Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 60 of 2974

 

  • John B. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The food was terrific always (one of us is a chef, so that’s a big compliment). The guides (Corrie and Nel) are both amazing—really perfect at what they do. Their patience and positive attitudes and exuberance overcame little quibbles and challenges that were occasionally encountered (weather, construction). The bicycle routes were always interesting and the trip from Brugge to De Haan was especially memorable. The crew were always friendly and helpful, especially Sigrid.

    If we changed anything, it would be to NOT bring our helmets; the helmets on board seemed more than adequate.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Ilene W. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Mantova to Venice bike and barge on the Ava Maria! The crew, the ship, the food and our guides were outstanding! Also all the guides we had in the cities and venues were fabulous!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • MARIA JOSE R. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Trip with some room for improvement.
    As positive:
    1. Bike guides were kind and always trying to fulfill all of our requests.
    2. Waiter was really helpful, efficient and nice with all of us
    3. Meals on board were tasteful
    As 'not so positive':
    1. All the the bike routes run 100% by car roads
    2. We just were able to take a swim from the boat 2 or 3 times during the full week
    3. Captain had to change the itinerary, that initially it did not sound as a problem until we finally spent 24 hours with the ship docked beside the garbage containers in a city with absolutely nothing to visit or to do... while enduring flies and really unpleasant smell...
    4. Captain and part of the crew far from 'nice behavior' during the full trip until the last moment that they started to open the tip envelopes and count the money in the dining room with all of us still on board

    As a summary, this National Park 'bike & Boat' trip Read more… was far from expectations.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Diane S. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    I thought the most memorable part of the trip was going to be the scenery and the bike riding, but most of my memories are of the people I met and the connections we have made sharing our stories with each other. The trip was very well organized and our guide Arie did his best to make sure each day had the best bicycling experiences. The accommodations aboard the Magnifique were wonderful and the staff exceptional. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in exploring and learning about the area between Amsterdam and Bruges and having some easy physical activity along the way. Each day had new things to see and learn.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • James J. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Staff and guides Comfort of boat, the daily tours and the scenic bike paths

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Greg T. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The boat and crew and guide were all top notch

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Elisa N. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    We absolutely loved our trip along the Portugal Atlantic coast! The route was beautiful and different everyday. We loved the variety of pine forest, coast line and little towns. The route was pretty easy to follow and the GPS worked great. Thank you again for a great trip!

    Countries: Portugal

  • Therese Z. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    My husband, son (16), nephew (17) and myself did the 7 day Lake Constance tour in Germany in August. It was an awesome experience from the booking, payment, tour, and hotels. We travelled from Canada and stayed in Zurich the night before tour. We took an Uber from Zurich to Lake Constance (approx 1 hour). The train was also available and the station in Lake Constance was directly across from our first night accommodation, Hotel Halm. The Hotel was quite nice with a beautiful dining room and incredible breakfast. All the hotels were clean, easy to ride to and had super friendly staff. We stayed in 3-5 star hotels as we wanted to be close to town centers.
    The bike tour itself was mostly flat with a few hills. You must pay close attention to bike signs as we got lost a few times. Even with this, it was easy to get back on track. My husband had google maps that showed bike routes. Although I am an avid road biker my family is not. They had no problem biking 40km to 65km Read more… (our longest day) without training.
    Our luggage was picked up around 9am everyday and was at the next Hotel each day before we arrived. We opted to eat our dinners on our own and did not include this in our tour. This was a good idea as it was nice to walk around the new towns and decide where we wanted to eat.
    Lake “Konstanz” “Bodensee” was beautiful. We road through cornfields, next to vineyards, near the lake, and had endless opportunities to find places to eat. The bikes have a nice pack on them to accommodate water, food, extra clothing, a lock that came with bike, and the map given to us before we began. The bikes were smooth to ride and the gears were just enough to bike the terrain (mostly paved). I would ask for a male bike the next time as I missed the crossbar across the top.
    I would certainly recommend this tour. There was just so much to see and bike and the tour was organized so well by Tripsite. I honestly have only good things to say.
    We were e-mailed 2020 tours and I was already eagerly looking at Bike and Barge tours. Make sure you book early as the tours do book quickly.

  • Kathy C. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The food on the barge was amazing! We had strong winds for the bike but our leader made modifications to give people options for shorter routes. Amazing trip!!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • David S. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic bike trip with exceptional accommodations along the way. We noticed that we were given some of the best rooms at the hotels as the bike trippers are repeat customers of the hotels and the hotels strive to keep the bikers happy. We also noticed that we could check into the hotel upon arrival no matter what time we arrive while others had to wait until 3 or 4 pm which was the normal check in times at some of the hotels. Each of the breakfasts were outstanding with many many choices of hot and cold foods including some special diet selections at some.. We loved the freedom to choose our own location for lunch and dinner and to set are own start and finish times without the pressure of a group. That said, we did meet up with people in our group along the way and at breakfast that was nice. The GPS systems worked very well, accurately leading us down often hidden bike and dirt roads near but not on the main roads. We were rarely IN the same street as the cars travel. I am 73 Read more… and my wife is 60 with some but not a lot of biking experience.

    Countries: Denmark, Sweden

  • Amanda S. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The best way to have a holiday - you do not have to think about logistics, unpack and enjoy:) The Carissima was awesome, our every need was taken care of - the staff were super friendly and the food amazing!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Peter B. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Easy riding in a beautiful settling with a great group spirit. The boat was very comfortable and clean and the staff made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. Would recommend to anyone to have a look at this trip to see if it will suit them, all the information on the site was reliable and the experience was really enjoyable.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Lavonne B. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    My onboard experience was wonderful. The staff was awesome, very helpful and accommodating. The biking was quite an experience, a bit challenging at times due to some unpaved paths, however it was rewarding.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Kathleen S. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The boat was very clean and spacious. The crew very friendly and accommodating. The food delicious and a good variety.
    The trails we rode on were not very good, however. A lot of pot holes and very narrow. We could not look around and enjoy the scenery as we had to keep our eye on where we were riding.

    It was a good experience for all of us.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Mark H. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The general biking was above average , with some awesome sites visited.
    As far as the accommodation was concerned this was below average.
    Although the space was confined more emphasis could have been done to the quality and hospitality of stay.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Tom H. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    It's a great trip along the upper Danube there are some gravely bits and some places where the path was not always 100% obvious. This is a relatively easy bike ride to do the paved sections are great and the countryside and river views are beautiful.we were happy with most of the hotels and pensiones that we stayed in the food was really fun and good. some of the hotels were allowed if you had a room on the roadside so earplugs would be useful some of the directions getting into the cities were obscure so be ready to have your phone handy or some other mapping app.

    Countries: Germany

  • John C. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Istria trip was excellent with beautiful seascapes, winding roads through the unfolding countryside. The attitude varied from sea level up to a max of 420m and was very manageable, as the bike were in good working order.

    Our guide Ina was very informative and attentive and provided updated advice on eating options. The crew of the Taron was friendly and the meals were delicious.

    Boat: Tarin

    Countries: Croatia

  • Lou O. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were absolutely world-class in all respects: knowledgeable, safe, proactive and TOTALLY guest-oriented. Is there a description more favorable that "FANTASTIC?!"

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Cindy S. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    London to Amsterdam was a great trip. Beautiful scenery especially along the North Sea and canals and farmland of Holland.hotels were unique but comfortable. Breakfast was always good. Dinners were good but more variety needed in menu choices. Loved the ferry from Dover to Dunkirk and all the small towns we rode through. There were 12 of us plus 6 others on the self- guided which made for a lively and interesting, diverse group.
    What was disappointing and could be improved was communication from the guide. Very little information was given ahead of time as to what was next and no information about the towns history, culture and facts regarding where we were. This would have made the trip more enjoyable and interesting.

  • Kathleen S. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a magical evening on the magnifique II when one of our guides "Hester" performed an Oboe concert for all of us. Hester is a professional musician & shared her amazing talent with all of us. It was a beautiful night on the water, the boat was lit with candles & we all listened with awe & appreciation as Hester performed for us. We were in this intimate setting, with new friends, listening to live, gorgeous classical music. We looked around & thought wow- This is truly "Heaven on Earth" "A pinch me moment" What a memorable night!!! We can't wait to go another Magnifique adventure with Tripsite.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Wendy R. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great way to see four capital cities (Bratislava, Belgrade, Budapest and Vienna as well as get in 10 days of cycling! It's also fairly low mileage (less than 35 miles per day) but training to prepare is still a must. The scenery is very nice and it is about half on roads - mostly slower village streets. The group of people we dined with and rode with were all terrific and we all worked together to find our way since our tour was unguided. The days when you visit the cities can be a little overwhelming - so my advice is to pick one or two things you really want to see beforehand and focus on getting to those. At least in the summer the crowds were large in Vienna, Budapest and Bratislava. As for boat living - the dinners were tasty and served by a friendly staff each evening but I'm vegetarian so I had much more of a struggle with getting any protein. I would have also appreciated a little variety with the breakfasts and lunches. My advice also is to avoid Read more… the hotter weather months like July or August - we had days of over 90 degrees which made cycling tough - but the Theodor Korner is not well air conditioned either. Overall it was a nice trip and certainly the staff was terrific!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Marlene Z. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through the dunes of the North Sea is incredible. The rental bike is a heavy Dutch model and it is windy so you make like an e bike. The fresh herring and fish are amazing. Also there is bus 385 that runs from train in Voorhout to Noordwijk for 2 euro 20. So you don't need that 20 euro cab.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Ed Carroll 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    I did this "guided" bike tour from London to Amsterdam. There are many areas where improvement is needed.

    We weren't given a map or App of the biking route as promised. We rode through many villages, resorts and towns from Dunkirk to Amsterdam but were not told the names of the towns, or the history of the towns - and we stopped only for "coffee breaks". When we asked what town we were in for the coffee breaks the guide was unable to tell us. We either used google maps or asked strangers where we were. Also, we biked past notable places of interest like the beach in Dunkirk where British troops were rescued during WWII - and the Dover Castle - but never stopped - even to take pictures. It was all about getting to the next hotel in time for dinner.

    We weren't told the hotel we were staying in until we arrived at the hotel. We usually arrived at the hotel around 6pm and had little time to turn in our bikes for the night, get our Read more… luggage, unpack, shower, change clothes and get ready for dinner by 8pm which usually lasted over two hours. And then we started early the next day - to get to our hotel for the next night.

    Overall it is a "forced march" from London to Amsterdam. If you want to bike 344Km then I suggest you just go and bike 344Km for the exercise on a route most convenient to you because that is what this is. Or, take the self-guided tour which is cheaper and includes maps and the App and you can sight-see and take time to enjoy the country-side you are biking through.

    The online website says "You will receive a code to download the maps, itinerary, points of interest, services and GPS position on your smartphone or GPS device. The App provides GPS tracks to be used offline. Paper copies of the route are available with supplement of €15." When I asked for the map or the App I was told they were only available to self-guided participants and that I should use GPS to figure out where we were at any given point. But that is not what the website says/said. As it is, we have no map or record of the route we biked or the towns we passed through. I would not recommend this "tour" to anyone.

    PS. Do not interpret this critique as a criticism of the people who guided this tour. The people who guided us were patient, kind, personal, friendly and professional....in my opinion they had/have no impact on how this tour is/was deigned.

  • Nicky P. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Melody boat was absolutely spectacular- the crew, the food, the rooms and our outstanding tour guides, Toni and Willi. The riding and the islands were fabulous. Ensure you take the advice for an e-bike. The KMs may not seem high, but they have a lot of long steep hills, which I loved and it gave everyone a great workout to enjoy the delicious food.
    We had lots of great daily swim stops, with the ability to dive in off the back of the boat.
    I highly recommend this trip!!!

    Boat: Melody

    Countries: Croatia

PWPC