Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 60 of 2828

 

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Linda H. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our trip went from Bruges to Amsterdam on the Quo Vadis. Our last day took us through Amsterdam to get to our docking site. Captain Bert must have taken us under at least a dozen bridges. Bridges of all shapes, sizes and ages. It was a beautiful day and we were all up front on the boat taking pictures and waving to people near the bridges. It was fantastic! One evening during our cruise Captain Bert had a Belgium beer tasting event for us on the barge. We learned a lot and then knew what to order when we were sitting in town squares near the end of a biking day with our very knowledgeable and personable guide, Rikko.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Liz G. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Bike company and owner Sergio were extremely helpful and particular that we all had a good experience. The bikes were of superior quality...Escorting us out of the center of Porto was greatly appreciated and necessary as we were a group of 12. Accommodations were excellent and GPS’ worked well. Restaurants along the way provided excellent food. The only negatives were the cobbled streets and some of the roads had many potholes so attention had to be paid instead of looking at the scenery. As Portugal becomes a “biking” country, I’m sure this will be addressed in the future. The locals were more courteous to bikers than our drivers at home!!
    The abundant storks nesting in one area was a highlight.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jane M. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I loved biking through the rural parts of Belgium and The Netherlands. It made me feel as if I was getting a sense of what it would be like to live there. Nit was amazing to me how important the bicycle is as a standard mode of transportation. The bike trail network is unbelievable. I ventured on my own one day. I thought it was important to try and figure out the route without a guide. Even though I got lost I learned a few things: 1) Common sense prevails and if you have any sense of direction and can read a map, you'll be fine; 2) Even though I did fine on my own, going with the group allowed me to look around much more; 3) The guides were wonderful and accommodated all levels of bikers; 4). Don't be inhibited by being a novice biker. If you haven't done a lot of biking, the guides were very helpful and many people used an e-bike so they were comfortable in keeping up with the group; 5). Be open to meeting other people on the tour. We really enjoyed talking with people from all over the world and sharing our ideas and cultures.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Jeanne W. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Porto was extraordinary as was Aveiro. The bike routes were primitive or sand covered. Local company was extremely nice and accommodating. Portuguese people couldn’t have been friendlier.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Erik G. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    8 day Tulips bike and barge trip last April 2019 was excellent! Great scenery and cultural experience, fun living on the barge, and the entire group was fun. The meals were wholesome and tasty and the crew super friendly. The week went by too quickly. The bikes were top of the line and well maintained. Bring layers to wear as the weather can change quickly. If you're at all concerned that you can't bike the distance, then just get an e-bike and it will be easy and doable. Some people who thought they were strong cyclists wished they had e-bikes. Holland is flat, but that means cycling against the wind at times!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Marilyn T. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I loved cycling through the country side and coming across the beautiful and colorful tulip fields.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Mik L. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Loire was wonderful, Jon the guide was wonderful and Lunch in Adon was Magnifique!

    Countries: France

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Greg S. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It is hard to specify just one thing. The barge was great, the food superb and the staff could not have been better. Even though the weather wasn't great, we had a wonderful time. We're looking forward to booking our next tour.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Tom D. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Cycling, food, and staff were great. Lots to see and it was fun!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lorne H. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Earlier this year (May), my wife and I did the 4 country bike - barge tour, on the Danube. First I have to remark that everything "Tripsite" advertised was delivered at what we thought to be a reasonable price. In spite of unusually cold (damp) weather, our first experience (s) in Passau, Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna were very memorable highlights. However, aboard the "Normandie" we did have some concerns with the overall tour management. There were some particularly disappointing moments with an apparent strategy to keep the English speaking guests, and non-english speaking guests (mostly German) separated? For our part, we were keen to mingle - assimilate with all the guests aboard. That should not reflect our overall impression of the boat crew, who were very courteous and helpful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Patricia C. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Liz L. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We did 8 day Tulip bike and barge last April 2019. What an amazing trip! Our first bike and barge was the Dalmation islands last Sept with a different company. Tripsite compared to the other company was so much better. We had better food, great bikes, and a gorgeous barge with excellent staff. The value for money was excellent and we look forward to our next bike and barge trip with Tripsite. Really liked how the routes were optimized for the weather each night for the next day, and the friendly captain and crew. Meals and snacks were plentiful and the scenery was spectacular. Would highly recommend cycling through Holland during the tulip season!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Janice H. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery and the cities we road through were amazing. Our Guide Arie and Marcel and the staff on the boat. All who were so very helpful and always pleasant. Food was great. Tips - we went at the end of May - it was cool - our light down jackets were used daily. The Dress on the boat was pretty casual no need for heels or fancy clothes. Biking gloves or waterproof gloves came in very handy as did a buff.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Mary C. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guides were wonderful. We saw so many interesting and beautiful spots. The highlights were the Keukenhof Gardens and the Floral Market, but we have many many memories. We have friends booking based on our recommendation!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Sandra B. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our 4th Bike & Barge trip with Tripsite. Our most recent was on the Vita Pugna from Mantova to Venice early May, 2019. We loved our first trip and didn't think it was possible, but somehow, they just keep getting better!
    Our guide, Hein, was knowledgeable, friendly, and personable. The staff was wonderful and the dinners were amazing! At each port, they shopped daily for fresh foods and wine, and served us the local specialties of the area. Each night before serving, they described the menu, explained how it was prepared, and paired it with a local wine recommendation.
    The cozy, comfortable barge accommodates 20 guests. Even though we represented 6 different countries, there were no differences at all. Everyone was enthusiastic, energetic, fun, friendly and helpful.
    The bikes were exceptional and made the rides smooth and comfortable. I usually struggle to keep up, but didn't have any problems this time. The bikes contributed to my ease, and the pace was ideal!
    The routes were well planned, the scenery was lovely, the designated stops were interesting, informative and great fun!
    Since the boats and owners, countries, food, scenery, cultures and customs are all different, we don't compare trips. We just embrace the differences and look forward to our next (5th) adventure with Tripsite. They're so great to work with and have always made every effort to accommodate their guests.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Robin C. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Awesome trip. Biking was way harder than "moderate", but otherwise was great!

    Boat: Kapetan Jure

    Countries: Croatia

    • National Parks of Dalmatia
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

      Hi Robin,
      We understand that difficulty ratings can be somewhat subjective. To help we provide a detailed description of the mileage, elevation profile, and route difficulty in the Skill Level section on this page. Glad you had a great trip!

      Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mark R. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable: guided bike tour of Vienna.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Bob T. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking through the countryside of the Netherlands and Belgium at a pace that allowed us to learn about both cultures and their histories was an opportunity not to be missed.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Catherine P. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The entire trip was great. Have highly recommended it to others!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Shawn L. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The whole trip was great. The bikes were great 27 speed bikes with disc brakes, the guide showed us things you wouldn't find on your own, the barge was clean and comfortable. But the best thing was the food on the barge, especially the garlic butter. I could eat that with a spoon!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Marc L. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The mutual congeniality among the group was especially memorable and was facilitated by every element of the trip! Antonella, our cycling guide from Avignon to Aigues-Mortes, was the glue which brought us all together - she was a delight! The accommodations, with several locations for socializing in comfort, encouraged us to relate to each other in multiple group configurations. Finally, the variety of daily itineraries gave us many options to enjoy beautiful scenery and cultural highlights.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Berry B. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our guide (Sylvia) embellished every part of the day, the staff was very friendly, cooperative, accommodating and full of fun...great trip, thanks

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Inga M. 7 days ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I booked this first-time adventure for my husband and myself and another couple based on the location, itinerary, boat size, and online reviews. Ultimately it came down to my decision so I was feeling some anxiety regarding the success of the trip. I needn’t have worried! We had a fabulous time. Everything was well organized and on time, the boat was clean and efficient, the bikes were well maintained and any problem quickly looked after by a very friendly onboard bike mechanic, the food was mostly excellent (one night the steak was chewy), the staff was fabulous -never tiring of our endless requests or questions! We met likeminded people from all over the globe and made some lasting friendships! The biking distances sounded daunting but the pace was surprisingly leisurely with stops along the routes to visit wineries or beautiful old structures in many quaint little villages. And to top it off we had a rousing farewell party on the last night complete with champagne and dancing! We’d definitely do this again. Biking and boating is the ideal combination of exercise and relaxation accompanied by beautiful surroundings - what more could one ask for!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Silver Coast of Portugal
    by Kathleen B. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking along the coast was epic. The vistas were beyond beautiful.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy M. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Having great weather was a real bonus. It was awe inspiring to float into the many enormous locks and envisage what the areas must have been like before harnessing the mighty Danube. The never ending beauty of this part of the world and appreciating the pride in property that shows up at every turn and in every village, is what leaves the greatest memories.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Gigi S. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful time on the tulip tour. The staff was courteous and helpful whenever we needed anything. The boat was immaculate and the scenery and tulips were the best ever! Can't wait to do this trip again.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Amy M. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The riding was wonderful. Our guides made sure we had a new experience every day- canals, windmills, forests, farmland, and fun stops along the way. I had a smile on my face almost the entire time.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Cheryl M. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I loved the beautiful scenery, the incredible food and the intimate size of the group. Perhaps my favorite memory was getting to see places that tourists don't typically see. Or maybe it was the feeling of great exercise and total relaxation. Or maybe it was being away from my busy work life and spending time with my husband. Hard to decide.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by Winona N. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff as well as the beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC