5 star rated Bike Tour Reviews 1801 to 1830 of 1864

 

  • Cheryl New 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    While I was totally satisfied with everything, I had to ask for a change of sheets after 2 weeks. Our cycling guides tried their best but our 1st had a little communication problem. Our 2nd was great. Overall I would go back tomorrow if I could. The food was great and plenty of it. The crew marvelous. In all a great holiday. Very easy cycling.
    "

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Kenneth Larsen 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We started with the book with maps and directions. Although it was pretty good, we got lost a couple times with that. I think on the 3rd day we met the woman who wrote the directions and she got us the file for my Garmin. That gave us turn by turn directions with no mistakes. Everyone we met was very pleasant. The trip was great. The bikes were a bit heavy.

    Countries: France, Switzerland

  • Patricia Trivette 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Depending on the potential participants: Even though we had read the pre-trip information several times, we were still surprised that the biking days were of pretty similar length ... we had thought there would be longer days mixed in with medium and shorter length days. Overall we were very happy with the trip and most impressed with the people who took care of us: guides and boat crew. The Ave Maria seems perfect for its job. We will be looking at other trips with you.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Nancy Cuono 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery would have been a bit better if we'd gone two weeks earlier. Mid October was a bit late.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Terry Benson 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Had a wonderful time. Only problem was the weather, very very cold.

    Boat: Iris

  • Clara Fleischhauer 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed this trip very much. This was our first bike and barge trip and we would do it again. The entire staff was great and the guides were super. I did not hear one complaint about anything from any of the guests on board. That is testimony to a job well done in seeing to the comfort of the passengers and the enjoyability of the bike ride.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Jackie Shepherd 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Aside from all the other wonderful parts of the experience, I cannot say enough about our guides and vessel staff. My good experience began with the Tripsite contacts well before the trip was ever made.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Angela Rayner 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a lady guide, who was very quiet and we had a large group (20) which made her job difficult as the people at the back could not hear her. Some of her instructions were not clear and maybe there should have been an instruction on road usage in Europe eg keep to the right hand side of the road (coming from Australia) . Understanding the various traffic lights was also a bit of an issue as we come from a relatively small country town with NO traffic lights and no cycle paths we had to be extremely careful negotiation some of the busier roads as there were 2 sets of traffic lights to negotiate while crossing the roads. It was a wonderful trip and greatly enjoyed by all. The only thing that marred the experience was an unfortunate accident on the very first day which resulted in a serious leg injury.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany, Netherlands

  • Cheryl New 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our 1st guide was not quite as good as our 2nd. She wasn't as clear on her instructions as she could have been.
    On the barge we had to ask for our sheets to be changed after 2 weeks. Everything else was clean and well run. Ours may have been an oversight. This in no way stopped us from having a great holiday. Loved everything from start to finish. Would love another trip on the same boat.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany, Netherlands

  • Ruth Hoffmann 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was a fun, easy ride. Our 2 guides made the trip into a party, even when it was raining. This was the first time I had a really good bed to sleep in - just like at home. The rooms were a good size as were the showers. The crew was fun and we made pasta for our dinner one night. The food was fresh and excellent, and there was plenty of it. These are also the best bikes I have had on my trips. Super, easy and fun trip.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mary Daly 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I felt this was more of a moderate to difficult ride not easy to moderate the tour guides treated us like family.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Sally Fischbeck 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful experience! We biked on paths, boardwalks, back roads, through woods, along the beautiful Atlantic coast, beside pilgrims walking to Santiago, through city streets and sidewalks, and more! We opted to stay in 4 star hotels, which I would definitely recommend (converted palaces, monasteries, etc.).

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Klazina van Buren 4 years ago     Staff

    I never expected this trip to show that much variety in scenery, was awesome.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Claudia Bonomi 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The guide Mr. Leslie was extremely eficiente, the routes very thoughtful and well signposted. I considered it a fascinating experience!

    Boat: My Story

  • Lynn McCormack 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed our trip, our guide Thomas was excellent. As always with group travel, the mix was interesting and generally older than us and less fit. We have travelled with a group before but usually we are the oldest so this was different dynamics and did set the tone somewhat. Would look at a trip again when we are older or with our own group to fill the barge.
    Thanks,
    Lynn

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Emily Peh 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Providing maps with a larger scale would be very useful especially when going onto roads. Road names would help too as sometimes we can't tell if we're lost based on looking at the map because there are no road names. Without my phone's GPS I would be completely lost. There are also some Eurobike signs which point in opposite directions which is sometimes a bit confusing.

    Countries: Italy

  • Pamela Broz 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This tour delivers excellent value, service and amenities. In addition to excellent cycling, we were treated to three guided historic city tours, a 5-Star picnic in a historic, rural pavilion, and refreshing swim stops in the Adriatic. Every meal featured a unique salad and entree made with fresh ingredients. The staff are professional, accommodating and the service superb.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Susan Martin 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Upon boarding, there was confusion regarding our room assignments. All 12 of us in our party were assigned different rooms than our vouchers indicated, even on different decks. Fortunately, the cruise director was able to sort everything out, but not without some angst on the part of the hotel manager, who was in the midst of boarding all the passengers at the start of the trip.

    Boat: My Story

  • Kathy Showers 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I felt bad the employees hadn't had a break since the beginning of the season. Leslie the tour director was burnt out. He was a little defensive when we mentioned some of the route was poorly signed. Many people missed some turns. Other than that we loved the tour, food, staff and have recommended this to many friends!

    Boat: My Story

  • M.C. Radcliffe 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Everything surpassed my expectations. I would be happily do it again! Thank you for your good services!
    I want to know where I can find a bike seat like the one I used on your tour . . . it was the most comfortable bike seat I've had the pleasure to sit on! ;-)

    Countries: Italy

  • Terry Hill 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip. Look forward to trying another one.

    Boat: My Story

  • Eileen Schuler 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I broke my arm 3 weeks before our trip to Alsace so was not able to bike; instead of cancelling my husband and I decided to go anyway and we are so glad we did. We would never have discovered the lovely town of Osthouse and especially the beautiful renovated Hotel de la Ferme; we discovered some beautiful walks in the region, over meadows, woods and rivers. L'Hotel de la Ferme is very charming with a lovely garden and a ping pong table which we had fun with. The dining area at the hotel was very comfortable with a delicious, plentiful breakfast buffet; fruit of every kind, cheeses, breads and cakes. Lunch was always a hearty piece of french bread with butter and cheese! And dinner, 2 nights at the hotel and the rest of the evenings at the Aigle d'Or, a 4 star restaurant which has been in the family for 40 years, were always a fun surprise and delicious.
    Our room was on the second floor with a balcony and was very spacious, especially by European standards. Bathroom, Read more… sitting area, beds, everything comfortable, clean and very quiet. Our hosts could not have been nicer. They offered to pick us up and bring us back to the train for a small fee and took us to an amazing modern museum in Erstein. All in all a wonderful vacation!

    Countries: France

  • Greg Thomas 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Green Hills of Abruzzo was great. The guides were wonderful and the accommodations were were perfect (some better than others but all good). The difficulty listed on the Tripsite Guide lists the trip as Moderate but I think it would be more fair to categorize the routes as Moderate to Difficult (based on the elevation changes). We recommend the trip highly.

    Countries: Italy

  • Linda Nicoli 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Only hitch in the whole experience was confusion when we arrived at the boat for check in. In our group of twelve, those who had paid extra for upper deck rooms were assigned lower deck rooms and vice versa, causing a few flared tempers and a less than welcoming start to our excursion. After that was sorted out everything went smoothly. We liked some of the extra excursions more than others but the biking was really the highlight of the trip. Biking through the Wachau Valley with vineyards climbing the mountains on either side, many with castles on top, through charming villages - priceless!

    Boat: My Story

  • Alexandra Lapko 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our first bike and barge experience made unforgettable by creative, delicious and healthy meals, an outstanding guide with a great sense of humour, extensive knowledge of the areas we cycled through, and much patience and warmth. We arrived as nervous neophytes and left feeling we were part of the family....and cycling athletes to boot!

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Annette Scully 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best trip ever.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Hank Robison 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Tour operator got us from AP to hotel, fixed us up with two able bikes with all accessories, and provided thorough pre-ride instruction including, most-importantly, how-to operate the provided gps. But there is more: One of our ride days was stricken with particularly bad weather (30 km headwind with gusts to 50 km, dead against us). About 25 km in, exhausted, wind with rain now, tour operator tracks us down with his van and transports us to our next hotel. Great attention to detail, we couldn't be happier with the whole experience.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Beverly Rudeen 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    With 100 passengers & half German speaking/half English speaking I would recommend 2 guides instead of one. At times our guide seemed overwhelmed with questions, assistance, etc....

    Boat: Normandie

  • Oscar Martinez 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience was awesome! Mantova is a great little place to visit. Lots of history, architecture, fine people, good restaurants. The barge was comfortable, spacious, clean. Food excellent. Staff extremely courteous, helpful, upbeat. Bikes were adequate for the terrain, sturdy, in excellent condition. Some of the trails were uneven, even rocky, but I personally had no issues. Some of the less experienced riders felt a little uneasy on them. The city of Venice was a disappointment (crowded, polluted and dirty) but Venice is Venice... The whole bike 'barge adventure was, plain and simple, unforgettable. Highly recommended. Thanks to everyone for making it so special!!!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Kimberley McEwan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Bike and Barge cycling trip was a great way to experience new countries. The cycling paths along the Danube are excellent and the riding was very enjoyable. We will be looking at other bike and barge options through Tripsite.

    Boat: Normandie

PWPC