Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 90 of 2903

 

  • Steven S. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Tour operators were very nice. For example, they gave us ride back to town rather than call a taxi.
    Two days were relatively flat, two were hilly, especially the last day when riding back to the farm from Ludlow. Plenty of historical sites. Recommended lunch stops didn't meet our schedule, so be prepared.
    Be aware:
    -no cyclometer (I had my own Garmin),
    -no TripSite water bottles - take your own,
    -no detailed directions for optional rides - just a list of way-points,
    -only one handlebar bag per couple - for the person carrying the map. (each bike has a pannier)
    There is a heavy-duty road map included, which was helpful. I also traced the routes on Google maps the night before to know what landmarks to look for, as many streets and roads are not signed.
    Some of the riding is along narrow roads between tall hedgerows. It's like riding in a tunnel - not very scenic.
    Overall, we enjoyed the biking experience, the stops, and Ludlow.

    Countries: England, Wales

  • Ralph W. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    We did a self-guided tour and completed it a week ago. 5 stars and more! First, Sergio was simply fantastic in providing new bikes, a GPS with clear markings every step of the way, and support whenever needed. The city tour of Porto by Enrique was great. The ride itself along the coast and then into Spain was excellent. The hotels were terrrific and all top notch. Cannot recommend both the tour and Sergio enough. Riding along the Camino trail that thousands over the centuries had walked was a wonderful experience, and entering the Cathedral Square was a moving experience.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Dave U. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time on the Danube four countries tour and it was great to bike and to get to visit 3 capital cities. Wonderful and I would highly recommend this trip

    Boat: Normandie

  • Nancy U. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our table mates(who we had never met before) became our best friends for the week. We did all our rides together and had a great time visiting the different cities. We had brand new bikes of high quality that enhanced the experience.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Delfina 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Encantador tour por bellas islas con paisajes increíbles y un mar fantástico ... cálido y tan transparente que su color encandila...grupo de compañeros de viaje solidarios y con un plus de ensueño... Ferdinand un pequeño de 9 años ,nos deleitaba todas las tardes con su práctica de violín y navegando.. se puede pedir más?.Nuestros guías Catherine e Yannis unos schnuckiputzis adorables ..

    Countries: Greece

  • Nancy U. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    All of the scenery, the quiet roads, Trosa, and the adventure and weather on the roads were all magnificent.

    The routes probably could use some updating. We were lost on a few occasions, but were able to double back when we realized this. Some of the signage and actual directions needed re-working. I would suggest that the company go out there and check it out. The single accommodation in Mariefred was not up to standards. I had to ask to be moved from the first room as the window was right at street level and did not feel safe, nor could I keep the shades open so the room was very dark. The second room I moved into was nicer, but it also faced a parking lot where people could look in, but felt safer on the second floor. The location was superb otherwise.

    The breakfasts at all of the hotels were yummy and the staff friendly.

    Countries: Sweden

  • David P 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    A group of 14 of us traveled on the Magnifique from Bruge to Amsterdam and had an exceptional time. The crew was lead by Capitan Bart, and the hospitality was provided by Sandra. Chef Anita provided exceptional meals each day, and tour guides Tom and Corrie plotted our daily course, lead us through the various villages in Belgium and the Netherlands, and provided both direction, cultural history, and entertainment.
    The crew was fantastic, providing context, history, support, encouragement and even a few special requests (birthdays) that they were happy to provide.

    The Magnifique was elegant and a terrific home for meals, rest, and laughter while we were not biking, touring, or walking through the villages, towns and cities.

    The bikes (ebikes, and regular bikes) were quality, and provided great transportation as we visited historical villages and towns throughout the region. We will be back, and are already planning our next trip. Thank you for everything! What an Read more… exceptional way to see and visit various aspects of Europe.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • bettycameron 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    I don't want to do bike but would love to take the small barge down the canals in the Netherlands and Belgium.

    Countries:

    • Jehiel from Tripsite 4 weeks ago     Staff

      Hi Betty!
      Just wanted to let you know that you are able to stay on the boat and explore the towns when the boat is docked. You don't necessarily have to bike. We are also offering a wonderful Christmas Cruise in Germany this year that might interest you!

      Countries:

  • Rebeca I. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great trails with magnificent views, lots of hills though! The tour guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. All the hotels were extremely clean and nice. The places where we ate were delicious. Our group consisted of 20 wonderful and fun people. thank you all for a great bike ride!

  • Julie S 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Denne turen var helt fantastisk! De som står for service og transport av bagasje er helt supre og veldig hyggelige mennesker. Ved bruk av en egen app, går turen som en lek! I de større byene er det lett å navigere seg frem og kjempe fint landskap å sykle i. Kan anbefale denne turen til alle! :)

    Countries: France, England

  • Avace W. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were amazing. They worked hard to make sure all guests mingled with guests from other countries. Games played encouraged teams working together and finding new information about the villages we visited. Always extra surprises..like visiting the mussel fishermen, panoramic vista of Venice from rooftop. Training on how to use ferry system in Venice invaluable. I didn't think we could get a better tour than our 2018 trip, but this one exceeded all expectations. From snow in the mts. near Bolzano to swimming in the Adriatic, the differences in scenery was dramatic and thrilling. Bikes...so comfortable and fit perfectly. Didn't even need to wear my bike padding! Plenty of time to look around when we went thru villages. What can I say. This tour was the best!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Sharon D. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    What a great way to see so much of Germany! We cycled almost 200 km along the Rhine and enjoyed every minute! Then when we went back to the boat, we enjoyed a top quality three-course meal! Overall it was a fabulous bike trip and riverboat tour on the Rhine. The bikes were top quality, and the nice part biking was our ability to stop off at the different biergartens along the way of our own choosing; We loved seeing the swans on the Rhine (even a black swan!) and also enjoyed visiting historic churches, and seeing wondrous half-timber cottages including one house with a pair of storks nesting on the chimney! I will definitely be booking another bike riverboat tour!

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Phil M. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were extremely knowledgeable and personable.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Julie W. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful travel experience for our first time on a barge. The staff were helpful, friendly and fun to be with, the food was first rate and the scenery and biking experiences were fabulous!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Janet L. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the day that we visited Les Baux de Provence and went to Carrieres Lumineres. We also visited the asylum in St. Remy where Van Gogh spent a year and produced many paintings. We rode through so many beautiful landscapes and villages in Provence and many times it felt like we were part of a Van Gogh painting. My other favorite part of this trip were the meals with everyone on our boat. It was so nice to have wonderful food and wine and sit and talk to people from all over the world. This was my first bike and barge experience and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. All of the guides and staff on the boat were great as well!

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Maryanne W. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the tour from Bruges to Amsterdam. We had a great guide who read the weather and the group well. The food on the barge was wonderful and varied. The staff did their best to accommodate everyone. Next time I would not bring my own helmet. The helmets provided seemed to be very good and no one who used them had a complaint. I would recommend this trip to those who want an easy cycling trip.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Del P. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Highlight: The cycling and the swimming off the back of the boat.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Yvonne L. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful group of people with extensive travel experience. Biking was fun scenery was great. Loved our farewell party dancing the night away with all our new friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Marcia F. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: My banter daily with one of the guides, Harm Jung. He related well to my personality. The food, boat, and accommodations were all better than anticipated. Thank you.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Terri Z. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    The guides Japke and Carla were great and very helpful. The rest of the crew were also great. The boat was better than expected, the bikes were very good and the routes were fun and beautiful. Only my second trip with tripsite but it definitely won’t be my last.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Jeff F. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    It’s hard to pick one thing only. I thought the last day of bike riding was the best route, though the first day was a great route, too. There were so many interesting stops along each days ride. A suggestion for others would be to skip the bus tour of Budapest. A walking tour with a guide is better.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Anna F. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Primadonna was superb. We had a very relaxing holiday. Crash between boats in Budapest happened the night before the start of our trip so any delays because of this perfectly understandable. The fact that the Danube was very high was again outside the control of the trip personnel and we appreciated the effort put into making our trip so enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Germany, Serbia, Austria

  • Denise V. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was breathtaking...

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Sandy H. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous trip. Filled with adventure. Highlights included guide, staff, food and overall camaraderie developed with a great group of people!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mary T. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    The whole barge experience with fellow bikers was awesome. There were only 23 of us and we all connected. The dining was exceptional. Our guide lacked knowledge of the tour and did not provide enough cultural experience.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC