderful memories!

Eileen M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The biking and our tour guide Jack amazing and so knowledgeable!

William A.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Biking in the Bordeaux region was memorable as well as the food and wine on our barge. The staff was welcoming too.

Elliot A.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

The trip was fantastic, especially the other people on the tour. My recommendation to newbies is to definitely sign up for e-bikes and the guided tour.

The only bad thing was that the noise level in the dining area was painfully loud. My ears are still ringing! They really need to install some acoustical tile or something.

Ellen K.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Loved moving to a new spot in France every day and biking the country side. Exercise, vacationing with friends, drinking great wine - was wonderful. Fun to have so many options to enjoy the countryside - ebikes, guided, self guided, etc. easy to customize the trip for your desires.

Carol M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

I have been traveling for many years and have had many amazing adventures. I can honestly say that this is one the the best holidays I have taken. I loved being active and after a day of exploring to come back to the boat for a cocktail, wonderful dinner and conversation with the other guests. The crew made us feel at home. I cannot recommend this trip enough! We are already planning the next holiday. Thanks for a great experience.

Richard J.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Zeaantje barge is very nice. Crew was great. Our guide, Andre, was the best we have ever had—very knowledgeable about the route and special sites to see/visit, adjusted our route a couple times to accommodate the rain. Frank, the cook, was really outstanding—creative meals, good variety. My only, minor, complaint is that the barge’s lounge can be very noisy when a group is in it, especially at meal time. Bikes were ok but could use some TLC; we had a lot of flats, and some brake issues, but everyone pitched in to make repairs.

Rick M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Suggestion for others: Take a different bike/barge trip!

The boat was quite old and noisy. Due to either river conditions or dock accommodations, the skipper had to move the boat off the dock multiple times during the days and at night, disrupting sleep for many of the guests. Air conditioning did not work in several of the cabins, and the crew was very slow to repair. At our "welcome aboard" briefing, we were told that there were 130 life vests on board the vessel, and that was the extent of the safety briefing - nothing about where they were located or how to don them. No word about where fire extinguishers were located. Nothing about how to get off the boat in an emergency. If there was an AED on board, it was well hidden!

Several of the young ladies in the crew were very friendly and helpful to the passengers, but others were not very helpful at all - The Captain could best be described as an old Curmudgeon. Time for him to retire! The bikes were Read More

Kevin M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

Cycling through the vineyards and countryside of France, Bordeaux area and spending time in France with friends.

Gina T.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

The biking and the tour guides, Alex and Bill, were amazing! Beautiful scenery and quaint towns with many fabulous wineries to check out along the way. Also saw kiwis, wicker and corn fields and enjoyed the most amazing fragrances of the flowers blooming as we traveled. This was our first boat/bike trip, so we have no comparison point. The boat is aging and we rarely had internet. The rooms are extremely small, but we didn’t stay in our room much. The food was fantastic and having lunch makings every day was very handy! If you are adventurous, I’d definitely recommend this tour!

Deborah C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Windmills, cycling and millions of tulips. What could be more wonderful? The barge, Sailing Home, was by far the nicest vessel we have stayed on for a bike and barge. The food was amazing, the Captain very welcoming, and the staff efficient and friendly. The itinerary was interesting and well planned. Do be sure to dress for the changeable weather!

Eric N.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Fantastic value! Ship accommodations, food, bikes, tour routes exceeded our expectations. Most important crew and guides were the best!

Marge H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The views along the Mosel River were fantastic and of course, the wines.

Bobby H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Bruges to Amsterdam - 10 days
Belgium, Netherlands

Too many memorable parts to decide. The staff aboard the quo vadis, the food, the beautiful scenery both on the bikes and barge. All were superior.

Anne Denise H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

Our third Tripsite bike and barge trip, it was very well organised as we have come to expect - well done! Loved the camaraderie of the small group, and glorious country scenery. E bikes were a must! Yay!

Gary N.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Best of Burgundy
France

The hotels were great & friend

Mary U.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

The scenery and biking in this region is fantastic. The quaint villages and all the wineries make great stops along the way. The e- bike's were so much fun and having a guided tour made it easy to just enjoy the beauty of the area.

Jaclyn B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Bordeaux Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
France

It was the last week of the season and only 18 bikers joined the tour! This was so nice to have an intimate group and flexibility of activities. It was so helpful to have evening informing sessions on what to expect the next day along the route. It was absolutely necessary to have a GPS device to keep us on the correct route. The trip was a good value.

Paul M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The whole trip from start to finish was excellent. Boat staff were exceptionally helpful and always ready to assist as needed. Food was varied and tasty too. Will be booking another bike and barge trop on the future.

Kathie Z.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
Croatia

The rides were wonderful...the e-bike was excellent and the overnight harbors/ports were lovely

Laura G.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Kapetan Jure National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

This was a tour of coastal Croatia including a number of islands. The scenery is positively breathtaking,the people are great and the cycling was a blast. We lived on a boat which was so much fun, meeting lots of new and interesting people who became our cycling companions. Overall a first class trip that could not have been better.including the gorgeous Medi weather. I cant say enough good about this country,Croatia has it all.

,

Valerie L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

I was impressed with how many sights we were able to fit into the 5-day tour and with such variety! The countryside was so beautiful and biking was a great way to see the landscape. It was exactly what I was looking for! The tour guide (Win) and barge crew (La Belle Fleur) were very professional and accommodating. I always felt very safe when biking behind my guide and the bikes were very well maintained. Everything was as expected or better! Would definitely book with Tripsite again!

Carol M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Very well organised. Beautiful scenery, brilliant guide, lovely food, good company, fantastic weather. Have booked to go on another one!

Wyn D.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Well organised, with bikes made available as required, bags portaged without incident, accommodation arranged as planned.
Overall good organisation albeit the bikes with their infinitely variable in hub gears seemed less efficient than conventional bikes.

Don and Sheryl E.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sarah Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

This was our first bike/barge trip. We loved the bike trails along the river ... did not like the times we were in busy traffic...when we left Koblenz day 1. The patria was a great place to call home...food was awesome and accommodations were fine.

Dawn D.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sarah Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

Wonderful tour guide- very knowledge, very helpful

Beth T.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arlene II Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I loved cycling through the Wachau valley. The boat staff was so attentive and everything ran smoothly, in spite of a few minor hiccups. The scenery and the daily stops were great. I loved spending time in the big notable cities.

Charlott H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Traveling on the Danube was the most beautiful and fun experience we’ve ever had as a couple. Starting the day biking and being active, having great food, meeting lots of interesting people and seeing amazing countries and the culture was Incredible. I hope I can travel on Tripsite again for another bike and boat tour soon!!