Bike Tour Reviews 1411 to 1440 of 3386

 

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Kathy C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The 8 day Tulip tour was fantastic. The boat, bike, food, staff and scenery was everything we had hoped for! The only thing we couldn't control was the weather and the tulips not quiet in bloom....we dodged the rain and saw many daffodils and hyacinth and met new friends to top it all off. Thanks for the memories!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Mary A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our boat, the Merlijn, and its crew were fabulous! A huge thank you to Jantien and Henk for an amazing weeklong experience! This is the way to see The Netherlands! We rode bikes from one port to another, exploring the countryside, meeting local families, enjoying the beautiful fields of tulips, daffodils and hyacinths, purples, reds, yellows flowing across the land. Our hosts fed us 3 wonderful meals a day, and gave us opportunities to explore each city in the evenings with our knowledgeable and dedicated guide, Ferry. We stayed a few extra days to learn all about Amsterdam as well, which was definitely worth it. So much to see and learn about. Tripsite did a great job of organizing this trip, from efficient email contacts, timely billing reminders, and tips for preparing for a unique trip such as a Bike and Barge in Amsterdam. Absolutely we recommend Tripsite, and the Merlijn in particular!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Randall B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip! Even though the tulips were a bit behind because of the extended winter, the tour offered wonderful scenery and a plethora of other flowers. The guides were great and the pace accommodated all the participants. Great food, accommodations, service and staff!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Istria to the Adriatic
    by Larry H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were a group of eight old friends and found this trip very enjoyable. The tour organizer, Klemen Stular was very responsive to our questions and preferences, and even worked to adapt the route to accommodate our request to visit a winery! The trails had some loose gravel so it required extra caution (and muscle) on steep hills, but the off-road trails made this particular tour the most special. The equipment was well-maintained, easy to use, and reliable. The tour operator was very conscientious about making certain everything fit the rider. The scenery was glorious and the people warm and welcoming.

    Countries: Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Jean Balloon 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just ended this tour this morning and it was one of the best vacations we've ever taken. Can't say enough about the captain, staff and guides on the Fleur-very glad we chose a guided trip as there are numerous detours and unclear route signs. Fantastic sights, excellent equipment, wonderful food and fun fellow passengers, REALLY important to take the right clothes (we wore t-shirts, short, sandals and down coats/hat/gloves in the same week) Full rain gear including waterproof shoes or boots is essential. Also be aware the wind in the Netherlands can be brutal-we booked e-bikes and were REALLY glad we did! Steps down to cabin are very narrow and steep - almost like a ladder, so make sure you can do this several times each day. Excellent communication from Tripsite regarding booking and all information. Thank you Cpt. Steffy, Elsa, Aga, Nellie, Helena, Petra and Bert for an extraordinary holiday!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Heel of Italy
    by Ida A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Ostuni was a lively, great city- a major contrast to the rest of the region which is apparently deserted until summer is in full swing. I also really appreciated having my bike replaced, but I obviously wish the standard bike I got in the first place were more appropriate for long distance rides.

    Countries: Italy

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Lyla C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have already recommended this trip to my walking and running friends as I am not a biker but found that it was very, very manageable with little current biking experience. I rode bikes a lot as a kid but just haven’t been on a bike much at all lately. This winter in Canada made it impossible to get out and get out on the bike ahead of time. Of course the flat Dutch terrain helped and I ended in the long group each day! The best part was that by being well looked after by the tour by way of food and the guides, the group came together in just a magnificent way. The days were laid out in advance for us and we were all quite comfortable. Everyone was relaxed and really good company. We soon were having a lot of fun!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Lorraine D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just one tip that we should have more of the history explain on the bike trip, not enough info on the places we were seeing.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Antigoni T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed the biking and food was great.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Rosemary W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everyone associated with the barge was kind and personable. We met interesting people and enjoyed the 5 Star service of the entire crew. I’m sure all of our friends at home are tired of hearing about our amazing trip, LOL! We are already looking to book a future bike and barge trip and bring some of those friends along. The only thing that wasn’t perfect about this trip was the weather, but we made the best of it.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Shari Lukens 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Incredible! Amazing! Living the dream! There are no words to describe how exceptional this trip was. It was like "living the dream" really!. The beautiful, ever changing countryside of Holland was gorgeous. Every turn and corner brought a new landscape. From the moment I was chatting with Carla and Anna from Tripsite, to our home for 10 days on the Zwaantje was exactly what I expected and hosts Martijn and Marjorie were amazing. So caring for your every need and ensuring your trip is everything you wanted it to be. Frank the chef - well, let's just say the gourmet meals were impressive and delicious, and Fred our cycling guide was above and beyond. I'll be back! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for such an incredible experience. Simply amazing.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Vietnam
    by Alan B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything about this trip far exceeded our expectations. Our tour guides, Mr. Binh and Chris, were excellent. The logistics involved in putting this trip together were extremely complicated, but it all came together seamlessly. We can't imagine another trip to Vietnam being more comprehensive and informative. The scenery was phenomenal, and we truly got a better understanding and appreciation of the warm people of Vietnam. The biking, kayaking and hiking were actually secondary to all the other amazing things we experienced.

    Boat: Vietnamese Junks

    Countries: Vietnam, Cambodia

  • Tripsite Traveler: Barbara Wahlbrink
    by Carol 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed your blog. We are looking forward to this ride in June this year with a group of six friends. Wondering about your rain. What month did you go?

    Countries: Italy

    • Tripsite Traveler: Barbara Wahlbrink
      by Barbara 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Our trip was late September. The rain made for some unique memories, but we had more beautiful days than rainy ones. Hope you will too. It's a great route! Enjoy! We are actually doing another with tripsite in May - Prague to Dresden, Tale of Two Rivers. Hope we'll have another great experience!

      Countries: Italy

  • Vietnam
    by Sue M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guides were amazing, knowledgeable, kind and funny. Hong from Vietnam and Kristopher from Island Hopping. The biking in Vietnam was a highlight. Food, accommodations and group were exceptional. The Vietnam history was told from the heart. The Vietnam and Cambodian people were beautiful and so gracious and
    always happy to see us. Will definitely do another bike and barge with Island Hopping. Loved going to the school to see the kids. Loved the organic farm and cooking lesson.

    Countries: Vietnam, Cambodia

  • Portugal Atlantic Route
    by Jill P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were unfortunate to do this tour when the weather was unseasonably bad. It would be a much better experience with good weather and tail winds! However, the tour providers kept in touch and made the tour as good as it could be under the circumstances.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Terrence Zito 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time along the Danube river! The cycling was very good and the bikes adequate. The crew of the Theodor Korner were especially nice and competent. The tour guide was really on his game! Unfortunately, the boat itself needs a thorough rehab- our stateroom had an odd odor and was extremely noisy due to mid-ship engines. If we decide to do the Danube tour again we will choose a different boat!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
    by Terrence Z. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This potentially could be a great tour but it was not a great tour for us. The tour guide book was in German which we do not read, thus we wasted a lot of time every day being lost! Also, the provided bikes were not of the best quality, and pedaling them was not easy! The hotels were fine, but we would not recommend this tour unless you read German!

    Countries: Germany

  • Tripsite Traveler - Lake Constance
    by Alice 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    You have put my mind at ease. My husband and I are are leaving, in a month, on the 10 Tulip Time tour. I have been in "training" but have been anxious about my ability to keep up. I have an ebike reserved and after reading your blog I feel better about the trip. Thank You!

  • Trizay
    by Helena Knight 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I did this tour in September 2017 and loved it. Easy cycling, superb food and fabulous warm service at the hotel. Beautiful location and great rides. We
    Also took our bikes by car and then rode bikes across and around Ile de Re. Fabulous week. Only shortcoming were the bikes that were more city cruisers not as advertised. But fabulous holiday

    Countries: France

    • Trizay
      by Carla 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Helena,
      Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're thrilled you enjoyed this tour! I want to apologize that the bicycle did not meet your expectations. I've updated the description of the bicycle so we can avoid any shortcomings in the future.
      Sincerely,
      Carla

      Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Judith B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Bike and Barge- along the Danube to 3 countries- was wonderful. The weather ended up being perfect, though it was October, and that made it all even better! Scenery was super! Bikes- well maintained and easy to ride. Lots of great encounters with staff on board; only problem was an accident with the ship on the last day. I am sure it will not happen again!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Georgia M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Travelling on the boat with a small group of international people is such a great way to experience the world - and the bike tours are brilliant.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
    by Kathryn Bertram 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our entire group agreed that this was the trip of a lifetime! However, I spent the entire plane ride home plotting how I could take the exact same trip again. We spent the entire tour with AMAZING guides who led us through their "home" and provided us with the opportunity to enjoy sunny South Africa as the local do.

    The biking on this trip is all done on mountain bikes. The terrain and rides vary, and we added miles onto the routes on a few of the days. The guides allow your group to set the bike pace, and there is always the van to tour in if riding isn't an option. However, our entire group loved all of the biking. My personal favorite was all of giraffes we saw on our bikes. It is amazing way to see the sights!

    My only concern prior to this trip was the food, but we ate like kings and queens. Who knew they served cold and hot breakfast?! We enjoyed tons of fresh produce, including avocados and grapefruits straight from the trees.

    This Read more… trip is a great balance of touring and biking, and if you are even considering going, you must go. You, too, will leave plotting a way to get back again. Enjoy sunny South Africa!

    Countries: South Africa

PWPC